Reviewer's Reviews : James McCamphill

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Ann Purna
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 0.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The WORST most stale and bendy Pops I have ever had, although hungry I couldn't even eat it all. Pickles were ok but portions on the small side.

The mixed platter starter contained nothing noteworthy with the balls being the best and the samosa being a bit dry inside. just a well that the accompanying sauce was on hand and was very tasty too.

Main dishes that we got were again ok but again the portion sizes are small. I doubt that if we wern't having a banquet style dinner that the portions would be that small, nor go unnoticed. The chick pea and potato dish was def the pick of the bunch for me. Sweet and sour courgette without the sour made it ......hmmmmm....too sweet! The Dahl was far far too thin (although had loads of Garlic). Which is just as well because the Naans did not. Rice was v good.

Service was pleasent and accommodating, the place itself was clean and well presented.

Overall below average food and a bit pricey for what we had and I left a little hungry (meaning not as stuffed as usual).
overall
 2.7

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date September 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Pops: a bit stale but not to bad with the chutney. Onions were nice but lime pickle was salty.
Starter: lamb kebab was tasty but portion was a bit on the small side. Meat tender and had good spice.
Main:lamb bhuna not really impressed with this dish, not much flavour nor spice nor heat. meat was chewy and had grisly bits throughout.
Sides not good either Tarka Dahl thin and bland. Nans not quite right either.
Service was very quick and efficient. I am going home slightly early yet hungry from curry club for the first time in a long time not recommended nuff said
overall
 2.5

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pop's were fresh and crispy and came with plenty of pickles of which the lime pickle was very nice and gave me that sour face look, lovely.
Chicken Baja starter was good too, meat was nice and tender and sauce was well spiced and very tasty.

Main of Lamb Chilli Garlic was only let down by the very toug and chewy meat. Loads of big bits of garlic throughout and just enough heat with the green chillis.

Service was very good and speedy with no mistakes and no unnecessary waiting.
All in all a very good feed for a very reasonable price.
overall
 4.3

restaurant Club India
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £27
comment Pops: The pickle trays were minuscule and did not go far at all leaving a quite dry and salty pop = not great, althoguh the Lime Pickle and Mango C were quite tatsy.

Starter: Lamb Kebab: The spices were quite well balanced + pleasant. The meat was a bit tough and quite chewy and one bit was just inedible. The accompanying sauces were good. Again 4-5 small bits of lamb works out at about £1 each (not worth that)

Main: Lamb Rogan Josh: First thing to hit me was the heat, quite a bit hotter than any other Rogan Josh I have had before and it was all the better for it. The sauce had a great flovour and had a good consistency. The meat was very tender and succulent. Very happy with this dish actually.

Sides: Tarka Dahl was lovley and thick but lacking in garlic, Bindi was a bit chewy and not great and the Gobi Aloo was ok, the naans were fresh and quite good but not hot enough and by the 2nd 'rip' they were quite cold.

Service: Seemed a bit disorganised and given that they were not busy at all was very slow. I found the whole place to be very clean and a pleasent place to be in.

Overall: Not too bad really a mixed bag.... a bit scimpy on the portions sizes but not the prices....I would give it another try.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Guchhi
review date November 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £15
comment Pops: Fresh-crispy-tasty, Pickles were average and I did miss having no Lime Pickle. Onions were good ;-).

Starters: Shammi Kebah: Dissapointing really,lacking both in meat content and flavour, the texture was also hard to describe but it was a bit chalky. Should have had the chicken livers (they looked good).

Main: Lamb Jalfrezi: This dish was very tasty indeed, The sauce was a great consistency and the meat was overall good but did have some not so good bits in too. Enjoyed the spicing and big onion slices; just a shade more heat would have set it off perfectly.

Sides: Tadkewali Dahl was surperb and you must have it the Aloo Gobhi Masala was very good too, and the naans good too but needed more garlic.

