Reviewer's Reviews : Jean Houston

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment This restaurant had a very eastern atmosphere. I expected exotic dancers to appear at any minute.

The meal was very enjoyable. Seemed quite healthy too, not full of added ingredients to fill you up, so I was able to enjoy the whole dish.

I had Chana Chaat starter, an unusual salad of chick peas and potatoes with a date dip. Tasty, spicy, refreshing.
I chose Royal Nawabi Gosht for main. Very tasty lamb, but not hot enough for "2 chillies". I really enjoyed the Bhindi Bhaji which I thought was better the usual.

Bad points - NO Chocolate! No Hot towel!
overall
 4.5

restaurant Ann Purna
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £25
comment I think I got 1 of maybe 4 ppdms that was ok. Even with 6 dips amounts too small. Not too much taste.

Starters were best part. Liked the selection, quite enjoyed the spicy balls and aubergines.

Liked the way they served the main dishes with time to try one and pass it round before the next one arrived, but another couple of dishes wouldn't have gone amiss.

£25 not vfm when we had the vouchers and no meat on the menu. Must have been the drinks!
overall
 2.8

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
overall
 3.9

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I've not been to this restaurant before, so don't know what changes have been made. But for me there was not an 'Indian-y' atmosphere. Not even any music. Also did not like being in clear view of passers-by. However, the service must be about the best we've had at CTCT, fast and friendly.
As for food, fab orange juice! great starter, but not able to do justice to main dish as I was quite full by then.
The hot towel is always a bonus, but we've had hotter.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Very good tasty dips with the ppds. The Spicy Garlic Mushroom starter was certainly nice and spicy, but not at all garlicky. So mixed feelings about that. My main dish was Marco Polo a medium-hot chicken dish with red peppers. The chicken was well marinated with the special spices, something that made the chicken pieces nearly as red as the peppers. I enjoyed both dishes, but both were too filling for me to finish.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Dhaba Diner
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Very tasty poppadoms and pickles (but more on this below). Good selection of starters (since we chose the set menu for groups). Chicken tikka was the tastiest.

The 2 chicken main dishes (Butter ch. and garlic chilli) were very good but I was really disappointed in the lamb dishes as the lamb was to choughy/chuchy(?) to eat much of it. I'm not keen on prawns but tried the prawn dish as there was one in the selection. Still not keen on prawns. The veg dish, Chana Aloo, which I rated as a 'side', was fine.

I think the young waiter is still learning the job as there was a few mistakes made in serving. But someone keeping an eye on things, and mistakes were put right when they were pointed out, like needing more than one tray of pickles.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22
comment p-s: Great onion with popps, but NO LP!

enjoyed the soup better on a previous visit. This time seemed a bit salty.

enjoyed main course which was Lamb Nepali Tarkhari. well cooked lamb, pleasantly spicy.

Friendly service, but NO CHOCs (and no hot towels)

overall
 4.1

restaurant Gurkha Cafe
review date October 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment
Chicken Chat - starter - nice thick sauce, very tasty.

Main - Lamb Karai - lamb cooked nicely, but no/not enough distinctive taste. Same for black dal side dish. So a little disappointing after 3 months off. Not helped by the fact that my appetite can often be poor. But surprisingly I did enjoy the garlic nan - something I seldom have!
overall
 3.8

restaurant Guru Balti
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20
comment Was not looking for a large meal on this occasion so omitted a starter. Pre starters a little bit disappointing since not much variety, but tasty enough and fair amount of what we had.

My main course was Jaipuri chicken - very enjoyable after last month's disappointing meal at Khushi's - a proper curry.

Fairly efficient service. A good evening out.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Guru Balti
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadom was quite tasty, which was just as well as there was not enough pickle to go round 5/6 people and mango dip tasted 'vinegary'. I ate most of it without any accompaniment.

