Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "The Himalaya"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2002 & 2003 ***

171 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh, EH10 4DG, 0131 229 8216 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "The Himalaya" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 33 reviews
overall
 3.7
with an average price of £25.47
pre-starters
 3.8
starters
 3.6
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.8
service
 4.1
atmosphere
 3.8
value for money
 3.7

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Jean Houston
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25
comment Disappointed by pickle tray. Lime P seemed ok on first tasting, but got more and more salty with each mouthful and had to abandon it. Onion pieces had no flavour or spiciness at all.
My starter was Mince Samosa which I thought was supposed to have a 'sauce' included, but not so. It was needing that to add taste and also soften the pastry a bit to be easier to cut.
Lamb Bhuna was better, lamb very well cooked and no gristly bits. Also Bombay Potato side very good.
Service was very prompt and efficient, and there was some Indian style music played quietly in the background to give a bit of atmosphere.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were fresh, warm and crisp - excellent by themselves. However very much let down by the accompanying pickles and dips. The mango chutney was ok but the lime pickle was way too salty. My main gripe though was with the onions that were just sliced not chopped and not much else added to them to make them any more interesting.

Starter of chicken kebab. Thought the chicken was a bit dry and lacking in flavour and spice. Also sadly the salad was not fresh. It felt like it had been prepared and then left out too long as it definitely had gone off a bit. Poor effort!

Main of that old Himalayan favourite of North Indian Chilli Gosht was very good! Hot and spicy as ever and the lamb was very well cooked.

Sides were reasonably good. I thought the bombay potato was especially nice and the tarka dahl also good but mushroom bhajee distinctly average.

Excellent service and we were all finished by 5 to 9!

Definitely a curry of two halves for me as it started off poor but finished strongly.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 3.4

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Dips not startling.

Prawn puree was ok but not in the same league as many others e.g. spice pavilion, in touch.

Chicken pathia was a bit bland.

Tarka Dhal was superb.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Archie Connell
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 3.7

reviewer Andrea Constable
review date August 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 3.4

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment PreStarters: Crispy and tasty
Starter - Mixed Kebab, Lamb a bit tough
Main - Green Herb Lamb - good stuff but Lamb a bit too chewy.


overall
 4.0

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Dry, crispy, fresh popadoms in suficient quantity without having to ask for more.
Excellent lime pickle, average onion, and lovely gooey mango chutney - just as it should be - also in sufficient quantity.

The Prawn Puri starter was good although the 'puffed bread' that accompanied it was a bit greasy. All very tasty and a good consistency.

The North Indian Chilli lamb dish was excellent. Although quite hot, the spiciness didn't mask the flavours, particularly that of the tender lamb.

The Chicken Rogan Josh was mild but again very tasty.

I found the side dishes uninspiring: Taka Dhal too runny for my liking, the mushroom and the aubergine Bhaji dishes were tepid at best.

The 'Galapagos' naans were pretty good - especially the Peshwari, but hideously large, difficult to place on an overladen table, and a two-person job to take a piece - one to hold the plate and one to tear. These, though spectacular-looking, would have been better smaller or pre-cut.

The atmosphere was good and of our own making, and the service was also good and attentive.

Licenced bar

Good value for money which included tip and drinks.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pops warm and crispy. Mango chutney nice and chunky. Lime pickle very sour (just like the lime pickle aficionados like it). Onions nice enough.

Mixed kebab starter very nice. Lamb moist and actually quite tender considering how its cooked, sheek had a nice bit of spice about it, chicken was okay.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken was a bit disappointing though - chicken rather dry and not much sign of garlic in the sauce. A few of the typical green "bean" meanies - although I personally don't particularly like the flavour of them, but it's what most restaurants use as green meanies.

Tarka dal was average - again lacking in garlic. Bombay aloo was very nice. Mushroom bhaji was actually cold (and I got the first serving) - tasted ok though, but nothing special. Peshwari naan was very nice.

