Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Shezan Tandoori"

25 Union Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3NQ, 0131 557 5098 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Shezan Tandoori" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 10 reviews
overall
 2.8
with an average price of £25.00
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.8
mains
 3.8
sides
 2.3
service
 1.9
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Loved the popps, pickles(esp lime). The easy-to-serve dishes, and the variety of pickles were fun, even if one was a little bit like Worcs sauce.
Onion Rings (starter) lots of, and BIG, but tasty enough.
Lamb Bhuna(main) beautiful meat, would have been'5' but could have been a bit more spicy. Naan bread was excellent (and not sweet).
Had no problems with service, quite prompt for such a large group, but decor was UGH.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre: Pops were lovely and crispy but let down by small portions of dips. Pickle was a bit tame for my liking but still nice.

Start: Prawn puri was nice but could have had more prawns and would have been a little tasteless without nice sauce

Main: Chicken achari was well spiced and had nice kick. I wish I'd got the lamb though which was top notch and really nice.

Sides: Naan was big and tasty but let down by other sides esp Saag Aloo which was worst ive ever had. Tried to say it was made with 'special' spinach but highly dubious.

Service and Atmosphere totally let down by arguing with us. Just not on. First impressions of the place were actually really good, decor not to everyones taste but i didnt mind it.

VfM: Average, didnt feel cheated but let down down by the details.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25
comment Crisp poppadoms but small quantities of pickle etc.
Good portion of (tasty) Chicken Tikka, as starter.
Main of Royal Biryani was good.
Excellent, Nan bread straight from the oven.
Service was okay but they should remember that the customer is always right!
overall
 3.7

reviewer James McCamphill
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops: Nice crisp and fresh but none of the 6 small pickles (with 2 spoons) selections did it for me really.

Starter: Lamb kebab meat was good and there was a good build up of spices and heat wvith the dish too. A very decent starter.

Main: Special Karahi Bhoona: Really enjoyed this dish. Sauce had a good flavour and spice but could have done with a both more of it. Portion size was JUST big enough for me, just glad I dont have a big appetite Meat was well cooked and tender. (I did try some of Barrys Lamb dish and it was also very good and the meat was fantastic. )

Sides: Naans good size fresh and nice. Rice good. Dahl ok but all portions v small bearly enough for 1 person really. Now the infamous Sag Aglo (after all that fuss) I did not like and left a bitter after taste.

Atmo: The web site says 'After extensive refurbishment the magic is back' so a quick reprint of old and tattered menus should not be too much to ask (like the ones onthe web site perhaps) It is clean, modern and comfortable inside.

Service: I have an issue here, missing a side order is in innocent mistake, however saying (arguing) that the customer did not order it is a whole different matter. Simply state that 'I'm sorry I missed it and I will get you one asap' done and forgotten about.

Value: £25 is a good price for the standard of food received. And if food continues to come out this good then the rest will hopefully catch up...
overall
 3.0

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were nice and crispy. However, the £3.95 selection of chutneys etc was very small. Six different things, but only a spoonful of each!

Mixed kebab was superb! Chicken and lamb chop were very suculent. Seekh kebab had a nice wee kick. Good portion size too.

Ceylonese chick was massively dissapointing. Menu promised hot, but it was very mild and lacking flavour - a bit like a kurma with the odd little bit of chilli!

Tarka dhal was too think for my liking and not much garlic in it. Peshwari naan was nice though.

Service was a bit shambolic with bits arriving here and there, but no cuttlery to eat anything with. The alram going off twice didn't do much for the atmosphere either!
overall
 3.0

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date March 2028
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment I didn't have pre-starters but there looked to be not enough dipping sauce. There was no beer on tap only small bottles :( The pilau rice was terrible it looked like boiled brown rice and the grains were burst. However I did on the whole enjoy the meal. They served good size portions and the Nan breads were large. The Peshware Nan was great!
overall
 3.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment The poppodums were lovely, fresh and crisp and the lime pickle was excellent. However the pickle tray selection was very small and apart from the outstanding lime pickle the rest were a bit non-descript.

Starter of chicken pakora needed the dipping sauce to give it a bit of interest. Decent and tasty enough but that's about it.

The lamb in the main dish of Balti Gosht was very well cooked but I felt the sauce was too caked in curry spices for my liking and it made it very cloying!

The tarkha dahl and mushroom bhaji sides were pretty good, if small on portion. Unfortunately the 'disputed' sag aloo was awful. The potato wasn't cooked through and the spinach tasted odd. Great naan bread though!

The service was ok if a bit chaotic at times. They didn't help themselves though by disputing that a missing sag aloo was our fault. That was definitely very bad form!

I think the Shezan has just recently re-opened following a refurbishment and it all feels like it is still a work in progress. There are some things that are really very good but there are still quite a number of things that need to be worked on!
overall
 3.1

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Could do with some more prawn (or at least sauce) in the prawn puri.
Naans were unusually good. Well done sides. Chilli garlic chicken was tasty but the chicken was a little overlooked. Very good mushroom bahji
overall
 3.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment If you fancy poppadums at this restaurant, take my advice - don't! I never seen such small portions of dips before!
In stark contrast, the starters were very good. Portions were excellent. I had lamb chops. To my surprise I got three chops which were well cooked and very tasty.
Main course of Chicken Jalfrezie was not as spicy as I would expect. I think the chef forgot the green chillis. But nevertheless, the dish was reasonably palatable.
Didn't take kindly to the entire table being told that we were wrong and hadn't ordered Saag Aloo side dish. At this point we had already pointed out that we wanted one at least three times before! The dish they finally brought us was dreadful too.
overall
 1.9

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date March 2012
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 0.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I have given a zero for service, since I think it is a no no to argue with the customer, despite the waiter being asked 3 times for saag allo and 3 times the waiter and manager argue it has not been ordered, then it arrives once we have completed our meal!!! Sorry but that is just not on.
Despite the problem with the side dish the food was tasty.
overall
 0.9

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80316 times ]