My starter was mixed pakora (sorry, Balti Mixed Pakora). It was tasty with a couple of largish pieces of chicken and various other things. All thanks to the guys who had a share of this as there was enough for a main course for me.

My main was Chicken Kathmandu Masala (sorry, Balti Chicken Kathmandu Masala). I couldn't say I tasted the ginger or garlic that were supposed to be in it. Most strange of all was the fact everybody else's dish looked just the same as mine, only I had tomato and another had chick peas in. Overall disappointing and not gvfm.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Ignite
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Again the Starter turned out to be more tasty than Main dish. Bhuna lamb was ok but not at all spicy, certainly not 'medium hot'. Voll Puree, the Starter (chick peas and potatoes) was an interesting mix of flavours and texture.
The staff did well to have party of 14 with just the bill to order by 9:20pm.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Ignite
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Should have read over my review from 2013 before this visit since my comments are very much the same. Poppadoms and dips very good. Enjoyed the Combi Chaat starter (Chaat sauce very tasty). Lamb Bhuna disappointing - just not hot at all.
overall
 3.6

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment Starter could have been hotter (temp wise).
overall
 4.1

restaurant In Touch
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Extra poppadoms and plenty pickle. That should please CTCTs.
Starter (onion bhaji) was big enough for a main meal. Quite tasty, but didn't finish.
Lamb Bhuna not very spicy, but lots of lamb and well cooked. Would have perhaps liked the sauce a bit thinner (less flour?)to mop up with naan.
It seemed ages before orders taken, but otherwise servers were very attentive. A good meal, but not outstanding.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Indian Lounge
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pre: Only enjoyed one of the pickles - onion.
Starter: Chutt Patt - 3 decent sized chicken wings, but one under-cooked. Pity since quite nice sauce.
Main: Ordered 'Special Karahi Bhuna (Barbecued Lamb)', which sounded much more exotic than it was. Described as 'flambied in cognac', I was expecting it to be alight when it arrived, but the past tense was correct. A fairly decent dish for all that.
Quite disappointed at lack of atmosphere due to 'modern' decor. Much preferred the way it was on previous visit, but perhaps the old 'Raj' style no longer PC.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Kama Sutra
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Very good poppadoms with nice spicy onion pickle.

Chose Kekla Tikka (Crab) starter. Very tasty and nicely presented.

Not turned on by the main (Traditional Lamb Bhuna), partly because I felt full too quickly, and it didn't have enough taste. Nicely cooked lamb, but it hadn't picked up any flavours.

Did not try any sides (not even the panir that everyone else was raving about).
overall
 4.1

restaurant Kama Sutra
review date October 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppadom, but I only had the onion pickle which was very good.
A bit disappointed there was no duck (starter) as I had decided to try something different. But Chandri Chicken was tasty and also pleasantly hot.
Must say the chilli ratings on the menu puzzled me as my main of Murgh Jaipuri (2 chillies) was not as hot as the starter which was 1 chilli. Quite enjoyed it just the same. It had lots of large onion pieces which could have been a spoiler had they not been just the right texture, not raw and not overcooked.
You certainly know you\'re in an Indian restaurant here, surrounded by pictures, ornaments and fittings that set the scene. Service was a little bit erratic as the starters came before we were quite finished the \'pre\', then there was a bit of a wait before mains came. Certainly it was pretty busy for a week-night.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Good poppadoms, with spicy onion dip easily the winner in the pickle tray.
I ordered a Kebab starter. Could not remember if it was minced lamb or minced chicken I asked for, but whichever it was it was really tasty and nice and spicy. Only 2 kebabs was too much for a starter for me. If I ever go back to this restaurant I will order this for a main.
The main dish I had this time was Desi Saag Lamb (definitely lamb). It was quite green. That's because Saag is spinach? There was no mention of spinach in the menu, it must have been the mustard leaves. It was quite a tasty dish, but I found some pieces of lamb unpleasantly smooth rather than grainy.
Overall a decent restaurant, but £25 not such a lot of saving when no drinks were purchased.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Khushi
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Good crispy popps and nice spicy lime pickle. Lost 1/2 point as there was not enough of the toppings.

