Reviewer's Reviews : Brian Tilley

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Abida
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27
comment Lime Pickle - gooooood!

Mixed Kebab starter was excellent. Enormous for a starter. Lamb Tikka a little tough, but otherwise excellent.

Lamb Jalfrezie Main.
Lamb was well cooked, but of much poorer quality meat than the Lamb Tikka. As a result the dish had a slightly fatty aftertaste. Also, not as spicey as I would expect a Jalfrezie to be.

The restaurant is nicely fitted out, but the staff didn't provide service to match.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Agoon Pani
review date July 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment Pretty good meal all told.
Nice selection of pickles with the pops.
Mixed kebab starter quite good.
Main Course Gost Methi Papani, was very tasty.
Sides were pretty average, but OK.
Midweek, so not many other customers, so difficult to assess atmosphere.
Price of drinks kicked the overall price up. Not impressed that they didn't have any draught beer on tap (would have been cheaper).
Quite an expensive meal, but probably still worthy of a revisit.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms OK but chutney trays were small and expensive!

Samosas were good, but a little small!

Mughi Jaipuri main meal was spicy but not hot. the flavours were excellent. I like a curry with plenty of vegetables in with the meat and this was great. The portion looked small when it was served, but the capacity of the serving pots was deceptive and I finished the meal full.

Disappointed with the side dishes. Too much tomato in the Tarka Dhall and not enough garlic for my liking.

A modern and well fitted out restaurant, but I wasn't very keen on the Musak.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date August 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Good quality meat in the Mixed Kebab starter.

I had a veggie Main, but it was disappointing. Sauce was pretty tasteless and the only spice came from green chillis. In addition, the vegetables were all a bit oily:-(

Tarkha Dhall side dish was much better, but possibly needs a little more garlic.

Very friendly staff and restaurant surprisingly busy.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Club India
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 1.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £30
comment Very small pickle trays..... Bad!
Sloooooooooow... service.
Starter (Hara Bara kebab) little flavour and very oily.
Main (Shakuti) overpowering chilli. Nothing else came through at all. Don't get me wrong, those who know me know that I like hot curries. But this one tasted of nothing but chilli. Nothing like the subtely flavoured (but spicy) dish I had in Goa on holiday (Lazy Days).
Sides were disappointing (again no flavour) and small.
Everything served on cold plates, so the food got cold soon too.
Very minimalist and spartan surroundings did nothing for the atmosphere. The music was pleasant at the start, but moved on to musak later, also not good.
Very expensive for the standard of food.
Overall... Disappointed and £30.00 poorer.
overall
 1.7

restaurant Dhaba Diner
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Had to ask for more pickles for the poppadums as they gave us one tiny serving between 9 people.
We chose to try their set menu for a larger party (8 or more) which was priced at £15.95p a head.
The starters and main dishes were mostly very good with varied levels of spice and flavour. Marked the Mains down because the Lamb in the Lamb dishes was pretty tough. But overall a pretty flavourful experience.
This restaurant hasn't been open that long and it shows in the service. I'm sure they can improve though and I guess I'll put this one on the list for a revisit when I get time.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Guchhi
review date November 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 5.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £20
comment Where do I start ?
I've decided to ignore the fact that I was drenched in beer and received no personal apology from the management. I'll assume they don't make a habit of pouring beer on their customers.

That said, there's not a lot of good to report about this meal.
I had Shammi Kebab for starter and I'm sure the menu mentioned meat. I got two small potato cakes on a miserly bed of salad bits. Not worth the money charged for it!
I had chicken Jalfrezie for my main course. What turned up is not my idea of a Jalfrezie. It was sweet to taste and there was not a trace (as far as I could see) of green chillis.
The highlight of the meal were the vegetable sides.
The Dhall Dish and Aloo Gobi were excellent. In retrospect I wish I'd orederd them as my main.

Even leaving out the beer episode, the service was particularly poor. This may have been in part due to the fact that they didn't dare allow the first waiter (beer spiller) to serve on table again. But we had to remind them we had ordered poppadums more than once. Also, only one rice (very small portion) was served with the mains. By the time this was corrected the mains were either getting cold or had been eaten.
As a result, the atmosphere suffered.

It's true that the chef came to the table at the end of the meal and talked to some of us and they did not charge us for mains in the end. This was not such a large sacrifice on their part as we were already claiming the McCoy 2 for the price of 1 offer.

Perhaps their speciality Fish dishes would have been better. I guess I'll never find out as they are Expensive and beyond the price I would be prepared to pay given their small portion sizes.

