Reviewer's Reviews : Barry Nelson

Sort Reviews: Restaurant ( Up Down ) | Date ( Up Down ) | Overall Rating ( Up Down )

restaurant Amani (closed)
review date July 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Very trendy, lovely décor.
Starter was pakora, very nice nothing special.
Main course was royal nawabi ghosht (Lamb with mint, green herb and coconut), very tasty, never had this one and I think I would have it again.
Next time I think we should have more chilli nan, never heard of this before, very pleasant.
overall
 3.7

restaurant Ann Purna
review date March 2011
pre-starters
 0.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Not a lot to say on this one, but I share Gavin's sentiments.
overall
 1.2

restaurant Assam's
review date November 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £24
comment The lime pickle was great so were the spiced onions.

For starter I had the spiced Haddock with mushroom. The fish was nice enough unfortunately it was completely overpowered by the garam masalla.

Garlic naan was very nice with a generous covering of garlic butter.

My main dish was lamb Karahi, meat was tender however I felt it lacked flavour and spice. Good sized portion. Unusual serving method in a large bowl.
overall
 1.5

restaurant Bombay Bicycle Club
review date February 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27
comment Starter was vegtable pakora, spicy, rather pleasant.

Main was sarisha, which was chicken with mustard paste, chilli and coriander. Mildly spicy and pleasant.
.

We were given a shot of bailies as a sweetner with the bill along with the usual mints. Reminded me of tenerife.

Service was marked down due to my pet hate of having to stretch over to collect a plate, when the waiter can guiet easily walk round to serve properly.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Dhaba Diner
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment At the beginning there was only 1 pickle tray between 9, however after a prompt, another was produce. The lime pickle was one of the best I have tasted.

We opted for the set menu and I must admit I rather enjoyed it, with the exception of the lamb, which was tough.

The sauce for the pakora was to die for.

Good pub next door (The Pear Tree).

I enjoyed this restaurant and I will certainly go back.
overall
 3.9

restaurant Guchhi
review date November 2010
pre-starters
 0.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 0.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £20
comment Starter - Tandoori smoked mackerel, not worth the £6.95.
Main - Lamb kadhai, which was lamb cooked in tomatoes, onions, peppers, coriander and fenugreek.
The evening started off badly with Gavin and Brian being covered in 2 pints of lager and it was down hill from there. It took one reminder and 30 minutes for the popapdoms to arrive.
The main dish only had three pieces of lamb, granted after complaining a second dish did arrive and that had five pieces.
By the time the rice had arrived we had nearly finished our mains.
The chef / owner did come out to apologise and obtain feed back, but from a personal opinion, the damage had been done. With the beer spillage I am not aware of an immediate apology other than a quick retreat to the kitchen and the guests left to clear up the mess.
The price shown above only covers the two beers and starters, all the other courses were discounted due to our complaint.
overall
 0.3

restaurant Gurkha Cafe
review date October 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27
comment Starter was Mo Mo Cha, fried vegetable dumplings. Very enjoyable.

Main course, lamb handi, lamb on the bone cooked with the chefs' unique sauce. I would certainly have that again.

Popadoms were fresh and the spicy onions were excellent.

Lovely atmosphere and I enjoy the decor.

The service was a bit of a let down. Perhaps they can't cope with a large party. The main dishes were served minus plates, so there was a wait to get tucked in.
overall
 2.2

restaurant Guru Balti
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28
comment Vegetable pakora to start was nice and spicy a change from the usual restaurants.

Main course was Lamb balti saliboti, which is lamb with apricots and potatoes, very nice indeed.

Service was good with the exception that my pint was removed before I had finished. Apart from that mistake, I would go back.
overall
 3.4

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £18 (including tip)
overall
 4.7

restaurant In Touch
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Vegetable pakora to start, very nice, not greasy also good portion.
Main was "Old Delhi Lamb Rezala" which consisted of lamb, onion, garlic, ginger, chillies and yoghurt. This was tasty, however, for my taste buds it was a little sweet, but this is not a complaint, just I prefer savour to sweet and I wanted to try this since I have never had it before.
overall
 4.4

restaurant In Touch
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
overall
 3.7

restaurant Indian Lounge
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment A rebadged Tipo Shabiz. The starters were very good. Tarka Dall was excellent, however the main dish (Karai Gosht) lacked flavour and should have (my taste only) had a little bit of spice.
I wouldn't recommend this one as there are a lot out there that do a better job.
overall
 1.9

restaurant Kalpna
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment We all took the set meal. A very good choice. I liked the lime pickle, not too hot and was nice and sour. My favourite starter was the spinach and cheese. All the mains were very tasty. There was a memorable one, potato with tomato soup, but I don't think that was its description.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Kama Sutra
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pakora to start, very tasty, well cooked not greasy, I would have preferred a little more of the red sauce and if that was a little bit more spice then it would have been perfect for me.