Was surprised by the Mushroom Pakora as it did not look like pakora at all. I thought I had been served the wrong starter. It was certainly a mushroom dish, a red mushroom dish. Was tasty and probably more healthy than the usual version.

Enjoyed the Lamb Bhuna which had beautifully tender lamb, tasty and nicely spicy .

Love to eat my curry in such traditional Indian decor. Was fascinated by the chairs in particular. Also enjoyed being met immediately by a wonderful spicy aroma.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Khushi
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Very nice meal, starting with complimentary pre-pre-starter - a very tasty little dish of spicy chana.

Nice crispy pappadams, tasty pickle.

Onion Bhaji, thankfully not as big as I've seen, with tasty dip.

Main dish, Lamb Punjabi Massalla, described as 'strong' taste, was certainly better than a few mains I've had lately.

Service was quiet, pleasant, and very efficient.

Prices were more reasonable than £30 would suggest. We were a bit ott with the tip (nobody had change).
overall
 4.2

restaurant Khushi's (Edinburgh)
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment What can I say? This was not like a Curry Club meal at all. More like one in a Crawfords restaurant. I've been eating Lamb Bhunas since the 1960s and this one wasn't the least bit spicy. Beautifully cooked - yes, very tasty - yes, but not a CURRY! And the atmosphere was just that of a busy Edinburgh restaurant, but not Indian.
On the plus side, service very good, quiet and efficient; side dish Raj Aloo was very good; pre-starters good and decent amount of the pickles; and wonderful lamp shades.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Kismot
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25
comment Not quite sure how I rated this restaurant. I had mixed feelings about it. Poppadoms did not have any taste, but there was certainly a good amount of pickle and some of it was h-hot. The Chicken Ada main dish was described as being with lemon and ginger and strong Indian spices. Did not notice much of the latter, but the chicken itself was very good, only a couple of the pieces were actually the lemon. Well I quite like lemon, but after eating two pieces I was very apprehensive about finding any more. Still I managed to finish it all. Next time I am definitely going to try the Irn Bruna.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Mezbaan
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Super poppadoms, light and crispy, with decent amount of 3 dips that were esp tasty when blended altogether.
'Mini' did not describe the dosa starter. There was enough to share round the whole table. Reasonably tasty, with veg in a spicy gravy, and a creamy sauce to accompany.
Had my traditional dish Lamb Bhuna, which was nice and spicy too, but let down by the rice which was not very warm and was a bit lumpy. Tried a new side dish - Beetroot Pachdi, which was an unusual yogurt based accompaniment.
Found the lighting too bright, and the one nearest our table continually dimmed and brightened which was quite annoying.
Overall a good meal with new things to try, and good amount of spiciness in just about everything. Good vfm.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Mintleaf
review date May 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Not so impressed as I was last time when this restaurant was Amani.Lacked the atmosphere it had then. Poppadoms were fine, but pickles a bit too runny, except spicy onion which was good. Had Thai soup for starter. Could have been warmer, but lots of chicken (and other things) in it. Very big pieces though. The main dish was best thing of the night - Gust Korai - lamb in a rich Punjabi sauce. Delicious. Not too struck on Tarka Dal and hadn\'t tried any other sides.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment This meal was very enjoyable and a bit unusual for CTCTs. Being able to order a selection of smaller dishes suited my portion size very well. And with my sister visiting we could have a fair selection between us. Chicken Tikka Makhani was the tops of the dishes ordered. Missed the larger selection of dips for Popps, but they were actually quite crispy and tasty just on their own anyway. Very busy restaurant in 'student' part of town. Staff brilliant at coping with this.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment The busiest restaurant we have been in for some time, but given this, and having 13 in the group, the service was pretty good.

