Reviewer's Reviews : Gavin Cameron

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Abida
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crispy. Nice selection of dips including one that was a spicy sauce. Lime pickle approaching my sourness limit.

Abida Special Puree (saag prawn, hot) was really very tasty indeed. Prawns perfectly cooked and a very gently spice. Not at all on the hot side though, so docking half a mark from what could have been full marks.

Lahori Kahari Lamb was very nice too, although I mussed that the menu read barbecue as I was anticipating melt in the mouth chicken, but that was my fault for not reading the menu properly. Anyway lots of nice chunks of pepper and onion. A few green meanies for heat, but the sauce itself was a bit lacking in body.

Sides were good but pretty average.

Service was a tad slow - they had to be propmpted to get an order of popadoms in.

Overall I was satisfiedly stuffed!
overall
 3.8

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms warm and crispy, but it was the smallest pickle tray in the world! We all had to get another round ordered!

Tandoori Jhinga - only 2 king prans, but at least they were big and very tasty. A nice spicy tingle on the lips afterwards. A green sauce to accompany the prawns - mint and corriander based we think. Nice.

Saag Ghosht was very nice - the lamb just melted in the mouth. Some nice flavours in the sauce, but a bit more spice would have been nice.

Tarks Dahl was a bit dissappointing - very tomatoey sauce with very little garlic.

Chili naan was different, but not much chili flavour. The peshwari naan was also a bit below par - not much filling and drizzled with sweet sticky sauce (which I may have overlooked if they provided warm hand towels at the end to de-stickify my fingers).

Service wise: all food came out hot, but they had to be prompted to take an order for popadoms and the bill.

Very fresh interior (well it's only been open a couple of months) in a nice airy building. Just be sure not to get lost trying to find the toilets.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 1.0
price £23
comment Popadoms nice and cripy. Chutneys were ok. Pickle wasn't too sour, so I had a 2nd spoonful!

Masala Fried Machli to start was very tasty, but pemento stuffed olives in the side salad in an Indian? Come on now!

The saag gosht for main was just average. Not really much spinach in the dish and a few bits of gristle in the lamb, which was nice and tender otherwise.

Tarka dahl nice and thick, but not much garlic to be seen or tasted.

Felt ripped off when I got the bill - may be I'm getting cynical in my old age, but a 2 course "meal" for two worth up to £59.80 for £23 should at least include rice! So the only way to have made it worth anywhere near that figure was the seafood... which... oh... wasn't on (at least that's what folk with vouchers were being told).

By the time all of the "not included in deal" bits were added up, another £23 was paid on the night (which did include a poor attempt at desert though)... for a mediocre meal! About the same I'd expect to pay else where for an Indian mean for two.
overall
 3.0

restaurant Ann Purna
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 0.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Summary: very over-priced "side dish" restaurant!

A large selection of dips with the popadoms (six in total), but very small dishes. More importantly, this restaurant wins the award for the most stale popadoms ever! I only ate it as I was hungry!

Mixed starter platter was tasty enough, but basically pick a vegetable and they deep fried it. The round ball thing was the best of the bunch.

The "main dishes" really were the size of most restaurants side dishes, which is ironic since I always jokingly call vegetarian restaurants "side dish restaurants."

The sweet and sour courgette and mushroom was very sweet - not much else to say about it! The chick pea and potato dish was the best of the bunch as it had a bit of spice to it (but nothing to write home about)! The mixed veg dish was just ok. The saag paneer was average. The tarka dahl "soup" was very thin, but at least had a decent garlic flavour. None of them were all that appealing and for main dishes I'd have expected a little more effort.

I've had more flavourful and bigger veg side dishes in proper meat based restaurants!

This has definitely gone downhill since we last visited a few years ago when I recall the food being really quite tasty indeed, although I recall it being a tad expensive back then too.

Even though we had 6 McCoys vouchers (for 6 main courses free), the meal still came to £25 a head which is the average we normally pay in a proper restaurant ... and without vouchers. How on earth they can justify their prices for cooking the cheapest food products available, I'll never know!

Certainly will not be going back! I'd recommend going to Kalpna instead, which is just over the road!

Was tempted to stop at Top Kapi for a chicken kebab on the way home since I was still hungry!
overall
 1.7

restaurant Assam's
review date November 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pops a bit stale and we had to ask to get anything other than onions on the table. They were quite nice though. Mixed pickle very sour much to the pleasure of the pickle freaks. Mango was average.

Spiced haddock with mushrooms was very nice - spicy and well cooked. However, perhaps too spicy (not hot spice, but fragrant) as I felt that the garam masalla was totally overpowering the fish.

Garlic chilli chicken was very tasty indeed. Lots of small chunks of garlic - pickled perhaps? Nice delicate flavours - not very hot though. Was tempted to add my Insanity sauce, but thought it would spoil the taste.

Garlic naan was well covered with garlic butter and the peshwari was very tasty too. Tarka dahl was nice and thick, but I couldn't taste the garlic (but that was probably due to the vast amount in my main). Mushroom bahji was nothing special. The aloo gobi was quite tasty.

Service was not the fastest, but with only 2 chefs and 1 waitress, it's no surprise.

I think they could do with better extraction in the open kitchen as the spices floating around in the air were a bit nippy on the eyes.

Would quite happily go back though.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Popadoms a bit stale. Prawn Puri very bland, but a good portion size, however the side salad was pathetic. A slice of lemon would have been nice too. Kerela chicken had a nice kick, but not much flavour. Tarka Dahl lacking in garlic, but the other sides were good. Definitelly noticed the lack or coriander in all dishes - I'm sure they could have got some from somewhere even though their delivery failed. Perhaps the price and food quality had something to do with wanting festival through-put. Slight recovery by them providing after dinner drinks and chocolates.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were very crispy and there was a nice selection of dips. Lime pickle acceptable to my pallet too!

King prawn puri was very tasty indeed, however I'd have preferred it if the prawns were inside the puri instead of at the side. Also, who chops up king prawns???

The Marcopolo (with chicken) was fantastic too. Only 4 bits of chicken though, however they were reasonably large. Nice mix of flavours, chunks of veg (onions and peppers) and a bit of a kick with the "green beans"

Sides very tasty too, although more lentils than garlic in the tarka dall.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops were very light and crispy, but the dips were a bit bland.

Mixed kebab was lovely - nice and spicy, and probably one of the nicest sheek kebabs I've had! However, the lamb was a bit tough.

Madrasi Sag Gosht was stunning. Lovely texture and a very buxom in flavour (yes, I've just used that word to describe it) with the spinach and garlic. The steam cooked lamb just melted in the mouth!

Mushroom bhaji was very nice. Tarka dahl was one of the best ever as was the sag aloo!

Service was a bit slow to start (had to be prompted for popadoms and then to take the order), but the food was all served hot and allowed me to make my 21:30 train.

We were near enough the only ones in the restaurant which was a shame - with food this good it should be full!
overall
 4.1

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Popadoms very crispy. Dips nice and again, the lime pickle not too sour for me.

Mixed kebab to start was very nice meat, but I don't think there should be some deep fried veg pakora type thing with a kebab dish.

Chicken Marcopolo "crazy hot" was quite warm and gradually built up a bit of heat. Very sharp taste to the sauce, but lacked something - I don't know what. Only 4 bits of chicken though and I'm sorry, but a few strips of red pepper don't make up for lack of meat.

Tarka Dahl nice, but the Bindi bhaji had a few bits of Okra that were past their best.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Club India
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £28
comment Pops salty but tasty. Very, very small pickle selection that didn't last long at all. I had most of my popadom as a dry crisp!

Bataire (tandour quail) not available as was half of the starter menu. Had to go with tandoori king prawns which were tasty when they eventually arrived an hour and 45 mins after sitting down. I didn't even see the sauces for the starters as they were so small that everyone had finished them in the 10 extra minutes that my starter took to arrive!

Khumbi Murg was basically quite dry chicken with mushrooms in a cumin seed sauce that was very much overpowered by the cumin. Did I mention the cumin seeds?

