Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Tanjore"

6-8 Clerk Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9HX, 0131 478 6518 www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Tanjore" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 7 reviews
overall
 3.1
with an average price of £20.00
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.7
mains
 3.4
sides
 2.7
service
 2.3
atmosphere
 3.3
value for money
 3.6

reviewer Jean Houston
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment An unusual 'Curry Night', and not just because there were strange looking characters walking the streets and serving in Tesco. South India menu was quite different to 'normal' and I hadn't appreciated this before.

Liked the lime pickle, and since only 2 dips, I mostly just had that one. Not sure how we were to eat it - from napkin using knife or fork?

Starter-Panayaram-savoury balls which had little taste without the dips that came with them. They were quite nice and spicy.

Lots of fish or veggie mains on menu. I ordered Chennai, a fish curry (bream). Only a few pieces of fish, so not very filling even for me. But the sauce was very good. Can't remember the name of the bread, but I liked it - a bit flaky. Different rices on offer too. Tried Tamarind which was good.

overall
 3.6

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pre: "Papadams" were light and crispy but not only did they have to be reminded again to bring them, they were served with what can only be described as a thimble full of pickle and mango between 2. I just see no need to penny pinch to that degree on a big table thats obviously going to be spending a decent amount.

Starter (chicken Chuka): Really tasty and a good kick for a starter. half a mark off for presentation but really well cooked.

Main (Lamb Tanjore): Bit stingy on the meat front but what was there was tender. Definitely not medium-hot as advertised, surprising considering the starter.

Sides: Pastry/Naan substitute not to my tastes with an Indian meal but again very mean with portion sizes on the sides which werent anything special. Flavoured rice was nice as somethign a bit different.

Service/Atmos/VfM: Everything seemed a bit slower and drawn out than it needed to be especially as the whole meal was delayed whilst they got our papadams after being prompted again. Maybe we've been spoiled in the past few months but It's been a while since I've not felt completely full after a curry night. Fairly good value but was enforced BYOB for alcoholic drinks.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment
Overall atmosphere was good but Service was SLOW. Otherwise not too bad. BYOB without corckage was nice.

Popadoms could have used more pickle and some plates to eat them from.

Fried Chilli Idli starter:
Nice, Hot. A sort of rice/chickpea/chilli fritter

Lamb Karaikudi:
A good rich medium hot sauce that was not quite as hot as menu suggested. Plenty of flavour especially cardumom. Portion size was perhaps a little small, but not miniscule.

Sides:
Potato side was basically a slightly spiced mash. not very inspiring. Portion size on sides was a bit small too.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pops tasty enough, but had been sitting around for a while, so not very crispy! Lime pickle was a tad boring even for me (someone who screws up his face at even the thought of the most sour of dishes). Mango ok. However... NO PLATES for the pops and NO SPOONS for the chutneys! 50 minutes to get them too!

Pepper fry lamb more than made up for the poor pops. Tender lamb, massive chutney type thing of onions and a very nice spice to it. Left me wanting more!!!

Chicken Karaikudi tasted nice enough - spicy and peppery sauce. Quite small portion though.

Different rices were... well... different! Nothing outstanding though and flavour was a bit swamped by the main dish. But nice to try on their own. Potato side dish was average, spinach and lentil side was quite nice. However, I've seen bigger specimen jars than the size of these sides!

The "bread" was strange - almost pastry like, but would probably have been better suited to a continental breakfast loaded with chocolate spread as it was totally useless as mopping up the curry sauce.

Service was very slow and haphazard: over an hour for the starters; hot plates for the mains that were stone cold by the time the food actually arrived; only one guy serving the tables... he really needed to smile a bit!

Nice price of £18 (rounded up to £20 for the convenience as they didn't warrant much of a tip), kept low by the fact it was a BYOB.

I'd probably go back - even to try their Indian pancake type things on the menu. I just wanted a curry tonight though!
overall
 3.0

reviewer Fiona Wilson
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Panayarom starter.
Mint & coriander main.
Lemon & Tamarind rice.

Interesting flavour combinations but didn't do it for me.
overall
 2.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment There appeared to be what can only be described as a haphazard approach to service. Firstly it took a while for our order to be taken, which made for an especially long wait for those wanting soft drinks! There was an even longer wait for the papadams (as spelt in their menu!) and we didn't get plates to eat them from! Also plates for main course were delivered too early. Whilst they were hot to begin with, by the time the main courses started to arrive the had gone cold!

The papadams, sadly, weren't the freshest and I thought the lime pickle and mango chutney were just dull!

However I have to say that the Chicken Pepper Fry starter was outstanding! I couldn't fault this hot, spicy and very tasty dish, it was terrific!

Main of Tanjore Curry was pretty good. Very spicy and the lamb was very well cooked (no need for a knife). I didn't think that the sauce went too well with the lemon and coconut rice though as they had quite strong flavours. Both rices brilliant in their own right, though! The bread (can't remember it's name) was like sweet puff pastry - unusual!

Sides of Potato masala and lentils & spinach were decent enough.

At £20 a head (it's BYOB) it is decent vfm but I would only really want to return for the starter!
overall
 3.4

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date October 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Popadums took too long to come. And no p
LATE! Not enough dips

Massala divlae was ok but the minty pea dip was well odd. Not too sure about it.

Tanjore chicken - not sure at all. Coconutty but pretty hot. A lot of sauce but not so much meat. Mmmm.

Nan substitute (parotta) was like deep fried swirley thing. Odd.

Only £18 pounds plus tip. It was BYOB but still good value.
overall
 3.0

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80345 times ]