Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Voujon"

107 Newington Road, Edinburgh, EH9 1QW, 0131 667 5046 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Voujon" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 2.8
with an average price of £25.31
pre-starters
 2.8
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.8
sides
 3.4
service
 2.7
atmosphere
 3.0

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre Starter:- One of the best pickle I've tasted, not over powering, but not enough of it.

Starter (Sardine Bhoorta):- Tasty and good sized portion but was hoping for a more 'fishy' taste so may have been lacking in sardines

Main (Lamb Khatta Tarkaru):- Again tasty but claimed medium on the menu and turned out very mild. Too much sauce and not enough meat for my liking

Sides:- Bit hit and miss, aubergine side was very nice but mushroom one not as nice

OK atmosphere and seemed to handle a big group well but not great, passing the plates down each side of the table seemed unnecessarily lazy.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment really small portions of pickles with the poppadoms.

Starter:Chicken Tikka Stirfry.
Main: Lamb Pathia.

overall
 3.6

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £28.75 (including tip)
comment Pre-Starters - Popadoms abit too dry.
Serious lack of pickles etc.

starters - chicken chatt - great
finished 20:35

Main - chicken Tikka Kebab - good.

sides - all good, mushroom bajie best

Toilet is accessed with no need for stairs - great for tipsy folk!


I like the venue - it looks like somthing out of a gangster movie. I half expect a osme to walk and shot someone in the head. Thats Character.

All finished 9:26
bill @ 21:40
overall
 4.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starters at this restaurant were very good and raised expectations which main dish did not quite live up to. It was more 'ordinary'. Presentation was excellent, so added to the 'service' score.
overall
 4.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pops were light tasty and cripsy but there was very little in the way of pickles which went far too quickly... and oh cucumber in the onions aaaargh!!

Starter: Boti [Lamb] Kebab was very nice indeed. Meat was tender and just falling apart. The marinate was in very tasty and nicley spiced - Delicious.

Main: North Indian Garlic Chilli Chicken. Meat was dry and a bit tough. Sauce had plenty of big chucks of garlic but it was lacking in any other spices/flavour. So thats is meat and garlic but something was missing- chilli, it was not hot at all other than the green chilli Gav gave me to help me out ;-)

Naans: Nothing special but nice enough.

Sides: Voujon Dall was full of garlic but was very watery and with not many lentils in it. Bhindi Bhaji was very good though.

Service: A bit lazy to be honest, when taking an order move around the table a bit instead of shouting down the whole length of it disturbing everyone. Same goes for the plates I don't want to pass them down they should MOVE (again) and do it!

Overall (apart from smelling of garlic) a great start that just went downhill as we went on. The 15% Discount was required or it would have been v pricey for the quailty recieved.

overall
 1.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 1.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crispy, but very small pickle selection for 11 people - it ran out very quickly. Nice lime pickle though!

King prawn pathia with puri was quite tasty, but I've seen far bigger king prawns without their excess extra cost of a prawn dish. The sauce had a sweet taste, bordering on too sweet though. They should get rid of the squareish 80's style plates with little compartments for salad though!

North Indian "chilli" garlic chicken:
  • lots of garlic - good
  • the "extra hot" requested was 4 small green chillies as Jamesey had the "normal" which had none - bad
  • sauce very gelatinous - almost like a Chinese dish full of MSG - bad
  • chicken tough and dry - bad

Passing the plates from one end of the table to the other is not hygienic and is very lazy of the staff, hence poor service marks.

Sides ok - dahl had lots of garlic, but a very thin sauce. The bhindi and brinjal (aubergines) bhajee were tasty enough.

Service was overall lazy and only gained ½ a mark for giving us 15% off the whole meal bill instead of just 4 meals (Derek's voucher) - I think they either heard our comments or saw the review sheets.

Overall, not impressed.
overall
 2.0

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Superb lime pickle, one of the best I've tasted so top marks for that but there was not enough of that or other pickles and the poppodums tasted a bit stale to me.

I really enjoyed the starter of meat samosa which I thought was very tasty!

Main of methi ghost quite dull. Lamb very well cooked however it was meant to be medium hot but I'm afraid it wasn't at all spicy and there was way, way too much sauce that was all a bit gelatinous.

I thought the majority of side dishes were very good especially the aubergine Brinjal bhaji and I did enjoy the Voujon dahl and Bhindi Bhaji too.

I felt that the service we received was quite lackadaisical. It seemed that they were only going through the motions and this lack of interest was summed up for me by two things:

Firstly our waiter stood at one end of our table (with 11 of us) trying to get everyone's order when he could have moved down the table like everywhere else does and secondly they asked us to pass the plates for our main course down the line. I thought that was a really poor show and something that no self-respecting restaurant should ever contemplate doing!
They did however take my voucher that normally would only apply to a maximum of 4 people and give us a 15% discount off the food bill for all 11 of us, so thanks for that!

A bit of a mixed bag! Some things were really good, whilst I felt they let themselves down badly on other aspects. Overall uninspiring not helped by an atmosphere which I felt was a bit flat
overall
 3.0

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The lamb was very well cooked. Other than that, everything was fairly average. The above average list prices led me to expect something special, which just wasn't there.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date February 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 3.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter - Sardine Bhorta, sardines in tomato and coriander. Different, I was expecting a more of a fishy taste.

Main - Aloo Mangshaw -- Lamb, potatoes and chilli.
I have seen more meat in an Irish stew than this dish, I was lucky to get 3 very small pieces of lamb.

Not happy with the way they served the main plates, standing at the end of the table and asking for them to be passed down the line, not good form if you ask me; I've had better service at the school canteen.
overall
 0.9

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81685 times ]