Overall a disappointing experience.
overall
 2.5

restaurant Guchhi India
review date March 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were Ok, but a bit short on dips.
Shammi Kebab starter fairly bland, disappointing.
I had mixed feelings about my Chicken JalFrezie Main course. As curries go, it had quite a nice flavour, but there was no sign of any green chillis which are normally the hallmark of this dish. Definitely lacked a little in spiciness.
The additional Chilli Garlic Lamb dish provided as a taster was very nice. Made me wish I'd oredered it instead of the JalFrezie.
Dhal side produced off-menu was very pleasnt, but not enough garlic for me.
The service was efficient and because they (sensibly) split us into two tables, all the food arrived hot.
I think I'll probably have to give it another try in a smaller group.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment If you're looking for your usual curry, then this is not the place to go. If you're looking for a taste of authentic nepalese cuisine, then you'll not be disappointed.

Usual popadoms to start with, no Lime Pickle (usually my favourite) but that may also be a Nepalese thing. Perhaps I should have asked.

I had TAREKEO MUSHROOM for starter. this is mushrooms encased in a spicey lamb mince and fried. Rather like a scotch egg in appearance but much tastier.

NEPALI TARKARI (Chicken) for the main. Tasty but disappointingly mild considering it was advertised as medium.

The side dishes of Dhaal and Saag Aloo were very good. Especially the Saag Aloo. Definitely improved the enjoyment of the main course.

Service was good although they got a little confused over what was ordered. The restaurant is looking a little tired and could do with a revamp.

Overall, the meal was adequate in portion, but is not exciting enough in flavour to bring me back regularly.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Gurkha Brigade
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Nice dry poppadums, extra pickle brought when asked.
Had garlic Mushroom starter and was a little disappointed. The cream sauce overwhelmed the Mushroom and Garlic.
Chicken Lasun Main was very tasty, good food.
Sides were excellent. Garlic in the Dhall made up for the starters lack of garlic. Also Aloo Ghobi, Saag Aloo were very good.
Excellent service by a single waiter managing the whole restaurant. Although aside from us there were only a couple of other tables. Very helpful and willing to please.
Value for money was good considering nearly everyone had two pints of Cobra.
i enjoyed this meal (and the company) very much.
overall
 4.2

restaurant Gurkha Cafe
review date October 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment No Lime Pickle, but Onion was quite spicy.

Garlic Mushroom starter. Plenty of Garlic in a smooth creamy sauce. Late bringing anything to go on the salad.
loved the mushrooms though.

Bhuteko Khasi Main Course (Lamb), asked for it Hot!
The Lamb was excellent and the dish overall was very tasty. Not just chilli to make it hot, recommend this dish.

Side dishes were quite tasty too, although quite small portions. Sadly I keep comparing side dishes in the UK to the size (and quality) of similar dishes when I was in Goa. They don't compare that too well.

Service was friendly and generally efficient as far as the waiters were concerned. Sadly though our eleven strong party stretched their kitchen too much and there was quite a long wait between courses.

Overall a friendly and atmospheric place to eat.
Value for money was good.
overall
 4.0

restaurant Ignite
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £32 (including tip)
comment Nice Lime pickle with the Poppadums, Onion pickle mostly just onion and not so good.
Lamb Chop Starter was OK, but not as good as others I've had elsewhere.
Vegetable Jalfrezie - Mixed emotions.
Good selection of vegetables, tasted nice, but NOT half spicy enough for a Jalfrezie. Fairly disappointing.
Tarka Dhall side prepared off-menu and very good.
Other sides unremarkable.
Nice place to eat and after an initial wait for starters, they coped with our table of 12 quite well.
Bottle of Cobra £5.00 - Too expensive for my liking.
overall
 3.1

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Vindaloo - Hot!!!!
Tarka Dhal - Wonderful!!
overall
 4.5

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Curry Club Special Puri - Saag, Prawn Hot - Mmmmmmm!!
Chicken vindaloo Hot and Spicy.
Bombay Potato really nice.
Tarka Dhal Great!!
Much improved service this time.
overall
 4.6

restaurant In Touch
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Curry Club Puri - superb!! I had Saag Prawn Hot and recommend it to anyone. Main Course a game of two halves. The sauces and vegetable content were excellent with a fine mix of spices and flavours. Sadly the Lamb I had was tough and not very enjoyable. I believe the Chicken dishes the others had were much better. Side dishes were disappointing. Overall well worth the visit. This is also a BYOB restaurant, although they do sell beers.
overall
 4.1

restaurant In Touch
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Absolutely heavenly starters. Aptly named "Curry Club Special Puri" A must for anyone who visits here, they are served with a choice of fillings and a choice of spiciness. Well worth the 5 mark I gave it.
Main course I chose was a Chicken Jalfrezie dish. This too tested the palette with a superb mixture of flavours. Could have been a little hotter hence the loss of half a mark.
Tarka Dhall side dish disappointing.
Service was unusually poor this time. Usually much better.
Overall, well worth a visit and we'll be going back again.
overall
 4.1

restaurant In Touch
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £21 (including tip)
comment A very well filled Puri for starter. Vegetable Jalfrezie main course Hot:-)
Tarkha Dhall as good as ever.
Another excellent meal.
overall
 4.7