Sides below average - very small dishes and bland unless they were just overpowered by the cumin from the main. Couldn't taste any garlic at all in the traka daal. More importantly, the naans were barely luke warm!

Service: order not taken until 8pm, starter arrived at 20:35, but not mine which evidently had been ordered as a main despite the waiter confirming it was a starter, so 20:45 for me. I wonder how many other parties of 8 order 7 starters and 9 mains? It's not like they were busy either - perhaps 7 other tables with 1 or 2 people at them and a group of 3. Were were only 8!

Cold plates too, so food was cold by the end.

Very expensive for the quality of food, unless you have a thing for cumin!
overall
 1.2

restaurant Dhaba Diner
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment We opted for the large party set menu as it sounded much nicer than most set menus.

Pops were very crispy. Chutneys very nice too - even the lime pickle! Only problem was that initially, there was one small tray for 9 of us - they had to be prompted to bring more!

Starters were quite nice: fish lahori actually had moist fish; chicken tikka was average; seekh kebab was a bit dry; veg and aubergine pakoras were very nice. All of the battered items looked like they'd been sitting out for a while though.

The mains consisted of: butter chicken - the best I've had (although I very rarely have it, except in a buffet) with some actual spice to it; garlic chilli chicken wasn't very garlicy, but tasted nice; lamb malidar had very chewy lamb and the sauce was greasy - perhaps too much ghee; lamb madras had the worst lamb of the lot - so much gristle on the bit I got that it was inedible; king prawn chettinad was tasty enough, but overpowered the prawn; aloo chana was good enough for a veg option; garlic naan actually tasted of garlic!

Service was a bit haphazard with the prompting for chutneys and even for getting a drinks order.

However, having said that... it's right under a very nice pub (The Pear Tree), so if I'm ever in there around tea time and fancy some food, this would be a good choice.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Guchhi
review date November 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 1.0
price £15
comment A very damp start! Got two pints of Cobra spilled down my back (deflections also drenching Brian). Fair enough, accidents happen, but the handling of the incident is inexcusable!

Waiter gave a very brief appology and then disappeared for the whole evening. Eventually someone arrived ... with fresh drinks. Then eventually the manager (I think) arrived. Not with any towels or a mop though - just to check out the carnage and wipe the table! He had to be prompted to dry the floor and get us something to dry ourselves off with. Customer service? I don't think they know what it means!

None of us ordered the seafood mains as the restaurant didn't include them in the McCoys 2 for 1 promotion!

On to the meal - after having to remind the manager that we ordered popadoms, they eventually arrived at 8pm. Half an hour to get a snack!!! The pops themselves were crispy, but the dips were bland.

Spiced parfait starter (my bad for not realising that it was pâté - I was expecting chicken livers) arrived at 8:20pm. Regardless, it just tasted of Brussels pâté on bread. Chutney was ok though.

8:40pm the mains started to arrive: naan breads, then some meals, then eventually some more meals, then eventually the sides, then eventually some more meals. I had to start my chicken jalfreze before the rice arrived - which when it did eventually arrive I only had a single spoonful of curry left!

The jalfreze itself had a slight spice to it, but pretty bland. So much so that the rice (once it eventually arrived) overpowered it from the cardamom it was steamed with.

The tarka daal side was about the highlight, but even that wasn't all that garlicky. Aloo gobi was far too tomatoey.

Portion size is about the same as a lot of other restaurants lunch menu, but more expensive! I was still a bit hungry when I left!

Service - FFS!!! Do I need to say anything else? No tip left obviously!

I upped the atmosphere by 1 point (from zero) only because the head chef / owner came out. At least he had the balls to apologise before asking how the food was. Only the 4 folk at the end of the table spoke to him, bu that was enough for him to decide to knock all of the main meals off the bill. Still ended up expensive for pops, starters, sides and drinks! (I paid a little less since I only had a coke).

Conclusion: a good place to go if you have plenty of money, are on a diet and don't actually have any working taste-buds anyway! Otherwise, look at the rest of the restaurant ratings on this website and pick one with a decent score!
overall
 0.7

restaurant Guchhi India
review date March 2015
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy enough, but looked and tasted as if they'd been lying around for a while. Chutneys were average. I didn't get much of a taste of the lime pickle as it had been finished by the time the tray came to me, so obviously not enough of them to go around.

Tandouri smoked mackrel tasted nice enough. Pretty sure it wasn't cooked in a tandour though - it was basically a bit of smoked mackrel with a reasonably tasty curry paste spread on it.

Lamb phal was okay - not overly keen on the taste of the chilies used to make the sauce though. However, they crought out a "special" for us to try: chili garlic lamb which was outstanding. Obviously not as hot as the phal, but so much more full of flavour - wish I'd ordered it!

We were split into two tables since there were 17 of us, so thumbs up to them for doing that - it meant that everyone got nice hot food.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 2.0
service
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Asked for something very hot but didn't get much heat at all. Very tasty though, but they need to re-rate their heat on the menu!
overall
 3.5

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date December 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment An interesting selection of food, although not as hot as the menu might suggest at times.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Gurkha Cafe
review date October 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops - first one was ok, but the spare that we had on the bottom of the pile was quite stale. Spicy onions nice - actually had some spice! Mango chutney average, as was the yogurt thing. No lime pickle to the disappointment of some.

Tandoori salmon starter was superb! nicely marinated, gentle spice and suculent.

Garlic chili chicken was decidedly average though. Couldn't taste much garlic and certainly no big chunks to be seen. The only heat (apart from mechanical heat since iy was served on a sizzling platter) came from a single chili on top of the dish. Chicken was nice and tender though.

Sides (daal makhana, saag aloo, aloo gobi and brindal bhaji) were ok, but nothing outstanding. Peshwari naan average too.

Looked like only 2 in the kitchen cooking, so food took a while to arrive - however at least it was all hot.

Overall, not bad.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Guru Balti
review date January 2007
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Portion size and nan bread size as large as ever, but food not quite as good as it's been in the past.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Guru Balti
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 1.0
sides
 1.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were ok - crispy, but a funny taste. "Green onions" were totally bland; "red onions" had a little bit of flavour; mango sauce was bland. No lime pickle (not that I crave it, but others do).

King prawn puri was quite tasty - sauce had a wee gentle kick and nice flavours. However, I don't like this whole "assemble your own puri" business. I prefer the dish to be served <i>in</i> the puri.

Chicken balti masselledor was - well, orange with meat, onions and mushrooms - oh, and a couple of chillies. However, so was every other dish on the table with minor variations in meat / chick peas / chillies. Definitely a big batch of "orange gravy" used throughout. It tasted very bland too. Very disappointing!

Tarka dahl just tasted of flour. Mushroom bahji was exactly the same dish as my main dish, just minus the onions and chicken. Spinach thing was probably the highlight, but only because it was green - pretty much the only thing on the table that wasn't orange.

Service was a bit slow to start - it took 25 minutes before any popadoms arrived or the order was taken.

These guys have the reputation of serving large portions of food (especially the naans). After winning the "restaurant of the year" in 2006, these days it appears that's all they do. The taste and quality of the food was very poor indeed - a massive downhill drop.

I'll not be back again!
overall
 1.2

restaurant Guru Balti
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy enough, but the dip selection was uninspiring: onions, fluorescent onions and orange (mango?) liquid.

Mixed kebab was very nice. Large portion, plenty of meat and a nice spice to it too.

Balti East Indian Lamb Jalfreze was very underwhelming: bland and pretty much just meat in gravy with a couple of mild green chillies thrown in.

Obviously, the naans were as large as ever. Sides were a mixed bag: bhindi and mushroom bhajis were quite nice, but the tarka dahl was bland with not much garlic.

Service was pretty quick and efficient and we were all done by 21:30.

