Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "The Verandah"

17 Dalry Road, Edinburgh, EH11 2BQ, 0131 337 5828 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "The Verandah" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 16 reviews
overall
 3.3
with an average price of £26.97
pre-starters
 3.4
starters
 3.6
mains
 3.7
sides
 3.3
service
 2.8
atmosphere
 3.3
value for money
 2.6

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Garlic mushroom Pakura -Batter a touch sweet.
Lamb Jaipur - Nice, perhaps lacking a little kick.
Bhindi Bhajee - well done.
Garlic Nans - well done.

Delivery order of all Starters then Sauce and all Mains then rice then nans was wrong.

Otherwise service was pretty good.
General feeling was dishes lacked a little in spice.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Hendrik Kachant
review date November 2014
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Waited almost 90min for main - at least 30 min too long
Starters Prawn puri, good taste, a bit to fatty/oily
Main was Malayan Chicken, too sweet for my taste
overall
 2.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were nice and crispy, but the dips were all just a bit bland - even a lime pickle that I could eat, much to the disappointment of lime pickle fans.

Verandah mix was mediocre. It arrived late (as did two or three other dishes) and the meat was just rather dry and tasteless. Shockingly, the tastiest part of it was the veg pakora.

Chicken phal was not that great either. I know it\'s not a dish on their menu (well they don\'t actually have anything described as \"hot\" on the menu, so I had to ask for something with a little extra). It had a lot of flavour, but the flavour was chilli extract I think - tasted much like \"Gourmet Dave\'s Insanity Sauce\" and more importantly it didn\'t have much heat to it either.

Sides were very average (tarka dahl, Bombay aloo and bindi bhaji).

Service wasn\'t very good either - several starters missing and a few mains missing too. It\'s not like they were busy as we were virtually the only ones in the place.

Overall quite disappointed as it was a nice place the last time we visited.
overall
 2.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were hot, fresh and crispy however the accompanying pickles were all a bit mediocre. The lime pickle was not sour enough for me and it was quite bland.

Starter of Verandah mix (a mixture of meaty kebabs with chicken and veg pakora). Looking back at my review from 2010, I rated this dish very highly sadly however this was a very poor imitation. All of the meaty items were dry and lacking in flavour with the only decent thing being the vegetable pakora (which was quite good actually).

Main of North Indian Chilli Garlic Lamb. Whilst the lamb was cooked well enough the sauce was average. Not too much heat to it, despite being touted as a 'Fairly Hot' dish on the menu.

The sides of tarkha dahl and bhindi bhaji were quite good, I thought.

Service was haphazhard and disorganised, nor was it attentive enough. Dishes were not delivered in a timely manner, the sauces for the starters arrived after they were mostly eaten and we ended up with an extra unordered main course dish. It was also pretty slow as we didn't finish till almost 10 o'clock.

I enjoyed this restaurant last time out in 2010, despite the slow service, as the food was very good but this time around it was very disappointing!
overall
 2.6

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Lime pickle pretty mild, spiced onions bland, chutney fine.

Prawn puri starter was very tasty.

Chicken rogan josh a bit bland

Enjoyed tarka dhal but Bhindi bhadji bland again.

Service a little slow.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Crispy pops let down by poor chutneys.
Lamb chop starter overcooked and rather dry. Small portion and no real flavour either.
King Prawn Jalfrezie was OK, but did not have the usual hint of fire from a Jalfrezie. This despite the fact that it appeared to contain quite a few green chillis.
Side dishes quite Bland. The tarka dall did not taste of garlic at all.
Service was quite poor with dishes missing and quite a long wait for food. Considering we were just about the only customers, this was poor.
Overall impression - Quite disappointing really.
overall
 2.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £28
comment Service was oh so slow, slapdash and disordered. Dishes were not delivered in a timely manner, sauces for the starters arrived after they were mostly eaten. We didn't finish till around 10:00, from a 1930 start.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Michael Beever
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment slow service, expesive drinks, good food.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Kevin Browne
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment The Mach Kebab was excellent! The best fish dish I've ever had, in an indian restuarant. It was brilliant.

Great evening, good company & very personable service.

Good food made better by the fact that they ran the McCoy's promotion.

The cost included a bottle of wine, at £20.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Really enjoyed the starter I had - Garlic Mushroom Pakora.

Found the main dish - Lamb Mussoorie Dahl - very tasty, but too filling to do justice to it. Didn't have any sides.

Attentive service, but did I find the waiting more of an issue since I hadn't taken advantage of the earlier start to pre-curry pub visit?
overall
 4.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Pops were light fresh and crispy, Lime pickle was good, mango chutny was just ok, as for the cucumber I mean onions -1/2.

Starter: Lamb Puri: Meat was good and not chewy nor dry and the sauce was quite good too. However both it and the bread were on the cold side. The bread was a but greasy and was just not right.

Main: Nrth indian Chilli Garlic Lamb: This dish was very good indeed. The sauce was a great consistancy and had plenty of garlic chunks and had a great spiciness with it. Even without the green meanies this dish was hot but very good. The meat was not the best I have had but it was by no means the worse -1/2.

Sides: All sides I had were very good Sag Aloo v v good. Darka Dahl, v good. Bindi bajhi very nice too. Only the Nanns let the sides down as they were a bit doughy and def needed more garlic.

Given the size of our party (and the kitchen) and it being very busy for a Wed nite, service may have been a bitslow but was attentive and pleasent and overall they did a reasonable job of it. The place and table were a bit cramped.

Overall: Food was very good but feel you would need to be a a small group to get the best of it.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pops nice, crispy and warm but the chutneys were average.

Verandah mixed starter was spectacular - succulent when required (i.e. the meat) and crispy too (i.e. pakora).

Green herb chicken wasn't all that green, but at least it had chucks of peppers, chillies and spring onions. Even with all of this though, it tasted a bit on the bland side.

Sides were a bit average.

Service slow, but there were 13 of us.

Toilets a tad smelly and I found myself having to "snowplough" to hold position at the urinal as the floor was so slippery!
overall
 3.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Nice fresh poppodums, pickles ok but nothing out of the ordinary.

Starter of Verandah mix. A most delicious starter of chicken, lamb and sheek kebab with chicken and vegetable pakora! It was all superb, it was just unfortunate we had to wait until 20 to 9 for it!

Main of Green herb lamb. I was expecting this to come with a green sauce but actually the sauce was brown with chopped spring onions and coriander on top (green bit). I was initially a bit disappointed with that but actually it was full of flavour and the lamb was lovely!

Sides. Despite the Tarkha dahl being main course size I only managed to get a spoonful of it! That along with the other sides we had, were I felt a bit average!

Service. Ok so the dinner took over 3 hours but we are having to expect long waits more and more it seems. The restaurant was busy and there was 13 of us, so its probably not a surprise of how long it took. On the plus side it was friendly, they did ensure we had all the right dishes and they took our McCoys vouchers!

However, I felt the restaurant to be too small and a bit cramped for a large group of people.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date October 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Verandah Mixed starter very nice. probably too big as a starter though, but good value for money. Noted that some others complained their starter was cold!
Chicken Jalfrezie main was the business. A good spicy dish with a depth of flavour not always encountered in some restaurants. Nice kick to it too!
Side dishes pretty ordinary.
Slowish service, but we were a large party so I haven't marked them down too much.
Friendly staff made this a pleasant evening.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81705 times ]