Service: Pleseant enough staff but at best it was below average, to bring 8/11 mains then leaving people looking around waiting (5 mins) for rice is not good.
Dispite spilling a drink over two guests there seemed to be little way of apology or urgency to clean either the floor or the (very) wet people. They did however take the price of all the main dishes off the bill.

Overall: Food 1 bad one; 3 great ones and a reasonable night plus a bit of a laugh (only for the dry people).


overall
 3.4

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date June 2008
service
 2.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Starter lovely, main was great. Portion sizes just right. I love curry ... come here!
overall
 4.2

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 0.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops: Nice and fresh but the dips were nothing special, mago chutny was not great but onions were good and had no cucumber this time. I really missed the lime pickle.

Starter: Chicken Pokora: Very Very dry meat and hard job getting it down. Batter not very nice either and very bland. The token sprinkle of salad was not worth having.

Main: Lamb Bhuttuwa: At first I thought that there was not enough Lamb but as it turned out it was just the right amount (just used to more I guess) Lamb was very tasty and tender but a some chewier bits too. The sauce was bit thin but the flavour was spot on. It had a great taste and a great balance of spices, could maybe have had more heat to it though.

Sides: Both the Dahl and Sag Aloo were very good indeed
Naans: were also very nice and fresh.

Service: Staff were attentive, chatty and pleasant but did bring out a couple of wrong dishes and seemed to want to blame us for that. They did however correct any mistakes quickly.
I did enjoy the off-kilter music and had a great nite.
Also drinks were reasonably priced; a bonus
overall
 1.8

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops: Very fresh,light and crispy, Pickles were all good too esp. the onions. V good start

Starter: Lamb Tikka Kebab: Not exactly cold but not exactly warm either. Meat was tender and good quality but maybe a bit on the dry side and a piece or too short in my opinion. Spices were good. The red sauce pot that came with it was a bit weird.

Main: Lamb Bhutawah: Sauce was nice but lacking in any real heat. Meat was again good quality but a bit overdone and dryish. Overall it was quite tasty though.

Sides: We had alot of side tonight and they were all very nice

Service: Quickest curry club for some time, friendly fast and efficient with zero mistakes, good job.

Overall a nice tasty above average meal although nothing overly notable.
overall
 3.8

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters, No cucumber in onions otherwise great.
Now this menu is big, in fact I'm still reading it now.
Starter, simply great. Needs abit more heat for the 5.
Main was V.V good. Meat (chicken) tender and not big chunks of it.
I won't profess to know a lot about the sides but they were just fine.
Overall. I will be back. It may not be too close to town, but it's worth a detour.
overall
 4.1

restaurant In Touch
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pops were very fresh delicate crispy and great. Lime pickle was by far the best pickle and with no cucumber the onions were piled on too. The mango chunty was far to thin although tasty could have been better.
Lamb sag a huge portion and was delicious in almost every way...but could have been a wee bit warmer, but was probably .down to the size of our party. Said.
Main of karahi lamb was again very good and the portion was well on the generous side. Meat was a tad over done but it did say BBQ so I guess I may have expected that.
Sides. Dahl was good, sag aloo was very good, bindi was not that good. The sweet naan hot the spot too pt
overall
 4.2

restaurant In Touch
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £20
comment Pops: Very fresh, light and still warm. Pickles were good esp the Lime pickle. Standard (for me) -1/2 for the cucumber in onions though.

Starter: Specail Lamb-Sag Purie: Very tasty indeed meat was great as were the spices, quite a big portion so I hope that I have left room for the main since this was a great start to the meal.

Main: ordered Lamb Jalfrezi but to to mix up at service got chicken and had to swap/share with Brian T.
The chicken was actually the better meat since the Lamb was a bit tough (although Dereks Lamb was much bbetter). The sauce had a great flavour and was very good and had a good balance and was just hot enough for me.

Sides: Dahl was a bit thin and bland, Sag Aloo was very good and the Naans were okay too but nothing special.

Service: A bit on the slow side so it was getting on 10:30 before we left. I hate it when there is confusion when dishes are brought to the table and people get the wrong dishes/different ones turn up etc etc. Food dripped meaning many people had food well before the others.