I think they've definitely lost their edge from when we crowned them restaurant of the year - seam to be concentrating on quantity of food and not the quality of it.
overall
 2.8

restaurant Ignite
review date August 2004
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Very nice food, but slow service. Price probably due to lack of drinks had.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Ignite
review date January 2005
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
price £(can't remember)
comment Food disappointing compared to last year (which was why it won), and service still very slow.
overall
 2.1

restaurant Ignite
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops nice and crispy; onions crunchy; mango sauce was saucy; lime pickle very sour, but the pickle fans said that it was very good.

Assorted kebab was okay: lamb was... well, very well done indeed! Chicken was moist and tasty and the mince had a nice gentle spice to it.

Simikot lamb was very nice: full of flavour and lots of sliced lamb, just like the menu said.

Dahl was nice - lots of large chunks of garlic. Mushroom bhaji nice enough, but nothing special. Aloo gobi was okay too.

Service efficient - and an extra point for splitting the group of 14 into two tables so that the kitchen could deliver hot food to everyone.

Rather expensive though - £12.50 main courses and £4.95 for London invented and brewed "imported" lager were the culprits.

Since I need to notice these things nowadays, they've even got a baby change facility in the gents, so had to give an extra point for service!
overall
 3.5

restaurant Ignite
review date December 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 1.0
value for money
 3.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy enough, but the onion had obviously been sitting out for a while and as for the lime pickle - well I had seconds, so it must have been very tame!

King prawn puree was decidedly average. However what wasn't appreciated was the lip from the waiter for their mistake. First time I've ever had to have a word with the waiting staff! Now fair enough, mistakes easily happen when waiters are bringing out lots of dishes, but if a waiter calls out "King prawn puree" and I claim it only to discover that there are no prawns in it, so it must be the wrong order, I don't expect an argument with some pleb loudly accusing me of claiming the wrong dish.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken "extra hot" was medium at best, but reasonably tasty.

Sides were nice - tarkha dahl and the saag aloo the highlight. Bhindi bhaji was average.

Service - well after initially being made to feel like something that the waiter had scraped off the bottom of his shoe and having a word with them, the extra lip from the waiter basically saying "it wisnae me" just doesn't make it any better! The staff made a mistake, they should have dealt with it far more professionally! Their only redeeming part in this was to offer a replacement for the dish I'd been forking through trying to find prawns.

Can you believe that they even tried to assure us that Cobra was imported Indian lager!
overall
 1.0

restaurant Ignite
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30
comment Pops very crispy. Mango tastier than most places. Onions average. Pickle was actually quite nice for me - so no doubt not sour enough for most.

Mixed kebab was very nice. All meat was moist and nicely cooked. \"Red\" sauce was so-so, but whatever the \"green\" sauce was had a very nice surprising taste.

Shatkora Gust (beef) was rather nice. Meet fell apart with a fork and the sauce was very flavoursome with a few surprise chunks of lemon rind to give it a slightly sour (in a good way) overall taste.

Sides were pretty average.

Service not bad. 12 of us, but I still managed to get the 21:30 train (although I did leave just before the bill was asked for). Waiters very attentive.
overall
 3.4

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment A few too many words on the menu to read them all. Poppadoms warm and crispy, not enough pickles though.
Lamb Saag curry club special puri really very tasty indeed!
Lots of spinach in the Palak Gosht, not much in the way of spice though. Tarka dhal not bad. Good portion size and both lamb dishes very tender.
Service quite slow.
overall
 3.6

restaurant In Touch
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Nice popadoms with a reasonable selection of chutneys. Lime pickle not too sour for my taste, so I managed a second helping.

Prawn saag hot puri was every bit as good as it has been in the past. Excellent mix of spices and nicely cooked prawns.

King prawn Jalfriezi was nice too, although I only got 3 prans in it (partly helped by someone who mistakingly took it as his own dish and ate one :-(

Sides were average: tarka dahl was a bit thin; potato and egg thing was nice; didn't get a shot at any of the others.

First place that actually tells the truth when they say that their hotplates are hot - got red marks on my hand to prove it.

Service was a bit on the slow side though.
overall
 3.9

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Popadoms lovely - dry (not greasy) and crisp. Chutney selection nice - even the lime pickle was within my pallet range!

Tandouri chicken on the bone was excellent. Nicely marinated and chicken still tender after the damn hot oven. Note to self: the "yellow sauce" is nice on salad.

Jessorie king prawn rezela was very nice. A bit sweeter than expected and the sauce was lacking something (not sure what though). A few green meanies thrown in too for a bit of a kick.

Sides were good - I got a taste of the dall tarka (needed more garlic though), Bombay aloo bhaji, mushroom bhaji and the allo beigan bhaji.

Service was good and all food came out hot. They still have the "starey man" though that just stands at the bar and stares at the table!

Overall, well worthy of the title Crewe Toll Curry Tasters, Restaurant of the Year 2010!
overall
 4.2

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Popadoms lovely and crispy. Chutney nice too but I still can't do lime pickle.
Prawn and mushroom puri superb! Extra hot, just as I requested.
Bengali green lamb very tender. Nice chunks of lamb but sauce more mint than any other green flavour.
Sides good.
Service excellent, but losing a mark as one of the waiters just stood staring at the table.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Indian Lounge
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pops were nice and crispy; onions had a nice kick to them; lime pickle - well I'll leave that for the lime pickle aficionados to explain since I'm not really a fan anyway; mango was ok.

Mixed kebab starter was just that - a mix between good and bad: the sheek kebab was the highlight - spicy and moist; lamb was quite nice; chicken tikka was dry and tough; chicken wing was still pink in the middle and cold on the outside anyway.

Garlic chilli chicken - well I can't help but feel massively let down when a menu describes it as "hot and spicy" and when I specifically ask not to hold back on the chillies... for it to come out so mild that even my mum could eat it! Hardly a trace of chilli and not much garlic either! Shame, as the sauce looked interesting - not just a "meat and gravy."

Sides: tarka dahl was different: not much in the way of garlic, but a nice spice to it that I liked (however it shouldn't have been hotter than my main "hot and spicy" dish!); mushroom bahji was a bit bland and under done. One of the nicest keema naans I've had though - not just a big slab of greasy "meat" inside.

Service was a bit slow - yes they were busy, but 20 minutes to take the drinks order is just too slow!

Reasonable price, but I've had far better for that money.

I think that this place can only still be here due to it's location - the fact that there are lots of pubs near by and this is the only Indian in Rose Street... few drinks, fancy curry, fall out of the pub and there is a restaurant!

They just need to put a little more effort into delivering what the menu says! Strange though as there were several Indian families in there which is normally an indication of a good Indian restaurant... perhaps we just got the "tourist menu!"
overall
 2.3

restaurant Kalpna
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crispy, but tasted a bit old. Chutneys ok - but nothing spectacular. No onions either.

Mixed starter selection very tasty. Good mix of flavours, textures and colours. Just felt that it lacked something.

Very nice selection of "side dishes" all with nice flavours - even the "potato in tomato soup" :-)

Service prompt food wise, however dropped a point as they took quite a while to take our drinks order.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Kasturi
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Luckily I was on a soft drink as it appeared that just about everything on the drinks menu was off... apart from the over-priced Cobra!

Popadoms were stale. Small pickle selection of onions, mango sauce (too thin to call it a chutney) and some strawberry yoghurt looking thing didn't do anything for me.

Fish amritsury wasn't available, so I opted for the mixed kebab. I had to check the menu afterwards and noted that I was right - a distinct lack of lamb kebab! Also, I found two rather large chunks of bone in the seek kebab. The chicken (both types) tasted ok though.

They attempted to bribe us with an extra lamb kebab after I'd pointed out the lack of it around the table. I can only assume it was laziness in the kitchen to do two chicken kebabs instead of a chicken and lamb.

Chicken karahi was ok given the fact that there was only one chef in the kitchen: big chunks of chicken, onion and peppers, but the sauce was a bit bland.

Tarka daal didn't have much garlic and neither did the garlic naans. The bhindi bhajee was ok.

Service (apart from the start of the evening) was ok - I didn't realise that Status Quo were serving in an Indian restaurant!