Nice friendly and attentive service - with a smile even.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Excellent lime pick;e with the Pops.
Lamb Kebab starter OK, maybe a little tough.
Not impressed with the Main.
Initially they brought out three North Indian Chilli Garlic Chickens and not my ordered Jalfrezie.
Then they went back into the kitchen and brought out the same meal calling it a Jalfrezie.
I'm sorry, but I can tell the difference.
The North indian Chilli Garlic chicken was mediochre at best.
Tarka Dhall side good, Brinjal Bhaji not so good.
Marked down the service because of the Main meal issue.
Otherwise, enjoyed the evening.
£28 because a large number of us had two drinks.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28
comment Main marked down as my dish was a little bit on the cool side.

Service got a maximum mark for the in house laundry service (waiter cleaned the chutney off my shirt -- good news for people who should have bibs rather than napkins)
overall
 4.1

reviewer Andy Mackay
review date June 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28
comment Portion sizes were excellent. The naan was immense!

Full marks for Balti Chaan Tikka starter - would recommend.

Mains marked down - Chicken Rogan Josh not at all hot as was adverised in the menu and the rice was very lumpy.

Service was efficient, but 'indifferent'
overall
 3.6

reviewer Jean Houston
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25.50 (including tip)
comment Very good food and very good service esp with a party of 16.
The dishes I had were Chikka Tikka starter and Mughlai Chana Gosht. Liked the Bombay Potato side dish too.
Can't find a single thing to complain about (except no Irn-Bru)
overall
 4.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £25.50 (including tip)
comment Pops crispy. Mango chutney nice and chunky. Lime pickle very sour - but that's how these strange folk that like it want it :-/

Mixed kebab tasty enough, but the lamb was a bit tough and had several bits of sinue. The shiek kebab was strangely wet.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken very average. Chicken was very tough and not much in the way of garlic. A few green meanies to provide a little heat.

Sides average, but disappointing was the tarka dahl - just not enough garlic.

Service was steady - not the fastest we've had, but with a party of 16 that probably pushed the kitchen to breaking point, not bad.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Excellent lime pickle! Hot and sour with big chunks of lime in it. Can't go wrong with that. The pops were fresh and crispy too!

Starter of chicken kebab had no spice to it at all! It was just pieces of chicken to me, most disappointing!

However my main of North Indian Chilli Gosht made up for that, it was very spicy with plenty chillies and the lamb was very well cooked. Very much enjoyed it!

Sides were a bit of a mixed bag. On the whole not the best, tarkha dahl wasn't garlicky enough, bhindi bhaji was tough in places and mushroom bhaji, bland. But the Bombay potato was superb!!

I thought that the service was pretty good and they dealt with our large party of 16 very well indeed.

On the whole the Himalaya still does a great curry, I'll just have to choose a different starter in future!

overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25.5
overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date June 2012
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Non-indicative pricing.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date June 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25.50 (including tip)
overall
 4.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25.5 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 0.5
sides
 2.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starters were cold. Mixed Kebab

Main was Lamb Tikka Massallam -Lamb was tough and the sauce fairly bland.

Sides were bland too esp tarka dal.

overall
 1.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22
comment I'm sure this must be the first restaurant where a knife and fork were needed for the lime pickle as it had such large pieces of lime in it.

Enjoyed a very tasty starter - Mince Samosa, but one pasty would have been sufficient for me. Fortunately I did not overdo it and eat 2, so I was able to do justice to the Methi Goust. This lamb dish was beautifully cooked, and I even managed to try a little of the keemo nan to finish off the meat and sauce. A very enjoyable meal.

Serving a group of 14 did not cause the staff here any problems.
overall
 4.2

reviewer James McCamphill
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Pre starters: Pops very nice light and fresh, loads of pickles too. Both Mango chunty and Lime pickle were two of the best I have had, great big chucks of lime with that extra axtra sourness...loverly. -1/2 for the cucumber in the onions again.

Starter: Sheek kebab: A bit on the red side, a bit on the bland side, a bit on the dry side and a bit chewy. Not great just ok.

