Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Omar Khayyam"

1 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh, EH12 5ED, 0131 225 2481 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Omar Khayyam" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 13 reviews
overall
 3.5
with an average price of £29.00
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.7
mains
 3.9
sides
 3.3
service
 3.7
atmosphere
 3.6
value for money
 3.4

reviewer Jim bryce
review date October 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30
comment Mix Kebab starter - good stuff.
Saag Chicken Main - Chicken quite tough.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date October 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £33 (including tip)
comment Poppadums, very fresh and crisp. A good selection of dips but no lime pickle sadly.
Starter of fish pakora. In the rush to get the food to the table quickly I got a piece of chicken pakora in amongst the fish pakora. Did point it out, but decided to go for my impromptu 'mixed' pakora. All very tasty but salad was a bit watery (needed to be dried first after it was washed probably).
Main of Charsada Lamb Karahi. The lamb was a bit tough (I suppose it came from a tandoor oven rather than being slow cooked) but I really did enjoy the minced lamb.
Sides of tarkha dahl and bhindi bhaji, were both pretty good I felt, particularly well cooked okra.

A restaurant that seems to pride itself on its speed of delivery and its ability to handle large groups of people, most of the time it does with aplomb. However, there were a few issues that I've already mentioned.
Also because of their aim to get you in and out quickly, I couldn't help feeling a bit rushed throughout.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Amanda Jones
review date October 2016
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £33 (including tip)
comment Vegetable pakora was not actually fully cooked.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Jean Houston
review date February 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Thoroughly enjoyed nice crispy poppadoms, and a lite-bite chicken pakora starter.
Chicken Qandhari (medium) also pretty good. Nice chunky chicken pieces. Good taste.
Did not try any sides, but did try a couple of nans (not usual for me), but found them too 'sweet'.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Nice fresh (and warm) poppadums with a good selection of pickles. Although lime pickle was absent the others were still pretty good.

Starter of Chicken Tikka, I felt was outstanding! The chicken was tender and juicy and nicely spiced. Nice fresh side salad too, couldn't fault it - fab-u-lous!

Main of Lamb Charsada (medium) that had strips of bbq'd tikka lamb and minced lamb. Very good I thought and quite tasty and spicy for a medium dish.

However sides were distinctly under par, especially the Tarka Dahl. Strangely quite solid in consistency and bland too. Bhindi Bhaji slightly better but nothing to get too excited about.

Service was pretty good and friendly. However I have decided to deduct some marks since we had a bit of a wait upon asking for and then getting the bill, and then to finally pay it. It spoiled my experience slightly but it was still a good night as the food on the whole was quite tasty.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date February 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
overall
 3.7

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date February 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30
comment Crisp popadoms, really nice pink sauce. No pickled lime but since I don't like it I don't care.
Fish pakora very, very good and a decent sized portion.
Chicken dopiaza was a wee bit bland. Nothing bad but ok. Bhindi bhadji very good, tarka fall thick and odd.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date December 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice pickles and loads of popadoms. More than we asked for in fact.

Mushroom Pakora starter was well done and nice, but nothing special.

Chicken Jaipurry main was nice and fruity with a good mix of meat and veg in the sauce.

Sides were good and of a reasonable size.

Service was solid, but felt a bit impersonal, also I got a beer I didn't order. I overcame this problem though.

overall
 3.7

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date December 2010
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms chewy.
Lime pickel - poor
Spicy onions - too spicy

Chicken Tikka starter- V.Good. Spicy. Lemon & Mild sauce.

Sagg Gost - Great
Sides Binjie Badji, Tarka Daal, Mushroom Badji - all good
overall
 3.8

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date December 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters: We had 2 poppodums each, even though I thought I asked for 8 (1 each). Perhaps the 8 was interpreted as the number of people to cater for rather than the number of pops! Anyway, I felt that the pops were not that fresh and chutneys not that good. Disappointing Lime Pickle, too!

Starter: Lamb Tikka Kebab. I thought it was a bit bland, if truth be told.

Main: Handi Fish Dopiaza: Much more like it! Not hugely spicy but very tasty. It was something a bit different but very enjoyable!

Sides: Tarka dahl, bhindi and mushroom bhajis. All fairly average and a bit bland.

Service: Pretty good. I think this is a restaurant that is used to dealing with large groups and it showed as the service was pretty quick. However I did feel it was a bit rushed at times, especially at the start of the evening!

Overall I thought whilst the service was pretty decent and quite friendly the food was dull and disappointing! Also it was rather expensive (£30 a head)for what we had, but perhaps 3 tenners will become the norm rather than the exception for the cost of a curry outing in future!
overall
 3.2

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date December 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms and the pickle tray were very good, in fact there was at least two types of lime pickle, but I am sure I could taste a third.

Mushroom pakora to start, very fresh, lovely.

Chicken jalfrezie for the main, very good.

It has been about 10 years since I was in this place and a big make over has been done, it is very trendy, the fountain in the middle is still there, but has been given a makeover also.

Good end to a great year.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Tina Greig
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice selection of lime pickles with the poppadoms. Monkfish starter was lovely - the fish was perfectly cooked and beautifully complimented by the sauce.
Handi Fish Dopiaza main was also extremely nice. I find a lot of curry houses can be pretty hit and miss when it comes to fish dishes, but Omar Khayyam gets them spot-on.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Good food, fast service, but they really need to smile a bit!
overall
 3.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80318 times ]