Not the best value for money though - £30 and the only decent(ish) part was the main dish.
overall
 1.6

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy and the flattest I've ever seen (not a bad thing, just a comment). Good sized dips and quite tasty too. The Lime pickle even had a bit of heat about it, although still a bit sour for my taste!

Lamb tikka starter was excellent. Definitely char-grilled, but very tender and a nice bit of spice to it. A few bits with perhaps slightly more charcoal that they should though.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken very nice. Big chunks of all three. Gentle heat that built up through the meal.

Tarka daal and mushroom bhaji were very tasty too.

Only negative point with the food was the excess of cumin in most dishes.

Service reasonably swift, but the plates were cold by the time the mains arrived and the bill took ages to arrive after it was requested.

If I return I'll skip the starter and go straight for the mixed grill I think - Phil's looked very tasty and meaty!
overall
 3.8

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms not very crispy, but a couple of the dips were nice - mint chutney and the spicy onions. Lime pickle was very good too apparently as I found it incredibly sour.

Fish Tikka (cod) really was excellent. Big chunks of cod nicely marinated and fired on the grill. Fish was moist and tasty and nice with the dips that came with the starters.

Mixed grill - oh my! It is indeed a big pile of meat - a carnivore\'s delight! Lovely BBQ flavour throughout.

The sides were very nice too - tarka dahl and bindi bhaji.

Service was reasonable, however they did totally forget one main dish and also started clearing the table with people still eating, so I\'ve marked them down for that. It\'s not as if they were needing the table cleared in a hurry as there were plenty of empty tables, with 3 other tables occupied.

The BYOB helped to keep the price reasonable.

I\'d gladly go back for that mixed grill again :-)
overall
 3.9

restaurant Khushi
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms nice and crispy again. Almost didn't notice the sourness of the lime pickle - please don't tell me I'm getting used to it!?!

Mixed kebab was fantastic: chicken, lamb and minced lamb all tender and nicely spiced in a very nice marinade.

Chicken Jalfrieze (vindaloo hot) was actually a tad disappointing. It was luke warm (they must have been on the brink of handling our party of 14, so I may let them off), but the chicken was dry. The sauce was just a hot sauce with a couple of green meanies - no peppers or onions like I'm used to seeing in this dish (although I've never had Khushi's one before) and it just tasted of ground up chillies. Perhaps the spices are more flavourful in their "normal" strength one?

Sides quite tasty - Tarka Dahl extra garlicy (as requested by Brian), Saag Aloo had lots of spinach and the spicy mushrooms were very tasty.

Their chairs are some of the most uncomfortable on the planet though!
overall
 3.9

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2006
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms a bit stale - think they'd been sitting out for a few hours. Dips were ok though and even the lime pickle wasn't too sour for me.

Prawn puri was outstanding. Spicy, tasty and a nice portion size. Just couldn't fault it!

Jay puri jeera was very nice: interesting, but a bit rich and creamy by the end of it.

Sides were very nice too, although a shame they don't do a tarka daal.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Khushi's (closed)
review date February 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Average, if not disappointing for the price since it's a BYOB. Plenty of eye candy though!
overall
 1.7

restaurant Khushi's (Edinburgh)
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops were a bit smaller than the norm, but were still crispy. Spicy onion was very nice. Lime pickle... just why do folk put themselves through that! Still too sour for me. Not that it's a bad thing as everyone else (well the lime pickle freaks) loved them. Liked the thick mango chutney too.

Crispy Chilli Squid was nice but could have beena bit crispier and a bit spicier. Really needed the sauce for an extra bit of spice.

Lamb sag had lovely tender meat. I'd have preferred more spinach and a little more spice though.

Tarka Dahl nice. Aloo thing and augergine were a bit average.

Very busy restaurant, but food arrived promptly and still hot. All done and dusted shortly after 9pm.

BYOB which helped keep the price down.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Kismot
review date March 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent food and a friendly, helpfull service. They even do a Phal! Bring Your Own Booze too.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Kismot
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Our trip to sample the Kismot Killer

Popadoms crispy and always nice to have a choice of lime pickles. I prefered the hotter of the two as the other one was just way too sour for me - a face screwer upperer!

The prawn puri was very tasty: nice flavours coming through, but I felt that the sauce was a bit too gelatinous compared to others.

Onto the Killer. Oh my!!! First couple of mouthfuls were easy, but then the heat started to build! I think I'll claim a 2nd class award for managing more than most folk do - I finished off all the meat and about half of the sauce. Took a doggy bag to let others feel the burn. Will still end up on their hall of shame though. I wasn't all that keen on the flavour though - but then again it's just pure chillies, so what can one expect? I can't help feeling that I may have finished it if it had a nicer flavour.

Before the Killer I sampled their chocolate naan. Very tasty indeed! Next time I'm back I may have one with a "normal" curry!

Very friendly and fun atmosphere with good banter from the staff.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Lancers
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 0.0
price £23
comment Popadoms warm and crispy. Chutneys on the average side.

Service was pish! Worst ever! After half an hour of being in there I had to prompt them to take our order and even then it was still another 5 minutes before it was taken.

Noted after 1:15 that we still hadn't had our starters!

Mixed kebab (when it finally arrived after 1:20) had cold lamb and hard chewy chicken and was sent back. Fresh one when it arrived was not bad and would have scored a bit higher than 2 (maybe a 3) but due to the first one being returned is only getting a 2.

North Indian Chilli Massalam was quite tasty, but I don't think it was what it was meant to be.

Sides average. Tarka daal very watery and bland.

Peshwari naan was ok.

Overall experience was pish! No excuse for not even taking the order until being prompted! Were they busy? Don't know - they never even had the decency to appologise for the service. Needless to say that they didn't get a tip (apart from a recommendation to check out their reviews on this website!)
overall
 0.6

restaurant Mezbaan
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops nice and crispy. Mango chutney had a little bit a spice to it. Not sure about the mixed pickle or the onions though.

Salmon Tikka didn't have the freshest of salmon in. Looked very sorry for itself on the plate with 5 small bits and a small pile of onions and peppers in the corner of a cold plate - making the fish itself a bit on the cold side. Slight spice to it with quite a nice marinade, but overall disappointing.

Wajid Ali was very nice when it eventually arrived. Lots of flavours in there from the "aromatic spices" as described on the menu. A gentle heat, but at least this dish was hot when it arrived.

Sides were a bit average - Tarka Dhal rather thin and lacking in garlic; Bombay Aloo had a nice spice to it; Bhindi Baji was okay; Beetroot thing was different, but nothing special.

Service was hap-hazard to say the least. Now I know that we were a group of 15, but I asked the specific question to the guy taking our order, "Can your kitcken handle an order of this size?" To which the answer was yes. Well they obviously can't and the talk of cold starters and the fact that it took at least 20 minutes from the first plate of rice arriving at the table and the last side dish is testiment to that. I had a few mouthfulls of my main course, but had to sit around waiting for everything else or I'd have ended up eating my main with rice and then the sides with the naan breads later. I wish restaurants would have the balls to admit that the table is too large for the kitchen and split the order into two tables so that everyone can enjoy hot food!
overall
 2.9

restaurant Mithas
review date November 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment After the initial shock of the prices (which probably explained the quiet atmosphere at the table), the complementary shorba (spicy tomato soup in a wee cup) was a welcome distraction.

The sea bream starter was very tasty - crispy skin, but still with succulent flesh. However, at £6.95 it was a bit on the small side of portion size! It was the fish and nothing but the fish. Not entirely sure if the dips went with it as well as the waiter said they would.

The peshwari lamb karahi was below average, especially for the £10.95 price tag! Not much flavour (until the 18 spice dip was added, but then it just tasted of the 18 spice dip) and the meat was quite tough and full of sinew. Portion size was pretty meagre too! Even though it was small and I was only spooning a small amount onto my plate at a time, it was cold by the end of it - you're expected to eat your main course off of stone cold glass plates! I even asked if warm plates were coming and... well... no!

Sides were average too and again... a £6.95 price tag for a tiny portion! Rice and naans also were tiny and charged at £2.95 each - even for plain simple boiled rice!