Overall the food was very good indeed and much better than the service; which is a good thing I guess. Maybe we just caught the staff on a bad day.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Indian Lounge
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pop was very fresh warm and crispy and I was really but even a small bit of the LP made everything salty as a salty sea dog. Mango was nice enough (could have been sweeter) but it all tasted of SALT. Update thr Mango is ok by itself now I have washed my mouth out.
Mixed Kebah: Labm was tough but well flavoured with spices, Chicken was on the cold and dry side. Shish K was by far the best but only possibly cause it was moist.
Main Disapointing agian the Lamb (which is what yo are really paying for) was tough and was ready to serve during last nights service I'm sure of it. The sauce was however nicely spiced (maybe more required) and I did enjoy it. However my jaw is now sore from chewing.
Sides: Dahl was the best dish of the night and really had a big blast of heat to it which I really liked. Naans were just naans and the Bindy B was over cooked hurting my already tired jaw.
Atom: New, Clean, fresh and all in all not a bad space for dinner.
overall
 2.8

restaurant Kasturi
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops: A bit stale but not too bad, small selection of pickles with no Lime Pickle shocker

Mixed Kebab: Again nothing amazing, sauce that came with it was tasty and had a wee bit of a kick to it. A destinct lack of Lamb with this dish i.e. NONE. When informed a plate of said Lamb did arrive and was actully very tasty.

Main: Lamb Chili Garlic: Now this is more like it although again I have had much better. Sauce was nice and thick and had a good balance of flavour and had some good sized chucks of garlic although laking in heat. apart from 1 peice the meat was very tender and just falling apart.

Sides: as expected just average with exception of the Dahl which was very thin lacking in flavour and garlic, sag aloo was the best of the lot. Naans were also just above average.

Service: Was quite prompt and fast but then we were about the only people in and there were plenty of staff.
Atmo: Pleasent and clean throughout
Value 4 my cash: a bit pricey for the quality of food recieved
overall
 3.4

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops were fresh and crispy; good pickle portions and they were all very tasty esp the onions.

Starter: Lamb Tikka: The meat was char grilled so had that great slightly crispy outside yet on the main remained tender on the inside. I did not mind the tougher bits so much since the flavor was so tasty with a great spiciness to it.

Main: Lamb Bhuna: Dish was very good indeed. Meat was tender as was the sauce with a fair amount of heat although a bit sweet compared to some of the others that I tried too (which by the way were also very good)

Sides: The Tarka Dahl was by far the best I have had for some time and it also had some kick to it; glad we ordered the big portion :-). Bindi was good too, Naans had plently of garlic but were nothing out of the ordinary but I have had a lot worse too.

The place is clean and modern and a pleasant place to be in and I like being able to see into the kitchen and enjoy the wafts of the food coming out too. Staff are friendly, accommodating and efficient. However the bill should NEVER take 25mins to arrive after asking several times. BOYB helped keep the price down too (good news for the drivers amongst us)

In all a very good meal was had and it def goes on my 'return to list'
overall
 4.1

restaurant Khushi
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops: Were light, fresh and crispy Lime pickle was just ok maybe do with a bit more sourness though. Again bonus for having no cucumber in the onions (should become standard practise I say)

Starter: Chicken Pokora, Meat was tender and well cooked. Batter was also light and crispy. Portion size was big.

Main: Lamb Dopizia: Meat was very tender and very tasty, the sauce had plenty of onions and had a great flavour and nicely spiced.

Sides: Sag Aloo had plenty of spinach but was lacking in something and not as good as last time. Tarka Dahl was very good.

Nans: Are huge, fresh and very good here.

Service was good and the staff are very accommodating and friendly.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops were very nice and crispy. I can't tell you how happy I was to see no cumcumber in the onions. Lime pickle was just spot on for me.

Tandoori 1/4 chicken: Dispite being a bit redder that you might like to see the meat was very juicey and tender. Spices were just right although it was a bit salty even for me (and I do like salt).

