Reviewer's Reviews : Brian Wilson

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Starter could do with lemon. Coriander omission a little disappointing. That said, very good overall, particularly at festival time.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 1.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I was a little disappointed with the food. The starter (forgotten its name!) was described as being mushroom coated with lamb mince. Sounded interesting but when it came it looked like a large scotch egg but with a mushroom in the middle instead of an egg. It a bit stodgy and undigestable.

The main course was Chicken Bhuttuwa which I found distinctly average and a bit bland.

Not one of the best I'm afraid

overall
 2.8

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were fine

Chicken tikka kebab was ok but nothing out of the ordinary


Main course was excellant and the sides were very, very good.

Service absolutely top notch - best we've had in my opinion.
overall
 3.8

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £22.00
comment MINTY!
GREENY!
overall
 3.9

restaurant In Touch
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £21
comment Pre starter dips were very good but unimaginative. Popadoms fresh and crisp.

Chicken and okra special purity was absolute quality!

Chickenn Jalfrazie was very but I was getting a: : bit full and didn't finish.wi

Sides: Tarka Dhal was a bit too ltumpy and I Like lumpy. The Bhindi bhai was very but a little tasteless.
overall
 4.0

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment In Touch special Puri (Okra and Chicken) was brilliant!
Main course not bad but not outstanding however sides were top notch. (bhindi bahji, saag dhall, tarka dhall)
Company good, service cheery,
Would recommend.
overall
 4.3

restaurant Kama Sutra
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 1.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were crisp. Spicy onions were in a light sauce - not sure about them! Chutney and yoghurt was ok.

Grilled scallops - not keen on the flavouring and they were overcooked.

Chicken tak-A-tak - pretty good.

Sides - Bhindi something - ok.

Meal was cheaper than usual due to the use of a 20% off food club card. This saved £38 across 9 heads. It was £23 before tip.
overall
 2.1

restaurant Kasturi
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Drinks order was a disaster. Everything seemed to be off and the waiter kept getting the order wrong. Not a good start.
Popadoms soft, dips insipid. Not good so far .....
Sheek kebab well presented and tasted fine.

Finally! Chicken palak very good. Not champions league, but very good nonetheless.

Service recovered to ok following opening disaster.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date April 2011
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Veg pakora to start - very good (but it is diffciult to go wrong with pakora)

Chicken rogan josh for the main was excellent as were the sides of bhindi bhaji and tarka dall.

Bill was good value but it should be noted that it was a BYOB so NO ALCOHOL was included.

Service was very pleasant however a little slow particularly with the bill which had to be asked for a couple of times.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Khushi
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment General - quite a small menu but all the favourites were there.

Prawn puri - good size portion. Very tasty. Bit hot.

Chicken jalfrezi - tasty but a little too hot for me to finish.

Sides were ok but a bit non-descript.
overall
 3.1

restaurant Kismot
review date June 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Dips very good. 2 lime pickles which I liked although others thought 1 was bland, spiced onions and mango chutney tasty.

Chana puri for starter. Very tomatoey sauce with no real personality. A bit nondescript.

Chicken jalfrezie for main. Hot but not much flavour

Sides ok but not startling

Service was pleasant but there was a cheery running commentary
To keep reminding them of the dishes they forgot to bring

Overall I was a bit disappointed
overall
 3.0

restaurant Mezbaan
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp and fresh. Dips unusual. Chutney as usual, one other was like a doritos salsa and the third was a mix if sweetcorn, broad beans, veg in a thin sauce that tasted like lime pickle. Fine but on reflection I'd have preferred traditional.

Starred was mysore e-galafi. Basically lamb shish kebab.good with a spicy side sauce.

Chicken jalfreize - good.

Disappointment was that the mains arrived significantly before the nans which were well before the sides. Too big a party at 15 heads.

Enjoyed the sides though.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were crisp but dips were uninspiring.

It's a tapas restaurant so we all ordered 3 dishes and I treated the aloo saag dosa as my starter. It came wrapped in a crepe with a really nice side dahl dip but a little too much saag and not enough aloo.