Now I don't mind paying a bit more for good quality food - and their lobster may be worth the money, but £3 for a thimble full of rice - that's just taking the pi$$! Normally a rice and naan is enough for 2 people to share, but each of us could have eaten that to themselves... well if there was enough of the main course to last that long!

I've had far better food at much more reasonable prices else where! I don't even think I'd go here with the wife for a candle-lit dinner as we'd both be wanting a fish supper on the way home - I'm actually munching on a bag of Bombay mix as I type this since I'm still hungry!

Should also point out that the £30 bill was not even including the normal 2 rounds of ludicrously priced "Indian" lager as this place is a BYOB!

I have no intention of coming back here!
overall
 1.6

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops were very crispy. Mango chutney and onions okay. I quite liked the mixed pickle - probably means that the pickle lovers didn't, as it wasn't too sour.

Spiced haddock (when it finally arrived) was the highlight of the meal. Very suculent and a nice gentle spice.

Chilli king prawns didn't last long enough - they were so tasty that I devoured them. A lovely marinade, but perhaps a tad overcooked.

Ginger chicken and spinnach was okay - got an initial hit of ginger, but not much throughout the dish.

There were a few dishes that arrived late (my haddock was one). Annoying, but almost understandable considering that all 13 people on the table ordered 3 dishes each.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Not enough chutneys with the popadums - only mango and onions (in flourescent red flavour).

Nice big prawns in the chilli king prawn. Tasty, but a bit overdone and not very hot. Chilli garlic chicken had a bit more kick, but not much flavour.

Busiest place we've been to. Best in small numbers I think.

Shame the organiser didn't book it until we were in the pub or we may have been on a bigger table with more room.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Mughal
review date April 2015
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops nice and crispy - and a lot of them! Mango sauce (too thin to call it a chutney) was average; pink yoghurt thing was bland; onion mix was okay. We asked for lime pickle, which eventually arrived. I found it very sour, but the pickle fans thought it was bland.

Fish Amritsury (cat fish apparently) was decidedly average: The thinner bits of fish were severely overcooked - bigger bits had a nice crunch to the coating, but were rather bland. Had to dip into the tamarind sauce on every mouthful just to get some flavour.

Chicken Karahi was the highlight of an average meal. Full of big chunks of onion and a few dried chillies with a nice sauce. Chicken was a tad on the dry side though.

Sides were pretty poor: tarka dahl was far to salty and didn't have much garlic; bhindi bhaji was bland; saag aloo was a mix of overdone (do the point of slimy) spinach and underdone potatoes; mushroom bhaji was quite nice though; rice was overdone too.

Cheap due to the BYOB and not charging us for the late arrival dishes (my main course arrived 10 minutes after everyone else's and did a few sides). However, I've bumped up my initial service mark a point because of that. Service was rather slow though - don't think they're geared up for a table of 12!

Nothing at all inspiring me to go back.
overall
 2.8

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment Popadoms amongst the most stale I've had. Reasonable choice of dips, but a bit bland.

Mixed kebab was really very tasty indeed. Even the veg pakora was nice! Whole dish covered in fried onions and peppers.

Salmon jalfrezie very nice. Salmon moist; lots of onion and peppers, but just lacked something.

Tarka dahl average; sardine saag interesting.

Service average for a large group.

Restaurant itself modern and fresh looking.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Mya
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £33 (including tip)
comment Popudums very crispy and a nice selection of dips.

King prawns in rice paper starter a bit bland though. Might have something to do with the stinking cold I had though.

The kerela chilli salmon was tasty, but not as nice as the one Dave had at Shamoli (owned by the same people).

Service a bit slow, but there were 16 of us.

However, they "conveniently" forgot about the deposit that I had to pay before hand, so I need to pop in and get a refund.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Mya
review date April 2007
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent mix of really good Thai and Indian food. Their Kerela Chilli Chicken is the first hot coconut dish I've had - thumbs up :-)
overall
 4.3

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 0.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment Popadoms very crispy, but all of the chutneys (apart from the very sour lime pickle) had been puréed - no chunks ... shame. The "red" and "green" could be ditched in favour of onions.

Spicy garlic mushrooms had a nice tasty slightly spicy sauce, but not much garlic and if I didn't already know, I'd not know that they were mushrooms!

Worst North Indian chilli garlic chicken I've ever had!!! More like South Alaskan tomato soup! Dried out chicken in a tomato soupy sauce. No heat; no garlic either. A single chilli on top was the "heat" (mine had a green one being requested to be "extra hot" while the others had red).

Sides and stuffed parantha nice, but I had to go into the kitchen to chase up the bread before we'd finished our mains.

Then they had the cheek to add a 10% service charge ... on a Wednesday ... for 9 of us!

Never going back!!!
overall
 1.1

restaurant Omar Khayyam
review date June 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Good food, fast service, but they really need to smile a bit!
overall
 3.3

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crispy, but not fresh.
Not enough chutney for 11 folk.

King Prawn puri nice, but puri overdone(crispy) and sauce lacking something, even coriander.

North Indian Chili Garlic chicken average. Not all that hot. Garlic flavour cooked out.
Sides very bland.
Garlic Nan should not be fluorescent pink!
Get new Chairs!
overall
 2.9

restaurant Rana's
review date February 2010
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £20
comment Rana's special starter (mixed kebab) was excellent - really couldn't fault it. Meat tender and nicely marinated. Even the rabbit food had some crunch. Nice touch with the 4 different sauces served with the starters too.

The lamb Punjabi style was tasty enough, but only had 6 or 7 small chunks of lamb. I was also expecting a bit of spice as was hinted at in the description, but it never came. Garlic naans were tasty too.

Tarka dahl was interesting - as well as the normal garlic and lentils, there were onions and tomatos. Nice flavour, but could have done with more garlic. The saag bhindi was very nice.

Service was prompt and efficient, but the staff need a lesson in smiling.

Not sure why they had country and western music on, but it didn't deter from a nice atmosphere.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Red Fort
review date October 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
price £17.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent price (since it was a BYOB). Shame there was such a difference between the starters and main course which turned out to be very blande.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Red Fort
review date November 2009
mains
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment Just a quick single course on route to the Gomez gig, but what was served was tasty enough.

Kathmandu murgh, some of Helen's prawn biryani and a stuffed paratha. The chicken was a bit on the dry side, but the sauce was reasonably tasty. I quite liked the paratha though.

Service was let down by the waiter who started to take my drinks order, then went away without taking Helen's, then when it eventually arrived (after he was called back to complete the order), my coffee was missing.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Rivage
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 5.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Very interesting menu with a lot of unusual dishes. A tasty bread as an appetiser followed by a very nice Monk fish starter which was a tad small a portion. Lamb shank main was very tender, sauce very good with a nice spice. Best peshwari nan I've had in ages. Sides excellent, but I never got any garlic in the Tarka Dahl. Superb price for the quality of food.
overall
 4.2

restaurant Ronaq
review date October 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were exceedingly crispy - the crispiest I\\\'ve had for a long time. Onions had a very nice and different to the usual flavour. Lime pickle wasn\\\'t all that sour (good for me, but bad for others), but was rather salty.

Black Pepper Machli (sea bass) itself was very nice - well cooked and a delicate marinade (although not much black pepper flavour). However the mint yoghurt and the olives in the salad garnish really didn\\\'t go with the fish at all.

Garlic Chilli Chicken was very tasty. Lots of big chunks of garlic and onions. I asked for extra green chillies to be added (since I like it hot). A bit disappointing that it only brought the heat up to \\\"gentle tingle\\\" levels - I\\\'d\\\'ve been very disappointed if I\\\'d got it without the extras.

Peshwari and garlic naans very tasty too, as was the tarka dahl (lots of garlic) and the chick pea thing.

Lovely spice aromas coming from the kitchen.

Very attentive service - perhaps they knew that they were being marked ;-) Even hot towels at the end of the meal.