Lamb Dopizia: Again a very happy boy, portion was plentyful and the meat was just falling apart with no knife required. Sauce was very well spiced: just perfect I thought.

Sag Aloo: Lovely: Perfect
Dahl: Very nice too.
Naans: Were huge and obviously very fresh and very as a result tasty indeed. Perswhari was wonderful.

We have a contender for ROTY 2009. As Arnie once said 'Hasta la...... no wait 'I'll be back'; yeah that's it.
overall
 4.6

restaurant Lancers
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 1.5
price £22.75
comment Pre: Pops fresh, crispy and nice. Lime pickle was ok but could do with more of a kick though. Mango chunty was very tasty.

Starters: Well a least I got something, not what I ordered but. When everyone else was getting their starters to be told (after a lenghty wait) that they have 'run out' was just annoying. The mixed kabab was actually not too bad (mind you I would have eaten an old shoe if it turned up). Unfortunately some of the meat being a bit tough did resemble that shoe.

Main: Lamb Bhuna was very nicely flavoured and spiced. The meat again was a bit hit and miss.

Sides: Sag Aloo was nice but the potato was a bit on the hard side, Tarka Dahl was nothing special and a bit watery I felt.

Garlic Naan was lacking in garlic and was a bit dry.
overall
 1.9

restaurant Mithas
review date November 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pre starters: soup thing was tasty and had a nice subtle spice to it but to be honest I would have preferred Pops

Starters: Sea bream : Well that was fantastic. A reasonable sized portion of perfectly cooked fish with delicious spiced crispy coating, a wee bit of salad would have helped. Sauces were also very very nice.

Mains : Peshwari lamb karahi : The sauce had a good enough flavor and had good consistency for me but not enough heat. However this dish was totally let down with mostly very poor cuts of sinew lamb and stone cold plates to eat it off. Unforgivable to serve meat like that for that price.

Sides : Nans were very good indeed but again nothing that small is worth that money. Dhal was thin but ok.

Atmo : This place is a bit too formal for us really and setting at that huge table did not help matters

Service : Pleasant and efficient enough but I felt I was being pushed too hard for extra expensive sides and drinks.

Value : I don't mind paying for good food and would expect to get a better feed than that.

Summary: A mixed bag really but
Still hungry - £30 = not happy!

overall
 2.2

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment I can's be bothered to write too much tonight - let's just say that I enjoyed it.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops: Were stale and not very nice. Pickles were just ok and nothing really worth mentioning. The worst start this year for me :-(

Mixed kebab: Very tatsy, meat was all moist (hmmmm moist) and not chewy which it sometimes can be. The accompanying sauce of onions, peppers and spring onions was very nice. The portion size was also quite generous. -1/2 for a slight lacking in spices/heat.

Semli Methi Gosth: The meat was plentlyfull, very delicate and just falling apart very tasty indeed. The sauce was tasty with a good consistancy and a good deep flavour although again lacking in a wee bit of heat.

Sides: All quite good Dahl was not too watery but was however a wee bit bland. Sag Aloo was v good and the Bindi Baji was very good (the best for a long while)
Naans were a reasonable size and rather than being too doughy had a crispy bottom which added a nice texture to the whole meal.

Atmo: This place is very clean and nicely decorated too, a nice place to be for dinner.

Service: Good service and considering the size of our group (11) we have had alot worse. All dishes correct and present in a reasonable time frame.

Overall the food was above average but the above average price tag was not so good.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy but nothing special with plenty of dips. Lime pickle was a bit heavy on the lime for me but not unpleasent.
Starter of Chicken Pakora: the meat and batter were both firm bute the sauce with it was quite nice. Average at best.
Main: Lamb Garlic Chilli.... my arse, No garlic (oh wait... I found some no.... no it was a bit of rice. No heat at all but then what do you expected from lightly peppered Heinz tomato soup. The Lamb was actually very tender and nice.
Sides: Sag Aloo was very nice and was def the best thing about my whole meal.

No Naan bread what is that all about!