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment I'm impressed that they topped up the chutneys for our late arrival.
Main Course was nice an spicy.
Generally a very pleasant evening.
overall
 4.5

restaurant In Touch
review date July 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppadums with a really nice Lime Pickle.
Too many people in the Curry Club like Lime Pickle now, but we can't blame the restaurant for that :-)
Had Lamb Chops for starters and was disappointed. The meat was tough and the marinade not very good. Can't beat the Spice pavilion with this dish.
However, the main course of Lamb Jalfrezie was superb. The level of spice was just right and the Lamb was well cooked. I don't think I've had that much meat in a Indian Main course for a long time. Really good food.
Aloo Ghobi tasted OK, but the Caulliflower was a little to "Al Dente" for me. The Tarka Dhall was OK but needed a little more garlic for my taste.
Service was a little slow to start with, but they were already busy when we arrived. Once the starter arrived service picked up as the restaurant was a little less busy by then.
Due to the fact that this restaurant allows BYOB, the overall cost represented extremely good value for money. With my £8 bottle of wine I spent a total of £30. This restaurant will remain on my list of favourites.
overall
 4.1

restaurant In Touch
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Poppadums were really fresh, plus extras free!. Chutneys in free supply, Lime pickle especially good.

Bahri Combi starter, (Mushroom stuffed with spiced lamb). Very enjoyable.

Chicken jalfrezie Main, a little disappointing. Very strong taste of pepper!

Side dishes only average. Tarkha Dhall needed more garlic for my taste, Bhindi Bhaji overcooked.

Generally good service, with a little wait due to the large party (14). They are still maintaining a high level here.
overall
 3.9

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Poppadums were good. Nice and dry and not oily, plenty of pickles.
Garlic Mushroom starter - excellent.
Goan Lamb Jalfrezie - Beutifully spiced and very tasty. Lamb was a touch on the tough side, which accounts for the slightly lower mark.
Bombay Aloo and tarka Dhall sides were superb.
Once again the service at this restaurant was excellent. Atmosphere a little flat because apart from one other couple, we were the only people there. This is quite unusual these days as In Touch is quite popular.
This restaurant is a worthy winner of the CTCTROTY award.
Lastly, the price was a little higher than usual as a number of our party did not Bring their Own Bottle.
overall
 4.5

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £19
comment It's quite a while since I submitted a review for IN TOUCH, so I thought I'd better do one now.

I guess our party of 5 has several members who are regular visitors to this restaurant. So when we arrived we were greeted like long lost friends. However, I did notice that other diners were met equally enthusiastically, so maybe it's standard.

Following the poppadums, I had the Garlic Mushrooms for starters. You need to be a serious garlic fan to like these and they were great. On the plus side, although the portion is quite large, this is quite a light starter which leaves plenty of room for the main :-)

A creature of habit, I had Jaisalmeri Chicken Jalfrezie for my main dish. This dish has everything. Nice and spicey. Not just meat and gravy, plenty of veg. too. Plus, if you don't want it too hot you can push a few green chillis to one side. I ate the lot though. Excellent fare.

This is a very friendly restaurant and it was quite busy for a Thursday evening, but the service was prompt and efficient.

Overall, IN TOUCH is still providing an excellent cheap service with really tasty dishes. If you don't like it too mild just ask for a slightly hotter sauce and they'll adjust any dish to your taste.

Well worthy of the CTCTROTY award for 2010, I'm looking forward to 26th January.
overall
 4.6

restaurant In Touch
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Ran out of lime pickle down our end of the table, good job the other end weren't eating theirs!

Tandoori chicken on the bone starter was excellent as usual.

Bit of a mix up serving the mains this time. I got Lamb instead of chicken and had to swap with James who got chicken instead of lamb. The Jalfrezie was as good as it always is here. Spicy without burning out the palate.

Side dishes were excellent. Was able to have coriander on everything because Mary didn't turn up.

Overall, very good food, service a little below par coping with the large group.

Still my favourite resataurant :o)
overall
 4.2

restaurant In Touch
review date May 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £17 (including tip)
comment Decided to have a complete change this time around.
So I ditched the In-Touch special Puri for a Fish Starter. This proved to be very tasty, but lost half a mark because they said it was served with salad but it came with coleslaw :-(

For the main dish I had the Goan Vindaloo. This dish is not for the faint hearted. It is very hot! So it definitely hit the spot for me. Be aware that the dish does not contain huge amounts of vgetable matter, so you need to order one or two sides to go with it.

I had Bombay potato and Tarka Dhall side dishes with this meal and both were excellent.

We seem to be getting quite well known in this restaurant now so the service was (as usual) very good.

