Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "The Everest"

52 Home Street, Edinburgh, EH3 9NA, 0131 229 1348 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "The Everest" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 7 reviews
overall
 3.7
with an average price of £28.00
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.6
mains
 3.6
sides
 3.6
service
 3.9
atmosphere
 3.6

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment The food was nice and rich, the lime pickle was excellent, they brought us filler dishes due to taking a while to get starters ready, without us complaining.

My starter could have done with a dipping sauce, but I think others who had the same starter got some. Still nice though.



overall
 3.9

reviewer Jean Houston
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Loved the poppadoms. Loads of dip provided (some places have been stingy with it, or you guys just didn't leave any for me). Lime pickle "the Best".

My starter was 'Bara' a lentil 'cake' (resembling a potato scone). Was tasty but bland. The spicy dip helped it, but was a bit like ketchup.

My main dish was Sagarmatha Raksi Chicken. I took home a take away menu which helped with the name. Enjoyed it very much, lovely chunks of chicken, very tasty sauce, but could have been hotter to merit 'medium'.

The side dish Aloo Tama Bodi with beans and bamboo shoots was excellent, and new to me.
overall
 4.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £28.00 (including tip)
comment Pops: Very light and crispy and came with loads of Chutneys, the best being the Lime pickle which gave me the sour face and burny lips look; great stuff :-)
Lost a 1/2 for the cumcumber in onions (sorry but standard procedure for me).

Starter: Mixed Choyla: Spices were very well balanced and very tasty. Chicken was tender and mosit but lamb was on the tough side, still a lovely start.

Main: Lamb Bhuna: A bit dissapointing actually, if there were onions in it the were not just finely chopped but blended, I would rather see big bits of onion in the dish. Sauce was pleasent enough but nothing special. Although the meat was tender I found it quite salty. Overall just ok

Sides: Dahl was nice but a bit thin and needed more garlic. The peswahri naan was very nice and other sides were quite good too.

Service: The staff were very friendly and accommidating but the confusion that came with actually getting the dishes out needs to be stopped, it was very annoying.

Atmo: Nice decor in the place but seat got a bit unconfortable after a while.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadums nice and crispy. Lime pickle incredibly sour but a nice heat (one of these days I may even start to like the stuff). Other chutneys etc. nice too.

Free chef's special was presented to the table: some very nice chicken and onion combo on a sizzling platter. I suspect it was a bribe since they saw our score cards - but why not ;-)

King prawn puree was very nice. A bit more spice to it than other places, but I felt it needed a little more coriander. Stupid 1980's compartmentalised prison plates though!

Everest Chicken (extra hot) was very tasty and had nice gentle warming spices - certainly not "extra hot" though.

Sides varied:
* tarka dall nice, but lacked garlic
* bhindi bhajee ok until I found a very fibrous bit
* mushroom bhaji was excellent
* aloo tama bodi (potato, chick peas and bamboo shoots) was very interesting - and nice too!

Service was very attentive although they let themselves down by not knowing their own dishes: if there was no answer to a dish, they tried another name! So I took off the extra 1/2 point for bribery that I gave them for that.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Chef's Special before the starters was very good - Fried Chicken and Onion ;)
Main Course Chicken Rimjhim was sour and hot, not exactly what the menu stated, good all the same.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppodums, light, fresh and crispy - lovely!
Great lime pickle but didn't think the other chutneys and dips were up to much.

We then had a complimentary appetizer of sizzling chicken and onion. They obviously knew that it was going to take them a while to get our dishes out (which it did), so well done for ensuring we weren't going hungry while we waited for our starter and main.

Unfortunately wait we did, despite practically being the only diners in the restaurant it took an age for the food to arrive and when it did I have to say I was a bit disappointed.

Starter of mixed choyla (lamb and chicken) with a chapati, was well a bit mixed! The chicken was great but the lamb was tough. And guess what it was also tough in my main of lamb katmandhu. I thought the sauce with the main was really good though (it had timbu spice in it) but I prefer the lamb to just fall off the knife rather than being too chewy!

Sides were a bit mixed too. Tarka Dahal a bit watery, Bhindi Bhaji was quite good though and I also quite liked the aloo tama bodi.

The service was friendly enough but very slow as we didn't leave the restaurant until 10:15! And that was when it was quite quiet - I would hate to be there when it was busy! Overall I left feeling a bit underwhelmed!
overall
 3.4

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date March 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Starter - Aloo Papa, potatoes in spices and deep fried.
Main - Everest lamb (with jimb and timba)

The lime pickle was to die for, the best so far. A nice kick and sour taste.
overall
 3.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80392 times ]