Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Namaste"

17-19 Forrest Rd, Edinburgh, EH1 2QH, 0131 220 2273 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Namaste" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 7 reviews
overall
 2.8
with an average price of £33.14
pre-starters
 3.6
starters
 4.6
mains
 3.4
sides
 3.4
service
 2.9
atmosphere
 3.3
value for money
 1.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2016
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £32 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were crispy enough, although there was not enough chutney and pickles (probably needed another pickle tray). Wasn't overwhelmed with what we did have and no lime pickle!

However I had an excellent starter of Haka Choila (lamb cubes). A really tasty dish that was very well spiced and superbly presented as well.

Main of Kukhura ho Jahil (hot)- chicken on the bone with lemon and coriander, was right on the limit of my heat level. However I enjoyed it, the chicken was very well cooked in an extremely spicy (for me) sauce.

Nothing special about the main of aloo gobi ordered as aside dish for the table though.

Felt like a vast improvement from our more disappointing visit there last time out!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Jean Houston
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £25
comment This is not the first restaurant where the starter was more enjoyable than the main course. The garlic mushrooms were nice and spicy. The Nepalese menu was a bit different to traditional Indian, but I decided on a change (for me) and choose a fish dish - Kashmiri Fish Curry. I know Kahmiri is usually mild, so I asked for 'medium' which was offered on the menu. I found this dish very bland, not even mild, although the red snapper itself was fine. The popps were unusual and enjoyed these. The side dish helped to add a little bit of spiciness to the fish.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 1.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment Poppadum's (folded) and pickles - great
Starters Lamb Chops - great
Main chicken Karahi - a bit too mild, not as tasty as I expected.

Sides - A bit spicier than normal - good

Starters arrived in good time
Took a long time to get Mains.
Sill in venue at 10:10 !
overall
 2.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £35 (including tip)
comment Folded Poppodums that were nice and crispy with a great lime pickle and good spiced onions and mango chutney. Not enough of either choice to go round though!

Starter of Haku Choila (Grilled lamb with spices) was lovely. The lamb was nicely spiced and tasty. Could have done with more dipping sauce but that aside, fantastic!

Main of Trishuli ko Machhu ko Jhol (red snapper curry).
The Snapper was a good meaty fish in a sauce that had a bit of heat (fortunately went for the HOT option).
It was tasty and spicy enough but just too much sauce!!

Sides. A very good Tarka dahl - nice and garlicky I thought! Bland Gobi Aloo though!

Service on the slow side which can sometimes be expected when there is a number of us (13 in this case)in a reasonably busy restaurant.

The cost came in at £35 a head. For that price I would have wanted to be more blown away with the food and overall experience than I was sadly.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £35 (including tip)
overall
 3.5

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 0.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were fine but the dips were struggling to get to average - and there wasn't much of them!
Went for the nepalese chicken satay and it was really, really good. Nicely cooked and a little bit spicy.
Main was supposed to be a medium jalfrezi chicken but it was very mild. Chicken was a little overcooked. There were practically no sides on the menu so ordered 2 veg mains but they were so so.
Mains arrived 1 hour 45 after arriving - too slow!

It felt 10 pounds overpriced.
overall
 1.5

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date July 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 2.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 1.0
price £35 (including tip)
comment Starters were fabulous, however the main dishes were rather disappointing, advertised as hot, but the starters were hotter. Ordered an extra nan, paid for it but never arrived.
overall
 1.5

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81766 times ]