Main: N. Indian Chill Gosht: Quite tasty sauce but lacking in spices, just hot enough but for more have the green meanines. Meat was overall tender and nice but had a couple of grissly bits too.

Sides: More than made up for the mediocre main, Tarka Dahl was very nice but maybe a bit thin. Sag Bahji was also v good indeed.

These naan breads are humungous (and hot) and are very good indeed (I should have taken one home), in particular the Peshwari is great.

A good evening and food was above avergae but by no means fantastic.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Graeme Kelly
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 1.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £25
comment 3rd attempt at submitting review :-/ so its cut short:

In summary the food was poor. Tasteless. Bland. Prawns not fresh. Okra raw. Soggy puri. Stodgy garlic naan.

Decent service considering the party size.
Seating very cramped and tables small.

Overall - wouldn't go out of my way to come back here.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23
comment Poppadoms were nice and crispy. Onion very nice, mango chutney had big chunks and the lime pickle was the most sour I've ever tasted - perfect for lime pickle freaks! Big tubs of them all too - good!

King prawn puri was excellent. Lots of flavours coming through - onion, spring onion, corriander (although I felt it could have done with a bit more). A nice big portion too.

North Indian chilli gosht was average. A few green meanies to give it heat, but apart from that it was just lamb with a few onions in gravy - not much flavour.

Sides were cracking: tarka dhal nice (we had to order a 2nd one as it had run out by the time it reached our end of the table!) and so was the saag bahji.

Naans very nice too - huge! Big enough to be table cloths. Peshwari nice and sweet and the keema had a nice gently spice through the mince.

All food served piping hot and promptly served (even for a party of 14), although we had to prompt them to take an order for the poppadoms.

Overall I'm stuffed and satisfied.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date April 2010
starters
 5.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment The mixed kebab starter doesn't come better than at the Himalaya - superb. I wasn't too impressed by the Keema Nan but the Peshwari Nan was lovely :)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter: The poppodums were nice and crispy and the lime pickle was excellent, and plenty of it too!
Starter: Chicken kebab. A little bit disappointing, chicken nice enough but overall I thought the dish was a bit bland.
Main: East Indian Lamb Jalfreezie. I found the lamb to be a bit too chewy for my liking. Quite liked the sauce although felt it was the product of mixing some green chillies into a tin of chopped tomatoes.
Sides: I thought the tarka dahl was superb, quite possibly the best in Edinburgh, and it seemed to have a bit of heat to it too. Bhindi Bhaji and Sag mushroom pretty good.
Service: Excellent. We were all done and dusted by 9:15. There are some restaurants where we would be lucky to be starting our main course at that time if 14 of us showed up for dinner, so well done and thank you for that!
Overall: A good restaurant that only occasionally for me lived up to its status as being the initial winner of the restaurant of the year award and the only one to win it more than once. It was nowhere near what I was expecting and it seems to have lost of bit of the lustre that it had many years ago! Disappointing!
overall
 4.0

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters score in both quality and quantity.

Sauces were a little bland - not up to the usual standard.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I have fond memories of meals at the Himalaya in the past, so I was looking forward to this meal.
Basically, I wasn't disappointed.
I had the Lamb Kebab as a starter. Very impressive, the portion control was excellent as a veritable pile of meat turned up. The meat was succulent and very tasty.
I had a chicken jalfrezie for my main. For my taste it could have been a little spicier and it was a little short on vegetables, but overall a nice dish.
The side dishes were another story altogether. Without exception, all the side dishes I tasted were superb. The Tarka Dhall merits special mention. I don't think I've had better for quite a long time.
The restaurant coped well with our large 14 strong party with the minimum of delay during the meal.
Yes, the Himalaya is still GOOD.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date April 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter for me was mince samosa, very generous portion, lots of mince.

Main for me was Ginger lamb, very nice.

Tarka dahl is to die for, the best in Edinburgh.

Nan breads, you only need two and you could carpet your living room!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2007
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
price £18.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent, but the Rogan Josh was a bit plain.
overall
 3.9

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80405 times ]