Reviewer's Reviews : Graeme Kelly

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pleaseant surroundings. Perhaps trying a bit to hard to be up market. 1st page in menu says "probably the best punjabi cuisine you are ever likely to taste"... hmm did ythey live up to their challenging claim :

Menu a bit limited, and not really that inspiring given the image they seem to be trying to purvey.

Crisp & fresh popadums, nice pickles but not nearly enough, and at 3 quid a pop overpriced.

Boti Kebab to start. Very small. Why did they cover the three pieces of, quite tough, lamb in the salad leaves. Strange. Nice minty sauce 'tho. Not that spicy.

Murghi Jaipuri for mains. Again small. Medium spiced. Reasonably tasty, but not awe inspiring by any means.

Chili Naan. Interesting. Bit of a tingle. Didn't try the garlic. Again, small & not really enough for everyone.

Sides - Didn't get to try any. Lets order more tarka daal guys? (you that's in charge of ordering for everyone).

overall
 3.8

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Wide selection on the menu.

Prawn puri very nice, and not as heavy and filling as it can sometimes be.

My main was "Bojpuri" <sp?>. Not on the online menu, so I can't double check, but I'm sure it was described as "fairly hot" and with "green chillies". So I was a bit disappointed when I got a very mild tomatoey concoction with no green meanies whatsoever :-(

Overall - not bad.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Ignite
review date December 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £32 (including tip)
comment Papadams & "Pickled" tray -
Fresh & crispy popadoms. Pickle tray not outstanding (mango puree / chopped onions / lime pickle). Lime pickle very mild.

King Prawn "Puree" (shouldn't that be puri?) -
3 individual little puris, not too heavy. Quite small king prawns, but they tasted nice and fresh. Not at all spicy.

East Bengal Lamb Jhalfrezie -
Rich, spicy, very tender & delicious.

Service & Atmosphere -
We were a pre-booked table of 9, and the only customers at 6:30pm, except one couple. Table was very tight for space against the wall. Service started slow, we weren't offered drinks or appetisers before taking food order, but improved later. A bit disappointing in a small restaurant while 4 or 5 staff hung around chatting.

There was some mix up at the end of the table where someone's starter was announced and presented as a "prawn puree" and who was then loudly blamed for having "taken" the murgh chaat.
I believe a quiet word was said, away from the table, to the manager between courses.
There was later a lecture made, at the table, by the manager regarding attitude and disputing fault. This was unacceptable and unprofessional.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Great food and lots of it!
Always look forward to a visit here. One of my old favourites. Service was great, and they were only given 2 or 3 hours notice for a table of 12.

Pre starter - Plenty of pickles and sauces with the poppadums. Lime pickle in particular was spot on. Usually I don't like the stuff, but I went back for more.

Starter - Fish pakora was excellent. Passed some of mine on to Phil as it was a huge portion. Plenty of sauces again. I don't think they were even finished.

Mains - Chicken dupiaza nicely spiced and very tasty. Gets my thumbs up.

Sides - Daal to die for. This is what I look forward to most about Khushi Broughton St. Nowhere else does it the same. Rich and spicy with big fat lentils! It isn't your normal thin garlick tarka daal, as others comment on here; maybe that could be added to the menu too but please don't take this off..
Nice fresh naans the size of battleships. Just too much for us.

Well done Khushi :-)

overall
 4.9

restaurant Lancers
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 2.5
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £23
comment Popadums nice, lime pickle excellent - not too strong (usually hate the stuff).

Starter was the Lancers Assorted Kebab - This was cold and the lamb in it was inedible, very tough.

Main was North Indian Chili Garlic Massalam - This was really excellent. Very tasty, nice portion, plenty of fresh chillis, just the right kick to it.

Sides - Only sampled the Daal - bit average, runny & no evidence of any garlic & the Garlic Naan - average.

The service was initially inordinately slow and disorganised, but once the food eventually started to arrive it was pretty good. The kitchen clearly wasn't able to cope, but they never gave any reason or apology. During our 1hr 45 min wait I noticed a member of staff out the front smoking - Not a good look. The general vibe of the place isn't as I remember it from years ago. Decidedly run of the mill now.
overall
 1.9

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Not enough pickles
Gujerati Puri disappointing. dry & tough.
Not much spice or flavour
Restaurant cramped and small

TOILETS DISGUSTING

North Indian CGC very tasty but don't expect it to blow your head off

Tarka Dahl lacking in taste
Service slow considering size of place.
overall
 2.4

restaurant Shamoli
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Not nearly enough chutneys for 5 people.

Had the Thai sea bass to start - highly recommended.

Main was kerella chilli chicken. Nice enough. Hotter that your average pathia.

The garlic Naan was pretty small. 3 of us shared one, and that was barely enough. Tarka daal was nice.

They did screw up a bit on the service. Forgetting one starter completely, and mixing up a salmon dish with a chicken one. Other than that they were pleasant and attentive without being overly so.

Service charge was automatically added, and their bill was less than clear. Cant remember what we paid for a bottle of wine between us, but overall a tad on the expensive side.

It was a Saturday night and fairly busy. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt until next time. Nice menu, and the food was good.
overall
 4.1

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 1.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £25
comment 3rd attempt at submitting review :-/ so its cut short:

In summary the food was poor. Tasteless. Bland. Prawns not fresh. Okra raw. Soggy puri. Stodgy garlic naan.

Decent service considering the party size.
Seating very cramped and tables small.

Overall - wouldn't go out of my way to come back here.
overall
 1.8

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 96788 times ]