I will not be back!

overall
 1.6

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment OK I have resigned myself to the fact that the onions come with cucumber in. I still don't agree but there you go, not enough pickles with Poppadoms.

Good portions sizes of CH.Pakora but very red, meat = dry, much sauce required, cucumber again.

Garlic Chili Chicken; ok
Not great heat more garlic required.

Sides not too much flavour, bit bland
Nans - strange/no garlic detected
Service nothing special.

And all round - well I got FED!

New Chairs please
overall
 2.9

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £35.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters different and original. Bread things a bit heavy; onions very good.

Haggis samosa starter was bloody delicious; a delight!

Beef Vindaloo: meat was very tender and juicy! A good bowl full. Scored 4.5 because a 5 just never happens!

Good night was had.

Want nice food? Come here!
overall
 4.4

restaurant Saffrani
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops: Were fresh, light, warm and tasty too. The pickles were also good onions had some kick to them although a bit wet for my liking. The LP was perhaps the sourest I have had for some time...top stuff.

Chicken Tikka: Meat was juicy and very tender, portion size was also favorable. The taste was nice enough but nothing notable really.

Lamb Kadai: Meat was again very nice and not overdone as so many seem to do. I was happy enough with the flavor and the bits of pepper were a nice addition to the texture but again nothing overly special. The whole dish needed a bit more heat throughout to bring it up a bit.

Sides: Naans were nice. Sag Aloo was nice but the Traka Dahl although a great texture it was a bit bland and needed a heap more garlic really.

Service was pleasant fast efficient and friendly throughout although really pushing the expensive drinks (Kingfisher) annoys me a bit.
Overall it was a nice meal and if in this area I would come back, but it would not be at the top of my list.


overall
 3.6

restaurant Shezan Tandoori
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops: Nice crisp and fresh but none of the 6 small pickles (with 2 spoons) selections did it for me really.

Starter: Lamb kebab meat was good and there was a good build up of spices and heat wvith the dish too. A very decent starter.

Main: Special Karahi Bhoona: Really enjoyed this dish. Sauce had a good flavour and spice but could have done with a both more of it. Portion size was JUST big enough for me, just glad I dont have a big appetite Meat was well cooked and tender. (I did try some of Barrys Lamb dish and it was also very good and the meat was fantastic. )

Sides: Naans good size fresh and nice. Rice good. Dahl ok but all portions v small bearly enough for 1 person really. Now the infamous Sag Aglo (after all that fuss) I did not like and left a bitter after taste.

Atmo: The web site says 'After extensive refurbishment the magic is back' so a quick reprint of old and tattered menus should not be too much to ask (like the ones onthe web site perhaps) It is clean, modern and comfortable inside.

Service: I have an issue here, missing a side order is in innocent mistake, however saying (arguing) that the customer did not order it is a whole different matter. Simply state that 'I'm sorry I missed it and I will get you one asap' done and forgotten about.

Value: £25 is a good price for the standard of food received. And if food continues to come out this good then the rest will hopefully catch up...
overall
 3.0

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment BIG menu - too big???

Popadums nice.

Chicken pakora batter lovely & light & crispy - very good.

Main - lots of meat & very tasty. Enjoyed the sides too.

I am stuffed!

Would I come back? Maybe I would try a few others before hand.
overall
 3.8

restaurant The Everest
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £28.00 (including tip)
comment Pops: Very light and crispy and came with loads of Chutneys, the best being the Lime pickle which gave me the sour face and burny lips look; great stuff :-)
Lost a 1/2 for the cumcumber in onions (sorry but standard procedure for me).

Starter: Mixed Choyla: Spices were very well balanced and very tasty. Chicken was tender and mosit but lamb was on the tough side, still a lovely start.

Main: Lamb Bhuna: A bit dissapointing actually, if there were onions in it the were not just finely chopped but blended, I would rather see big bits of onion in the dish. Sauce was pleasent enough but nothing special. Although the meat was tender I found it quite salty. Overall just ok

Sides: Dahl was nice but a bit thin and needed more garlic. The peswahri naan was very nice and other sides were quite good too.

