Reviewer's Reviews : Brian Donaghy

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Fancy! Zebra skin loos. Slow big bill.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Bay of Bengal
review date July 2008
starters
 1.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30.00 (including service charge)
comment Complimentary brandy!
overall
 3.4

restaurant Club India
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Service: Polite but slow and jumbled.
Food: Mixed quality and very small portions.
overall
 2.5

restaurant Guchhi
review date November 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 1.0
sides
 1.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £17.50
comment Service bewildering. Food bland. Head chef apologetic. Main courses free due to previous reasons.

The place was quite busy so I suspect that their speciality seafood dishes may be a lot better than their standard British Indian fare. The seafood dishes weren't on the 2 for 1 deal we were going for.
overall
 1.3

restaurant Guru Balti
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 1.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment They brought me the wrong dish, it was rubbish, the one I ordered was little better.
Popadoms were rubbish.
Mixed tandoori starter was tasty though.
Oh and the Tarka Dall was particularly rubbish. Wallpaper pastey.
Overall: rubbish.
overall
 1.7

restaurant Guru Balti
review date May 2012
starters
 4.0
mains
 1.5
sides
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment I feel ill now, it WAS something I ate.
overall
 2.1

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Even Sparky.
overall
 3.8

restaurant In Touch
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Four by Four!
overall
 4.0

restaurant In Touch
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Starter not as hot as it should have been.
Company: Briany
overall
 4.0

restaurant In Touch
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Note. I wanted to put an asterisk on the 5star rating for the starter, but the form won't let me.
Chicken Tandoori was excellent!!
Too much food.
overall
 4.4

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment TASTEY.
overall
 4.2

restaurant Indian Lounge
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Garlic chilli chicken was pleasant but no real flavours of either chilli or garlic. Otherwise nice meal.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Kebabish Original
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Meaty.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Food: Big & tasty
Rest.: Small but well adorned
overall
 3.6

restaurant Kismot
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23 (including tip)
overall
 3.8

restaurant Mezbaan
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The dosa starter was nice, but apart from that not great. New larger menu now, compared to a few years ago.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 4.2
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment What Mary said.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
tapas
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment A bright star in a universe mostly composed of Dark Energy.
overall
 4.2

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date October 2009
tapas
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment Food typically excellent - we don't bother with popadoms here any more.

Lamb on the bone curry with okra fulfilled a lack in my stomach since it was offended by the 9 Cellars bland tomato soup masquerading as a North India Chilli Garlic Chicken on Wednesday.

Chicken & Lamb dosas were excellent as ever.

And at 15 per head this place is by far the best value for money in town.
overall
 4.3

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Lamb chop starter : well cooked with subtle flavours
Trout main : tastey but mild
overall
 3.8

restaurant Nine Cellars
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 1.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment
SOUPY !!!
overall
 2.1

restaurant Rana's
review date February 2010
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £20
comment I thought I'd try the "Chicken Tikki" starter, which was apparently different from the Chicken Tikka. I can't reccomend the Tikki - a fried chicken burger type thing. Everyone elses starter looked better.

For my main I went with a ckicken dish with the "extra green chillies" option. It didn't have any chillies at all and came with a very tomato-y sauce, which wasn't what I was in the mood for. I couldn't be bothered sending it back.

All in it seemed like a nice restuarant but I chose poorly with the starter and the main wan't really what I ordered.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Rivage
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Poor Music.
overall
 4.4

restaurant Roti
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 4.38
starters
 5.00
mains
 4.85
sides
 3.99
service
 5.00
atmosphere
 4.75
price £35.00 (including tip)
comment Tasty "superlative" food with delicat, yet excellent flavours. Free wine added to both the service and atmosphere.

Too posh for Tilley?
overall
 4.7

restaurant Shamoli
review date May 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment <Not as good as Mya!>
overall
 3.8

restaurant The Clay Oven
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Another expensive Cobra joint (£5)
overall
 3.3

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2012
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Non-indicative pricing.
overall
 3.6

restaurant The Khukuri
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Knifey!
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Flawless service for such a large party mid-week (19 people).

Excellent value for money due to the 25% off deal.

A very well deserved winner of the 2011 CTCT Restaurant of the Year.
overall
 4.8

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment End to end an excellent meal.

Mary had mentioned in passing 6 months ago that it was my birthday on the 23rd - not only did they remember this they also arranged balloons, a "Happy Birthday" banner, a card and free desert for everyone (mine had a candle).

I had decided on a previous trip that this is currently my favourite Indian restaurant in town, but the service today was second to none.

The food as ever was excellent, the sheek kabab being perfectly prepared with a side salad and main was very tasty with a good heat.
overall
 4.8

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £20
comment My main was a lot milder than normal, which was a little surprising since I've had it dozens of times before - my fault for asking for it "medium" I suppose. Otherwise excellent in all ways as usual. A deserved winner of the Curry Restaurant of the Year.
overall
 4.6

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Luverly!
overall
 3.9

restaurant Umair
review date August 2008
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £28.00 (including tip)
comment Service a little slow. Drink (beer) choice very limited and expensive.
overall
 3.0

restaurant Zest
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Hmmm .....
overall
 3.0

restaurant Zest
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Fine!
overall
 3.5

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101798 times ]