Note the low price! They continue to offer their menu at 30% off the original prices. Since they are also BYOB (no corkage) the whole deal is very good value.
overall
 4.6

restaurant Indian Lounge
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Really liked the Lime Pickle with the Poppadums.
Mixed Kebab starter Ok, Sheek Kebab really spicy, nice.
Lamb vindaloo quite disappointing. The sauce was quite mild and the main heat seemed to come from the meat.
But, the overpowering taste was very Peppery which was quite unusual.
Side dishes quite average.
Overall, this restaurant benefits from it's City Centre location, but the food doesn't quite do it for me.
By the Way, don't drink the bottled beers. The prices are outrageous!!
overall
 3.1

restaurant Kalpna
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment So here we are in a Vegetarian restaurant and nobody knows what to have. Waiter comes up and offers poppadoms, mixed starters, banquet mains with all we can eat for £18 a head. Problem solved.

The poppadoms were a little stale, but the Lime pickle was excellent.
Really liked the starter. A nice mixture of vegetarian starters with a selection of different sauces to dip them in. Very, very good.

The main course was also very good. we were served a total of five different dishes (including the Tarka Dhall), two different rices and two types of naan. Refills of all the dishes were provided until even Dave Fraser could eat no more. I liked them all except for the cheese in the cheese and spinach dish. Otherwise there was a good variety of flavours and everyone seemed to enjoy it.

Overall impression was good, but if you went there regularly the limited menu would be really repetitive.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Poppadums OK, plenty of pickle, Lime pickle quite fiery and sour - Good.
Fish Tikka starter OK but lacking in any real taste from the spices. Not a patch on the Salmon Tikka at Tiger Coast.
Desi Saag Chicken, spicier than I imagined, a tasty dish.
If you're hungry, have the mixed Grill as a main. I've never quite seen such a large pile of meat!
Tarka Dhaal served just as I would expect, lots of garlic and a hint of spice. Other sides didn't excite me.
Service OK, but had to be chased up a couple of times to get things and the wait for the bill after asking three times was bad.
A pleasant place with modern surrounds and furnishing.
Good value for money, price kept down because some of us brought their own bottles.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Khushi
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Once again, a really pleasant evening with good food.
Starter of Prawn Puri was excellent. Just enough flavour, but probably too big (I need to cut down on what I eat).
Main course of Chicken Jalfrezie. Went with Gavin on the hotter spices for this one. Still a really nice dish, although less vegetable matter than most incarnations of this dish which is why I marked it down a little. Still very tasty though.
Tarka Dhal side had extra garlic (as ordered) and was really really good.
Service was high quality and they dealt with our 14 strong party OK.
Nice to meet the kitchen staff who prepared our meal.
Recommend this restaurant to anyone.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I was a little worried again this month as we had a large group going to a small restaurant and we have had problems with service in these circumstances in recent months.
I need not have worried however, the welcome and service we received here at Khushi were top class.
The friendly staff were quick to deal with our orders and the food appeared in a sensible timescale.
I had a Prawn Puri for my starter. This dish was very tasty and (for a starter) was quite large. This was a good start to the meal.
My main course was Lamb Sabzi. This was an excellent mixture of good quality lamb and vegetables cooked in a beautifully spiced sauce. The side dishes we ordered complimented the meals well, but on a personal note I prefer Tarka Dhall to the mixed Dall served here.
Overall a very pleasant experience, well done Khushi.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Khushi's (Edinburgh)
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment The restaurant was heaving. I don't think I've ever seen an indian restaurant this full on a Wednesday Evening. First impression was that either this was going to be a service disaster, or they are going to be the best organised restaurant ever.

Well as far as service is concerened, you couldn't ask for much better. Only had to remind them to take a Drinks and popadum order before taking the meal order.
The rest of the service was excellent, friendly, no mix-ups and no long waits.

Excellent value chutney platters with the pops. I loved the lime pickle and onion, but the Mango and yoghourt dips were less appealing.

My starter was only OK. Chicken Tikka tasted mainly of lemon to me and the green sauce for the salad was pretty tasteless.

I ordered Lamb Jalfrezie for my main course. On the plus side, they really know how to cook lamb, it melted in my mouth. It tasted pleasant, But I expect a Jalfrezie to be pretty spicy and this wasn't. Not a green chilli in sight.

Side dishes were Ok too, I especially liked the Tarka Dhall. Good job we ordered a Main as everyone wanted some.