Service: The staff were very friendly and accommidating but the confusion that came with actually getting the dishes out needs to be stopped, it was very annoying.

Atmo: Nice decor in the place but seat got a bit unconfortable after a while.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pre starters: Pops very nice light and fresh, loads of pickles too. Both Mango chunty and Lime pickle were two of the best I have had, great big chucks of lime with that extra axtra sourness...loverly. -1/2 for the cucumber in the onions again.

Starter: Sheek kebab: A bit on the red side, a bit on the bland side, a bit on the dry side and a bit chewy. Not great just ok.

Main: N. Indian Chill Gosht: Quite tasty sauce but lacking in spices, just hot enough but for more have the green meanines. Meat was overall tender and nice but had a couple of grissly bits too.

Sides: More than made up for the mediocre main, Tarka Dahl was very nice but maybe a bit thin. Sag Bahji was also v good indeed.

These naan breads are humungous (and hot) and are very good indeed (I should have taken one home), in particular the Peshwari is great.

A good evening and food was above avergae but by no means fantastic.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Khukuri
review date July 2009
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Being left for so long to look through the rather large menu without being offered popadums was annoying. Then when asked they seemed to forget and then the staters started to drip out.
Had finished my meat before the chapti arrived because I could not wait any longer.
Main dish of lamb dopiaza was really very good as was the Sag Aloo and Tarkha Dahl.

Bit of a mixed bag really, food was above average but service I felt was well below.
overall
 1.6

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00
comment Menu : it's huge!

Pre-starters : very nice. First time I've enjoyed lime pickle. Still qucumber in the onions - stop it!

Starter : tasty enough, but cold and not spicy hot enough!

Main : meat (chicken) a bit tough, otherwise good.

Sides : all good.

Service : a bit slow, but then; there was 14 of us.

Atmosphere : no comments.
overall
 3.5

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops: Seemed a bit flexiable and stale, pickles were ok but nothing worth mentioning.

Starter: SPICY Duck was very good indeed, great to see duck on the menu sop I had to have it. Meat was very tender and perfectly spiced with the heat building up to give my mouth a good tingle. My salad was ALL cucumber and so i could not touch any of it hence -1/2 and I did want more(like Daves dish)

Main: Lamb Jalfrezi: There were actually many things that I wanted but was glad I choose this dish. The meat was lovely, the sauce was great, the onions still had a wee crunch and the spice/heat was also perfect. If I could cook a curry this is what I would want to make every time. v very GREAT!!

The sides also very good (esp Sag Aloo) but Tarka Dahl a bit thin/watery for me, Naans all good too and the unusual dall samber was a pleasent addition.

The service was very efficeint, friendly, fast and accommidating (Mary). No mistakes and they
(unlike many others) can remember who ordered what without standing there shouting the dishes out (I hate that)

This place is very fresh, bright, clean, modern, confortable and a nice place to be.

In short we may go the best part of the year to find somewhere better and a very good contender for ROTY!
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Pops: Fresh and crispy chuntys were nothing amazing and althought the Lime Pickle had the 'face factor' is was lacking in that kick of heat at the end of the facial whincing.

Starter: As last time the spicy duck was delicious, not chewy and the sauces with the starters were all excellent esp the brown (tamarind) one.

Main: Lamb Jalfrezie was again very good but lacked something this time, still great flavour and heat with the sauce. however some bits of meat were not great and a bit of a let down.

Sides: Loving the Dall Sambar it adds a great extra flaovur to your dish and the sag aloo was great (as always) as were the naans.

Serivce: No complaints whatsoever service was quick, efficient, friendly, unobtrusive, and without fault.

VFM: with 25% off what is not to like about having one of the best meals for a long time and only paying £22.

This place is great and I should always be better that a great deal of other places we vist this year.
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Verandah
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Pops were light fresh and crispy, Lime pickle was good, mango chutny was just ok, as for the cucumber I mean onions -1/2.

