Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "The Clay Oven"

86 Morningside Road, Edinburgh, EH10 4BY, 0131 447 9724 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "The Clay Oven" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 8 reviews
overall
 3.5
with an average price of £25.00
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.7
sides
 3.4
service
 3.3
atmosphere
 3.6

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Popadums nice and crispy but not enough onions.

Chicken pakora very good indeed - light crispy coating over moist chicken ... lovely.

Garlic chicken was fab. Loads of garlic in big chunks and lots of chicken (too much)!

All in all, a very nice meal.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Onions too dry. Starter would be better with more chicken, less fish and veggie pakora. Bhindi Bhaji Poor! Service- No hovering - GOOD.
overall
 3.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment BIG menu - too big???

Popadums nice.

Chicken pakora batter lovely & light & crispy - very good.

Main - lots of meat & very tasty. Enjoyed the sides too.

I am stuffed!

Would I come back? Maybe I would try a few others before hand.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Un-inspiring large menu.

Popadums very crispy, but chutneys nothing spectacular and only 3 of them.

Lots of nice flavours in the mixed kebab starter and the red sauce had a nice kick too!

Chilli garlic chicken had plenty chilli, garlic (bit slices) and chicken, but the sauce was a bit samey.

Tarka Dal very nice, but the bhindi bhaji was dry and fiberous - I spat it out! Nans very average.

Took ages for the starters to arrive, but the mains arrived more promptly. Large portion sizes though. Another place charging £4.95 for a large Cobra!
overall
 3.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment This is a bit of a strange one. My initial impression was we were going to be in for a bit of a culinary treat but in the end it's a bit of a let down.

My main gripe is with the main course, Although the lamb was perfectly cooked, the methi gosht tasted of nothing. 2 out of the 3 side dishes were awful. The tarka dal was superb though, it has to be said.

I also had a mediocre starter of chicken tikka but although it looked like it was going to be good, it ultimately failed to deliver.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Sheek Kebab was excellent Only complaint was that I wanted more!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Prawn Puri very tasty but bread dry and prawns should have been served on the bread.
Main dish portions very large, but nothing special about mains otherwise. Tarka Dhal and Saag Aloo really nice.
Weird Music!!
overall
 3.5

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Another expensive Cobra joint (£5)
overall
 3.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80339 times ]