Reviewer's Reviews : Stephen Hunt

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Ann Purna
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pre:- Worst popadom ever sampled, gets a point as the pickle was alright but low in volume.

starter:- Definately highlight of meal, good selection of different bits to try, some of which had a medium amount of kick to them. Sauce was also nice.

mains:- agree with someone who said if they had been mains we would have asked where the rest of them were. Small portions, and all but a spicy sweet and sour dish tasted very similar.

sides (dahl/rice/naan):- dahl was nice, very garlic-y but would have preferred it a bit thicker.

Service:- Average for our group size and not very slick for somewhere that has been open a while now e.g. chipped plate/wrong drinks order

Atmosphere:- Fairly friendly and piped music wasnt overly intrusive.

VfM:- cost above included 241 vouchers so would have been very pricey without. For the first time i left a CTCT curry still feeling a bit hungry. For the portion sizes it really is overpriced.




overall
 2.2

restaurant Assam's
review date November 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pre:- Pop's nice and crispy at our end and extras very nice but had to be asked for separately. Pickle especially good as seen by Gav's face.

Start:- Good portion and cooked well but a bit sweet for my liking and for a chicken puri.

Main:- Lamb Karahi, meat pretty tender and didnt have anny sinew in my dish. Nicely spiced and good sized portion. Bit of an odd serving method in a large bowl but overall good.

Sides:- Everything really good apart from the rice which had an odd over powering taste to it (possibly cloves) and didnt go well with the meal. Tarkha Daal had a real chilli kick to it but other sides werent great (although did make one that wasnt on the menu)

Service/Atmos/VfM:- Service started off a bit shaky but they did move tables around for us, cook something off menu and we were done before 10pm so hard to complain. I quite enjoyed having the open kitchen to see what was going on but not to everyones taste. Overall a good feed from a fairly new restaurant with a few things still to get right but would probably go back.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pre: Nice crispy pops and plenty of dips (brought more when asked). Pickle was tasty but could have done with a bit more of a kick. Nice thick mango.

Start: Prawn Puri was well cooked a good sized portion and the bread was not greasy which was a pleasant surprise. However didn't have a lot of taste to it.

Main: Lamb Saag dish? This had a lot more taste to it. Meat was plentiful and tender and overall a good dish but not a great one. Sides were all pretty nice especially dahl and Saag Aloo, (which sadly did not include any "Spanish")

Couldn't have asked for more from the lovely service, especially as we hadn't booked and there were a few other tables throughout the night. Didn't even have to wait long for the bill making it a rare early finish. Was a cosy restaurant with a laid back atmosphere and i would consider coming again.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Gurkha Cafe
review date October 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pre: Pops nice and crispy and not oily at our end. Dips all nice especially spicy onion but i look forward to the pickle so its absence was noted.

Starter: (Mo-mo-cha) Dumplings themselves were well cooked but not much taste to them without the accompanying dip which added a bit of a kick and taste.

Main: (Lamb Saag) Very nice with a little bit of spice which you dont always get in a saag. Lamb very tender and a good sized portion with lots of meat.

Sides: All were nice (if not quite what was expected) and Garlic nans were tasty (peshwari was a bit dry) and reasonable size.

Service & Atmos: Let down by the time it took for the food to come and couple of mistakes with drink/food order. Suspect a little understaffed in the kitchen but we were a big group so some allowance needed but everyone was friendly.

Overall food was pretty good but let down by the service times.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Guru Balti
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Very uninspired pre's, two types of onion and no lime pickle. Pop's crispy but didnt taste that fresh.

Apart from the starter which was very nice, was more concentration on quantity over quality. Whilst this is usually something I'm all for the mains (of which there was plenty left over for tasting!) really lacked any real taste. Naan's huge as ever (and quiet nice) but other sides were also lacking in taste, especially dahl.

Service and atmosphere were hard to complain about. VfM is hard to beat if you're just looking for a big feed, but wouldve been nice to get a bit more flavour.
overall
 3.3

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment First visit to in touch so was looking forward to meal.

Pre-starter was very tasty with crispy popadom and nice pickle.

Special puri starter was excellent with big portion and plenty of flavour

Wasnt overly impressed with main (lamb jaipuri) but meat was well cooked and there plenty of it. Lacked a bit of flavour.

Service was good but we were only ones in the restaurant for most of the night which ruined the atmosphere a bit. After all the hype a bit dissapointed but still a nice meal.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment pre: nice crispy popadoms at our end, plenty dip and nice pickle that was just the right amount of fire and sour for me.

start: lamb tikka from the grill was very tender on the inside and on the whole nicely charred on the outside, couple of bits too much but i would say worth it for the grilled taste.

main: went for the saag option which was unexpectedly spicey, but still tastey, with plenty of meat and sauce

sides: all very nice especially the dahl which was a good consistency and i think had a wee kick to it which was great

service: staff very friendly and the long wait between courses was worth it for the freshness and taste of the meal. Only down points was the plates getting cold waiting for the main and the long time for the bill which we had to ask twice for.

atmos: I actually really enjoyed the more modern feel of this place and the open kitchen was a nice touch, even managed to glance an eye at football which was unobtrusive for everyone else.

vfm: cant fault value with the amount of food we got for our money, portions size not an issue here (especially for Phil "plate o' meat" Hunt), although must take the BYOB into account which would have brought price up to about normal level
overall
 4.2

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Not a big fan of tapas style places but this turned out to be alright. However I'd always prefer an old fashioned meal split into courses.

