Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Vinyasa"

34 St Mary's Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1SX, 0131 556 6776 www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Vinyasa" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 3.5
with an average price of £30.00
pre-starters
 3.3
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.1
sides
 3.2
service
 2.8
atmosphere
 3.4
value for money
 3.4

reviewer Sarah Berry
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pre-Starters: The poppadum was nice and crispy. The accompaniments were tasty but not enough of them. Even I enjoyed the lime pickle (and I don't like it normally) so not sure how that would fare with lime pickle lovers.

Starter: Chicken pakura. It was very nice and the sauces that came for the table worked very well with the chicken. My only gripe would be they gave you 4 big pieces, bit large for a starter.

Main: North Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken. I enjoyed my main very much. Nice level of spice and good flavour.

Sides: I had some Tarka Dhal and was extremely disappointed, no flavour. Garlic Naan was nice with about the right amount of garlic for me - very enjoyable.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment
After a poor start of not seeming to expect us, the service was fairly prompt and mostly accurate.
Not to pushy but there with beers when needed.

My Sheesh kebab starter and Lam Pathia main were both well made and above average.

The sides and bread were fairly average, but came in good portions.

overall, not at all bad. Just not outstanding.

overall
 3.6

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Bit disorganised when we arrived despite booking, but soon sorted us out.
Service otherwise was ok'ish, though missed out a dish I think.

poppadum's were good and crispy, & lime pickle surprisingly sweet.
Sides of tarka dahl and saag aloo very nice (benchmark...

Kebab starter delicious
Chicken jalfrezi good, but could do with more rice all round.

Naans (various) were good.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Jean Houston
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Foodwise mostly very good. Aloo Chop (starter) spicy, tasty, just a bit too much(for me)for a starter. Lamb Rogan Josh was also good, but a bit too many tomato chunks. Servers were all very pleasant and friendly, just let down a bit by management not having properly prepared for our size of group. In spite of the lapses in service everything had been served up in pretty good time. We\'ve had half as many in the group and it\'s taken longer. Main complaint - the hot towels were not very hot!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops were nice and crispy, however the chutney / onions / pickle were rather bland.

Vinyasa Special Kebab was quite nice, but nothing special. Was almost finished it by the time the sauces arrived though.

Naga Murgh was quite good. Actually had the kick that the menu suggested. Wasn\'t particularly to my pallet as I wasn\'t keen on the taste of the chillies used. A nice dish nonetheless.

Mushroom bhaji was nice as was the tarka dahl and saag aloo.

Service was a bit disappointing: on arrival we had to wait 5 minutes for them to set up a table (even though we\'d booked for 16 folk). There were a couple of forgotten dishes for mains.

However, I think I\'d happily go back there.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Fraser Hancock
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter: Sheek Kebab

Main: Jalfrezi Chicken, Plain Naan, Pilau Rice

Stood for a while on arrival while they arranged a table for us.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were fresh and crispy but sadly let down by very bland pickle/chutney/onions. The lime pickle in particular was nowhere near sour enough for me!

Starter of macchi (fish) kebab was ok. Fish was well cooked but there was a complete lack of spice. Unfortunately the sauces didn't arrive on the table until after I had finished it, the first of many gripes I had with the service!

My second gripe came when the main dishes came out followed by the sides, rice and naan bread and I was still sitting there without my main of Lamb Karahi.
I had to ask a waiter to find out that my main had been dropped on the floor and so they were preparing a new one. So accidents happen but it would have been nice to have been told that there was going to be a delay!

So I started on the sides of tarkha dahl, sag aloo and mushroom bhaji. I thought they were all very good. When my sizzling main finally arrived I have to say that it was excellent. Nice and spicy, good level of heat and well cooked lamb. Also tasty naan bread too. Enjoyed it very much!

On the whole then very good food but let down by pretty poor service at times. I should also add that they didn't make a good first impression when we were forced to wait whilst they organised a table setting for us. Not good at all when we had already reserved!
overall
 3.5

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Corey Clarke
review date November 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter: Murgh Chat puri
Main: Chicken Jaipuri
overall
 3.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81701 times ]