It's always a pleasure to eat in a well run busy restaurant. It certainly improves the atmosphere. But for me, the spice wasn't present. Maybe I'll have to try again and specifically ask for my food a little hotter.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Kismot
review date June 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Two different Lime pickles with the poppadums. Super!
Mixed Samosas starter OK, but not easy to tell the difference between the two meat samosas. I'm sure I should be able to determine the difference between Beef and chicken?
Chicken Jalfrezie Main. Plenty of chilli, but lacking the depth of flavour I would normally expect from this dish.
Tarka Dhall side-dish - SUPERB, best I've had for some time. High mark for sides due entirely to this dish.
Bombay potatoes - a little tasteless.
Other sides merely average.
Avoid the Haggis Naan bread - Not good, and the Garlic Naan wasn't!
They seemed to lose track of our orders and had to ask what they hadn't served, otherwise service was OK.
A very pleasant place to eat, but a little crammed on the table. But I guess 12 IS quite a large party.
Their web-site would benefit from a Table Booking facility, especially as you can't contact them outside evening opening hours.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Kismot
review date March 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Service very good, disappointed with Main Course (Phal Not Hot Enough!) and Tarka Dhal VERY POOR.
overall
 3.0

restaurant Lancers
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 0.5
price £23
comment Poppadums OK, even a few spares. Perhaps a bit light on the pickles.
Starters very mediocre. Some of the meat on my Mixed Kebab was nearly cold.
The main dishes and sides (when they eventually arrived) were surprisingly good.

Where this restaurant let itself down was in the length of time from arriving to the main dish appearing. 2 hours is really too long, especially for one of our party who had opted not to have a starter.
I know we were a large party (13), but it was booked ahead so there is really very little excuse.
Of course with the slow service, the atmosphere didn't stand a chance.
Gave a point for service because they gave two starters for free when they couldn't provide starters ordered an hour before.
overall
 1.9

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £31 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms semmed a little stale.

Salmon Chola Puri starter was a little lacking in salmon. But the flavour made up for it, very tasty!

Lamb Jalfrezie main. The lamb was very good, almost melted in the mouth. The sauce was spicy, but left a peppery taste in the mouth.

The side dishes were OK, very good portion sizes for sides. The Tarka Dhall could do with more garlic for my taste.

The service was a little on the slow side, but that often happens with a party of eleven. The restaurant is spacious and well fitted out.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Mya
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23.50
comment No Lime Pickle with the poppadums. Starters and Mains really excellent. Kerela Chilli Chicken superb. Tarka Dhal a little on the thin side, but tasted great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.
overall
 4.5

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £27
comment Lime Pickle was excellent with the poppadoms, but no onion and the other sauces weren't to my liking.
Starter of Spicy Garlic Mushrooms was tasty, but mushrooms were quite tasteless and not enough Garlic for my taste.
The Lal Mass main course was pleasant enough, but did not live up to it's description in terms of Spice.
The side dishes were very disappointing. The Tadka Dal especially lacked any real flavour.
Atmosphere was fairly bland, although I quite liked the music.
I never have good things to say about restaurants that make a service charge just because the party is over 6 in number.
Overall - Disappointing.
overall
 2.9

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment The starters were a cut above the rest of the meal. Full of flavour and spicy tastes. The Main courses were a little disappointing. The North Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken had no Garlic and no Chilli. The sauce tasted of tomato soup to me. The Lal Mass was much better. Spicy to the taste and the Lamb was cooked to perfection, just falling apart under the knife. The Dhal Makani (Black Lentils) tasted good, but was a little watery for my liking. The final price included a tip and a bottle of rather nice Pinotage shared between two.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Rana's
review date February 2010
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Starters were vegetable Samosa Channa. just one samosa surrounded by some Chick Peas in a spicy sauce and some chopped salad. However, very tasty and I didn't want a large starter.
Chose North Indian Chilli Lamb for Main course. The sauce with this dish was very nice, but not the "Very Hot!!!" suggested on the menu. I suspect they were short on Lamb in the kitchen as the meat portion was less than adequate.
The Dhall side dish and the Saag Bhindi (unusual combination) were excellent and made up for the lack of vegetable matter in the Main.
My overall impression was adequate, but could do better.
I suspect i'll have to try again sometime to come to a final decision.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Rivage
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment If you're expecting a classic Menu of Indian dishes, this would not be the place for you. But if you want to try something different, then the menu here is certainly different. I only recognised one main dish that you would find at most indian restaurants.
That said, the meal was not bad.
I had Lamb Ka Samosas for starters (mainly because the Quail was off). Three smallish samosas served with a quite spicy sauce. Not bad for starters.
I then had a Goan fish curry and here the dish did not match up to my memories of Goa. Tasty, but not quite authentic.
The side dishes were mixed. Tarka Dhal (Yuk), Saag aloo (yummy), didn't try the third, but comments varied.
Overall good value for money. The bill would have been cheaper if we'd realised it was BYOB.
overall
 3.8

restaurant Rivage
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent food, full of flavour and spices. Side Dishes superb. Pity about the atmosphere which was everything BUT Indian.
overall
 4.3