Lucknowi Murgh (Chicken, tomato and onion), this was very pleasant and I would certainly have it again.

There was a side dish (we ordered another portion, it was that good) which I can't remember the name, but it was paneer, spinach and either sour cream or yoghurt.

This was me first visit and it will not be my last.
overall
 4.3

restaurant Kasturi
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 1.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were stale. Small pickle selection of onions, mango sauce and a yoghurt looking thing.

Lamb karahi was OK with sufficient amount of meat, onion and peppers, but the sauce was a bit bland.

Would not go back, there are better restaurants out there.
overall
 1.3

restaurant Khushi
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I had Pakora to start, which were freshly made and not greasy, the chilli sauce was nice. For my main course I had lamb Punjabi massala, very tasty and generous portions, naan breads were huge and tasty. Nice chairs, pity I didn't have a car or they would be missing one this morning.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Khushi's (Edinburgh)
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Interesting lamp shades.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Lancers
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 0.0
price £23
comment 1 hour and 15 minutes to get the starters!

When the food finally arrived it was tasty, but not worth the wait, at one point I thought there was going to be a walk out.

My starter was Sabzi Pakura.

My Main was lamb Khatta Taraky.

Never been to Lancers and I will not be back.

Arrived 1930, left 2145 nearly missed the last bus home.
overall
 0.5

restaurant Mezbaan
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25
comment I did enjoy the pre starter, the usual chutney, spiced onions and a new one, similar flavour to lime pickle but it was mixed veg.

Starter was chicken pakora. A little cold.

Main was lamb cafriel, which is lamb in a masala sauce with spinach, mint and chillies. This was very tasty, however a tad cold.

I was here in December with a similar number of people (15) and the service was slow and it was the same this time. The food is tasty but cold. I would consider going back but with no more the 4 people.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Mithas
review date November 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter was shorba, which was a very nice thick, spicy tomato soup.

Starter was Lamb Seekh Kebab, white cheddar cheese and saffron flavoured kebab - £6.95. Very tasty.

Main was Lahori Chicken Kharahi, fresh onion, tomato, green chilli and freshly ground spices - £9.95. Very tasty, nicely spiced for my taste, however it was COLD.

Garlic naan was certainly not subtle, plenty of garlic although on the small side.

Rice portions were rather small about enough for about 4 spoonfuls of rice, perhaps 5.

The restaurant was nicely decorated, rather plush.

The service has been down marked due to the plates being taken away while someone was still eating, to me this is a no no.
overall
 1.7

restaurant Mother India Cafe
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 5.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment The service has only been given 1 since we were boxed into a very cramp corner and the waiters were stretching over to reach the people sitting against the wall, also they had a habit of taking plates away while you were still eating and someone had to wait an age for their food. The restaurant cannot cater for large parties.

However, not withstanding the service problem the food was excellent. The pre-starters only had two choices of dip, spicy onions and mango chutney, I must say that the onions were delicious, for my main dish I had chilli fish cakes with okra and potato bhaji, again very nice indeed.

For a Wednesday night the restaurant was very busy.
overall
 1.8

restaurant Mughal
review date April 2015
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22
comment The Poppodums were crispy and tasty, however there was a very poor selection of chutneys and dips.

The pakora was rather dry, I prefer them a little moist.

Lamb Karahi was delicious.

Tarka dahl was too salty.

Saag aloo was overdone.

Another restaurant that cannot cope with a large group.

I could go back but with no more than 4.
overall
 3.2

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Starter was Sabzi Pakora.
Main was Phoolans Sag Gost, which is lamb cooked in spinach, herbs, garlic and chillies.
Lamb was well cooked and tender, no complaints there.
1 hour for starters to arrive, that could be because there were 11 of us, possibly.
Service was marked low due to my pet hate, clearing the table while someone is still eating, the height of bad manners in my opinion.
Perhaps attending with a smaller crowd, my opinion would change. It certainly is not on my black list and I would give it another chance.
overall
 1.8

restaurant Mumbai Mansion
review date December 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.0
price £37 (including tip)
comment Chef’s Platter, consisting of mixed pakora, onion
rings, Allu tikki and chicken chatt -- For two £9.95.

