Reviewer's Reviews : Jim Bryce

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Poor starter but got better. Bhindi Bhaji very good.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date September 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Starter was mixed kebab - very small portions.
Main was Chicken Bhuna, rice & Garlic bread. It was decent.

Sides Mushroom Baji, Taka dal - they were good.

Place has been done up since I was last there.
Is now modern, bright room with new neon signage.
I prefered it when it was more traditional style.

They gave us complimentary short at the end, Brandy for me. Refused to take Mccoys vouchers.


overall
 3.6

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter - Mixed Kebab - it had fried vegie thing, that should not be seen in a mixed Kebab. Portions of meat a bit skimpy, I thought.

Atmosphere - 1st time I have been since decore revamp - good improvement. looks more modern.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter - onions a bit chewy.
Starter- Sheik Kebab, quite spicy, nice with the supplied yogurt sauce to cool it down a bit.
Main- Lamb Bhindi, good stuff. Lamb tenderness is a good measure of quality in a curry house. It was good but I have had better. Bit of fat on lamb too which could have been better. Good Tast though.
Tarka Daal - sauce not runny enough for my taste.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Kismot
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment
Pre-starters had 2 lime pickles. one was of the old school - flaming strong, just like my Mum used to make.

Starters - very filling, cos of the Chapatti(Pitta Bread). Also very tasty

Mains- Lamb Sag - Very tender Lamb, bit fatty thou.

Sides - jolly good.

I was disturbed during my meal by the spector of human suffering. Gavin & Dave were in varying degrees of panic sweating, sensation loss in various body parts. Central nervous system damage was observed, esp in Dave's case. This was due to the Naga chilli, which seemed to be the sole ingredient in the Killer curry they were trying to finish. Brave but ill advised......

overall
 3.9

restaurant Lancers
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Very slow service
Got starter @ 8:50
Got Main @9:15
Bunah - bit spicer than normal-but good.

This could be longest we have ever waited for food in CTCT history.
overall
 1.4

restaurant Mezbaan
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 0.5
value for money
 1.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pickles not great.Strange veggie one.
Starters: (servered 8:36)I ordered Chicken Kebab. It was taking so long they gave me a cold Lamb Kebab to keep me going til the real one arrived.
Main: (Served 9:17)Chicken Balti: Good enough but a small portion.
Service - slow, cold food.
Atmosphere: Poor, we had a comedy light which randomly switched on and off.
overall
 1.6

restaurant Mintleaf
review date May 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 3.0
price £38 (including tip)
comment Poppadums and pickles great.

Mixed Kebab - a bit cool. Must have been left on the side for too long before serving.

Thai Chicken red curry This is a Thai and Indian Resturant. Great to mix and match. Curry was dead tasty.

Sag Aloo/ Mushroom Baghi - Galyva (very good in Gaelic)

Great dim light atmosphere with interesting arch decorated lighting and criss cross design wall decoration.

nice wine selection by the glass

All in all v.good, a bit pricy thou'
overall
 3.8

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Servile & ungraded due to squish @ <smudge> tab6
<curry stain> Prestartz -2only

Buzy Rest...<curry stain>...ant
Popular Place <indeterminate stain>
- good sish <curry stain>
overall
 3.8

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date December 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £37 (including tip)
comment We had to ask for poppadoms.
Mixed kebab starter - veg pakora was not expected or wanted.
main- Green herb chicken. V. Good
cost was steep. The most I have ever paid. Drinks were 4.20 a pop. We were charged for pre starter.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Soggy pre-starter
Chicken kebab - excellent
Main - Chicken Bhuna - jolly good
Nice enviroment.
Time to get starter : 20:23
Time to get main: 20:55.
Bit slow with the grub !
Service ok - did not intrude all the time - which is good cos that can wind me up!
overall
 3.3

restaurant Namaste
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 1.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment Poppadum's (folded) and pickles - great
Starters Lamb Chops - great
Main chicken Karahi - a bit too mild, not as tasty as I expected.