I ordered Chana Daal, Ginger Chicken and spinach leaf, and Coconut Pepper Lamb. Of these 3 dishes the chicken was the best, hot in both senses of the word. The daal was pretty good, but lamb disappointing - first piece of lamb was chewy, and second was gristly.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Mughal
review date April 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Got the impression this is a fairly new restaurant. We were a party of 12 and they dealt pretty well with that, but then there wasn't too much else going on.
Have to say I really enjoyed the food, except the 'pickles/dips' which were not at all exciting, although poppadoms themselves were very good.
Mulligatawny soup had some unusual ingredients such as pineapple pieces, also was quite creamy, but it was hot, spicy and delicious.
Main course of Lamb Bhuna was also very tasty, lamb well cooked and nicely spiced.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Namaste
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £25
comment This is not the first restaurant where the starter was more enjoyable than the main course. The garlic mushrooms were nice and spicy. The Nepalese menu was a bit different to traditional Indian, but I decided on a change (for me) and choose a fish dish - Kashmiri Fish Curry. I know Kahmiri is usually mild, so I asked for 'medium' which was offered on the menu. I found this dish very bland, not even mild, although the red snapper itself was fine. The popps were unusual and enjoyed these. The side dish helped to add a little bit of spiciness to the fish.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Navadhanya
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment The food in this restaurant was certainly very good as was the service. Not sure that it justified a cost of £40 though, that\'s £10 more than any previous restaurant. (I calculated my own meal at around £28.50, inc tip)
To return to the food though, I did like the dainty poppadoms, but could have done with more of them to use more of the interesting dips. There wasn\'t even enough for 2 pieces each.
I did like the taster of spicy potato ball that we all had (was this complimentary?) Didn\'t catch on to what was in it, but it was very tasty and like most of the food here, the spices developed as you ate it.
Papdi Chat was the most unusual starter I have ever had. It looked more like a sweet the way it was presented ( a bit like a Berliner - a sort of iced donut). However, on eating, all the ingredients came into their own, chick peas, crunchy crisps, yogurt, mint and tamarind. The spices got more apparent the further into the dish you got.
Murgh Makhni was the main dish I chose. The chicken was cooked to perfection, and just about the right portion size for me to finish the dish.

overall
 4.2

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment 2nd Best dips ever.
Palah Kebab - an unsual starter for me. Was very tasty and quite hot too.
Chicken Chetlandi(?) Not spicy, more subtle. Very good, very large portion.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Omar Khayyam
review date February 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Thoroughly enjoyed nice crispy poppadoms, and a lite-bite chicken pakora starter.
Chicken Qandhari (medium) also pretty good. Nice chunky chicken pieces. Good taste.
Did not try any sides, but did try a couple of nans (not usual for me), but found them too 'sweet'.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23
comment Nice to see some new starters. Enjoyed the starter not being another meal (i.e. it was light & not filling - so ready for main dish. Main dish not outstanding but also was different to usual ones
overall
 4.0

restaurant Rivage
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £24
comment Great tasting popps, and because they were curly rather than flat the dips stayed on much better than usual.
Starter (Murgh Tikka Tirkana) a triplet of chicken pieces with diff coatings each with its own sauce. Very tasty.
A number of 'new' dishes on menu, but I had Rack of Lamb. Nice to have the flavour through the meat. It must have been properly marinated.
overall
 4.3

restaurant Rivage
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Enjoyed the originality of this restaurant. Also enjoyed the coke (I usually can't drink sparkling drinks with spicy food).
overall
 3.9

restaurant Ronaq
review date October 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Although the poppadoms were fine I was not taken with any of the 4 pickles we had. I see on the menu they had quite a selection of these, but don\'t know if any of the others would have been better.
I did enjoy both the starter and the main course. My starter was Tandoori Mushroom. The first time I have had a dish with paneer, the large mushrom was hidden in the cheese pieces. It was really tasty, quite spicy and a nice portion. Presentation was quite original too.
Main dish was Chersada Balti - marinated slices of chicken with minced lamb. Very tasty and didn\'t hit you with the spicyness, it developed, which is what I like.
The Chana side dish was good, but not special.
The restaurant was very busy, esp for a wednesday, but we were served very promptly.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters very tasty.