BRICKLANE KASHANI CHICKEN, which is Steamed chicken combined with ground black pepper, brown mustard with green spicy paste consisting of coriander, green chilli, fresh mint, capsicum, ginger & garlic. Popular medium hot dish -- £12.45

Sides were BOMBAY ALOO £4.75 and TARKA DALL £4.75

BASMATI PILAU RICE..£ 3.75
BOILED RICE WITH LEMON ..£ 3.50

GARLIC NAAN £ 3.75

PLAIN NAAN £ 3.25

Two rounds of drinks £14.20

The food was delicious, however I feel it was rather pricey and did not warrant the price.
overall
 3.5

restaurant Namaste
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 2.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 1.0
price £35 (including tip)
comment Starters were fabulous, however the main dishes were rather disappointing, advertised as hot, but the starters were hotter. Ordered an extra nan, paid for it but never arrived.
overall
 1.5

restaurant Navadhanya
review date March 2017
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £40
comment Excellent restaurant with outstanding food matched with superb service.

Pre-Starters - The poppadums came in handy hand size pieces. Nice and crispy with absolutely superb dips. The tomato one, in particular, was delicious.

Starter - Papdi Chat was the most unusual starter I have ever had. It looked more like a cheesecake. However, on eating, all the ingredients came into their own, chickpeas, crunchy crisps, yoghurt, mint and tamarind. To die for.

Main - Navadhanya Masala Lamb, what can I say but absolutely wonderful.
overall
 4.7

restaurant Omar Khayyam
review date December 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms and the pickle tray were very good, in fact there was at least two types of lime pickle, but I am sure I could taste a third.

Mushroom pakora to start, very fresh, lovely.

Chicken jalfrezie for the main, very good.

It has been about 10 years since I was in this place and a big make over has been done, it is very trendy, the fountain in the middle is still there, but has been given a makeover also.

Good end to a great year.
overall
 4.1

restaurant Pataka
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 1.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment For starters I had Tel Baigan, which was described as aubergine with egg, I was a little disappointed when I was presented with battered aubergine, may be a translation problem.

Main course was Hare Masale Wali Murgh, which was described as lemony chicken with coriander. It was tasty and the portion look huge, however, there were only 4 pieces of chicken, a little disappointing.

I found the restaurant too small and was cramp, perhaps fewer tables would help.

I wouldn't not recommend this one.
overall
 1.3

restaurant Rivage
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £24 (including tip)
overall
 2.8

restaurant Saffrani
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Spicy onions and the lime pickle were very good.

Starter was chicken tikka.

Main was lamb kadai, lamb with tomato, onion, garlic, ginger, coriander and chilli. Was expecting it to be a little bit hotter, however it was tasty enough.

Side dishes were a little bit insipid, not enough garlic in the tarka dall.

I would go back.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Shezan Tandoori
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 0.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I have given a zero for service, since I think it is a no no to argue with the customer, despite the waiter being asked 3 times for saag allo and 3 times the waiter and manager argue it has not been ordered, then it arrives once we have completed our meal!!! Sorry but that is just not on.
Despite the problem with the side dish the food was tasty.
overall
 0.9

restaurant Spice Lounge Kitchen
review date April 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £26
comment My poppadum that I had was not very crispy. Hence low score for the pre-starter. However a mark for the complimentary deep fried lentil finger that was rather nice.

Spiced onions and mint dip were good.

Mince kebabs for starters were pleasant.

Laal mass (lamb with hot spices). Not as hot as the 3 chilli indication on the menu but it did leave a nice warm tingle in the mouth.

A starter was forgotten (then rectified) however the service on the whole was reasonably decent.
overall
 3.3

restaurant Suruchi
review date July 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 5.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Chutney tray was very tasty.

Vegetable pakora was lovely.

The main dish of lamb malabar was advertised as spicy, spicy it was not.
overall
 3.3

restaurant The Everest
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Starter - Aloo Papa, potatoes in spices and deep fried.
Main - Everest lamb (with jimb and timba)

The lime pickle was to die for, the best so far. A nice kick and sour taste.
overall
 3.4

restaurant The Himalaya
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter for me was mince samosa, very generous portion, lots of mince.

