Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Navadhanya"

88 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5LQ, 0131 281 7187

You can now submit a review for "Navadhanya" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 10 reviews
overall
 4.3
with an average price of £40.50
pre-starters
 4.6
starters
 4.7
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.6
atmosphere
 4.2
value for money
 3.7

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2017
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £40 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppadums with an excellent tomato based chutney. Thought the other 2 sauces we had were good but not in the same league as the tomato chutney.

Starter of Tandoori Salmon. In a word, brilliant! Salmon cooked to perfection and the spices complimented rather than overpowering the fish.

Main of Lamb Railway Curry. It was no longer on the menu but they did it for me anyway which was fantastic because it was much better than I remembered it. Lamb very well cooked in a delicious blend of spices. Loved the naan bread too.

Sides. Sag aloo, really loved the earthiness of the spinach. Aubergine and peas was tasty with a spicy kick.

Everything about this place seems to be done to a higher standard than your typical restaurant and whilst that is definitely reflected in the price, what you are also paying for is the overall experience which is just fantastic. Great service which included a complimentary onion bhaji between poppadums and starter and we were given an explanation of the food served too! I for one will most certainly be back!
overall
 4.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date March 2017
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £45 (including tip)
overall
 4.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date March 2017
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £40
comment Excellent restaurant with outstanding food matched with superb service.

Pre-Starters - The poppadums came in handy hand size pieces. Nice and crispy with absolutely superb dips. The tomato one, in particular, was delicious.

Starter - Papdi Chat was the most unusual starter I have ever had. It looked more like a cheesecake. However, on eating, all the ingredients came into their own, chickpeas, crunchy crisps, yoghurt, mint and tamarind. To die for.

Main - Navadhanya Masala Lamb, what can I say but absolutely wonderful.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Sarah Jane Berry
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment Starter: Sixty-Five
Main: Chicken Chettinadu

Pre-Starters and starters were very nice but the main course for me let me down. Sauce was tasty but average and the chicken somehow managed to be fatty which totally put me off. Sides were nice also - Would definitely recommend the Panneer.

Bit pricey but still nice enough
overall
 3.5

reviewer Robert Lyon
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and very welcoming staff who made us feel welcome. It wasn't especially busy and it seems small so I don't know how the place would cope with the Friday evening rush.

Pre-starters were very good. The pappadums were crisp and not too oily while the dips were interesting and tasty (mango chutney, spiced tomato and onion). The amuse bouche (a deep fried potato croquette) was very good and a pleasant pre-main bite. The only half point I'd knock off would be for the size of the pappadums. They were a bit small.

I had the Malai Tikka to start with, which was almost faultless. The chicken was mildly spiced and well cooked but was paired with a coriander sauce that complemented it extremely well. The Railway Lamb Curry I had for seconds was fine, but it didn't compare well to those I've had elsewhere. While it had clearly been slow cooked for a long time and was very tender it was a bit short on flavour and the sauce was too runny to justify its presence.

Sides were very good. Some of them were too runny (Tarka Daal) but the Saag Paneer was very good and rather outshone the main. The Naans were good to excellent.

The biggest downside to the restaurant was the price. £40 is a lot for a curry and I didn't think the mains really justified the price, especially given the size of the portions and the not-especially-good ratio of sauce to meat. On the plus side the starters were great and the staff are very friendly.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Jean Houston
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment The food in this restaurant was certainly very good as was the service. Not sure that it justified a cost of £40 though, that\'s £10 more than any previous restaurant. (I calculated my own meal at around £28.50, inc tip)
To return to the food though, I did like the dainty poppadoms, but could have done with more of them to use more of the interesting dips. There wasn\'t even enough for 2 pieces each.
I did like the taster of spicy potato ball that we all had (was this complimentary?) Didn\'t catch on to what was in it, but it was very tasty and like most of the food here, the spices developed as you ate it.
Papdi Chat was the most unusual starter I have ever had. It looked more like a sweet the way it was presented ( a bit like a Berliner - a sort of iced donut). However, on eating, all the ingredients came into their own, chick peas, crunchy crisps, yogurt, mint and tamarind. The spices got more apparent the further into the dish you got.
Murgh Makhni was the main dish I chose. The chicken was cooked to perfection, and just about the right portion size for me to finish the dish.

overall
 4.2

reviewer Fraser Hancock
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 3.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment Popadoms + Dips
Malai Tikka Starter
Malabar Prawns
Butter Naan
Pilau Rice

All food tasted very good, number of prawns in main was a bit lacking. Overall quite expensive.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £40 (including tip)
comment The poppadums came in handy hand size pieces. Nice and crispy with absolutely superb dips. The tomato one in particular was exceptional. I had a lovely peppery taste in my mouth afterwards!
We also had an excellent complimentary deep fried ball with delicious pea and tomato filling.

Starter of Tandoori grill salmon. Salmon with paprika, jeera, curry leaf and mustard crust that was sublime!

Main of Lamb Railway Curry was brilliant. Tender melt in the mouth in the lamb with a great mix of spices - loved it! Also has there ever been a better naan than the cheese and onion one - it was amazing!

Sides. The Tarkha dahl and the Paneer were very good. However the Sag Aloo was outstanding. Exceptionally smooth spinach, great green colour and great earthy flavour!

Excellent restaurant with outstanding food matched with superb service.
Now I know some will moan at the £40 cost but I thought that I'd much rather pay more for something so memorable rather than say £30 on a meal that wasn't so special.
For me it is definitely the one to beat this year and I will certainly be back!
overall
 4.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date February 2016
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £40 (including tip)
overall
 4.6

reviewer Lauren Douglas
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £40.00 (including tip)
comment Starter: Sixty Five
Main: Railway lamb curry

Excellent food, nicest meal I have had in a while but the price was a bit steep for my liking! This is somewhere I would revisit on a special occasion.
overall
 4.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81684 times ]