Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Saffrani"

11 South College Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9AA, 0131 667 1597 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Saffrani" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 12 reviews
overall
 3.9
with an average price of £20.92
pre-starters
 4.2
starters
 3.9
mains
 3.9
sides
 3.1
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.2

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pops and dips very nice, onion had a real kick to it.

Salmon tikka starter was well cooked and quite tasty.

Chicken Shahjani was well cooked and tender but didnt seem to have a lot of flavour or spices in it.

Saag Aloo potato was a bit under cooked for my liking.

Service was prompt and friendly, didnt seem to take long for everything to appear. Atmos ruined a bit for me by splitting up the tables, its quite nice to have one big table when out for a curry!

Price included Mc'Coys vouchers and byob but still fairly reasonable.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Best pickles we've had in a long time.

Starter : Chicken Malai Tikka
Main : Lamb Kadai
overall
 3.9

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £25
comment Lime Pickle is the strongest I have tasted for years - Great.

Starters - Chicken Tikka, bit chewy.

Mains-Chicken Bhuna: one of the tastiest I've had.
Portions not too big. Good effort.

Did not get starter til 8:15 - bit slow!

Split up group into 3 tables - not good.
Its a pretty small place.

Not too dear either - good price.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Jean Houston
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20
comment Tasty pickles, esp the spicy onion.

Mushroom starter was also nice and spicy, but don't remember the puri with it being mentioned in menu.

I had my longtime favourite, a bhuna, but here I had chicken rather than lamb. The meat was real chicken which I enjoyed, also the amount and the spiciness were just right for me.

Not much atmosphere to mention, but an enjoyable meal, one that lingered on the palate.
overall
 4.1

reviewer James McCamphill
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops: Were fresh, light, warm and tasty too. The pickles were also good onions had some kick to them although a bit wet for my liking. The LP was perhaps the sourest I have had for some time...top stuff.

Chicken Tikka: Meat was juicy and very tender, portion size was also favorable. The taste was nice enough but nothing notable really.

Lamb Kadai: Meat was again very nice and not overdone as so many seem to do. I was happy enough with the flavor and the bits of pepper were a nice addition to the texture but again nothing overly special. The whole dish needed a bit more heat throughout to bring it up a bit.

Sides: Naans were nice. Sag Aloo was nice but the Traka Dahl although a great texture it was a bit bland and needed a heap more garlic really.

Service was pleasant fast efficient and friendly throughout although really pushing the expensive drinks (Kingfisher) annoys me a bit.
Overall it was a nice meal and if in this area I would come back, but it would not be at the top of my list.


overall
 3.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment I thought the poppodum was crisp and fresh and the pickle tray was pretty good too with an excellent lime pickle and spiced onion thingy that was quite hot! Didn't like the basil inspired green one as much though!

Starter of Chicken Tikka - superb! Really lovely juicy meat with a nice spice to it!

Main of Madras Sag Ghost. I thought it was a nice dish, and the lamb was very well cooked but it didn't blow me away. Above average I would say but not fantastic.

We had sides of tarka dahl and sag aloo. Good consistency in the tarka dahl but bit bland. Sag aloo no more than ok.

When we arrived we found ourselves split into 3 tables with separate orders which probably worked out ok in terms of getting served. However they were only willing to accept 1 McCoy's voucher per table, so each table had the price of a main course deducted from their bill. Some might say that the atmosphere was sullied a little by this, but I felt it was a nice place, our host was very friendly and the poppodums appeared on the table without anybody asking (to my knowledge) for them. So on the whole an enjoyable evening with good but not outstanding food - the starter apart!

overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Spiced onions very hot - not sure about that! Liked the lime pickle which is unusual for me.

Chicken malai tikka looked bland (white meat, no sauce) but was succulent and very nicely flavoured.

Main was chicken shahjah. Nice but not quite top dollar. Maybe could have been a bit hotter?

Tarka was thick but a bit bland. More garlic would have been good.

Service was attentive but atmosphere sulied by the refusal of no nor than one voucher per table.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brent Sharp
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £24.00 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were crispy & dry and not oily, plenty of pickles - Lime one was the best!

Chicken Chat starter - cooked well, served hot and tasted great.

Chicken Shahjani main - Spicy but not overly hot to taste, which appealed to me. Chicken was tender and tasted marinated. All main course dishes served on our table were not oily.

Cannot complain about the service at this restaurant - starter took 45 mins to arrive, however they were catering for thirteen of us and there were other diners in too. Atmosphere would suit a small group of family or friends who wanted to go for a meal and be able to hold good conversation. Pleased I went as this is one of those side street venues that newbies and visitors rarely get to know about!!!
overall
 4.3

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date July 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Spicy onions and the lime pickle were very good.

Starter was chicken tikka.

Main was lamb kadai, lamb with tomato, onion, garlic, ginger, coriander and chilli. Was expecting it to be a little bit hotter, however it was tasty enough.

Side dishes were a little bit insipid, not enough garlic in the tarka dall.

I would go back.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Kris Culton
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £15
comment Poppadoms were pretty good.

Main meal (can't remember the name) was just right and very tasty.

The service was good especially considering they were willing to cater for 9 of us at such short notice.

The only thing I can criticise was the atmosphere, even though there was nothing unpleasant about it, it just didn't feel right!
overall
 4.1

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £15
comment Very nice. They took a fairly large party at short notice. Unusual menu. Main - fish bhaji - was particularly good. Shame the naans were too hard which spoilt the effect.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date November 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15
comment A late visit on a Saturday night with 10 minutes notice and they managed to fit 9 of us in.

Popadums were average - crispy, but cold. Only 3 chutneys on offer though - spiced onions, lime pickle and mango. All about average.

Can't recall the name of the chicken dish I had, but it was very tasty - lots of stuff in it as I requested (not just chicken in gravy). Not overly hot though, even though I asked for extra hot.

The tarka dhal was a bit dissappointing - all lentle with no noticable garlic. Bhindi Baji nice though.

Service was very friendly.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81708 times ]