Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "The Khukuri"

8 West Maitland Street, Edinburgh, EH12 5DS, 0131 228 2085 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "The Khukuri" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 36 reviews
overall
 3.6
with an average price of £28.66
pre-starters
 3.4
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.1
sides
 3.7
service
 3.1
atmosphere
 3.7
value for money
 3.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date April 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £35 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were fresh and crispy and the accompanying pickle tray was pretty tasty. I particularly liked the spiced onions and lime pickle with chilli.

Starter of Chicken Choyla was nice and spicy enough but I was a wee bit disappointed with portion size. Also looking around the table other starters looked miles more interesting than my small chicken stew with pitta bread. Nothing special, I'm afraid.

Main of Namche a traditional Sherpa curry with Himalayan herbs (jimbo & timbo)! I thought it was pretty tasty but again it was nothing special. Lamb was a bit tough as well.

Sides: Tarkha dahl and Aloo Gobi very average but the Sag Paneer was really excellent!

I felt the service was pretty good and was better and quicker than I was expecting especially as the restaurant was really busy. However whilst it was pleasant enough, the food wasn't as brilliant as I remembered it from 6 years ago!
overall
 3.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date April 2016
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £35 (including tip)
overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date April 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £34 (including tip)
comment Chutney portions a little on the small size. I only got one small spoonful of lime Pickle.
Lamb Chop Starters were super, almost up to the standard of the Spice Pavilion.
I had a Chicken Jalfrezie for the main course which, if I'm honest, disappointed. I expect a JalFrezie to have a bit of a kick to it, especially when the menu says "Curry With a Bite" !! But although very pleasant tasting, it had very little in the way of "Bite". Pity Really!
Tarka Dhall had very little garlic, but the other sides, Saag Paneer and Aloo Gobi, were very pleasant.
Service was excellent with only one mistake on the starters which was rectified without argument in very short order.
As with most City Centre restaurants these days, the overall price was pushed up by the high price of beer.
A very pleasant evening, but more spice please.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date April 2016
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £34 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters were OK, however, I would have preferred more lime pickle.

Ordered vegetable pakora, received fish pakora, immediately changed no fuss, fantastic.

My main dish was Khorsani Masala, very nice, advertised as \\\"hot\\\" I did not find it particularly hot, but, it was still very tasty.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Tina Greig
review date December 2009
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Service very slow - we arrived at 7pm and didn't get our main courses until 9pm, and also one member of the party was left waiting longer then everyone else for both starter and main.

Starter (Trisuli Polcko Machha) was okay, but could have done with a bit more spice.

Main (salmon dish) was okay, but not as good as on previous occasions.
overall
 1.7

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date December 2009
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment The Trisuli Polcko Machha is a lightly spices BBQ'd whole fish. Too lightly spiced in my opinion.

The Ruckmane Lamb was great,
The Nans were good,
Most of the sides were nice, but the Okra was overdone.

DO NOT come in a big group.
They just cannot seem to cope.

Oh, and the beer is expensive.
overall
 1.9

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date December 2009
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Tennents Velvet on Menu - but when you ask for it, they dont have it!
Kol Dal on menu but when you ask for it - they dont have it.
They moved folk who were settled on one side of the table and moved them to top. No good pissing folk off by doing that.
Mixed Kebab -seemed like leftovers to me.

Lamb Daipaza - tough lamb - sauce too tick.

Service was slow too, no popadoms.
overall
 2.6

reviewer Jean Houston
review date December 2009
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Scoring a downward curve. I had Laasya veg. soup for starter. It was delic! Lots of veg which were beautifully crispy/crunchy. Spicy and piping hot. Just the thing for a freezing Dec. night. If only it had been served soon after coming in, not 1hr 10mins later.
Main dish -Ruckmane lamb- served hot and with warming spices. Lamb could have been a tad more tender, but it didn't spoil the dish.
Aloo Tama Bodi (potato,bamboo shoots and black-eye beans) was novel but not quite living up to expectation.
Servers were pleasant enough, just not quite on the ball.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date December 2009
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter was Trisuli Poleko Machha. Came completely overdone so I asked for another one which came pretty quickly. Tasted very nice - quite subtle spices - but it was very hard work getting rid of the bones which seemed to have been glued on; not really worth the effort so I ended up leaving a fair bit. Main was Himalyaya Bhenda which was very nice indeed.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date December 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 1.5
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Gripe first of all: does this place only employ stupid people on a Tuesday? I booked well in advance and specifically requested 2 tables as from past experience, they just can't cope with large parties. I also re-stated this when I phoned to confirm numbers. We arrived to find two tables as requested, but the stupid waitress put both tables into the kitchen under one big order for 12, despite me asking her to make sure they went through as separate orders. The result was unfortunately as expected: some dishes cold, some over cooked, some being sent back, long delays and chaos.

