Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Yak and Yeti"

13 Newington Road, Edinburgh, EH9 1QR, 0131 667 9897 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Yak and Yeti" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 4.1
with an average price of £26.33
pre-starters
 4.6
starters
 4.3
mains
 4.2
sides
 3.4
service
 4.1
atmosphere
 3.7
value for money
 4.1

reviewer Jean Houston
review date May 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Often returning to a restaurant that you\'ve remembered as being very good turns out to be a disappointment. This one was as good as last time (and I gave it my \"second vote\"). The poppadoms were very good with great dips, and the starters were very tasty and very well presented. I had chosen onion bhaji. My one problem was that there was such a lot of chicken in my \"Poleko Kukhura\" that I couldn\'t eat it all. It was flavoured with pieces of ginger and chopped spring onions, with Nepalese spices. Very tasty. The Tarka dahl surprisingly had not much taste, yet had looked very good.
The restaurant filled up as the evening wore on so that there was only one table left free. At first there was only one waiter who was very ably managing everything, but it did get too much for one, and some backup came on to help out. But we had waited quite a bit for the main courses.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Very crispy poppadums with a really nice selection of dips, I particularly like the "spicy curry" and "minty green yoghurt" ones. Initially only had half a poppadum each but then we got the other half to use up the excellent sauces.

Starter of Daram Ko Maccha (fish cubes with mint and chilli sauce) was fabulous! Nicely battered fish with a tasty sauce - loved it! It was also - like all the other starters - really well presented!

Main of Lasuni Kukhuri (Nepalese Style Chicken) I felt was best described as being a spicy sweet and sour type dish. Great garlic naan bread too.

Sides (tarkha dahl and mushroom dopiaza) were a tad disappointing given that everything else was really good though.

Service, yes it was slow and yes we didn't get out until after 10 but I'm willing to cut the sole waiter a bit of slack. The restaurant was really busy and I thought he dealt with it all pretty well.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 4.5

reviewer Jean Houston
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25.00
comment It's been a long wait for this restaurant to re-open after our planned visit cancelled due to fire. Glad to have had the chance to sample their menu at last. The poppadoms were delicious, with 4 great dips, esp the tomato and the onion ones. And the fact that they were complimentary was a bonus.
I had the Lamb Sekwa starter which was very nicely presented and the Nepalese spices were good. The lamb was a little bit chewy but not enough to spoil the dish. There was more meat to it than looked at first, with the result that I could not do justice to the Lamb Bhuna I had for main dish. This time the lamb was fine, and the Chana Massala side dish was good along with it, as was the Pilau rice which had some extras in it. All in all a nice evening and a nice meal.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Complimentary poppadums. Really yummy accompaniments: Tomato and garlic; peppery mango chutney: diced onions, pepper with parsley: mint youghurt. The initial serving was = each but extras were offered.

Starter: I opted for Daram Ko Maccha (cubes of fish marinated with Nepalese spices) as Piro Ghinga (Shrimps cooked in home-made garlic chilli sauce with onions and capsicum) was described as Hot. It was tasty but not dissimilar to battered fish and not cubes (in the mathematical sense). Portion was small but sufficient. I stole a taste of Brian Ws Piro Ghinga and decided it was spicy but not too hot.

Main Course: Lamb Shank cooked in traditional Nepalese spices served with cherry tomato, potato wedges and rice was a complete meal on a plate. The bone came out easily and cleanly. The meat was well cooked with a tasty herby sauce but no spicy heat.

Sides;In the main these didnt add much to the flavours already on my plate. Tarka Dhall was disappointing  watery, lacking bite and light on the garlic. Saag Paneer: Ive never had Cottage cheese in cubes with a soapy texture. Flavour was fine but nothing didnt excite. There was a chickpea dish probably Channa Masala which was more interesting to eat (bite and flavour). Nan was dry - I prefer it with a more spongy texture to soak up the sauce.

Presentation of the food was very good. Some starters came in crispy pancake baskets and sauce was drizzled in artistic patterns on the plate. There were some delays between the first and last dishes of the main course with the nans and rice being last a bit annoying but not a major fault. Everything seemed hot despite this.

Staff were courteous, attentive without being intrusive. I did think getting me a glass of water took an inordinate amount of time  were they hoping Id order a beer instead?
overall
 3.8

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment We had half a poppadum each - complimentary apparently - that was fresh and crisp. I thought the dips were pretty good and I particularly liked the one with the smoked garlic.

The starter of lamb sekwa was excellent. Nice amount of spices and there also seemed to be some mint in there too, that made it really tasty. Delicious!

Main of Poleko Kukhura (chicken and spring onions) was very good. It wasn't too hot or spicy but did have a lot of taste which I enjoyed very much.

Sides.
The Tarkha dahl and chana massala were pretty good but I felt the saag paneer was a tad disappointing and the cheese was a bit rubbery.

However overall I enjoyed this one very much!
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp, tomato n garlic dip absolutely sensational. Not sure about the mango chutney - a bit peppery!?

Big starter portion. Spicy prawns in a sweet and sour sauce. Great!

Main was nepalese hot spicy chicken. Pretty hot, pretty good.

Sides good too.

overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date March 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Free poppadum (half) and chutneys. Not bad, quite different from normal chutneys. Particularly liked the Garlic and tomato. Not too fussed about the others.
Starter - Piro Kukhura, made a mistake as this was the chicken version of this dish and I meant to order prawn. However, the dish was very tasty and exceedinly well presented.
Main - Lasuni Kukhura, Due to my earlier mistake, this was too much like the starter. Still a very nice dish with spicy notes exploding on the tongue occasionally.
Sides - Tarkha Dhall - Good, but disappointed with the Saag Aloo and Saag paneer.
Service excellent. Very friendly staff.
The ambience of the place could be improved.
Altogether quite a good experience. But I wish I'd got my starter order correct !
overall
 3.8

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £21
comment Excellent papadoms - dry, crispy & fresh accompanied by a tray of four dips: Mango - average, Onion - average; Mint - excellent; Tomato & Garlic - excellent.
These were served soon after arrival and did not appear on the bill!

Starter: Aloo Tareko - two deep-fried potato croquettes. Great taste from something so simple.

Main: Bhuteko Bhat + Lasuni Kukhura. One of these is the chicken and mixed peppers dish in a hot (spicy) gloopy sauce, the other is a rice dish. Can't remember which!
The flavours were excellent.

No Side dish.

The service was really good even though the restaurant was by no means full. The single waiter was very attentive and the dishes arrived with just a little time between each.

This restaurant is certainly worth a visit. It's menu is by no means extensive, but the food quality is excellent.

Overall price excluded a side dish and tip but included a large beer.
overall
 4.6

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80312 times ]