Starter - interesting combination of tastes and textures. Subtle spices.

Mains - not a very large selection, but good quality.

Sides were great tasting.

Prompt in serving. Lovely, piping hot food. A bit pricey, but worth it.
overall
 4.5

restaurant Saffrani
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20
comment Tasty pickles, esp the spicy onion.

Mushroom starter was also nice and spicy, but don't remember the puri with it being mentioned in menu.

I had my longtime favourite, a bhuna, but here I had chicken rather than lamb. The meat was real chicken which I enjoyed, also the amount and the spiciness were just right for me.

Not much atmosphere to mention, but an enjoyable meal, one that lingered on the palate.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Shamoli
review date May 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Missed having Lime Pickle.
Starter (Onion Bhaji) was tasty but seemed a bit salty (so did pre-starter).
Lamb was tender & not grisly or too big pieces.
Service - polite and unintrusive.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Shezan Tandoori
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Loved the popps, pickles(esp lime). The easy-to-serve dishes, and the variety of pickles were fun, even if one was a little bit like Worcs sauce.
Onion Rings (starter) lots of, and BIG, but tasty enough.
Lamb Bhuna(main) beautiful meat, would have been'5' but could have been a bit more spicy. Naan bread was excellent (and not sweet).
Had no problems with service, quite prompt for such a large group, but decor was UGH.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Tanjore
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment An unusual 'Curry Night', and not just because there were strange looking characters walking the streets and serving in Tesco. South India menu was quite different to 'normal' and I hadn't appreciated this before.

Liked the lime pickle, and since only 2 dips, I mostly just had that one. Not sure how we were to eat it - from napkin using knife or fork?

Starter-Panayaram-savoury balls which had little taste without the dips that came with them. They were quite nice and spicy.

Lots of fish or veggie mains on menu. I ordered Chennai, a fish curry (bream). Only a few pieces of fish, so not very filling even for me. But the sauce was very good. Can't remember the name of the bread, but I liked it - a bit flaky. Different rices on offer too. Tried Tamarind which was good.

overall
 3.6

restaurant The Everest
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Loved the poppadoms. Loads of dip provided (some places have been stingy with it, or you guys just didn't leave any for me). Lime pickle "the Best".

My starter was 'Bara' a lentil 'cake' (resembling a potato scone). Was tasty but bland. The spicy dip helped it, but was a bit like ketchup.

My main dish was Sagarmatha Raksi Chicken. I took home a take away menu which helped with the name. Enjoyed it very much, lovely chunks of chicken, very tasty sauce, but could have been hotter to merit 'medium'.

The side dish Aloo Tama Bodi with beans and bamboo shoots was excellent, and new to me.
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25.50 (including tip)
comment Very good food and very good service esp with a party of 16.
The dishes I had were Chikka Tikka starter and Mughlai Chana Gosht. Liked the Bombay Potato side dish too.
Can't find a single thing to complain about (except no Irn-Bru)
overall
 4.3

restaurant The Himalaya
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25
comment Disappointed by pickle tray. Lime P seemed ok on first tasting, but got more and more salty with each mouthful and had to abandon it. Onion pieces had no flavour or spiciness at all.
My starter was Mince Samosa which I thought was supposed to have a 'sauce' included, but not so. It was needing that to add taste and also soften the pastry a bit to be easier to cut.
Lamb Bhuna was better, lamb very well cooked and no gristly bits. Also Bombay Potato side very good.
Service was very prompt and efficient, and there was some Indian style music played quietly in the background to give a bit of atmosphere.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22
comment I'm sure this must be the first restaurant where a knife and fork were needed for the lime pickle as it had such large pieces of lime in it.

