Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Pataka"

190 Causewayside, Edinburgh, EH9 1PN, 0131 668 1167 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Pataka" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 11 reviews
overall
 2.9
with an average price of £23.00
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.7
mains
 3.2
sides
 2.9
service
 3.4
atmosphere
 2.8

reviewer Tina Greig
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Starter tasty but not hot, also some of the prawns not properly shelled.

Main also not as hot as expected but very tasty.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Main needed more veg
overall
 3.4

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23
comment Starter poor.
Asked for mixed kebab - got veg pakora stuff

Dupiaza main - ok

Service and atmospher - jolly good
overall
 2.0

reviewer Jean Houston
review date April 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23
comment Nice to see some new starters. Enjoyed the starter not being another meal (i.e. it was light & not filling - so ready for main dish. Main dish not outstanding but also was different to usual ones
overall
 4.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment OK I have resigned myself to the fact that the onions come with cucumber in. I still don't agree but there you go, not enough pickles with Poppadoms.

Good portions sizes of CH.Pakora but very red, meat = dry, much sauce required, cucumber again.

Garlic Chili Chicken; ok
Not great heat more garlic required.

Sides not too much flavour, bit bland
Nans - strange/no garlic detected
Service nothing special.

And all round - well I got FED!

New Chairs please
overall
 2.9

reviewer Graeme Kelly
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 1.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Not enough pickles
Gujerati Puri disappointing. dry & tough.
Not much spice or flavour
Restaurant cramped and small

TOILETS DISGUSTING

North Indian CGC very tasty but don't expect it to blow your head off

Tarka Dahl lacking in taste
Service slow considering size of place.
overall
 2.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crispy, but not fresh.
Not enough chutney for 11 folk.

King Prawn puri nice, but puri overdone(crispy) and sauce lacking something, even coriander.

North Indian Chili Garlic chicken average. Not all that hot. Garlic flavour cooked out.
Sides very bland.
Garlic Nan should not be fluorescent pink!
Get new Chairs!
overall
 2.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment The starters (both pre and normal) were distinctly average. The Chicken Tikka kebab was simply 4 pieces of chicken that had very little in the way of a spicy flavour to them.

My main course of methi gosht was better but again lacking in a lot of flavour. The lamb itself was fine apart from one chunk that was a bit tough. Sides, pretty mediocre.

I thought the service was quite good compared to some places we've been to, as we were just about all done and dusted at just after 9pm.

Overall though, nothing to write home about although I did quite like the Charles Rennie Mackintosh theme, unusual for an Indian restaurant, but the chairs are not comfortable!
overall
 3.1

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Lamb was well cooked and main was pretty tasty.
Otherwise quite bland
overall
 3.2

reviewer Bob Marshall
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Enjoyed the pre-starter.
Good selection of sauces.

Chicken Tikka was just 4 pieces of chicken with very little flavour to it.

Main course was a bit bland but good portions, shame about the overall flavour.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date April 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 1.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment For starters I had Tel Baigan, which was described as aubergine with egg, I was a little disappointed when I was presented with battered aubergine, may be a translation problem.

Main course was Hare Masale Wali Murgh, which was described as lemony chicken with coriander. It was tasty and the portion look huge, however, there were only 4 pieces of chicken, a little disappointing.

I found the restaurant too small and was cramp, perhaps fewer tables would help.

I wouldn't not recommend this one.
overall
 1.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81773 times ]