Reviewer's Reviews : Mary Gibson

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Poppadoms a bit stale. Mixed kebab nice enough. Chilli garlic chicken most excellent! Nice and hot but still tasty. A nice oportunity to partake of the sides due to the lack of coriander. Tarka Dahl a bit too runny though and not enough garlic. NO CORIANDER!! EXCELLENT!! After dinner Baileys - what more need I say! A++++!
overall
 4.2

restaurant Far Pavilions (closed)
review date March 2009
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Shared a Murgh Pakora and Gosht Tikka for starter. Chicken nice and moist and flavourful. Lamb a bit drier than usual.

I had Prawns Amottik (with no coriander) for a main. Nice flavours and a wee bit of a kick. Plenty of king prawns in it too. Tarka Dhall also very tasty. The garlic Naan tasted very fresh and garlicky.

Service good (once they realised we were there!) and staff very friendly. Was very quiet to start with - only us, but soon got busier which made the atmosphere a bit better.

I think they play the music a bit too loud though!
overall
 3.8

restaurant In Touch
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Poppadom, starter and main all excellent. Would give the starter 10 points if I could! Was much busier than last time so not sure if that accounted for the drop in service however this did not detract from the very excellent meal.
I enjoyed the Tarka Dhal but it was a bit runnier than the one I had there last week!
My new favourite restaurant - and a bit too close to home than is healthy!
overall
 4.6

restaurant In Touch
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Tasty poppadoms. Mango chutney a bit runny, but good all the same. Fabulous cutlery!! "Curry Club Puri" starter excellent - well deserving of the name. Main couse tasty also. Attention to detail regarding the coriander situation second to none (except maybe the Kukhuri). Service excellent and attentive without being intrusive. Very enjoyable overall. Extra choclates!! Fan-bl**dy-tastic!!
overall
 4.7

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment I have come to the conclusion that this restaurant has the best poppadums - light, fresh and crispy. The chutneys/sauce are good, but don't visit with the greedy b***ers I was with as they eat all the onions!!
I'm going to stop evangelising about the Curry Club puri - it's getting embarrassing. The score speaks for itself.
Main course extremely tasty. Just wish I could have eaten it all!
Tarka Dhal superb.
Service much improved on last time - they seem to have got rid of the idiot!
overall
 4.6

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment YUM! YUM!
YUM! YUM!
overall
 4.5

restaurant In Touch
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Crunchy poppadums.
Unparalled Puri.
Rhapsodic Tarka Dhal.
Yummy!
overall
 4.8

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Asking for the chicken tikka masalla to be a bit hotter was perfect. They did a very good job on the sides, excellent.
Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum-diddly-um!
Super-tasty-tastic.
overall
 4.8

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 4.2
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were a bit stale.
This restaurant styles itself as an Indian Tapas restaurant so typically you choose 2-3 dishes each and share. The garlic mushroom pakora was not very garlicky in my opinion and was the weakest of the 4 dishes I tried. The Chilli Garlic Chicken and Chilli King Prawn however were superb. The Chilli Garlic Chicken definitely had something like lime pickle through it and the (whole) cloves of garlic I found were also pickled - very tasty. The Chilli King Prawn was done kebab style wrapped in foil which kept the flavours in. Finally, the Dhal was very tasty indeed. Rather than Naan, they have more chapati-style bread which is very tasty and because it is thin, doesn't stuff you out. Very enjoyable on the whole.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 5.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms average, as were the spicy onions.
My main dishes took ages (I think they forgot me) but were well worth waiting for. The spicy Keema Dosa was very spicy and flavorful. The Chicken Tikka Mahkini was creamy and delicious.
Was very busy and noisy but that didn't detract too much from the experience. Will definitely return.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Rana's
review date February 2010
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £20
comment Chicken pakora starter very nice - goodly sized portion too. Multiple sauce selection a nice touch.

Main very good indeed. Lots of chicken, chunks of onion and green pepper and no coriander :-) Could have been a bit spicier though. The tarka dahl was good with the onions on top, but could have done with a touch more garlic. Garlic naan very tasty.

Intersting decor (tiger stripe carpet with red and purple tiles on the floor) and definitely not your usual background music but the service and atmosphere were good nonetheless!
overall
 4.2

restaurant Rivage
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Not a hint of Coriander! Excellent portion sizes. Great garlicky Tarka Dhal. Top Notch Grub! Favourite food so far.
overall
 4.7

restaurant Ronaq
review date May 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment This new restaurant has replaced the old Far Pavilions restaurant. It has been completely redone inside and is a vast improvement. It is light, modern and very pleasant. It was a Friday night and it was very busy.
They do not have a licence to sell alcohol, however they do operate a BYOB policy - and it's handy for Waitrose if you forget ;-)

Poppadoms were fresh and crispy, pickle tray had onions, mango chutney, lime pickle and some yoghurty thing.