Enjoyed a very tasty starter - Mince Samosa, but one pasty would have been sufficient for me. Fortunately I did not overdo it and eat 2, so I was able to do justice to the Methi Goust. This lamb dish was beautifully cooked, and I even managed to try a little of the keemo nan to finish off the meat and sauce. A very enjoyable meal.

Serving a group of 14 did not cause the staff here any problems.
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Khukuri
review date December 2009
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Scoring a downward curve. I had Laasya veg. soup for starter. It was delic! Lots of veg which were beautifully crispy/crunchy. Spicy and piping hot. Just the thing for a freezing Dec. night. If only it had been served soon after coming in, not 1hr 10mins later.
Main dish -Ruckmane lamb- served hot and with warming spices. Lamb could have been a tad more tender, but it didn't spoil the dish.
Aloo Tama Bodi (potato,bamboo shoots and black-eye beans) was novel but not quite living up to expectation.
Servers were pleasant enough, just not quite on the ball.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00
comment Starter tasty, but was it not meant to be warm?

Main - only chillies were hot and not the "dish" itself. Should maybe have ordered more rice as portions quite small.

Strange music in background unlike Indian restaurant, at time more Hitchcock movie!
overall
 3.6

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date June 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 0.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25
comment Poppadoms were fine, but only 3 dips none of which were very inspiring. Tray of 3 between 3 people, but quantity did not mean quality.
My starter was Spicy Cashew Nut Roll. The rolls were of potato, rather like rissoles. Had a spicy dip accompaniment, not the yogurt one expected, but was better anyway. Very tasty starter.
My main dish was Gosht Hindustani. Tasty enough, but too many big pieces of green pepper (not mentioned in menu) as well as the lamb.
No atmosphere at all, the only other customers were in for takeaways. Another restaurant that was not as good as I remembered from previous visits
overall
 1.6

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2016
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Great meal. Could not fault the main dish at all. (Kali Mirch Bhona) Chicken was just right, and the dish was spicy, hot, gingery, a true curry. Lemon rice with mustard seed I would also recommend. Attention to detail was given by all the staff. Many other restaurants would not have coped so well with a party of 29.
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment As always poppadoms and dips were very good (esp onion, and the lime pickle)

Haggis Samosa (starter) was quite unusual. It claimed to have \'haggis, neeps & tatties\' in the filling, but I did not taste any turnipat all and not too much haggis, but it was for all that very tasty, nicely spiced and great light, crispy pastry.

For main dish I had Murgh Zeera Wala which I liked because it had a lingering flavour with plenty of ginger.

Disappointed in Bombay Aloo because I have loved it in the past, but this one had a lot of the one spice I don\'t like much, (I think it\'s cardamom)

Compared to previous times there was very little atmosphere, but hopefully that will improve in time. I did feel a little bit like being constantly watched, but I hope that things will be more relaxed when the staff have become accustomed to the changes.
overall
 4.1

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Very glad I was at last able to pay a 2nd visit to the CROTY having been away the previous two Januarys. Had read all the earlier revues, which meant I was going with high expectations. This can often result in a disappointment, but not so with The Spice Pavilion.
What I liked about the pre's, as well as the taste, was the consistency of the dips - there were no drips.
The Spicy Duck(starter)and Nizami Lamb(main) were both excellent. My one problem was that in order to finish the main dish I did not try any of the much recommended sides. Oh and the lemon rice (with mustard seed) was also specially good.
Service very good, with all the bonus points - hot towel and chocolate.
This evening passed my acid test - when I woke up next morning I was counting days till next Curry Night.
(Note to self: next time sit at the other table. Better vfm)
overall
 4.8

restaurant The Verandah
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Really enjoyed the starter I had - Garlic Mushroom Pakora.