The place was very busy considering it was a Wednesday night. All I can say is forget all of the bad experiences of The Far Pavilions - the only thing this place has in common is the building... the food is way better. I\\\'d happily return (although would like more heat when I say that I like phal hot).
overall
 3.8

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment No popadums, but small crunchy things with curry sauce, spicy carrot and spicy onion dippy things. Tasty, but not enough - more like a canape.

Haggis pakora nice.

Beef Vindaloo very tender and tasty. More of a traditional style, so only slighty spicy and a nice sour kick to it. Not convinced about serving it in a big posh soup bowl though - no room for rice or sides. Pea & mushroom and dal sides just average.

After they asked about our voting slips, a complimentary bottle of wine appeared. They let us sample a new desert too. Good banter with the owners.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Roti
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment Those funny wee crunchy things with the curry sauce, spicy carrots and purple pickled onions went down a treat again.

The pot roast quail had a lovely gentle spice and was very tender.

The Goan fish curry was lovely, but I'm sure it was just the same curry sauce poured over the rice that was with the pre-starters .

Service excellent - attentive without making too much of a fuss.

Price a bit higher than last time as we had desert and coffee too :-)
overall
 4.4

restaurant Saffrani
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15
comment A late visit on a Saturday night with 10 minutes notice and they managed to fit 9 of us in.

Popadums were average - crispy, but cold. Only 3 chutneys on offer though - spiced onions, lime pickle and mango. All about average.

Can't recall the name of the chicken dish I had, but it was very tasty - lots of stuff in it as I requested (not just chicken in gravy). Not overly hot though, even though I asked for extra hot.

The tarka dhal was a bit dissappointing - all lentle with no noticable garlic. Bhindi Baji nice though.

Service was very friendly.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Shamoli
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27.00
comment The popudums were nice and crispy, but the chutney selection was tiny and was no where near enough for 5 people.

The "pla ka pong long tang" (crispy sea bass) was very tasty and a whole fillet too for a starter!

My main was meant to be "kerela chilli chicken" but I ended up with Dave's "kerela chilli salmon" initially. Tasty sauces in both of them, but I'd recommend the salmon one!

Tarka dahl was lovely, with nice big slices of garlic!

Service was shocking though! We'd finished our starters before Jim's arrived - they'd forgotten to cook it! Then the mix up with the mains. They then had the bare faced cheek to add a 10% service charge for their poor service, which I propmptly had removed!
overall
 2.1

restaurant Shamoli
review date May 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £27.00 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were nice and crispy. Nice selection of dips including a warm red one, but no lime pickle for the wierdos.

Mixed kebab starter very tasty. Chicken and lamb very tender.

Zeera Gust nice and tender. Mild to medium sauce (not medium hot as described), but tasty none the less, with lots of onions.

Sides a bit average, but a few big chunks of garlic in the Tarka Dahl.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Shezan Tandoori
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were nice and crispy. However, the £3.95 selection of chutneys etc was very small. Six different things, but only a spoonful of each!

Mixed kebab was superb! Chicken and lamb chop were very suculent. Seekh kebab had a nice wee kick. Good portion size too.

Ceylonese chick was massively dissapointing. Menu promised hot, but it was very mild and lacking flavour - a bit like a kurma with the odd little bit of chilli!

Tarka dhal was too think for my liking and not much garlic in it. Peshwari naan was nice though.

Service was a bit shambolic with bits arriving here and there, but no cuttlery to eat anything with. The alram going off twice didn't do much for the atmosphere either!
overall
 3.0

restaurant Suruchi Too
review date July 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
price £23.00 (including tip)
comment Good food, but all of the dishes were a bit "samey"
overall
 3.0

restaurant Tanjore
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pops tasty enough, but had been sitting around for a while, so not very crispy! Lime pickle was a tad boring even for me (someone who screws up his face at even the thought of the most sour of dishes). Mango ok. However... NO PLATES for the pops and NO SPOONS for the chutneys! 50 minutes to get them too!

Pepper fry lamb more than made up for the poor pops. Tender lamb, massive chutney type thing of onions and a very nice spice to it. Left me wanting more!!!

Chicken Karaikudi tasted nice enough - spicy and peppery sauce. Quite small portion though.

Different rices were... well... different! Nothing outstanding though and flavour was a bit swamped by the main dish. But nice to try on their own. Potato side dish was average, spinach and lentil side was quite nice. However, I've seen bigger specimen jars than the size of these sides!

The "bread" was strange - almost pastry like, but would probably have been better suited to a continental breakfast loaded with chocolate spread as it was totally useless as mopping up the curry sauce.

Service was very slow and haphazard: over an hour for the starters; hot plates for the mains that were stone cold by the time the food actually arrived; only one guy serving the tables... he really needed to smile a bit!

Nice price of £18 (rounded up to £20 for the convenience as they didn't warrant much of a tip), kept low by the fact it was a BYOB.

I'd probably go back - even to try their Indian pancake type things on the menu. I just wanted a curry tonight though!
overall
 3.0

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Un-inspiring large menu.

Popadums very crispy, but chutneys nothing spectacular and only 3 of them.

Lots of nice flavours in the mixed kebab starter and the red sauce had a nice kick too!

Chilli garlic chicken had plenty chilli, garlic (bit slices) and chicken, but the sauce was a bit samey.

Tarka Dal very nice, but the bhindi bhaji was dry and fiberous - I spat it out! Nans very average.

Took ages for the starters to arrive, but the mains arrived more promptly. Large portion sizes though. Another place charging £4.95 for a large Cobra!
overall
 3.3

restaurant The Everest
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadums nice and crispy. Lime pickle incredibly sour but a nice heat (one of these days I may even start to like the stuff). Other chutneys etc. nice too.

Free chef's special was presented to the table: some very nice chicken and onion combo on a sizzling platter. I suspect it was a bribe since they saw our score cards - but why not ;-)

King prawn puree was very nice. A bit more spice to it than other places, but I felt it needed a little more coriander. Stupid 1980's compartmentalised prison plates though!

Everest Chicken (extra hot) was very tasty and had nice gentle warming spices - certainly not "extra hot" though.

Sides varied:
* tarka dall nice, but lacked garlic
* bhindi bhajee ok until I found a very fibrous bit
* mushroom bhaji was excellent
* aloo tama bodi (potato, chick peas and bamboo shoots) was very interesting - and nice too!

Service was very attentive although they let themselves down by not knowing their own dishes: if there was no answer to a dish, they tried another name! So I took off the extra 1/2 point for bribery that I gave them for that.
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Himalaya
review date September 2007
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
price £18.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent, but the Rogan Josh was a bit plain.
overall
 3.9

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23
comment Poppadoms were nice and crispy. Onion very nice, mango chutney had big chunks and the lime pickle was the most sour I've ever tasted - perfect for lime pickle freaks! Big tubs of them all too - good!

King prawn puri was excellent. Lots of flavours coming through - onion, spring onion, corriander (although I felt it could have done with a bit more). A nice big portion too.

North Indian chilli gosht was average. A few green meanies to give it heat, but apart from that it was just lamb with a few onions in gravy - not much flavour.

Sides were cracking: tarka dhal nice (we had to order a 2nd one as it had run out by the time it reached our end of the table!) and so was the saag bahji.

Naans very nice too - huge! Big enough to be table cloths. Peshwari nice and sweet and the keema had a nice gently spice through the mince.

All food served piping hot and promptly served (even for a party of 14), although we had to prompt them to take an order for the poppadoms.

Overall I'm stuffed and satisfied.
overall
 3.9

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £25.50 (including tip)
comment Pops crispy. Mango chutney nice and chunky. Lime pickle very sour - but that's how these strange folk that like it want it :-/

Mixed kebab tasty enough, but the lamb was a bit tough and had several bits of sinue. The shiek kebab was strangely wet.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken very average. Chicken was very tough and not much in the way of garlic. A few green meanies to provide a little heat.

Sides average, but disappointing was the tarka dahl - just not enough garlic.

