Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Rivage"

122-130 Easter road, Edinburgh, EH7 5RJ, 0131 661 6888


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Rivage" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 16 reviews
overall
 4.0
with an average price of £22.75
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.7
mains
 4.2
sides
 4.1
service
 4.1
atmosphere
 3.6
value for money
 3.9

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Unusual yet good selection of dishes.

Popadoms were frash and pickles plentiful, but missing any pickle with much heat.

Starter of chicken sheesh kebab was tasty and tender, but could have done with more spice.

Karahi Gosht was nice and rich with tender lamb.

The only let down was the initial speed of service, but that picked up as the meal went on.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £24
comment Great tasting popps, and because they were curly rather than flat the dips stayed on much better than usual.
Starter (Murgh Tikka Tirkana) a triplet of chicken pieces with diff coatings each with its own sauce. Very tasty.
A number of 'new' dishes on menu, but I had Rack of Lamb. Nice to have the flavour through the meat. It must have been properly marinated.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment The poppodums were lovely and crispy with very good selection of chutneys, especially the tomato based one that was unusual but very nice.

Starter of Sonfiyani Machli (Monkfish wrapped in a mustard marinade). Great tasting fish whose flavour was enhanced rather than overpowered by the marinade. Top marks I would say!

Main of Karhai Gosht. Very well cooked lamb and a lovely spicy sauce.

Sides. The spinach and potato dish was excellent and the aubergine with chilli and peanut gravy was also very tasty. However the tarka dahl was not very good. For me the texture was wrong and there was no where near enough garlic.

Service was decent enough. There was a bit of waiting around as the restaurant was quite busy and there were only 2 working the whole of the front of house.

For the most part, the food was of a very good standard and it deserves to remain as one of our higher rated restaurants!

Finally, apologies to all for not checking that even though they are licensed they do allow you to BYOB, but still very good vfm nonetheless!
overall
 4.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment If you're expecting a classic Menu of Indian dishes, this would not be the place for you. But if you want to try something different, then the menu here is certainly different. I only recognised one main dish that you would find at most indian restaurants.
That said, the meal was not bad.
I had Lamb Ka Samosas for starters (mainly because the Quail was off). Three smallish samosas served with a quite spicy sauce. Not bad for starters.
I then had a Goan fish curry and here the dish did not match up to my memories of Goa. Tasty, but not quite authentic.
The side dishes were mixed. Tarka Dhal (Yuk), Saag aloo (yummy), didn't try the third, but comments varied.
Overall good value for money. The bill would have been cheaper if we'd realised it was BYOB.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date November 2013
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £24 (including tip)
overall
 2.8

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date October 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £19 (including tip)
comment BYOB with no corkage charge.

Nice food, but milder than equivalent dishes from other curry houses.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment We had a complimentary pre-starter that was some kind of bread fried in spicy batter with a small selection of coriander chutney, carrots and onions. It was very good and left a bit of a hot taste in the mouth, I have to say!

I then had a top notch starter of murgh tikka tiranga. It was 3 pieces of chicken that each had a different marinade and 3 different sauces too. I also thought my wife's ginger and potato fritter thing was great too!

For main I had a Karhai (I think?) ghost, lamb with peppers and onions. Not too spicy but very tasty and the lamb was reasonably well cooked. Also had one side dish of bombay potato and spinach that was outstanding!
My wife had an aubergine curry which was good but not a patch on Kalpna's marinated aubergines!

All in it was £25, including tip, a bottle of wine and even coffees! So excellent value for money. Yes they still don't play Indian music and the front of house staff are not Indian either. Some people might find this detracts from the overall ambience but I don't have much issue with it, especially as the food and service is very, very good.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Not a hint of Coriander! Excellent portion sizes. Great garlicky Tarka Dhal. Top Notch Grub! Favourite food so far.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Not much Indian music.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Jean Houston
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Enjoyed the originality of this restaurant. Also enjoyed the coke (I usually can't drink sparkling drinks with spicy food).
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 5.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Very interesting menu with a lot of unusual dishes. A tasty bread as an appetiser followed by a very nice Monk fish starter which was a tad small a portion. Lamb shank main was very tender, sauce very good with a nice spice. Best peshwari nan I've had in ages. Sides excellent, but I never got any garlic in the Tarka Dahl. Superb price for the quality of food.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment I have Saag Gosht quite a lot on these curry outings, but that was one of the best - fantastic, rela melt in the mouth lamb. Great side dishes too, superb Tarka Dahl and an excellent roasted aubergine. Over all - superb and great value for money.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Trying hard to be innovative and standing out from the rest. Largely succeeded. Lacking a little in the sitar department.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent food, full of flavour and spices. Side Dishes superb. Pity about the atmosphere which was everything BUT Indian.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Poor Music.
overall
 4.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80327 times ]