Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Nine Cellars"

1-3 York Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3EB, 0131 557 9899 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Nine Cellars" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 11 reviews
overall
 3.1
with an average price of £26.91
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.8
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.6
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0

reviewer Jean Houston
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment 2nd Best dips ever.
Palah Kebab - an unsual starter for me. Was very tasty and quite hot too.
Chicken Chetlandi(?) Not spicy, more subtle. Very good, very large portion.
overall
 4.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 1.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy but nothing special with plenty of dips. Lime pickle was a bit heavy on the lime for me but not unpleasent.
Starter of Chicken Pakora: the meat and batter were both firm bute the sauce with it was quite nice. Average at best.
Main: Lamb Garlic Chilli.... my arse, No garlic (oh wait... I found some no.... no it was a bit of rice. No heat at all but then what do you expected from lightly peppered Heinz tomato soup. The Lamb was actually very tender and nice.
Sides: Sag Aloo was very nice and was def the best thing about my whole meal.

No Naan bread what is that all about!

I will not be back!

overall
 1.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 0.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment Popadoms very crispy, but all of the chutneys (apart from the very sour lime pickle) had been puréed - no chunks ... shame. The "red" and "green" could be ditched in favour of onions.

Spicy garlic mushrooms had a nice tasty slightly spicy sauce, but not much garlic and if I didn't already know, I'd not know that they were mushrooms!

Worst North Indian chilli garlic chicken I've ever had!!! More like South Alaskan tomato soup! Dried out chicken in a tomato soupy sauce. No heat; no garlic either. A single chilli on top was the "heat" (mine had a green one being requested to be "extra hot" while the others had red).

Sides and stuffed parantha nice, but I had to go into the kitchen to chase up the bread before we'd finished our mains.

Then they had the cheek to add a 10% service charge ... on a Wednesday ... for 9 of us!

Never going back!!!
overall
 1.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were nice and crispy but I only thought the chutneys including the lime pickle were average at best.

My starter of chicken pakora had the hardest batter of any pakora I think I've ever had. It took a bit of cutting and the chicken was a little bit chewy. Again average.

Main dish of lamb rogan josh. The lamb was well cooked but the sauce was a bit non-descript. I felt though that they deserved an extra mark for the very tasty parantha breads. The potato one reminded me of tattie scones, very very nice!

Sides ok. Sag aloo and bhindi thingy nice but didn't rate the tarka dhal this time around.

Decided to mark down the service as the parantha breads were a bit late in arriving with the main course and they asked us if we were ready to order before they even had handed us the menus!
overall
 3.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment Starter was excellent!
Spinach and lentil medallions deep fried - best thing I've tasted in ages.
Main of King prawn in curry sauce was tasty but not hot (it wasn't meant to be).
Sides were very good especially the Bindi dish
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £27
comment Lime Pickle was excellent with the poppadoms, but no onion and the other sauces weren't to my liking.
Starter of Spicy Garlic Mushrooms was tasty, but mushrooms were quite tasteless and not enough Garlic for my taste.
The Lal Mass main course was pleasant enough, but did not live up to it's description in terms of Spice.
The side dishes were very disappointing. The Tadka Dal especially lacked any real flavour.
Atmosphere was fairly bland, although I quite liked the music.
I never have good things to say about restaurants that make a service charge just because the party is over 6 in number.
Overall - Disappointing.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 1.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment
SOUPY !!!
overall
 2.1

reviewer Bob Marshall
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £26.67 (including tip)
comment I found my starter quite bland- king prawn in a batter.
For the main the Chicken Tikka was filling, but came with too much sauce.

overall
 2.8

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were very crispy with a good selection of chutneys and lime pickle.

The palak kebab starter (spinach and cheese fritters) was excellent but one of them was cold, as if it came straight out of the fridge and not cooked!Poor show!

I had a really enjoyable main dish of lal mass with very tender lamb. I also thought the sag ghost was superb too. The side dish of tarka dahl was as fine a tarka dahl that I've tasted anywhere, but the real treat of 9 cellars has to be the quite delicious stuffed parantha bread that we had with a spinach and garlic filling.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date May 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment The starters were a cut above the rest of the meal. Full of flavour and spicy tastes. The Main courses were a little disappointing. The North Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken had no Garlic and no Chilli. The sauce tasted of tomato soup to me. The Lal Mass was much better. Spicy to the taste and the Lamb was cooked to perfection, just falling apart under the knife. The Dhal Makani (Black Lentils) tasted good, but was a little watery for my liking. The final price included a tip and a bottle of rather nice Pinotage shared between two.
overall
 3.2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81757 times ]