No lime pickle resulted in point docking but mango and onions were really nice. Onions not glowing and mango actually had chunks in it!

Had a starter type dish and two main course type dishes and all were surprisingly good sized portions but maybe couldve done with a fourth if it hadnt been for others with leftovers. Overall the food was really well cooked but the fish i had (which again was well cooked) didnt really have any taste or spice to it which was a bit dissapointing.

Atmosphere was good and service was excellent, even when they made mistakes they were quick to admit fault, apologise and sort it out where possible which is all you can ask for.

Overall a pleasant experience that would be much more suited for a couple or smaller group.

overall
 3.9

restaurant Saffrani
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pops and dips very nice, onion had a real kick to it.

Salmon tikka starter was well cooked and quite tasty.

Chicken Shahjani was well cooked and tender but didnt seem to have a lot of flavour or spices in it.

Saag Aloo potato was a bit under cooked for my liking.

Service was prompt and friendly, didnt seem to take long for everything to appear. Atmos ruined a bit for me by splitting up the tables, its quite nice to have one big table when out for a curry!

Price included Mc'Coys vouchers and byob but still fairly reasonable.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Shezan Tandoori
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre: Pops were lovely and crispy but let down by small portions of dips. Pickle was a bit tame for my liking but still nice.

Start: Prawn puri was nice but could have had more prawns and would have been a little tasteless without nice sauce

Main: Chicken achari was well spiced and had nice kick. I wish I'd got the lamb though which was top notch and really nice.

Sides: Naan was big and tasty but let down by other sides esp Saag Aloo which was worst ive ever had. Tried to say it was made with 'special' spinach but highly dubious.

Service and Atmosphere totally let down by arguing with us. Just not on. First impressions of the place were actually really good, decor not to everyones taste but i didnt mind it.

VfM: Average, didnt feel cheated but let down down by the details.
overall
 1.8

restaurant Tanjore
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pre: "Papadams" were light and crispy but not only did they have to be reminded again to bring them, they were served with what can only be described as a thimble full of pickle and mango between 2. I just see no need to penny pinch to that degree on a big table thats obviously going to be spending a decent amount.

Starter (chicken Chuka): Really tasty and a good kick for a starter. half a mark off for presentation but really well cooked.

Main (Lamb Tanjore): Bit stingy on the meat front but what was there was tender. Definitely not medium-hot as advertised, surprising considering the starter.

Sides: Pastry/Naan substitute not to my tastes with an Indian meal but again very mean with portion sizes on the sides which werent anything special. Flavoured rice was nice as somethign a bit different.

Service/Atmos/VfM: Everything seemed a bit slower and drawn out than it needed to be especially as the whole meal was delayed whilst they got our papadams after being prompted again. Maybe we've been spoiled in the past few months but It's been a while since I've not felt completely full after a curry night. Fairly good value but was enforced BYOB for alcoholic drinks.
overall
 3.2

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Definately my best outing since joining CTCT!

pre: pickle good but left wanting more. popadom a bit stale but this seemed to be restricted to our plate and others found them very crispy

starter (prawn puri): very nice light grease free bread but not quite enough prawns for my liking and would have lacked a bit of flavour had it not been for sauces put out (chilli one was especially nice)

Main (Murgh Tikka Saagwala): best main I've had for a long time, lots of spinach, lots of chicken, lots of flavour and well cooked. What more can you ask for.

Sides: Saag Aloo was great as was mushrooms, not so sure about Dall Sambar but nice to try something different. Left without Tarka Dal but seemed to get a good vote from those that got some!

Service & Atmos: Very prompt, friendly and polite with what was a large group (although rest of place wasnt busy). Only gripe was not clearing between pre and starter but thats more of a pet hate for me. Place felt very bright despite being in a basement location.
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre - Pops's fresh and crisp, all dips tasted great, hard to fault.

Start - Prawn puri, portion has got bigger since last visit and taste is still good but really needed the sauces, which were also great.

Main - Murgh Tikka Saagwalla, still the best main course curry I've had, Gav wouldve been jealous with the amount of meat received.

Sides - Dahl so garlicky and chunky, worth the 5 just for that.

Ser/Atmo/VfM - Being very picky but had to remind them about my missing main course, apart from that everything was perfect and it was slightly busier than last time which improved the atmosphere. Great night out in Spice Pavillion again.
overall
 4.9

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20.50
comment Not much to add to previous years review, really tasty food served efficiently with a smile.

Got some dahl this time around and lovely and garlicy.

Overall dealt well with a big group and the food was hard to fault. (could have done with slightly bigger portions, but i usually feel that way!)

overall
 4.5

restaurant Voujon
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre Starter:- One of the best pickle I've tasted, not over powering, but not enough of it.

Starter (Sardine Bhoorta):- Tasty and good sized portion but was hoping for a more 'fishy' taste so may have been lacking in sardines

Main (Lamb Khatta Tarkaru):- Again tasty but claimed medium on the menu and turned out very mild. Too much sauce and not enough meat for my liking

Sides:- Bit hit and miss, aubergine side was very nice but mushroom one not as nice

OK atmosphere and seemed to handle a big group well but not great, passing the plates down each side of the table seemed unnecessarily lazy.
overall
 3.0

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101854 times ]