restaurant Shamoli
review date May 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Not too impressed with the pickle selection with the poppadoms.
Peek Gai Thai starter was very nice. But could do with a finger bowl.
Chicken Jalfarazie was very good. Quite spicy and lots of interesting flavours.
Sides good, but portions could have been a bit bigger.
Overall, very enjoyable.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Shezan Tandoori
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment If you fancy poppadums at this restaurant, take my advice - don't! I never seen such small portions of dips before!
In stark contrast, the starters were very good. Portions were excellent. I had lamb chops. To my surprise I got three chops which were well cooked and very tasty.
Main course of Chicken Jalfrezie was not as spicy as I would expect. I think the chef forgot the green chillis. But nevertheless, the dish was reasonably palatable.
Didn't take kindly to the entire table being told that we were wrong and hadn't ordered Saag Aloo side dish. At this point we had already pointed out that we wanted one at least three times before! The dish they finally brought us was dreadful too.
overall
 1.9

restaurant Spice Lounge Kitchen
review date April 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment poppadums a little soft. Mango chutney tasted odd? No Lime pickle.
Vegetable Samosa starters were very good.
Main course Lamb dish, (so memorable I can't remember the name), was labelled with three chillis. Feeling like something hot, I requested the dish a little spicier than normal.
But I was disappointed as the dish was very mild.
Don't get me wrong, the dish was very pleasant and the lamb very tender, just not what I was looking for on the night.
Nothing special about the side dishes we ordered, but adequate.
Some mistakes in the ordering, but otherwise pretty efficient service. The resurant is pleasant and has a nice ambiance with the background music staying in the background.
On the plus side, drinks were priced reasonably at around the price you would normally pay in a pub, rather than the normally inflated restaurant prices.
I probably need to go again to try another dish.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Prawn Puri very tasty but bread dry and prawns should have been served on the bread.
Main dish portions very large, but nothing special about mains otherwise. Tarka Dhal and Saag Aloo really nice.
Weird Music!!
overall
 3.5

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Excellent lime pick;e with the Pops.
Lamb Kebab starter OK, maybe a little tough.
Not impressed with the Main.
Initially they brought out three North Indian Chilli Garlic Chickens and not my ordered Jalfrezie.
Then they went back into the kitchen and brought out the same meal calling it a Jalfrezie.
I'm sorry, but I can tell the difference.
The North indian Chilli Garlic chicken was mediochre at best.
Tarka Dhall side good, Brinjal Bhaji not so good.
Marked down the service because of the Main meal issue.
Otherwise, enjoyed the evening.
£28 because a large number of us had two drinks.
overall
 3.5

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I have fond memories of meals at the Himalaya in the past, so I was looking forward to this meal.
Basically, I wasn't disappointed.
I had the Lamb Kebab as a starter. Very impressive, the portion control was excellent as a veritable pile of meat turned up. The meat was succulent and very tasty.
I had a chicken jalfrezie for my main. For my taste it could have been a little spicier and it was a little short on vegetables, but overall a nice dish.
The side dishes were another story altogether. Without exception, all the side dishes I tasted were superb. The Tarka Dhall merits special mention. I don't think I've had better for quite a long time.
The restaurant coped well with our large 14 strong party with the minimum of delay during the meal.
Yes, the Himalaya is still GOOD.
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Khukuri
review date July 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment I'm not going to pretend that the service was perfect, because it wasn't. However, considering the size of our party (14) I feel thay did a pretty good job. Just one starter went astray and that was served immediately the staff were told about it, which suggests that the dish wasn't claimed the first time it was brought out.

On to the meal. I had the Fish Pakora starter. I still don't know what "jimbo, timbo and hymbo" are, but the dish was pretty good.

The Main course of "Khukuri Mixed Special" was really good. Very tasty with a nice blend of spices. Also, it was a good choice if you couldn't decide what meat to have.

Overall, a good night out, but getting a little pricey!
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Khukuri
review date April 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £34 (including tip)
comment Chutney portions a little on the small size. I only got one small spoonful of lime Pickle.
Lamb Chop Starters were super, almost up to the standard of the Spice Pavilion.
I had a Chicken Jalfrezie for the main course which, if I'm honest, disappointed. I expect a JalFrezie to have a bit of a kick to it, especially when the menu says "Curry With a Bite" !! But although very pleasant tasting, it had very little in the way of "Bite". Pity Really!
Tarka Dhall had very little garlic, but the other sides, Saag Paneer and Aloo Gobi, were very pleasant.
Service was excellent with only one mistake on the starters which was rectified without argument in very short order.
As with most City Centre restaurants these days, the overall price was pushed up by the high price of beer.
A very pleasant evening, but more spice please.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Khukuri
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Slightly too much coriander in the main dish, but overall very pleasant. Starters were very tasty.
overall
 3.8

restaurant The Prince Of India (closed)
review date February 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25.00
comment Popadums crispy, mango and onion poor.

Got starter order wrong! Saag prawn hot special puree only medium.

Main course very tasty / spicy, but let down because meat was a bit tough!

