Reviewer's Reviews : Tina Greig

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Abida
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Not very impressed with the service - it took half an hour just for the waiter to come and take our order, and we had to stop him as he walked past.

Nice selection of sauces with the pre-starters.

Barbeque King Prawn starter was nice (especially the spicy green sauce), but very few prawns for a £7 starter!

Balti Garlic Massala Chicken main was good, but I tried a little of someone else's King Prawn Rezala, which was amazing - definitely having that next time!

overall
 3.3

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Thirsa (mussels) starter was very tasty. The Masala Macchi was also very tasty, though for the £16 price tag, there was not a lot of it.

The leopard print decor in the ladies toilets is a bit alarming though!
overall
 4.0

restaurant Dil Se
review date July 2008
atmosphere
 3.5
service
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
overall
 3.1

restaurant Guru Balti
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment King prawn puri starter was delicious, but my balti jaipuri chicken was a little disappointing, based on how much I have loved the meals I've had here in the past. No lime pickle with the poppadoms, but they still haven't mastered the art of portion control (in a good way!) - the naan breads are still the biggest I've ever seen, by miles.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Ignite
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30
comment Starters took a little while to arrive, but there wasn\'t a long wait between the starters and mains, so it could have been worse. Really nice starter and main (king prawn puri and jaipuri chicken). The jaipuri chicken could have been a bit spicier, but on the other hand it very suddenly is when you accidentally bite into a green chilli! The mushroom bhajee was so nice I tried to convince everyone else it was horrible so they wouldn\'t want any.
overall
 3.7

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Starter milder than expected, but still tasty. Main a little bland and disappointing.
overall
 3.1

restaurant Kalpna
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Really Nice selection of starters, sauces especially good. Also great main courses - the selection meal is definitely the best way to sample the menu here.
Overall, a really great meal.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Khushi
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Maaaaassive naan bread!

Very tasty mushroom bhaji side dish, but the saag aloo was less impressive.

King prawn massala main was alarmingly red, but very tasty.

Marked down a bit on service for forgetting a drink order.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Mithas
review date November 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 1.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Free pre-starter of a sort of spicy soup was good, nice to have something a little different from the usual round of poppadoms. I have the Monkfish Tikka starter, which was very tasty, and perfectly cooked, though pretty steep at £10 for three small bits of fish. Lahori Chicken Karahi main was pretty good, although lacking a little in spice. The main issue with Mithas though is portion size. The mains were all small, with small portions of rice and small naan breads, which means we basically all left wanting to go for a chippie.
overall
 2.3

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 2.75
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Seating very cramped. Restaurant smells great when you first walk in.

Served very quickly - marked down for missing Mary's food. Bit chaotic - would be better with a smaller group.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter (prawn puri) was lovely, and there were some really nice sauces to accompany the starters. Main (gujpari sag mushroom) also good. Marked down a bit for service, due to comedy misinterpretation, and refusing to believe anyone could actually want a non-alcholic drink. A bit on the pricy side compared to usual CTCT outings too.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Omar Khayyam
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice selection of lime pickles with the poppadoms. Monkfish starter was lovely - the fish was perfectly cooked and beautifully complimented by the sauce.
Handi Fish Dopiaza main was also extremely nice. I find a lot of curry houses can be pretty hit and miss when it comes to fish dishes, but Omar Khayyam gets them spot-on.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Starter tasty but not hot, also some of the prawns not properly shelled.

Main also not as hot as expected but very tasty.
overall
 3.6

restaurant St John's Curry Club
review date September 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25
comment Starter (St John\'s special puri) and main (jessorie king prawn rezala) were both excellent - nicely spiced and full of flavour. Muttar paneer side also really good. Where this meal loses a few marks is on service. There were a group of thirteen of us, and the big wait was between starters and mains, rather than before the starters, which is the better way round to have it. So, a really excellent meal, but probably best to avoid large groups here.
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Khukuri
review date December 2009
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Service very slow - we arrived at 7pm and didn't get our main courses until 9pm, and also one member of the party was left waiting longer then everyone else for both starter and main.

Starter (Trisuli Polcko Machha) was okay, but could have done with a bit more spice.

Main (salmon dish) was okay, but not as good as on previous occasions.
overall
 1.7

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £25.00
comment Great menu - lots of variety.

Good lime pickle.

Starter very tasty but not what I ordered.

Service a bit slow and confused.

Very tasty fush curry main.

Rice portions on the small side.

Good garlic naan.

[Spooomy]
overall
 3.3

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date April 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Brilliant main course, wasn't impressed with the service.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20.50
comment Jingha pakora starter was excellent, with a very nice selection of sauces to go with the starters - the tamarind one was particularly good.

Murgh tikka saagwala main was good, but there are probably more interesting selections to make from the menu. The sides get a 5 for the mushroom bhaji alone - this was jaw-droppingly good, so we felt the need to order a second portion.

I think this place is pretty good value for money at any time, but given we got 25% off on this visit, it was extremely good value.
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £30
comment Prawn puri starter was delicious as always, with just enough heat to leave a slow-burning tingle in your mouth afterwards. Mushroom bhaji was delicious, as always. I had a khari haseena main, which was a milder dish than I would normally order, and it was very mild indeed. It was delicately spiced and tasty, but I\'d have preferred something a bit hotter - probably my own fault for ordering something milder than usual though.

We were here with a party of 29 this time, and although there was a fair wait between the starters and the mains, they did get the starters to us pretty quickly, and I think they coped really well with a party of that size, all things considered.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23.00 (including tip)
comment Spooney!
overall
 3.6

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 96819 times ]