Starter: Lamb Puri: Meat was good and not chewy nor dry and the sauce was quite good too. However both it and the bread were on the cold side. The bread was a but greasy and was just not right.

Main: Nrth indian Chilli Garlic Lamb: This dish was very good indeed. The sauce was a great consistancy and had plenty of garlic chunks and had a great spiciness with it. Even without the green meanies this dish was hot but very good. The meat was not the best I have had but it was by no means the worse -1/2.

Sides: All sides I had were very good Sag Aloo v v good. Darka Dahl, v good. Bindi bajhi very nice too. Only the Nanns let the sides down as they were a bit doughy and def needed more garlic.

Given the size of our party (and the kitchen) and it being very busy for a Wed nite, service may have been a bitslow but was attentive and pleasent and overall they did a reasonable job of it. The place and table were a bit cramped.

Overall: Food was very good but feel you would need to be a a small group to get the best of it.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Great start - lime pickle was my favourite so far! Fresh and plenty of chutneys.

I don't want to say, but my salmon tikka was a bit dry. Very tasty though. Subtle spice - very enjoyable.

Lamb Jalfraise very tasty indeed. Just hot enough for me. If you want it hotter, eat the green chillies.

All sides were very very good indeed, especially the tarka dahl.

Atmosphere good, but telephone ring ring ring tone was annoying, but a sign of how good this place really is.

Worth the trip!!!
overall
 4.4

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £28.00 (including tip)
comment Chicken pakora quite dry, sauce too thin and watery. Main a bit lacking in spice. Meat nice and tender. Most dishes seamed quite similar. Naan breads good. Beer very very expensive. Service a bit slow.
overall
 2.4

restaurant Voujon
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pops were light tasty and cripsy but there was very little in the way of pickles which went far too quickly... and oh cucumber in the onions aaaargh!!

Starter: Boti [Lamb] Kebab was very nice indeed. Meat was tender and just falling apart. The marinate was in very tasty and nicley spiced - Delicious.

Main: North Indian Garlic Chilli Chicken. Meat was dry and a bit tough. Sauce had plenty of big chucks of garlic but it was lacking in any other spices/flavour. So thats is meat and garlic but something was missing- chilli, it was not hot at all other than the green chilli Gav gave me to help me out ;-)

Naans: Nothing special but nice enough.

Sides: Voujon Dall was full of garlic but was very watery and with not many lentils in it. Bhindi Bhaji was very good though.

Service: A bit lazy to be honest, when taking an order move around the table a bit instead of shouting down the whole length of it disturbing everyone. Same goes for the plates I don't want to pass them down they should MOVE (again) and do it!

Overall (apart from smelling of garlic) a great start that just went downhill as we went on. The 15% Discount was required or it would have been v pricey for the quailty recieved.

overall
 1.3

restaurant Zest
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £29 (including tip)
comment Pops: A shame cause the big tray of pickles were all quite good all round but the pop itself and maybe the Lime Pickle were very salty and that overpowered almost everything else.
Lamb Kebab: Portion size was just big enough not to complain about it. Meat was quite tender and I found the flavor great. So why 3.5, the distinct lack of heat must have been the first dish ready, and the pink sauce was well just pink really and not much else.
N Indian Garlic Chicken: I usually go for Lamb with my main but this meat was very well cooked indeed moist and tender. The sauce was a great consistency and was very flavorsome and nicely spiced. adding a green meanie certainly notched up the heat a fair bit too. Just missing something to make it more memorable but a very good dish indeed.
Sides: Sag Aloo was very good as was the Peswhari Naan and the Bindi Bhaji. T Dahl was ok but far too thin and watery.
Service: I hate when tables are arranged such that people have to take on the role of waiter to help take and clear your own dishes. Also standing in one place to take a order from a such a big table is just lazy as it halts everything else that is going on at that table.
Atom: Nice clean fresh dining area with optional mood lighting, a nice place to eat.
VFM: A bit pricey but probably mainly down to the drinks
overall
 3.6

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 96833 times ]