Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Zest"

15 North St. Andrew Street, Edinburgh, EH2 1HJ, 0131 556 5028 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Zest" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 13 reviews
overall
 3.1
with an average price of £26.46
pre-starters
 2.8
starters
 3.1
mains
 3.6
sides
 3.0
service
 3.4
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £29 (including tip)
comment Pops: A shame cause the big tray of pickles were all quite good all round but the pop itself and maybe the Lime Pickle were very salty and that overpowered almost everything else.
Lamb Kebab: Portion size was just big enough not to complain about it. Meat was quite tender and I found the flavor great. So why 3.5, the distinct lack of heat must have been the first dish ready, and the pink sauce was well just pink really and not much else.
N Indian Garlic Chicken: I usually go for Lamb with my main but this meat was very well cooked indeed moist and tender. The sauce was a great consistency and was very flavorsome and nicely spiced. adding a green meanie certainly notched up the heat a fair bit too. Just missing something to make it more memorable but a very good dish indeed.
Sides: Sag Aloo was very good as was the Peswhari Naan and the Bindi Bhaji. T Dahl was ok but far too thin and watery.
Service: I hate when tables are arranged such that people have to take on the role of waiter to help take and clear your own dishes. Also standing in one place to take a order from a such a big table is just lazy as it halts everything else that is going on at that table.
Atom: Nice clean fresh dining area with optional mood lighting, a nice place to eat.
VFM: A bit pricey but probably mainly down to the drinks
overall
 3.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 1.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £29 (including tip)
comment Pops were ok, but bent a little far before breaking in my opinion. The evil stuff was incredibly sour, but also rather salty! Mango and onions were average.

Salmon 65 starter started off promising, but then when I sliced it down the middle, it was literally raw. Replacement was so far cooked that it was like a lump of leather. Very disappointed.

Himalayan Crushed Chilli Chicken was quite nice. Certainly a lot of crushed chillies and the heat gradually built up. Lacking something though.

Sides: saag aloo was very nice, as was the mushroom bhaji; the tarka dhal was a bit thin; the bhindi bhaji was average.

Service was fast and almost efficient - a couple of mistakes on ordering drinks and naans, but on the whole acceptable. We were fed and watered by 9pm, but we were about the only people in there!

Toilets need a bit of a clean - just smelled mouldy and on seeing the underside of the toilet seat, I'm glad that I didn't have to use it!

Not as good as the last time I was here and the menu is totally different, so most likely new management.

Would go back if someone organised a curry there, but nothing to make me want to organise another trip there myself.
overall
 2.0

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Whilst the poppodums were crispy they were also a tad salty. On top of that the lime pickle also had a bit of salt in it. I felt that everything was overpowered by the salt as that was all the taste I had in my mouth, and that was not good!

The starter of seekh kebab was pretty decent and quite spicy. Not bad at all, but not outstanding.

I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the main of the Sir Walter Scott lamb Sarisha. The lamb was quite well cooked and obviously nicely marinated but it seemed to be lacking something for me as there was no notable spice or flavour to it. Nice enough but quite dull for what is supposed to be a medium curry.

I felt the side dishes too were all a bit bland and uninteresting, the tarka dahl especially was a bit thin and clearly needed more garlic to be added to it.

Where this restaurant did well in was the service which was very good and we were all pretty much finished around 9-ish. There was a mix-up when the ordered garlic naans turned into plain naans when they arrived at the table and so had to be returned but that aside it was pretty good and pretty friendly, and also a few of us enjoyed a drink afterwards at the behest of our genial host.

However despite that I doubt I will making my way to Zest with any zest in the foreseeable as sadly I didn't find the food to be that interesting.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Popadom was crisp and the chutney was good. Couldn't try the other dips due to a promise made to Mrs W not to come home drunk and stinking of curry (as if!).

Sheek kebab was as you would expect but nothing spectacular.

Chicken korma (see above for the reason why I ordered this) was pretty good. Bhindi bhadji was distinctly below par.

Liked the pashwari nan though!

Although my meal was acceptable I was aware of distinct unhappiness around me due to uncooked salmon and wrong nan deliveries.

In summary, alright but no real reason to rush back.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Excellent Lime Pickle on rather stale tasting Popadums.

Sheek Kebab starter had plenty of flavour. Not keen on the sauce for the salad.

Saag Gosht main course was the best part of the meal. Nice balance of spices and the meat was cooked to perfection.

Sides were nothing special and the Dhaal was a little too much like soup for my liking. Not enough garlic either.

Service generally good, just a couple of mix-ups on orders.

A little pricey, mainly down to the extortionate drinks prices.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date August 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Fine!
overall
 3.5

reviewer Jean Houston
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters: too ordinary. Not enough for 6.

Starter: spicy - decorative.

Main: Tried something new, but not my thing.

Bonus mark for hot towels and orange slices at the end.
overall
 3.7

reviewer James Braddon
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Overall 17½/30

Slow service - served other table first.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Hazel MacLean
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Not enough sauces with popadums.

King prawn butterfly a bit dry - needs sauce to go with it.

Chicken zeera tika buna medium but a bit hot, but really good.

Family got fed first!!!
overall
 2.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment No Kingfisher, 80 /- or duck available, that were all on the menu!

Popadums nice and crispy, but dips fairly average.

Tandouri trout very nice.

Lamb dish very tender, but average on flavour.

Sides nothing special.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Hmmm .....
overall
 3.0

reviewer Bobby Brown
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 1.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Salmon starter overcooked and a bit dry.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken hot and fairly tasty.

Quiet atmosphere (probably down to time of year though)

Service pretty good.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date April 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Just the two of us there, so far better service that the curry club visit in 2003 as they just can't handle large numbers. Salmon starter was very nice, as was the main.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80399 times ]