Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Mumbai Mansion"

250 Morrison Street, Edinburgh, EH3 8DT, 0131 229 7173 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Mumbai Mansion" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 14 reviews
overall
 3.6
with an average price of £31.64
pre-starters
 2.9
starters
 4.2
mains
 4.1
sides
 3.6
service
 3.3
atmosphere
 3.6
value for money
 2.5

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date December 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £37 (including tip)
comment We had to ask for poppadoms.
Mixed kebab starter - veg pakora was not expected or wanted.
main- Green herb chicken. V. Good
cost was steep. The most I have ever paid. Drinks were 4.20 a pop. We were charged for pre starter.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date December 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.0
price £37 (including tip)
comment Chef’s Platter, consisting of mixed pakora, onion
rings, Allu tikki and chicken chatt -- For two £9.95.

BRICKLANE KASHANI CHICKEN, which is Steamed chicken combined with ground black pepper, brown mustard with green spicy paste consisting of coriander, green chilli, fresh mint, capsicum, ginger & garlic. Popular medium hot dish -- £12.45

Sides were BOMBAY ALOO £4.75 and TARKA DALL £4.75

BASMATI PILAU RICE..£ 3.75
BOILED RICE WITH LEMON ..£ 3.50

GARLIC NAAN £ 3.75

PLAIN NAAN £ 3.25

Two rounds of drinks £14.20

The food was delicious, however I feel it was rather pricey and did not warrant the price.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Tina Greig
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Starter (prawn puri) was lovely, and there were some really nice sauces to accompany the starters. Main (gujpari sag mushroom) also good. Marked down a bit for service, due to comedy misinterpretation, and refusing to believe anyone could actually want a non-alcholic drink. A bit on the pricy side compared to usual CTCT outings too.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Popadoms & Pickles,
Veg Pakora Starter,
Mixed Exotica Main
Garlic Nan,
Sardine Sag side
Bindhi Bahji side.


Order taking was comical, especially drink orders.
However everything arrived correctly and was excellent once it arrived.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Soggy pre-starter
Chicken kebab - excellent
Main - Chicken Bhuna - jolly good
Nice enviroment.
Time to get starter : 20:23
Time to get main: 20:55.
Bit slow with the grub !
Service ok - did not intrude all the time - which is good cos that can wind me up!
overall
 3.3

reviewer James McCamphill
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops: Were stale and not very nice. Pickles were just ok and nothing really worth mentioning. The worst start this year for me :-(

Mixed kebab: Very tatsy, meat was all moist (hmmmm moist) and not chewy which it sometimes can be. The accompanying sauce of onions, peppers and spring onions was very nice. The portion size was also quite generous. -1/2 for a slight lacking in spices/heat.

Semli Methi Gosth: The meat was plentlyfull, very delicate and just falling apart very tasty indeed. The sauce was tasty with a good consistancy and a good deep flavour although again lacking in a wee bit of heat.

Sides: All quite good Dahl was not too watery but was however a wee bit bland. Sag Aloo was v good and the Bindi Baji was very good (the best for a long while)
Naans were a reasonable size and rather than being too doughy had a crispy bottom which added a nice texture to the whole meal.

Atmo: This place is very clean and nicely decorated too, a nice place to be for dinner.

Service: Good service and considering the size of our group (11) we have had alot worse. All dishes correct and present in a reasonable time frame.

Overall the food was above average but the above average price tag was not so good.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment Popadoms amongst the most stale I've had. Reasonable choice of dips, but a bit bland.

Mixed kebab was really very tasty indeed. Even the veg pakora was nice! Whole dish covered in fried onions and peppers.

Salmon jalfrezie very nice. Salmon moist; lots of onion and peppers, but just lacked something.

Tarka dahl average; sardine saag interesting.

Service average for a large group.

Restaurant itself modern and fresh looking.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Pops were stale and pickle selection quite dull!

Starter of chicken kebab was excellent. Really enjoyed the succulent chicken and subtle flavours.

Main of Simla Methi Ghost was also very good: Tender steamed lamb with lovely spicy sauce. I also rather liked the naan bread which was a bit crispy. It was just right for me as I don't like them too doughy!

I thought the sides were a bit mixed. The tarkha dahl was mediocre and sag aloo average, but the bhindi bhaji was very nice and the sardine and sag interesting!

I was quite impressed by the service despite the initial difficulties in taking the drinks order. In fact the drinks and poppodums order was taken within 5 minutes of us sitting down and then our starter and main course was ordered by 10 to 8! Admittedly it did take a while after that for our starter and main courses to arrive but to be expected I guess when there was 11 of us.

Overall a very smart and clean restaurant with some very good food and decent service considering our large party. It was however rather on the expensive side and I'm not convinced that the overall experience justified it. Still, I think I would give it another go!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £31 (including tip)
comment Sheek keebab was very tatsty but for some indiscernable reason not quite a 5 ....

Main course wasn't what I thought I'd ordered but was very good anyway - I think that the waiter was slightly hard of hearing!

overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £31 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms semmed a little stale.

Salmon Chola Puri starter was a little lacking in salmon. But the flavour made up for it, very tasty!

Lamb Jalfrezie main. The lamb was very good, almost melted in the mouth. The sauce was spicy, but left a peppery taste in the mouth.

The side dishes were OK, very good portion sizes for sides. The Tarka Dhall could do with more garlic for my taste.

The service was a little on the slow side, but that often happens with a party of eleven. The restaurant is spacious and well fitted out.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Lamb chop starter : well cooked with subtle flavours
Trout main : tastey but mild
overall
 3.8

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date September 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Starter was Sabzi Pakora.
Main was Phoolans Sag Gost, which is lamb cooked in spinach, herbs, garlic and chillies.
Lamb was well cooked and tender, no complaints there.
1 hour for starters to arrive, that could be because there were 11 of us, possibly.
Service was marked low due to my pet hate, clearing the table while someone is still eating, the height of bad manners in my opinion.
Perhaps attending with a smaller crowd, my opinion would change. It certainly is not on my black list and I would give it another chance.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Andre Sadeghpoor
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £31
comment It's a few doors up from 'Ignite', not much to look at from the outside - off centre door with half opaque glass either side, its sign is small so could easily be missed. The inside decor is typically modern, clean, spacious and very well lit (including the toilets). Service is good and staff are friendly.

For starters, I had 'salmon choli puri' (a salmon & chickpea mix garnished with salad with a puri cut into quarters); for main, I had 'prawn patak' (lentil & spinach prawns) , we shared rice and nan bread. I liked both but preferred the starters as I usually find the prawns are a little overcooked in these places.

The price was a bit steep at just over £31/head (although it included 2 alcholic drinks each)
overall
 3.5

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80336 times ]