My starter was Black Pepper Machli, which was sea bass cooked with peppers, onions and black pepper. There didn't seem to be much black pepper on it (maybe it got scraped off with the coriander when it had to be sent back!) but the fish itself was nicely cooked and the dish was quite flavourful.

For main, I had the Chilli Garlic Chicken Balti. This also arrived full of coriander - as did the sides of Aloo Gobi and Tarka Dahl(!). I ate a bit around the coriander, but it wasn't all that flavoursome. In fact, it was quite bland and a bit watery. As was the Aloo Gobi. The Tarka Dahl was of a nice consistency, but really lacked in flavour too. And who puts coriander in Tarka Dahl????

The waiters were pretty good, and there were plenty on for the number of people in, however as my dining partner commented "there are lots of waiters running around doing orders and drinks but not much food coming out of the kitchen". Our waiter did write no coriander on our order - the screw up was apparently in the kitchen. The head waiter dude came afterwards and apologised profusely and said they were having "kitchen issues" as it wasn't the usual chef on. He didn't charge for my main course or for our drinks refills which was nice.

Bottom line, I will go back and give it another go - hopefully when the usual chef is on - and maybe when it's a little quieter.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £35.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter nibbles very good indeed.

Haggis pakora to die for!

Main course very tasty - nice that it included rice & extra stuff like mushrooms. Would be better (IMHO) if chicken was all white meat, but still very tasty.

I really like the new premisis. Service very good too - love the black kilts!

Woo hoo - free wine! ... and free pudding!!!
overall
 4.6

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Popadums nice and crispy but not enough onions.

Chicken pakora very good indeed - light crispy coating over moist chicken ... lovely.

Garlic chicken was fab. Loads of garlic in big chunks and lots of chicken (too much)!

All in all, a very nice meal.
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Khukuri
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Light & crispy poppadoms. Garlic mushrooms nice but could have been more garlicier. Visit from chef to reassure corianderlessness was a nice touch. After Eights, AWESOME!!
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date August 2010
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment This was actually my second visit to this restaurant, however the first time I was rather inebriated and have very little memory of anything, although I am told I enjoyed the meal!

So, a re-visit was called for. We started by sharing the Tandoori Mix platter. This comprised chicken, lamb and sheek kebab. The meat was some of the most tender and flavourful I have ever had and was all served on a bed of onions on a sizzling platter with 3 types of sauce. Fab!

For main course, I had the north Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken. This again was a wonderful mix of tender chicken, spicy sauce and lots and lots of garlic (it even came with fresh crushed garlic sprinkled on the top). The spice level was nice too. We also had a side of Tarka Dahl (of course!) which was a little runnier than I like but still a nice flavour.

The cost was a little high, but that's 'cos we had a bottle of wine with the meal.

The service was impeccable, but that may have been due to the fact that there was only one other table of 2 occupied (it was quite early on a Monday evening) - consequently, the atmosphere wasn't particularly "jumping"!

Definitely one I'll be back to - highly recommended.
overall
 4.7

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Been a while since I submited a review for here, so here goes.

Pops fresh and crispy, with the usual dips.
Garlic Mushroom Puri for starter was full of mushrooms and very garlicky - what more could you want. So flavourful.

My main was a special dish that Imran makes for me: Aloo Gobi Khari Haseena, extra spicy, no coriander :-)
It is incredibly tasty and full of onion, green pepper, potato and cauliflower in an amazing sauce. My favourite dish of any restaurant I've ever been to!

I only had the Mushroom Bhaji and Tarka Dahl sides, both of which I really enjoyed - although the dahl seemed a bit less garlicky than usual.

It was quite busy and we had 2 large tables so the atmosphere was really good and the service was impeccable as usual.

Cristina and her staff are still doing a great job!

Will probably go back again sometime... ;-)
overall
 4.9

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25
comment Another very enjoyable visit to this excellent restaurant, this time with a much larger party than previously.
Poppadoms at our end of the table were crispy and tasty. I had the onion bhaji to start with which was just a nice amount of food and went down very well. For main course I had Khari Haseena with chicken. This is a very nicely spiced dish with onions and green pepper. Extremely tasty. I had it with mushroom rice and tarka dahl. The tarka dahl is very tasty but could be a bit thicker for my taste.
The service was impeccable. My order was taken separately to ensure the non-corianderness of my food - perfect! Everything was prompt and correct.
The card, banner, balloons and especially the kulfi for Brian's birthday were a really lovely surprise :-)
overall
 4.9

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date june 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Mmmmm... salmon tikka.... yum! Tasty!
overall
 4.4

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.0
price £23.00 (including tip)
comment Meh ...
overall
 2.8

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101772 times ]