1st main: ginger chicken & spinach leaf. Absolutey. Bloody. Superb. Gets the main rating a 5. Hot but sweet. Lemon flavour but not sour. chicken cooked to perfection. Not tasted better even in the spice pavilion.

2nd main. Chilli king Prawn. Quite hot but no real flavour. Would have got a 3 but the 1st main was so good I discounted this in the scoring.

Great service. Minor mistakes were sorted without any quibble and the bill was corrected without prompting for a missing nan.

Overall, very very good
overall
 4.5

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp but dips not startling

Ginger chicken and spinach - dull, spicy keema dosa - very good, chilli chicken dosa - good

Very good service and nice atmosphere
overall
 3.7

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £31 (including tip)
comment Sheek keebab was very tatsty but for some indiscernable reason not quite a 5 ....

Main course wasn't what I thought I'd ordered but was very good anyway - I think that the waiter was slightly hard of hearing!

overall
 3.6

restaurant Namaste
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 0.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were fine but the dips were struggling to get to average - and there wasn't much of them!
Went for the nepalese chicken satay and it was really, really good. Nicely cooked and a little bit spicy.
Main was supposed to be a medium jalfrezi chicken but it was very mild. Chicken was a little overcooked. There were practically no sides on the menu so ordered 2 veg mains but they were so so.
Mains arrived 1 hour 45 after arriving - too slow!

It felt 10 pounds overpriced.
overall
 1.5

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment Starter was excellent!
Spinach and lentil medallions deep fried - best thing I've tasted in ages.
Main of King prawn in curry sauce was tasty but not hot (it wasn't meant to be).
Sides were very good especially the Bindi dish
overall
 4.0

restaurant Omar Khayyam
review date February 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30
comment Crisp popadoms, really nice pink sauce. No pickled lime but since I don't like it I don't care.
Fish pakora very, very good and a decent sized portion.
Chicken dopiaza was a wee bit bland. Nothing bad but ok. Bhindi bhadji very good, tarka fall thick and odd.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Saffrani
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Spiced onions very hot - not sure about that! Liked the lime pickle which is unusual for me.

Chicken malai tikka looked bland (white meat, no sauce) but was succulent and very nicely flavoured.

Main was chicken shahjah. Nice but not quite top dollar. Maybe could have been a bit hotter?

Tarka was thick but a bit bland. More garlic would have been good.

Service was attentive but atmosphere sulied by the refusal of no nor than one voucher per table.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Suruchi
review date July 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Not sure about the crushed peppercorns in the chutney!

Prawn poori was a big helping with a very tasty sauce. Prawns slightly over cooked?

Went for chicken satuki. A bit salty and not that flavoursome.

Nice atmosphere, good service.

overall
 3.6

restaurant Tanjore
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Popadums took too long to come. And no p
LATE! Not enough dips

Massala divlae was ok but the minty pea dip was well odd. Not too sure about it.

Tanjore chicken - not sure at all. Coconutty but pretty hot. A lot of sauce but not so much meat. Mmmm.

Nan substitute (parotta) was like deep fried swirley thing. Odd.

Only £18 pounds plus tip. It was BYOB but still good value.
overall
 3.0

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Sheek Kebab was excellent Only complaint was that I wanted more!
overall
 3.9

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25.5
overall
 3.6

restaurant The Himalaya
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Dips not startling.

Prawn puree was ok but not in the same league as many others e.g. spice pavilion, in touch.

Chicken pathia was a bit bland.

Tarka Dhal was superb.
overall
 3.6

restaurant The Khukuri
review date July 2009
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment My starter was number 4 (can't remember the name) but it was like a small lamb spicy stew. Very tasty but the bowl was cold and so the food cooled rapidily as we waited for everyone to be served. The waiter had to be reminded to bring the chapati thus allowing the food to cool further. I marked the starter down by 1/2 as a result.