Service was steady - not the fastest we've had, but with a party of 16 that probably pushed the kitchen to breaking point, not bad.
overall
 2.9

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pops warm and crispy. Mango chutney nice and chunky. Lime pickle very sour (just like the lime pickle aficionados like it). Onions nice enough.

Mixed kebab starter very nice. Lamb moist and actually quite tender considering how its cooked, sheek had a nice bit of spice about it, chicken was okay.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken was a bit disappointing though - chicken rather dry and not much sign of garlic in the sauce. A few of the typical green "bean" meanies - although I personally don't particularly like the flavour of them, but it's what most restaurants use as green meanies.

Tarka dal was average - again lacking in garlic. Bombay aloo was very nice. Mushroom bhaji was actually cold (and I got the first serving) - tasted ok though, but nothing special. Peshwari naan was very nice.

Nice friendly and attentive service - with a smile even.
overall
 3.4

restaurant The Khukuri
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.5
service
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Poppadoms nice and crispy. Salmon starter very tasty, interesting mix of spices. Amazing hot(ish), spicy chicken main - no 29 ... a rich sauce and they even added onions! Very tasty sides too. Most impressed!
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Khukuri
review date September 2008
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Salmon starter (number 20) marinaded in lovely spices, making it very tasty. Very nice dipping sauce too. Lamb main (number 25 or 26 - couldn't quite remember) very tender and tasty. Sauce very flavoursome. Good portion size. Service very prompt and efficient, but they need to smile a bit more. Khukuri beer nice, but £4.95 - at least it was for 660ml.
overall
 4.7

restaurant The Khukuri
review date December 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 1.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Gripe first of all: does this place only employ stupid people on a Tuesday? I booked well in advance and specifically requested 2 tables as from past experience, they just can't cope with large parties. I also re-stated this when I phoned to confirm numbers. We arrived to find two tables as requested, but the stupid waitress put both tables into the kitchen under one big order for 12, despite me asking her to make sure they went through as separate orders. The result was unfortunately as expected: some dishes cold, some over cooked, some being sent back, long delays and chaos.

Starter of Bhenda Choyla was very tasty; lamb nice and tender with gentle spices. The highlight of the meal.

Main of Khupa Chicken was tasty enough, but arrived with a skin on it as it had been under the heat lamp for so long and also wasn't piping hot. To top it off, I had to wait 5 minutes from receiving my dish to get any rice or naan to accompany it!

Sides: tarka dhal had a thick skin on it due to heat lamps and the okra was massively overcooked. Very disappointing.

Service was not very attentive, slow and chaotic.

All I can say is don't go to this restaurant if you have more than 6 people as you'll be disappointed. 6 or less then you're in for a treat.
overall
 2.6

restaurant The Khukuri
review date February 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £?
comment The Raja Jhinga Machha Puchre starter (King Prawn butterfly) was very tasty - full of spices with a little bit of heat.

Namche Bhenda for main was excellent. Lots of flavours coming through and big chunck of onion and pepper too.

Side dishes very tasty (Tarka Dall, Mushroom Bhajee and mixed veg curry) although I prefer a tad more garlic in my Tarka.

Service very fast, mind you we were the only ones there to start with.
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Khukuri
review date October 2008
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Prawn puri very nice - good spices and a nice dry texture, but I felt it lacked something though.

Lamb main dish (Namache Bhenda) very nice - full of onions and peppers etc. too, but lacked the flavours I'm used to here. Mind you, the dish didn't mention Jimbu Timbu or even Imbu!
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25.00
comment Nice crispy popadums. The lime pickle was good - not too sour for me! Mango chutney watered down though and onions lacking flavour.

Prince Pathia Special Pure (prawn; sag; hot) had a nice wee kick and was tasty. Bit of a delay coming out though - I think that they forgot it! Some other starters came out cold.

Main (Dohari Roshun Morich Chicken) a bit dissapointing - chicken tough and the sauce certainly wasn't "as hot as you can make it" as I requested. No kick at all!

Sides average.

Service very slow and inefficient (while one waiter is pouring Cobra, the other didn't need to stand watching for example ... could have taken popadum order at least!)
overall
 2.9

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date April 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Far better food than last visit. Cheap food Sunday to Thursday, but almost £4 a pint! Nice flavours in the food, but nothing hot in my piri piri dish. No lime pickle for those who crave it though.
overall
 3.3

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Pops a bit stale - been out for a while I think. Chutney selection nice, even the lime pickle was palatable.

Spicy Duck starter was excellent - lean and tender with a hint of spice that built up over time. Only down side was that I wanted more!

Kali Mirch Bhona lamb excellent. Nice peppery spice to it. Lamb lovely and tender.

Sides excellent too - best for a while: Mushroom bhaji was lush, saag aloo was gorgeous, dall samber was interestingly different, but tarka dal lacking a bit in garlic.

Service very efficient, especially considering that there were 13 of us. All done by 9pm, no cold food and no wrong orders. Was going to mark the service down as it took ages for the bill, but then we discovered why... birthday kulfi (with candle) for Brian.
overall
 4.6

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20.50
comment Popadoms were nice and crispy. Chutney very nice, onions average, lime pickle not too sour (which is good for me).

Haggis samosa was very nice - being Bruns' day, I really had to have it! The side sauces brought it up a treat and left a nice tingle afterwards. Haggis tasted like it was freshly caught :-)

Murgh tikka saagwala was very tasty, although Stephen got at least 2 extra bits of meat than I did, so definitely had room for a bit more by the end. Very flavoursome though.

Dal Tarka side was nice, although I didn't taste as much garlic as Brian said there was. The sweet dal dish was tast too and was the saag aloo.

There were 19 of us, split between 2 tables which worked very well indeed. All food served promptly and hot with no mistakes.

A lot of smiling faces by the end of the meal, helped by the 25% discount they are currently doing on Wednesday nights.

Will definitely be back and might even give them a shot for a lunch menu!
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops very crispy. Onions had a nice little bit of spice about them. Lime pickle wasn't too sour, so I rather liked it.

Spicy duck was amazing! Very nice spice and moist duck (no skin on it though).

Can't recall the main that I had, but I asked for a "very spicy lamb dish" (extra spicy of course). What I got really did meet expectations, although a little hotter would have been nice. Lamb was lovely and tender with a sauce full of "stuff" (and not just meat and gravy) with shredded ginger as a garnish on top. A nice change to get something hot enough to make my nose run when I ask for it :-)

Mushroom bahji was lovely. Tarka dahl a bit average - could have done with more garlic I think. Saag aloo was nice enough.

Service was fast, efficient and very friendly - I even managed to catch the 21:30 train!

Great atmosphere - although that may have been assisted by the 4pm start in the pub ;-)

Great value - although the price includes a wee discount (I think because Mary just about lives in the place).
overall
 4.6

restaurant The Verandah
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were nice and crispy, but the dips were all just a bit bland - even a lime pickle that I could eat, much to the disappointment of lime pickle fans.

Verandah mix was mediocre. It arrived late (as did two or three other dishes) and the meat was just rather dry and tasteless. Shockingly, the tastiest part of it was the veg pakora.

Chicken phal was not that great either. I know it\'s not a dish on their menu (well they don\'t actually have anything described as \"hot\" on the menu, so I had to ask for something with a little extra). It had a lot of flavour, but the flavour was chilli extract I think - tasted much like \"Gourmet Dave\'s Insanity Sauce\" and more importantly it didn\'t have much heat to it either.

Sides were very average (tarka dahl, Bombay aloo and bindi bhaji).

Service wasn\'t very good either - several starters missing and a few mains missing too. It\'s not like they were busy as we were virtually the only ones in the place.

Overall quite disappointed as it was a nice place the last time we visited.
overall
 2.4

restaurant The Verandah
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pops nice, crispy and warm but the chutneys were average.

Verandah mixed starter was spectacular - succulent when required (i.e. the meat) and crispy too (i.e. pakora).

Green herb chicken wasn't all that green, but at least it had chucks of peppers, chillies and spring onions. Even with all of this though, it tasted a bit on the bland side.

