Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Tuk Tuk"

1 Leven Street, Edinburgh, EH3 9LF, 0131 228 3322 www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Tuk Tuk" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 3.2
with an average price of £22.00
pre-starters
 3.9
starters
 4.0
tapas
 3.3
sides
 3.3
service
 2.1
atmosphere
 3.4
value for money
 3.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
tapas
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £21.50 (including tip)
comment Enjoyed very good food in a relaxed atmosphere. Being a tapas-style menu ordered a mix of dishes which I was sharing with my guest.

Our 'starter'was Bengali fish cakes; main dishes were ginger garlic chicken, keema methi mutter, and patina lamb karahi; dahi bindi was our 'side'. Both the chicken and the lamb were well cooked, and all the dishes were very tasty with about the right amount of spiciness. So a very enjoyable meal.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
tapas
 1.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £21.50 (including tip)
comment Popadoms: nice pickles, but only just enough of them.

Starter: Bengali Fish Cakes. Really nice. WEll spiced but not so much as to kill the fish flavours.

Mains:
Patina Lamb Karahi. Good strong flavor but a bit over salted.
Hakka Chilli Paneer. Spicy noodles with no real flavour other than the chilli. also a bit greesy.
Chicken Achari: Big nicly flavoured roast chicken drumsticks. Unfortunately the large drumsticks hadn't cooked all the way through and were still raw in the middle!
Tandoori Roti: Brea that never arrived. (wasn't on bill)


Service was SLOW. Atmosphere was good and would have been better had the wait for food been less.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 1.5
value for money
 3.5
price £22
comment > BYOB (there's a Co-op almost next door!)
> Strategy: Smaller "tapas" portions so order 3-4 dishes per person. That worked for me!
> Pappadoms good and the four small pots of chutneys shared between 3 people just about sufficient for 1 pappadom each. Good chutnetys though.
> Hakka Chilli Paneer (noodles) - V.good and chilli-ey albeit a little on ther greasy side.
> Keema Methi Mutter - Good taste. Could taste the lamb!
> Ginger Garlic Chicken - Chicken was tender and tasty but I think they forgot to put the ginger and garlic in mine.
> Tarka Dhal - Pretty nondescript ... and very runny. I've had far better almost everywhere else! This dragged my 'mains' overall rating down.
> Rice - 1 plate between 2 people just wasn't enough.
> Service - S l o o o w and erratic. Orders eventually taken and the dishes did arrive in batches, but not all together which, considering that the place was by no means full, wasn't acceptable.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
tapas
 3.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were nice and crispy, although tasted fishy (obviously done in the same fryer as the fish cakes). Interesting selection of chutney, including one that tasted like flaming hot monster munch. Small though - definitely no more than two to share a selection.

"Tapas" selection:
Bengali fish cakes (2.5) - were ok, but lacking some flavour, spice and indeed a few more minutes in the frying pan.

Ginger garlic lime (4) - was very nice indeed! Lovely sauce with a few hits of ginger (I'd have preferred a few more though) and the chicken, although a bit over-cooked, just fell apart.

Frankies (3) - spicy minced lamb in a chapati was quite tasty.

Railway station lamb curry (3) - quite nice, but for me the overpowering flavour was bone marrow - just not to my taste. It fell apart with a fork though and was in a nice spinachy sauce.

Service was a bit disappointing - I know the place was reasonably busy looking, but they should have had a couple more waiting staff on as it took half an hour for the non-drinkers (since it's BYOB) to get a drink and get popadoms ordered and a further half hour to take the main order.

They've certainly gone for the Indian "street food" theme in the restaurant with the decor and the livelier than typical music made for a pleasant atmosphere.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Poppadums fresh and crispy accompanied with a very nice selection of pickles and chutneys. Let down by the fiddly little jars that they came in though!

Tapas style restaurant:
Bengali Fish Cakes - nothing special (3).
Ginger Garlic Chicken - best of the bunch for me (4.5).
Baby Aubergine & Potato - nicely cooked but a tad uninspiring sadly (3).
Railway Station Lamb - good, but didn't quite do it for me (4).

The service was haphazard to say the least. They didn't seem to have enough staff to work what was a very busy restaurant. Saying that not to have our order taken until almost an hour after sitting down, is simply unacceptable.

However, I do quite like the concept of the 'Indian Street Food' and does offer something different to your typical Indian restuarant.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Chicken lollipops - not bad
Ginger garlic chicken - great sauce but meat a little overdone
Baby Aubergine and potato - meh
Railway station lamb curry - excellent!
overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Tapas restaurant.

Pappadoms crisp and fresh. Dips very good including a mildly hot capsicum flavoured red sauce. Served in stupid little jars the size of a motorway service station individual jam portion. Get 1 tray between 2 max until they give up trying to look quirky and start to get practical. Point off for nonsense!

Ordered:

Ginger Garlic Chicken - best of the four - 4.5
Butter Chicken - not what I expected. Quite hot. 3.5
Patina Lamb Karahi - Average. 2.5
Tarka Dhal - ok but not spectacular. 3

If we hadn't had to wait 1.5 hours for the mains then 3 dishes are plenty for one person. Even being super hungry I was still stuffed with 4.

Service was pleasant but way over an hour to take the order - not good enough.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
tapas
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Nice Lime Pickle with the poppadums.
Sheek kebab starter OK.
Not overly impressed with the rest of the meal. Pretty much just average indian Restaurant fare, nothing startling, although the Tarka dhall was OK too.
It has to be said that I'm not a fan of Tapas Style Indian food.
The place was quite busy and there was just not enough staff on to serve the number of customers.
So I wasn't impressed that it took them an hour before they took the order.
Don't think I'll be going there again.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date February 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £22
comment I was here in December (4 people), just before Christmas and was so impressed I decided to recommend it to the curry club.

This time (10 people) I am a little disappointed, especially when it takes 55 minutes before the order is taken.

However the food was very tasty. But on the down side two people had dishes forgotten, which arrived after a prompt.

I had;

Frankies, absolutely yummy, spicy mince wrapped in a chapati.

Railway station lamb curry, lamb curry on the bone, to die for.

Patina lamb karahi, a little too salty for me. (This was this dish that was forgotten).

So overall, the food was excellent, however the service let the restaurant down. Will I be back, probably but with less people.
overall
 3.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81755 times ]