Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Tiger Coast"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2007 ***

114 High Street, North Berwick, EH39 4HE, 01620 895 649 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Tiger Coast" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 41 reviews
overall
 4.2
with an average price of £26.23
pre-starters
 4.2
starters
 4.3
mains
 4.2
sides
 4.0
service
 4.3
atmosphere
 3.9
value for money
 4.0

reviewer keith horsey
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pre starters: great pickle, excellent crisp poppodums. good start.
Starter: hotpot recommendable
Main: Lamb Balti Exotica; very tasty, nice soft lamb.
Sides: tarkha dahl good, otherwise sides were ok...
service: good, attentive & friendly
recommend this.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Ture Nielsen
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Paul Lafferty
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30
comment Pre-starters - quick out

Starter - mixed kebad, very tasty

Main - chicken jalfrazie

Sides - ok

Service - not too slow

Got busy as the night went on

Good value
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops were lovely and crispy. Chutneys as nice as ever.

Starter of pickled calimari wasn\'t up to previous standards. Lacking in a bit of oomph, but still very nice.

Main of Naga chicken was nice enough but rather disappointing on the heat side. The worlds hottest chilli?! What fraction of one was in there I wonder. A shame that the owner\'s son didn\'t take the order as I suspect he\'d\'ve listened to me when I say I like it *hot* (well I do douse my work\'s Thursday curry with 350,000 Schoville unit sauce after all!)

Sides very nice from what I can remember (my notes stopped at this point).

Service was friendly and efficient.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer jean houston
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Good to have the 'old favourite' Lime Pickle again, esp in such generous portions for sharing. Missed this at Kama Sutra on Wednesday.

For starter the Methi Seekh Kebab (minced lamb) was enhanced by the spicy dip that came with it. (Without the dip it was a bit like a spicy German sausage.) Very tasty.

My main dish was Amere Murgh, chicken with almond and mango. I don't usually opt for creamy/sweet curries but chose a lighter dish as it was my second one of the week. Lots of chunky chicken pieces, tasty and well cooked.

Service friendly, prompt and attentive.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Simon KcKean
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Funny hiccups!
overall
 4.1

reviewer Kris Culton
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
overall
 3.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pops lovely - tasty and crispy. Lime pickle was either not too sour or I'm actually starting to like the devil's food! Other things okay. Massive pots of them all too.

Pickled calamari was delicious! A nice kick to the mix and squid that was nicely cooked.

Goan lamb was very nice. Tender lamb and spicy sauce.

Tarka dahl was lovely - thick with slices of garlic. Mushroom bhaji nice enough - really just a big bowl of mushrooms which I didn't mind but others thought was bland. Bindi bhaji was good.

As always, nice friendly and attentive service (although I did have to give them a wee prompt to take the order).
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppodums with a cracking lime pickle and even the mango chutney was great!

Starter of Chicken puri was pretty good. I enjoyed the spices but I felt that while it was good it was by no means fantastic.

Main of Lamb Goa was very good. Well cooked lamb and nicely spiced!

Sides. The tarkha dahl was outstanding I felt, thick and garlicky - just the way it should be! However the other side dishes were average at best and the sag paneer was a big tasteless disappointment!!

As ever the service was good and friendly, and it was another very enjoyable evening after a fun day out in North Berwick. I don't think it quite hits the heights it once did though. Very good but not brilliant!
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Excellent Lime Pickle with Poppadums.
Pickled Calamari starter was very nice, smallish portion though.
Had Macchli Bortha for the Main. (Mackerel)
Very tasty in terms of spices, but I'm afraid the Mackerel rather overpowered the spices after a while.
All of the sides I had were pretty good.
Tarkha Dhall - Excellent, Loads of Garlic.
Mushroom Bhaji - Not exciting, but OK.
Bhindi Bhaji - Very Good.
Service Good, with a couple of prods in the right place.
Atmosphere excellent, good company in a great restaurant.
Already looking forward to next year.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Ture Nielsen
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £24
comment Tikka with 2x"k"

Good service. Tasty food, but not as spicy as expected. £24 was a fair price!
overall
 3.7

reviewer Shiona Liddle
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £24
comment Tiger Coast rules, ya Bass!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Kris Culton
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £24
comment Tikka was good! (note the 2 Ks!)

Good naan!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Jean Houston
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment This visit was quite disappointing compared to previous ones to this restaurant.

For (pre-) starters the onion pieces and lime were too big, fell off spoon, didn't make it to poppadom, and with LP sometimes biting just the spice, it was not through the pickle.

Onion bhaji was good. Should have finished it instead of leaving room for main. I had shashlik chicken, but some pieces of meat tasted more like fish and it was not very warm. Also did not need more salad as there were large pieces of onion and capsicums in the dish and had already had salad accompaniment with starter.

Service very prompt, esp for such a large group.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £24
comment VERY nice lime chutney.

Pickled calamari was superb as usual.

Salmon tikka was good as a main. The garlic green beans it came with were lovely.

Definitely one to have side dishes with though. :-)
overall
 4.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £24
comment Pops very crispy. Nice large pickle selection, including the "evil stuff!"

Salmon tikka was superb, although dropped half for presentation as the plate looked very sparse with a wee bit of salad at the other side.

North Indian chilli garlic lamb very nice. Not quite enough garlic for me though.

Sides: tarka daal a bit thin, watery and bland. Bhindi bhajee very nice though.

Service impeccable - lots of us, but the food still came out hot. Very friendly staff.