Sides were a bit average.

Service slow, but there were 13 of us.

Toilets a tad smelly and I found myself having to "snowplough" to hold position at the urinal as the floor was so slippery!
overall
 3.5

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pickled calimari starter lovely - not too strong on the lime pickle. Goan Lamb very hot, but not as interesting a texture as I've had before. Sides very tasty.
overall
 4.5

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date August 2007
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
price £(Can't remember)
comment A nice day trip to a friendly family run restaurant. Salmon Tika is superb and the Goan lamb was very tender and full of flavour. Gav's top tip if you're in the area!
overall
 4.5

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pops lovely - tasty and crispy. Lime pickle was either not too sour or I'm actually starting to like the devil's food! Other things okay. Massive pots of them all too.

Pickled calamari was delicious! A nice kick to the mix and squid that was nicely cooked.

Goan lamb was very nice. Tender lamb and spicy sauce.

Tarka dahl was lovely - thick with slices of garlic. Mushroom bhaji nice enough - really just a big bowl of mushrooms which I didn't mind but others thought was bland. Bindi bhaji was good.

As always, nice friendly and attentive service (although I did have to give them a wee prompt to take the order).
overall
 4.1

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £24
comment Pops very crispy. Nice large pickle selection, including the "evil stuff!"

Salmon tikka was superb, although dropped half for presentation as the plate looked very sparse with a wee bit of salad at the other side.

North Indian chilli garlic lamb very nice. Not quite enough garlic for me though.

Sides: tarka daal a bit thin, watery and bland. Bhindi bhajee very nice though.

Service impeccable - lots of us, but the food still came out hot. Very friendly staff.

Price excellent for the quality of the food.
overall
 4.5

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops were lovely and crispy. Chutneys as nice as ever.

Starter of pickled calimari wasn\'t up to previous standards. Lacking in a bit of oomph, but still very nice.

Main of Naga chicken was nice enough but rather disappointing on the heat side. The worlds hottest chilli?! What fraction of one was in there I wonder. A shame that the owner\'s son didn\'t take the order as I suspect he\'d\'ve listened to me when I say I like it *hot* (well I do douse my work\'s Thursday curry with 350,000 Schoville unit sauce after all!)

Sides very nice from what I can remember (my notes stopped at this point).

Service was friendly and efficient.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms very crispy yet again and the chutneys were worth writing home about!

Pickled calamari was fantastic. Not rubbery at all. Very nice flavours, but would have been nice to have a couple of more rings.

Had a chicken phal (not on the menu) that was a bit of a builder, i.e. not too much heat to start with, but by mouth 5 it was getting warm ;-) Not my favourite of chilli flavours though, but heat was as ordered.

Traka dahl and Bombay aloo were very tasty indeed.

Service outstanding - wee chat about curry with the owner's son after the meal.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadums very crispy. Chutneys lovely and more than enough for the 6 of us - very tasty too, even had seconds of the lime pickle!

Salmon tikka lovely, but lacking in it's usual spice. Still ... 4.5 is way above average :-)

Goan chicken and lamb very tasty. Good heat (extra hot as requested) and lots of flavour.

Sides very nice, but ladies fingers a bit on the dry side.

Service very punctual.
overall
 4.5

restaurant Tuk Tuk
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
tapas
 3.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were nice and crispy, although tasted fishy (obviously done in the same fryer as the fish cakes). Interesting selection of chutney, including one that tasted like flaming hot monster munch. Small though - definitely no more than two to share a selection.

"Tapas" selection:
Bengali fish cakes (2.5) - were ok, but lacking some flavour, spice and indeed a few more minutes in the frying pan.

Ginger garlic lime (4) - was very nice indeed! Lovely sauce with a few hits of ginger (I'd have preferred a few more though) and the chicken, although a bit over-cooked, just fell apart.

Frankies (3) - spicy minced lamb in a chapati was quite tasty.

Railway station lamb curry (3) - quite nice, but for me the overpowering flavour was bone marrow - just not to my taste. It fell apart with a fork though and was in a nice spinachy sauce.

Service was a bit disappointing - I know the place was reasonably busy looking, but they should have had a couple more waiting staff on as it took half an hour for the non-drinkers (since it's BYOB) to get a drink and get popadoms ordered and a further half hour to take the main order.

They've certainly gone for the Indian "street food" theme in the restaurant with the decor and the livelier than typical music made for a pleasant atmosphere.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £28.00 (including tip)
comment Chutneys ok, but default selection limited. Mixed kebab ok, but sauces like water. Mains way too full of MSG and flourescent orange colouring. Advertised as "spicy hot" but the chilli was like a pickled jalepinio. Sides very disappointing. Service very slow considering we were the only ones in. Watch the £4.95 for the large Cobra too!
overall
 2.3

restaurant Vinyasa
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops were nice and crispy, however the chutney / onions / pickle were rather bland.

Vinyasa Special Kebab was quite nice, but nothing special. Was almost finished it by the time the sauces arrived though.

Naga Murgh was quite good. Actually had the kick that the menu suggested. Wasn\'t particularly to my pallet as I wasn\'t keen on the taste of the chillies used. A nice dish nonetheless.

Mushroom bhaji was nice as was the tarka dahl and saag aloo.

Service was a bit disappointing: on arrival we had to wait 5 minutes for them to set up a table (even though we\'d booked for 16 folk). There were a couple of forgotten dishes for mains.

However, I think I\'d happily go back there.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Voujon
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 1.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crispy, but very small pickle selection for 11 people - it ran out very quickly. Nice lime pickle though!

King prawn pathia with puri was quite tasty, but I've seen far bigger king prawns without their excess extra cost of a prawn dish. The sauce had a sweet taste, bordering on too sweet though. They should get rid of the squareish 80's style plates with little compartments for salad though!

North Indian "chilli" garlic chicken:
  • lots of garlic - good
  • the "extra hot" requested was 4 small green chillies as Jamesey had the "normal" which had none - bad
  • sauce very gelatinous - almost like a Chinese dish full of MSG - bad
  • chicken tough and dry - bad

Passing the plates from one end of the table to the other is not hygienic and is very lazy of the staff, hence poor service marks.

Sides ok - dahl had lots of garlic, but a very thin sauce. The bhindi and brinjal (aubergines) bhajee were tasty enough.

Service was overall lazy and only gained ½ a mark for giving us 15% off the whole meal bill instead of just 4 meals (Derek's voucher) - I think they either heard our comments or saw the review sheets.

Overall, not impressed.
overall
 2.0

restaurant Zest
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 1.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £29 (including tip)
comment Pops were ok, but bent a little far before breaking in my opinion. The evil stuff was incredibly sour, but also rather salty! Mango and onions were average.

Salmon 65 starter started off promising, but then when I sliced it down the middle, it was literally raw. Replacement was so far cooked that it was like a lump of leather. Very disappointed.

Himalayan Crushed Chilli Chicken was quite nice. Certainly a lot of crushed chillies and the heat gradually built up. Lacking something though.

Sides: saag aloo was very nice, as was the mushroom bhaji; the tarka dhal was a bit thin; the bhindi bhaji was average.

Service was fast and almost efficient - a couple of mistakes on ordering drinks and naans, but on the whole acceptable. We were fed and watered by 9pm, but we were about the only people in there!

Toilets need a bit of a clean - just smelled mouldy and on seeing the underside of the toilet seat, I'm glad that I didn't have to use it!

Not as good as the last time I was here and the menu is totally different, so most likely new management.

Would go back if someone organised a curry there, but nothing to make me want to organise another trip there myself.
overall
 2.0

restaurant Zest
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment No Kingfisher, 80 /- or duck available, that were all on the menu!

Popadums nice and crispy, but dips fairly average.

Tandouri trout very nice.

Lamb dish very tender, but average on flavour.

Sides nothing special.
overall
 3.1

restaurant Zest
review date April 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Just the two of us there, so far better service that the curry club visit in 2003 as they just can't handle large numbers. Salmon starter was very nice, as was the main.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101768 times ]