Found the main dish - Lamb Mussoorie Dahl - very tasty, but too filling to do justice to it. Didn't have any sides.

Attentive service, but did I find the waiting more of an issue since I hadn't taken advantage of the earlier start to pre-curry pub visit?
overall
 4.0

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date june 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Bonus points for the hot towel!
overall
 4.2

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment This visit was quite disappointing compared to previous ones to this restaurant.

For (pre-) starters the onion pieces and lime were too big, fell off spoon, didn't make it to poppadom, and with LP sometimes biting just the spice, it was not through the pickle.

Onion bhaji was good. Should have finished it instead of leaving room for main. I had shashlik chicken, but some pieces of meat tasted more like fish and it was not very warm. Also did not need more salad as there were large pieces of onion and capsicums in the dish and had already had salad accompaniment with starter.

Service very prompt, esp for such a large group.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Tuk Tuk
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
tapas
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £21.50 (including tip)
comment Enjoyed very good food in a relaxed atmosphere. Being a tapas-style menu ordered a mix of dishes which I was sharing with my guest.

Our 'starter'was Bengali fish cakes; main dishes were ginger garlic chicken, keema methi mutter, and patina lamb karahi; dahi bindi was our 'side'. Both the chicken and the lamb were well cooked, and all the dishes were very tasty with about the right amount of spiciness. So a very enjoyable meal.
overall
 4.5

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £23.00 (including tip)
comment Best popadom & pickles so far. Too much onion in main dish. Also have had less grisly lamb in other restaurants. Rice very good though.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Vinyasa
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Foodwise mostly very good. Aloo Chop (starter) spicy, tasty, just a bit too much(for me)for a starter. Lamb Rogan Josh was also good, but a bit too many tomato chunks. Servers were all very pleasant and friendly, just let down a bit by management not having properly prepared for our size of group. In spite of the lapses in service everything had been served up in pretty good time. We\'ve had half as many in the group and it\'s taken longer. Main complaint - the hot towels were not very hot!
overall
 3.8

restaurant Voujon
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starters at this restaurant were very good and raised expectations which main dish did not quite live up to. It was more 'ordinary'. Presentation was excellent, so added to the 'service' score.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Yak and Yeti
review date May 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Often returning to a restaurant that you\'ve remembered as being very good turns out to be a disappointment. This one was as good as last time (and I gave it my \"second vote\"). The poppadoms were very good with great dips, and the starters were very tasty and very well presented. I had chosen onion bhaji. My one problem was that there was such a lot of chicken in my \"Poleko Kukhura\" that I couldn\'t eat it all. It was flavoured with pieces of ginger and chopped spring onions, with Nepalese spices. Very tasty. The Tarka dahl surprisingly had not much taste, yet had looked very good.
The restaurant filled up as the evening wore on so that there was only one table left free. At first there was only one waiter who was very ably managing everything, but it did get too much for one, and some backup came on to help out. But we had waited quite a bit for the main courses.
overall
 4.2

restaurant Yak and Yeti
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25.00
comment It's been a long wait for this restaurant to re-open after our planned visit cancelled due to fire. Glad to have had the chance to sample their menu at last. The poppadoms were delicious, with 4 great dips, esp the tomato and the onion ones. And the fact that they were complimentary was a bonus.
I had the Lamb Sekwa starter which was very nicely presented and the Nepalese spices were good. The lamb was a little bit chewy but not enough to spoil the dish. There was more meat to it than looked at first, with the result that I could not do justice to the Lamb Bhuna I had for main dish. This time the lamb was fine, and the Chana Massala side dish was good along with it, as was the Pilau rice which had some extras in it. All in all a nice evening and a nice meal.
overall
 4.2

restaurant Zest
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters: too ordinary. Not enough for 6.

Starter: spicy - decorative.

Main: Tried something new, but not my thing.

Bonus mark for hot towels and orange slices at the end.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 96849 times ]