Sides - A bit spicier than normal - good

Starters arrived in good time
Took a long time to get Mains.
Sill in venue at 10:10 !
overall
 2.5

restaurant Omar Khayyam
review date December 2010
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms chewy.
Lime pickel - poor
Spicy onions - too spicy

Chicken Tikka starter- V.Good. Spicy. Lemon & Mild sauce.

Sagg Gost - Great
Sides Binjie Badji, Tarka Daal, Mushroom Badji - all good
overall
 3.8

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23
comment Starter poor.
Asked for mixed kebab - got veg pakora stuff

Dupiaza main - ok

Service and atmospher - jolly good
overall
 2.0

restaurant Rivage
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Not much Indian music.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 1.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £35.00 (including tip)
comment Starter: Quail
Main: Fish - very mild European dish
Sides: no Bindi Bhaji - bad
Atmosphere: very good
Service: not too intrusive
Belhaven Best - none - on the menu though.
overall
 1.9

restaurant Saffrani
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £25
comment Lime Pickle is the strongest I have tasted for years - Great.

Starters - Chicken Tikka, bit chewy.

Mains-Chicken Bhuna: one of the tastiest I've had.
Portions not too big. Good effort.

Did not get starter til 8:15 - bit slow!

Split up group into 3 tables - not good.
Its a pretty small place.

Not too dear either - good price.
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Onions too dry. Starter would be better with more chicken, less fish and veggie pakora. Bhindi Bhaji Poor! Service- No hovering - GOOD.
overall
 3.0

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment PreStarters: Crispy and tasty
Starter - Mixed Kebab, Lamb a bit tough
Main - Green Herb Lamb - good stuff but Lamb a bit too chewy.


overall
 4.0

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 0.5
sides
 2.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starters were cold. Mixed Kebab

Main was Lamb Tikka Massallam -Lamb was tough and the sauce fairly bland.

Sides were bland too esp tarka dal.

overall
 1.3

restaurant The Khukuri
review date July 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Khukuri
review date December 2009
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Tennents Velvet on Menu - but when you ask for it, they dont have it!
Kol Dal on menu but when you ask for it - they dont have it.
They moved folk who were settled on one side of the table and moved them to top. No good pissing folk off by doing that.
Mixed Kebab -seemed like leftovers to me.

Lamb Daipaza - tough lamb - sauce too tick.

Service was slow too, no popadoms.
overall
 2.6

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25.00
comment Draft from door blowing hair all over my eyes. Difficult to see my food.

Starter tasty but cold. 53 minutes to get starter.

Slow service.
overall
 3.0

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters crispy and tasty
Starter - Chicken Tikka - A bit bland to taste and a small portion.
Main - Z.Ghost Rice & G.Nan.
V. Good.

service - cleaned table with cloth when we were seated.
A bit of a no no....... otherwise good.

Atmosphere - good decore and comfortable dinning space.

Bargain 25% off
overall
 3.8

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Lime pickle stong flavour as is traditional - few Curry house are up to this standard.

Salmon starter a bit of a disappointment. Bit dry and too crispy.

Music had strange X-files tune in it!
Phone kept goping off, with annoying ring tone.
atmosphere score suffered as a result.

Service: Cleaning table with wet clothes while we were sitting is a no-no, he nearly swept all the fallen food on my lap!

Overall - good quality food, good venue.

overall
 3.7

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Too much hovering by the staff, sometimes you can get too much service.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Voujon
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £28.75 (including tip)
comment Pre-Starters - Popadoms abit too dry.
Serious lack of pickles etc.

starters - chicken chatt - great
finished 20:35

Main - chicken Tikka Kebab - good.

sides - all good, mushroom bajie best

Toilet is accessed with no need for stairs - great for tipsy folk!


I like the venue - it looks like somthing out of a gangster movie. I half expect a osme to walk and shot someone in the head. Thats Character.

All finished 9:26
bill @ 21:40
overall
 4.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101842 times ]