Starter of Bhenda Choyla was very tasty; lamb nice and tender with gentle spices. The highlight of the meal.

Main of Khupa Chicken was tasty enough, but arrived with a skin on it as it had been under the heat lamp for so long and also wasn't piping hot. To top it off, I had to wait 5 minutes from receiving my dish to get any rice or naan to accompany it!

Sides: tarka dhal had a thick skin on it due to heat lamps and the okra was massively overcooked. Very disappointing.

Service was not very attentive, slow and chaotic.

All I can say is don't go to this restaurant if you have more than 6 people as you'll be disappointed. 6 or less then you're in for a treat.
overall
 2.6

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date December 2009
starters
 1.0
mains
 0.5
sides
 1.5
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Even after Gavin asked them to serve as two tables, they still insisted in serving us as one party. I was last to get my starter and was asked again what it was that I oredered. A smal portion arrived eventually. Then again everyone had been given their main course and then I was asked yet again what I ordered. I had to eat from Bill's meal as it didn't arrive for ages. Eventually I got something that wasn't what I ordered and with very little meat in it. The nan was nice. Definitely not worth the price as the portions were small, ... well in my case.
overall
 0.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date December 2009
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment When we were at the Khukuri in July of this year it was noted that the food was top notch but as we were a large party the service was not.

Five months later and it's the same story!

I thought the starter and main dish were absolutely superb! To begin with I had the nepalese fish pakora to begin which had jimbo, timbo and hymbo spices. No idea what they are but the pakora was delicious!
For main course I had solukhumber bhenda, a lamb dish which I had before and was superb again. I also loved the naan breads (keema and garlic), which were fabulous!

Now unfortunately the service was a let down once more. Despite requesting two tables we were eventually merged into one big one of 12 with the inevitable result of a long wait for food.

This is not a venue that can cope with a large group of people in one go, but the food is superb. So whilst it is definitely worth a visit, only do so if there is less than half a dozen of you!

overall
 4.0

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date December 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30
comment Too long to wait (1.25 hours) for the food to be served. I have been here before, that visit was with three friends and the restaurant could cope, however on this visit, they just couldn't cope with 12.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date July 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Good food, rushed service, expensive beer.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date July 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.2

reviewer James McCamphill
review date July 2009
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Being left for so long to look through the rather large menu without being offered popadums was annoying. Then when asked they seemed to forget and then the staters started to drip out.
Had finished my meat before the chapti arrived because I could not wait any longer.
Main dish of lamb dopiaza was really very good as was the Sag Aloo and Tarkha Dahl.

Bit of a mixed bag really, food was above average but service I felt was well below.
overall
 1.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment I best could sum up our visit thus: Excellent food but spoilt by rather haphazard and chaotic service.

In their defence, it is quite a small restaurant and it was quite busy. There was another party of 6 as well as a few couples in addition to ourselves. However does it excuse completely forgetting about poppadums and almost doing the same with the chapatis, I'm not so sure.

The food on the other hand - when it was served - was very good. I enjoyed my starter (number 5) which was a combination of spicy lamb and chicken with a chapati and my main course (number 52) a lamb dish was fantastic.