Price excellent for the quality of the food.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Bobby Brown
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £24
comment Chicken jalfrezi amazing!

Tarka dahl so-so.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment My usual pakora to start, very nice indeed.
Machi Bortha - Minced mackerel, tomato, chillies, herbs and the chef's special spices.
Well worth the train journey down, will be back. I can see why it has won the curry club competition.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Andre Sadeghpoor
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24
comment The standard pre-starters of poppadoms tasted much the same as many other places I have visited, so difficult to judge whether this was better or not, it certainly wasn't worse.
The salmon starters was so tasty that I wished I had ordered it as my main. Instead I had Chicken Dhansak (my usual default order when I can't make a decision), I must say the chicken in this Dhansak was really tender.
Service was great too, even when one waiter called me 'madame' which left him very apologetic when I turned around, that's fine I get it all the time! :-)
All in all an enjoyable end to our bike ride!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Lachlan MacLean
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Lights too bright if having a romantic tête-à-tête <although it was a prelude to my stag doo Lachlan, so get a grip: Gav>
overall
 4.4

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Lime pickle stong flavour as is traditional - few Curry house are up to this standard.

Salmon starter a bit of a disappointment. Bit dry and too crispy.

Music had strange X-files tune in it!
Phone kept goping off, with annoying ring tone.
atmosphere score suffered as a result.

Service: Cleaning table with wet clothes while we were sitting is a no-no, he nearly swept all the fallen food on my lap!

Overall - good quality food, good venue.

overall
 3.7

reviewer James McCamphill
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Great start - lime pickle was my favourite so far! Fresh and plenty of chutneys.

I don't want to say, but my salmon tikka was a bit dry. Very tasty though. Subtle spice - very enjoyable.

Lamb Jalfraise very tasty indeed. Just hot enough for me. If you want it hotter, eat the green chillies.

All sides were very very good indeed, especially the tarka dahl.

Atmosphere good, but telephone ring ring ring tone was annoying, but a sign of how good this place really is.

Worth the trip!!!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms very crispy yet again and the chutneys were worth writing home about!

Pickled calamari was fantastic. Not rubbery at all. Very nice flavours, but would have been nice to have a couple of more rings.

Had a chicken phal (not on the menu) that was a bit of a builder, i.e. not too much heat to start with, but by mouth 5 it was getting warm ;-) Not my favourite of chilli flavours though, but heat was as ordered.

Traka dahl and Bombay aloo were very tasty indeed.

Service outstanding - wee chat about curry with the owner's son after the meal.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadums very crispy. Chutneys lovely and more than enough for the 6 of us - very tasty too, even had seconds of the lime pickle!

Salmon tikka lovely, but lacking in it's usual spice. Still ... 4.5 is way above average :-)

Goan chicken and lamb very tasty. Good heat (extra hot as requested) and lots of flavour.

Sides very nice, but ladies fingers a bit on the dry side.

Service very punctual.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Excellent pre-starter of light crispy poppadums with a very fine lime pickle.

The Salmon Tikka starter (what else?) was very nice but it didn't seem as good as last year so must deduct half a mark.

However I have to say this place can really cook side dishes - all were fantastic! We had bhindi bhaji (I think its very good that they cut the okra into small pieces), tarka dahl (awesome!) and sag aloo (a delight, the potato was so well cooked, what can I say?)

I shared the main courses of Goa Lamb and Chicken with Gav. It was extra hot, so perhaps a bit too many green chillis for me but the meat was certainly superbly cooked and the sauce was lovely - difficult to fault!
overall
 4.7

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Best pickles for a while. Onions somehow tasted much better than normal onions.

Salmon tikka was good, but below expectation.

Main course & sides were exceptional. Meat cooked to perfection.

Only problem - my stomach was too small!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Lime Pickle with the poppadums very good.
Salmon Tikka Starter Mmmmmmmm.
Chicken Jalfrezie Main Course really tickled the palate with a riot of flavours. Portion was huge.
Tarkha Dhall Side was excellent with lots of garlic.
Another great meal at the Tiger Coast. Pity it's not in Edinburgh, I could go more often.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Shiona Liddle
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Friendly, good service. Tasty food.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date june 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Mmmmm... salmon tikka.... yum! Tasty!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Lorraine Turner
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Very hot. Read the rating!
overall
 5.0

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Too much hovering by the staff, sometimes you can get too much service.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date june 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Bonus points for the hot towel!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Main could have been a bit hotter temperature wise. Tarka Dahl very good. Nann very good. I like getting hot towels at the end!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pickled calimari starter lovely - not too strong on the lime pickle. Goan Lamb very hot, but not as interesting a texture as I've had before. Sides very tasty.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.5
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Excellent food. I was very impressed by the brilliant salmon tika starter! Then the main and side dishes were just superb too. Really enjoyed the dinner and the atmosphere too. Also sauce was very good too. Very impressed!
overall
 4.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment All food very well cooked. Too much lemon in the lemon rice, but that aside, very tasty.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date june 2008
atmosphere
 3.5
service
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Nice and spicy. Enjoyed this meal enormously.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Luverly!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2007
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
price £(Can't remember)
comment A nice day trip to a friendly family run restaurant. Salmon Tika is superb and the Goan lamb was very tender and full of flavour. Gav's top tip if you're in the area!
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2007
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £(Can't remember)
comment Worth a trip to North Berwick just to sample the Salmon Tikka starter. A meal to remember!
overall
 4.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80400 times ]