Main was execellant (chicken version of number 33) as were the sides. Food was piping hot this time, tasty and with a slow burn hot spicy aftertaste. To be recommended!
overall
 3.8

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date April 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Main course and sides were perfect! Starter bland and service a little slow. Watch out for the £4 a pint scam!
overall
 3.8

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date June 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30
comment Popadoms crisp and fresh but dips cold and a bit lacking in flavour.

Jinga meme very very tasty.

Mild mango based chicken main was very tasty but it was almost cool.

Bhindi bhadji was pretty good.

Restaurant was quiet - we were the only table there.
overall
 3.3

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment
Sides that came with the popadoms where a bit bland however...

The starter (King Prawn pakora) was so good that I considered givnge it 5 but where do you go from there so I gave it 4.5.

Then the main came (Kathmandu Murgh - chicken in a garlic lentil sauce) and it knocked my socks off - a 5!

The bhindi badji side was good and I thought the staff were very good.

This has set a very high standard for the rest of the year.
overall
 4.3

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp, dips good, lime pickle nice (and I don't like lime pickle).

Chicken pakora was very good but didn't quite make it too excellent.

Chicken katmando was much hotter than last time and not so enjoyable.

Sides were good.

Service was as good as always.

Price was unbelievable even before the 15% discount. It would have got a 5 discount or not.
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter dips were better than last time but still no better than run of the mill. Chutney was good but the minty yoghurt was thin and bland and the onions could be more spicy.
Prawn pakora was superb but the side salad was 90% cucumber - 1/2 mark off!

Kathmandu chicken was 5 out 5.

Sides were the best. Mushroom bhadji was divine. Dal sagwala was different and great.

Absolutely wonderful!

I suspect my score is even higher than last time!


overall
 4.7

restaurant The Verandah
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Lime pickle pretty mild, spiced onions bland, chutney fine.

Prawn puri starter was very tasty.

Chicken rogan josh a bit bland

Enjoyed tarka dhal but Bhindi bhadji bland again.

Service a little slow.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Tuk Tuk
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Tapas restaurant.

Pappadoms crisp and fresh. Dips very good including a mildly hot capsicum flavoured red sauce. Served in stupid little jars the size of a motorway service station individual jam portion. Get 1 tray between 2 max until they give up trying to look quirky and start to get practical. Point off for nonsense!

Ordered:

Ginger Garlic Chicken - best of the four - 4.5
Butter Chicken - not what I expected. Quite hot. 3.5
Patina Lamb Karahi - Average. 2.5
Tarka Dhal - ok but not spectacular. 3

If we hadn't had to wait 1.5 hours for the mains then 3 dishes are plenty for one person. Even being super hungry I was still stuffed with 4.

Service was pleasant but way over an hour to take the order - not good enough.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £28.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters a bit bland until the mixed chilli pickle arrived which almost recovered the situation. Dhal soup could have been more spicy and more lentily. Main was a little lacking in character, sides bland. However the atmosphere was good. Waitress was very pleasant but it was 1.5 hours from our arrival until the mains arrived. Cost of beer (no draught) was brutal at £4.95 a pint!
overall
 3.0

restaurant Yak and Yeti
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp, tomato n garlic dip absolutely sensational. Not sure about the mango chutney - a bit peppery!?

Big starter portion. Spicy prawns in a sweet and sour sauce. Great!

Main was nepalese hot spicy chicken. Pretty hot, pretty good.

Sides good too.

overall
 3.8

restaurant Zest
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Popadom was crisp and the chutney was good. Couldn't try the other dips due to a promise made to Mrs W not to come home drunk and stinking of curry (as if!).

Sheek kebab was as you would expect but nothing spectacular.

Chicken korma (see above for the reason why I ordered this) was pretty good. Bhindi bhadji was distinctly below par.

Liked the pashwari nan though!

Although my meal was acceptable I was aware of distinct unhappiness around me due to uncooked salmon and wrong nan deliveries.

In summary, alright but no real reason to rush back.
overall
 3.0

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 96816 times ]