So great food but getting a bit pricey at £30 a head!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date July 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment The Popadums failed to materialise for some reason. The Food was outstanding though.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Daryl Hall
review date July 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Large selection of dishes. For starters i had Chicken tikka cooked in a tandoor with medium spices and served with a small chapatti. Meat was tender whilst having the tandoor taste. No bones to be found. Needed some sort of light cream to accompany it though. Chicken vindaloo for main course. Not too oily, heat crept up gradually. Fairly large cubes of meat but no fat or bones.
The waiters need to communicate slightly better although we were in a large group. I would go back.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date July 2009
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment My starter was number 4 (can't remember the name) but it was like a small lamb spicy stew. Very tasty but the bowl was cold and so the food cooled rapidily as we waited for everyone to be served. The waiter had to be reminded to bring the chapati thus allowing the food to cool further. I marked the starter down by 1/2 as a result.

Main was execellant (chicken version of number 33) as were the sides. Food was piping hot this time, tasty and with a slow burn hot spicy aftertaste. To be recommended!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date July 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment I'm not going to pretend that the service was perfect, because it wasn't. However, considering the size of our party (14) I feel thay did a pretty good job. Just one starter went astray and that was served immediately the staff were told about it, which suggests that the dish wasn't claimed the first time it was brought out.

On to the meal. I had the Fish Pakora starter. I still don't know what "jimbo, timbo and hymbo" are, but the dish was pretty good.

The Main course of "Khukuri Mixed Special" was really good. Very tasty with a nice blend of spices. Also, it was a good choice if you couldn't decide what meat to have.

Overall, a good night out, but getting a little pricey!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date July 2009
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 2.5
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter was Kukhura Choyla (Spice chicken with a chappati), very nice.
Main was Sultan lamb, again tasty and lovely.
Service was a disappointment, they forgot about my starter until reminded by another guest.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Alan Millar
review date July 2009
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms forgotten and therefore a long time before first getting any food but the main course made up for it.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date February 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £?
comment The Raja Jhinga Machha Puchre starter (King Prawn butterfly) was very tasty - full of spices with a little bit of heat.

Namche Bhenda for main was excellent. Lots of flavours coming through and big chunck of onion and pepper too.

Side dishes very tasty (Tarka Dall, Mushroom Bhajee and mixed veg curry) although I prefer a tad more garlic in my Tarka.

Service very fast, mind you we were the only ones there to start with.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Stuart Steven
review date October 2008
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
overall
 4.4

reviewer Sam Kidd
review date October 2008
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Very good service.

Excellent food.

Overall lovely.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date October 2008
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment The nicest fish curry I've ever had!
overall
 4.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date October 2008
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Prawn puri very nice - good spices and a nice dry texture, but I felt it lacked something though.

Lamb main dish (Namache Bhenda) very nice - full of onions and peppers etc. too, but lacked the flavours I'm used to here. Mind you, the dish didn't mention Jimbu Timbu or even Imbu!
overall
 4.0

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date September 2008
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Starter very nice! Dipping sauce was an excellent accompaniment. A bit of garnish would have been nice. Main was superb! Lamb so tender it melted in the mouth - sauce lovely - have number 52!!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2008
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Salmon starter (number 20) marinaded in lovely spices, making it very tasty. Very nice dipping sauce too. Lamb main (number 25 or 26 - couldn't quite remember) very tender and tasty. Sauce very flavoursome. Good portion size. Service very prompt and efficient, but they need to smile a bit more. Khukuri beer nice, but £4.95 - at least it was for 660ml.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Light & crispy poppadoms. Garlic mushrooms nice but could have been more garlicier. Visit from chef to reassure corianderlessness was a nice touch. After Eights, AWESOME!!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.5
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Very good! Khukuri beer good. Starter very good! Main good - aubergine side very good but not particularly impressed with tarka dhall though. Chef came out to chat - superb!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.5
service
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Poppadoms nice and crispy. Salmon starter very tasty, interesting mix of spices. Amazing hot(ish), spicy chicken main - no 29 ... a rich sauce and they even added onions! Very tasty sides too. Most impressed!
overall
 4.5

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment A whole tandour roasted fish as starter - awesome! Rich tasty sauce with perfectly cooked and marinated meat.
overall
 4.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Slightly too much coriander in the main dish, but overall very pleasant. Starters were very tasty.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
price £25 (excluding tip)
comment Knifey!
overall
 4.0

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81772 times ]