Even allowing for the size of the party, service was slow!
overall
 3.2

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date June 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Poppadums were OK, but dips very poor. mango chutney oversweet, more sugar than mango. Riata more like milk, no flavour.
Had the mixed Platter. Substantial plate of meat. Enjoyed this starter.
Goan Lamb vindaloo for main course. Tasty dish with well cooked lamb. Definitely not for those who like mild curries. Very enjoyable.
Side dishes, Tarkha Dhall seemd quite good. Bhindi Bhaji mediocre with some very tough pieces of okra, Bombay potato poor, some potato not even properly cooked and flavour yuk.
Considering that we were the only table, service was slow and things got forgotten and had to keep prompting waiter.
Atmosphere would probably be better if more tables were occupied.
Expensive meal, not helped by the extortionate bottled beer prices.
overall
 3.1

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date April 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment I've been to the Raj a number of times in the past and this was without doubt the best meal I've ever had there. The Main courses and side dishes were delightful, with a real depth of flavour behind the heat of the spices. I recommend the Goan Lamb Vindaloo if you like it HOT!
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Popadums at our end of the table were OK. Liked the selection of pickles.
Starter - Maachli puri (Salmon and Chick Pea Puri). i don't often go for a fish starter, but this sounded interesting. Lovely flavours with a pleasant spicy kick. Not so big that I couldn't eat my Main.
Main - Lamb Jalfrezie. The meat in this dish was cooked to perfection. An excellent Jalfrezie with just the right level of heat, very tasty dish.
Sides - tried Tarka Dhall, Dhall Samber and Saag Aloo. All were well presented and very tasty additions to the meal.
Service was excellent, it's not often that a restaurant copes so well with a large party. Congratulations to Spice Pavillion for a very pleasant experience.
overall
 4.8

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Yet another great evening at the Spice Pavilion.
A meal worthy of their Champion of Champions status.

Popadums nice a crisp with the usual selection of chutneys. really nice Lime pickle.
Lamb Chop starter is excellent, just had to use my fingers to get at all the meat.
Chicken Jalfrezie main really tasty with just the right amount of heat.
Saag Aloo side was excellent and the tarka Dhall side must have been good as I only realised later it had never reached my end of the table.
Mushroom side also good.

Christina and her staf were, as usual, most attentive andfriendly to eceryone in the restaurant. Not just our party.

It won't be long before I'll be going back for another meal.
overall
 4.9

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £26
comment Slaman has a hard act to follow since Cristina and Imran Khan no longer run the Spice Pavilion.
But on the evidence of last night, he's well on the way to success.

Poppadoms were as crisp as ever, with an ample supply of chutney including my Lime Pickle favourite.
I had the Lamb Chop starter, which is simply great. done in a tandoori marinade with onions and peppers, served up sizzling on a hot dish - Yummy.
Main course of Chicken JalFrezie, could have been a little hotter, but I didn't specifically ask, so partly my fault. Still a very tasty dish and they're still using the ginger and garlic garnish we loved last year.
Side dishes were excellent, but some disappointed as there was no okra.
Overall a very Good experience. If Salman keeps the quality as good as this then I would still recommend this restaurant to anyone.
Now, I must book my next visit....
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment As it was Burns Night, I decided to blend cultures and go for the Haggis Samosas for the starter. Really tasty with the provided sauces and the haggis had some bite.
Main course was Lamb Jalfrezie. The chef knows how to prepare his meat. The Lamb was really tender. A couple more chillis would have made this dish perfect.
Traka Dhall side dish was excellent, plenty of garlic in there. The Saag Aloo was also excellent.
The Service was second to none. I don't know of another restaurant that deals with large parties as well as this one does.
The January 25% off the food offer made this excellent value for money. But I'll be back as it's worth the full price anyway.
overall
 4.7

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Poppadums fresh and crisp. Lime Pickle good.
Garlic Mushroom puri starter - Mmmm garlic.
Chicken Jalfrezie Main Course - Spicy and full of flavour.
Side dishes, Tarka Dhall - Best Ever, Bombay potato - superb.
As ever, Imran created superb food and Christina (and her staff) made everything else happen smoothly.
All the more impressive as the restaurant was packed.
Always a pleasure to eat at this restaurant.
They were worthy winners of our Restaurant of the Year Award for the second year running.
overall
 4.9

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment As some of you will already know, Cristina and Imran are relinquishing control of The Spice Pavilion.
The main reasons are Imran's health, which has deteriorated over the past couple of years.
So this visit was intended to determine what we can expect from now.
Control of the Spice Pavilion is now in the hands of Salman, who was Cristinas head waiter.
The Menu is unchanged and Imran is still cooking for two or three nights a week. During this time he has been passing his recipes and style on to the new chef.

The menu is unchanged, so all of your favaourite dishes are still available.
Service is as good as ever and as before there are no long waits beteen courses.

