Reviewer's Reviews : Helen Forrester

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Car parking - poor. Food tasty.
overall
 1.8

restaurant Guchhi India
review date March 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £35 (including tip)
comment Tried some different dishes - Clam Koshimbir and Bream Nicole. Both had good subtle flavours. Slightly piceier than some of the other dishes but I think it was the beer bill that pushed up the total.
overall
 4.0

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Starters - cold plate BBQ prawn was very tasty.
Pune Palak chicken - tasty, less ginger & more chillis than expected.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms
Crisp - good minty sauce with no yohurt.

Fish Tikka
Large chunks of cod, well flavoured and cooked to flake and very moist.

Nihrana
Lamb shank cooked until it fell off the bone and excellent flavor. Accompanying crispy onions were just well fried onions. After one piece of chilli that set my tongue on fire I avoided that part of the side dish.

My order was forgotten so poor service mark.

Decor a little clinical.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Khushi
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25
comment Lime pickle I could eat!

Fish pakora - lots of large pieces of fish and veg and herbs in the batter and lots of pakoras. Could probably have had one portion between 2.

Prawn Bhuna - tasty. Amount of sauce was right not so much the plentiful prawns were swimming in it and yet they were well coated.

Tarka Daal- Good consistency lentils soft but still intact with a bit of bite and not too sloppy. I'd have liked more garlic.

Nan bread was a bit thin for me. I like it more spongy. Could have done with a little more garlic. Phil thought it had plenty - did he get it all!

Large seats to the chairs meant one's neighbour wasn't too close (good) but there was very difficult to get into the seats as there was no space between (poor).

Ambient temperature was low and when the door was opened there was a draught and it took a long time to warm up again. As the restaurant was fitted with a heater to make heat curtain I wish they would have use it. I'd describe atmosphere as chilly.

Overal good food, reasonable price, good service.

overall
 3.8

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 1.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 0.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment V Cramped. Noisy.

V Poor Service. It was quick but much reaching across - taking away plates before we'd finished.

Food was very good. I'd come again in a smaller group.
overall
 1.1

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment lime pickle I could eat and enjoy - not too sour!

coiander lime trout - simply baked fillet with lime and coriander - superb flavour and good moisture content.

spicy keema dosa - I tried this lentil pancake as something different. The pancake was was tougher than standard crepe. wasn't aware of different flavour of the pancake but spicy meat filling was very nice.

Ginger chicken and spinach - tasty with good sauce/meat balance.

We should have ordered more rice.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Ronaq
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.5
price £24
comment Popadoms were crisp and not oily.

Black pepper Machli - black pepper not obvious but lightly spiced and tasty. Cooked well - tender and not over done.
Chicken Dopiaza blander than normal.

Tarka Daal - light on the garlic
Channa Bhaji - nothing special

Service marked down as waiters leaned across the table instead of going round. Otherwise attentive. Mistake in the order but it got rectified quickly.

Restaurant more than half full. It was quite noisy.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters different and tasty.

Spicy fish cake starter with good contrasting sweet sauce.

Fish main - done to a turn, piquant sauce.

Sides tasty, but dal was a little too fluid.

Atmosphere was classy and the service attentative - very good.

Overall - flavoursome.
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25.00
comment Menu long making deciding what to have difficult.

Slow service - my main arrived long after everyone else's.

Starter was tasty and matched my expectation.

Kashmiri Kata Massalam Chicken was described as ginger garlic flavour but was very hot and I could not taste ginger or garlic. Rice and tarka dahl portions very small.
overall
 1.8

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date June 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.0
price £27
comment Popadoms fine but mango chutney more sugar than mango.
Riata was watery and tasteless. Green bits in the onions but flavour was just onions.

Spicy chicken in creamy peanut sauce - not very spicy but a tasty dish.

Chicken gosht papani was disappointing. Couldn't detect the ginger.

Nan was a bit dry for my taste.

Only one waiter and no strategy to get food on the table quickly so we had plates cooling, then meat dishes cooling and then rice arrived and even later the nan.

They need to get trolley or trays to get food to the table faster or have hot-plates to keep food warm on the table.
overall
 2.8

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20.50
comment Lime pickle that wasn't so sour I couldn't eat it!
Haggis Somoza - really tasty, with crispy 'crust'. Great dips. The chutney like one was fruity and sweet but not too sweet.
Chicken dansak - Tasty fruity but again not oversweet.
Mushroom Bhajee was great.
Service good. Waiters attentive and topped up my water regularly - some restaurants aren't as courteous and make me feel like a cheap skate for not taking alcohol.
As I have complained of cold restaurants, I must say this one wasn't. Helped by the dining area being screened from draughts from the outer door.
Impressed by efficient service with so many in the group. Waiters were patient with those who forgot what they had ordered or weren't paying attention.
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crisp and not oily. Lime pickle I could eat and enjoy - not too sour.

Haggis samosa - not the dollop of haggis wrapped in flaky samosa crust I expected. The crust was like a low fat hot water pastry - hard but not hard on the teeth. The filling mostly veg and seeds with a lovely mix of spices. Very nice but not what I expected.

Jingha Tawa - Served on a sissling plate this was really tasty. Sauce was tomato based and not too spicy. Tarka daal was not too sloppy but I thought it could have done with more garlic. Lemon rice made a refreshing change. Naans were good but I'd have liked more garlic.

In my mind waiters were over attentive and too eager. I put it down to a lack of other customers and being anxious to impress us! Slightly quick off the mark with the hot towels but they did open the packets saving us the fight. Slow with the bill.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Yak and Yeti
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Complimentary poppadums. Really yummy accompaniments: Tomato and garlic; peppery mango chutney: diced onions, pepper with parsley: mint youghurt. The initial serving was = each but extras were offered.

Starter: I opted for Daram Ko Maccha (cubes of fish marinated with Nepalese spices) as Piro Ghinga (Shrimps cooked in home-made garlic chilli sauce with onions and capsicum) was described as Hot. It was tasty but not dissimilar to battered fish and not cubes (in the mathematical sense). Portion was small but sufficient. I stole a taste of Brian Ws Piro Ghinga and decided it was spicy but not too hot.

Main Course: Lamb Shank cooked in traditional Nepalese spices served with cherry tomato, potato wedges and rice was a complete meal on a plate. The bone came out easily and cleanly. The meat was well cooked with a tasty herby sauce but no spicy heat.

Sides;In the main these didnt add much to the flavours already on my plate. Tarka Dhall was disappointing  watery, lacking bite and light on the garlic. Saag Paneer: Ive never had Cottage cheese in cubes with a soapy texture. Flavour was fine but nothing didnt excite. There was a chickpea dish probably Channa Masala which was more interesting to eat (bite and flavour). Nan was dry - I prefer it with a more spongy texture to soak up the sauce.

Presentation of the food was very good. Some starters came in crispy pancake baskets and sauce was drizzled in artistic patterns on the plate. There were some delays between the first and last dishes of the main course with the nans and rice being last a bit annoying but not a major fault. Everything seemed hot despite this.

Staff were courteous, attentive without being intrusive. I did think getting me a glass of water took an inordinate amount of time  were they hoping Id order a beer instead?
overall
 3.8

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101846 times ]