Main for me was Ginger lamb, very nice.

Tarka dahl is to die for, the best in Edinburgh.

Nan breads, you only need two and you could carpet your living room!
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Himalaya
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28
comment Main marked down as my dish was a little bit on the cool side.

Service got a maximum mark for the in house laundry service (waiter cleaned the chutney off my shirt -- good news for people who should have bibs rather than napkins)
overall
 4.1

restaurant The Himalaya
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25.50 (including tip)
overall
 4.4

restaurant The Khukuri
review date December 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30
comment Too long to wait (1.25 hours) for the food to be served. I have been here before, that visit was with three friends and the restaurant could cope, however on this visit, they just couldn't cope with 12.
overall
 1.8

restaurant The Khukuri
review date April 2016
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £34 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters were OK, however, I would have preferred more lime pickle.

Ordered vegetable pakora, received fish pakora, immediately changed no fuss, fantastic.

My main dish was Khorsani Masala, very nice, advertised as \\\"hot\\\" I did not find it particularly hot, but, it was still very tasty.
overall
 3.7

restaurant The Khukuri
review date July 2009
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 2.5
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter was Kukhura Choyla (Spice chicken with a chappati), very nice.
Main was Sultan lamb, again tasty and lovely.
Service was a disappointment, they forgot about my starter until reminded by another guest.
overall
 2.1

restaurant The Raj (closed)
review date June 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 1.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 1.0
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Expensive for what was a rather less than average meal.

Bombay potato under cooked and lacking flavour.

Vegetable pakora was tasty.
overall
 1.7

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27
comment Starter - Lamb chops, marinated in herbs and spices. Absolutely lovely.
Main - Murg chana wala, chicken, chickpeas, medium gravy, ginger and coriander.
Very impressed, I will certainly be back. Nice and handy for me as the bus stop is right at the door.
overall
 4.5

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20
overall
 3.6

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment A blending of cultures for the starter of haggis samosa, fantastic. The was the start of a lovely meal. Will certainly be back.
overall
 4.3

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £26
comment I was looking forward to the haggis samosa, but was disappointed by the tough pastry and could not taste the haggis, there was more potato than haggis, I was expecting a filo pastry.

The main course was chicken kolhapuri, I did not know it was the hottest item on the menu until it was explained while ordering, the waiter very kindly allowed me to have it at jalfrezi heat, it was delicious.

At the end of the meal it was rather disappointing to be offered the hot towels while two people were still eating.
overall
 3.6

restaurant The Spice Pavilion
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment The lamb kahrahi was delicious.
overall
 4.2

restaurant The Verandah
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £28
comment Service was oh so slow, slapdash and disordered. Dishes were not delivered in a timely manner, sauces for the starters arrived after they were mostly eaten. We didn't finish till around 10:00, from a 1930 start.
overall
 1.8

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

restaurant Tiger Coast
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment My usual pakora to start, very nice indeed.
Machi Bortha - Minced mackerel, tomato, chillies, herbs and the chef's special spices.
Well worth the train journey down, will be back. I can see why it has won the curry club competition.
overall
 3.6

restaurant Tuk Tuk
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £22
comment I was here in December (4 people), just before Christmas and was so impressed I decided to recommend it to the curry club.

This time (10 people) I am a little disappointed, especially when it takes 55 minutes before the order is taken.

However the food was very tasty. But on the down side two people had dishes forgotten, which arrived after a prompt.

I had;

Frankies, absolutely yummy, spicy mince wrapped in a chapati.

Railway station lamb curry, lamb curry on the bone, to die for.

Patina lamb karahi, a little too salty for me. (This was this dish that was forgotten).

So overall, the food was excellent, however the service let the restaurant down. Will I be back, probably but with less people.
overall
 3.4

restaurant Voujon
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 3.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter - Sardine Bhorta, sardines in tomato and coriander. Different, I was expecting a more of a fishy taste.

Main - Aloo Mangshaw -- Lamb, potatoes and chilli.
I have seen more meat in an Irish stew than this dish, I was lucky to get 3 very small pieces of lamb.

Not happy with the way they served the main plates, standing at the end of the table and asking for them to be passed down the line, not good form if you ask me; I've had better service at the school canteen.
overall
 0.9

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Sat 10th May 2014 | viewed 101788 times ]