Popadums last night were crispy and the chutneys were everything we expect.
As a starter I had a Garlic Mushroom Puri. Garlic plus Mushrooms - not a lot more to say but delicious. Maybe slightly mmore Garlic, but I just love garlic.
I tried the Murgh Hyderabadi, which contains a mix of minced chicken and chunks of Lamb. The dish was spicy and full of flavour. The meat was cooked to perfection.
I had a side dish of Saag Aloo which was lovely and Mary had Garlic Mushrooms, which to my mind could have had more Garlic.
All these dishes bore witness to the style Imran s developed for his meals, with chopped Ginger and Garlic sprinkled on the top.
Mary had no problems with her "No coriander" orders.
The new waiter with salman was attentive without being overbearing and the general ambiance is unchanged.
Perhaps the music could have been better, but I barely noticed once I started eating.
I finished off with the Home Made Kulfi (Indian Pistachio Ice-Cream) which was also delicious.
The overall price was a little higher because we drank a bottle of wine between two of us.
Overall a very good meal. It seems that standards remain high at the Spice Pavilion.
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Verandah
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Verandah Mixed starter very nice. probably too big as a starter though, but good value for money. Noted that some others complained their starter was cold!
Chicken Jalfrezie main was the business. A good spicy dish with a depth of flavour not always encountered in some restaurants. Nice kick to it too!
Side dishes pretty ordinary.
Slowish service, but we were a large party so I haven't marked them down too much.
Friendly staff made this a pleasant evening.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Verandah
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Crispy pops let down by poor chutneys.
Lamb chop starter overcooked and rather dry. Small portion and no real flavour either.
King Prawn Jalfrezie was OK, but did not have the usual hint of fire from a Jalfrezie. This despite the fact that it appeared to contain quite a few green chillis.
Side dishes quite Bland. The tarka dall did not taste of garlic at all.
Service was quite poor with dishes missing and quite a long wait for food. Considering we were just about the only customers, this was poor.
Overall impression - Quite disappointing really.
overall
 2.6

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date August 2007
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £(Can't remember)
comment Worth a trip to North Berwick just to sample the Salmon Tikka starter. A meal to remember!
overall
 4.3

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Excellent Lime Pickle with Poppadums.
Pickled Calamari starter was very nice, smallish portion though.
Had Macchli Bortha for the Main. (Mackerel)
Very tasty in terms of spices, but I'm afraid the Mackerel rather overpowered the spices after a while.
All of the sides I had were pretty good.
Tarkha Dhall - Excellent, Loads of Garlic.
Mushroom Bhaji - Not exciting, but OK.
Bhindi Bhaji - Very Good.
Service Good, with a couple of prods in the right place.
Atmosphere excellent, good company in a great restaurant.
Already looking forward to next year.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Lime Pickle with the poppadums very good.
Salmon Tikka Starter Mmmmmmmm.
Chicken Jalfrezie Main Course really tickled the palate with a riot of flavours. Portion was huge.
Tarkha Dhall Side was excellent with lots of garlic.
Another great meal at the Tiger Coast. Pity it's not in Edinburgh, I could go more often.
overall
 4.6

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date june 2008
atmosphere
 3.5
service
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Nice and spicy. Enjoyed this meal enormously.
overall
 4.6

restaurant Tuk Tuk
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
tapas
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Nice Lime Pickle with the poppadums.
Sheek kebab starter OK.
Not overly impressed with the rest of the meal. Pretty much just average indian Restaurant fare, nothing startling, although the Tarka dhall was OK too.
It has to be said that I'm not a fan of Tapas Style Indian food.
The place was quite busy and there was just not enough staff on to serve the number of customers.
So I wasn't impressed that it took them an hour before they took the order.
Don't think I'll be going there again.
overall
 3.0

restaurant Yak and Yeti
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Free poppadum (half) and chutneys. Not bad, quite different from normal chutneys. Particularly liked the Garlic and tomato. Not too fussed about the others.
Starter - Piro Kukhura, made a mistake as this was the chicken version of this dish and I meant to order prawn. However, the dish was very tasty and exceedinly well presented.
Main - Lasuni Kukhura, Due to my earlier mistake, this was too much like the starter. Still a very nice dish with spicy notes exploding on the tongue occasionally.
Sides - Tarkha Dhall - Good, but disappointed with the Saag Aloo and Saag paneer.
Service excellent. Very friendly staff.
The ambience of the place could be improved.
Altogether quite a good experience. But I wish I'd got my starter order correct !
overall
 3.8

restaurant Zest
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Excellent Lime Pickle on rather stale tasting Popadums.

Sheek Kebab starter had plenty of flavour. Not keen on the sauce for the salad.

Saag Gosht main course was the best part of the meal. Nice balance of spices and the meat was cooked to perfection.

Sides were nothing special and the Dhaal was a little too much like soup for my liking. Not enough garlic either.

Service generally good, just a couple of mix-ups on orders.

A little pricey, mainly down to the extortionate drinks prices.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 96820 times ]