Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Mother India Cafe"

3-5 Infirmary Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1LT, 0131 524 9801 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Mother India Cafe" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 31 reviews
overall
 3.7
with an average price of £20.84
pre-starters
 2.9
starters
 3.7
mains
 4.1
tapas
 4.2
sides
 3.8
service
 3.6
atmosphere
 3.8
value for money
 4.0

reviewer Sarah Jane Berry
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27
comment The poppadoms were very nice and crispy and the mango chutney was rather tasty but not enough of it to go around. The onions had a nice spice to them.

I had some garlic mushroom pakora which was very nice and the dip it came with was delicious.

The chilli garlic chicken was definately my favour dish, good spice to it, nice flavour and plenty of garlic for me. The chicken achari tasted nice enough but was a bit bland (spice wise) compared to what I was expecting.

It was nice to go to somewhere a bit different and the atmosphere was great and service wasnt too bad. They did their best with the number of us there. Definately a place for a smaller group of people.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment

Popadoms, Crispy, Plentiful and with a good array of pickles.

Shish Kebab:
Tasty, but a bit dry.

Lamb Karahi:
Very good with a rich sauce. possibly lacking a bit in spicyness.

Okra and Potato Bhaji:
Well cooked and good chunky cut Okra.
Sauce was a bit bland for my taste.

Service was good considering the chaotic nature of a group of 13 in a tapas style venue. Not perfect, but good enough. Value was good considering that most folk had a couple of beers on the side.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment The busiest restaurant we have been in for some time, but given this, and having 13 in the group, the service was pretty good.

I ordered Chana Daal, Ginger Chicken and spinach leaf, and Coconut Pepper Lamb. Of these 3 dishes the chicken was the best, hot in both senses of the word. The daal was pretty good, but lamb disappointing - first piece of lamb was chewy, and second was gristly.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment lime pickle I could eat and enjoy - not too sour!

coiander lime trout - simply baked fillet with lime and coriander - superb flavour and good moisture content.

spicy keema dosa - I tried this lentil pancake as something different. The pancake was was tougher than standard crepe. wasn't aware of different flavour of the pancake but spicy meat filling was very nice.

Ginger chicken and spinach - tasty with good sauce/meat balance.

We should have ordered more rice.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops were very crispy. Mango chutney and onions okay. I quite liked the mixed pickle - probably means that the pickle lovers didn't, as it wasn't too sour.

Spiced haddock (when it finally arrived) was the highlight of the meal. Very suculent and a nice gentle spice.

Chilli king prawns didn't last long enough - they were so tasty that I devoured them. A lovely marinade, but perhaps a tad overcooked.

Ginger chicken and spinnach was okay - got an initial hit of ginger, but not much throughout the dish.

There were a few dishes that arrived late (my haddock was one). Annoying, but almost understandable considering that all 13 people on the table ordered 3 dishes each.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Fraser Hancock
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Order:
Chicken Breast curry
Chilli-Garlic Chicken
Shish Kebab
Cheese Naan

All food was very tasty.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Crispy enough poppodums let down badly by uninspiring pickles and dips. The lime pickle in particular I felt was totally bland.

We each selected 3 Tapas style plates for our meal -which is the right amount of dishes per person, I would say.

The spiced haddock was absolutely gorgeous - full of flavour, spicy, loved it - 5/5!

Chilli Garlic Chicken was excellent too, succulent chicken pieces, nicely spiced with good flavour and heat - 5/5!

Lamb saag was spicy, which you don't normally associate with that type of dish. That was great but the lamb was quite chewy and grisly - that was not so great -3.5/5!

The restaurant was really busy and given the Tapas style dishes it serves, felt a bit chaotic at times. Think that they just about managed to keep on top of it but some mistakes were made with the service.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £27
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date February 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp but dips not startling

Ginger chicken and spinach - dull, spicy keema dosa - very good, chilli chicken dosa - good

Very good service and nice atmosphere
overall
 3.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment This meal was very enjoyable and a bit unusual for CTCTs. Being able to order a selection of smaller dishes suited my portion size very well. And with my sister visiting we could have a fair selection between us. Chicken Tikka Makhani was the tops of the dishes ordered. Missed the larger selection of dips for Popps, but they were actually quite crispy and tasty just on their own anyway. Very busy restaurant in 'student' part of town. Staff brilliant at coping with this.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Not a big fan of tapas style places but this turned out to be alright. However I'd always prefer an old fashioned meal split into courses.

No lime pickle resulted in point docking but mango and onions were really nice. Onions not glowing and mango actually had chunks in it!

Had a starter type dish and two main course type dishes and all were surprisingly good sized portions but maybe couldve done with a fourth if it hadnt been for others with leftovers. Overall the food was really well cooked but the fish i had (which again was well cooked) didnt really have any taste or spice to it which was a bit dissapointing.

Atmosphere was good and service was excellent, even when they made mistakes they were quick to admit fault, apologise and sort it out where possible which is all you can ask for.

Overall a pleasant experience that would be much more suited for a couple or smaller group.

overall
 3.9

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
tapas
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment This place is Tapas style which put me off a bit, but the food turned round my initial feelings.
Each dish was about starter or small main dish in size.
3 each turned out to be about the right level.
I still prefer the normal popadoms->starter->main meal plan.

Popadoms were nice and crisp with good chilli-onion and Mango dips. However there were the only dips.

For main course I had Chilli Garlic Chicken, Patina Lamb & Okra Aloo Bhaji.

The Chilli Garlic chicken was lovely, but possibly not as hot as some would like it. It was plenty hot enough for me.

The Patina Lamb was rich and almost BBQ with mint. Unusual and nice.

The Okra Aloo Bhaji was a nice blend of flavours with a slightly hot'n'sour sauce.

The Garlic Nans were a little underdone, but nice and Garlic.

Also good to see Kingfisher on draught at a resonable price per pint.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Ellen Paull
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
tapas
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment On entering the restaurant, I was met with the wonderful aroma of rich spices. This gave an instant good feeling. Service was speedy and very well carried out. Staff polite and very pleasant. Chicken dishes very tender. food kept hot throughout. A very good evening with excellent food and company.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
tapas
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppodums with above average spiced onions and mango chutney. Must however mark it down slightly for lack of lime pickle and also that the chutneys ran out quite quickly. Needed more of it and more choice!

The chilli garlic chicken was lovely. Nicely spiced and with a good amount of heat. Lamb saag also good with a touch of spice but the lamb was a bit tough. Spiced haddock also tasty but the fish was perhaps a tad overcooked. The naans were a bit soggy but at least garlicky!

I thought the service from start to finish was excellent. However an ordered peshwara naan came to the table too late to be eaten, as we all had finished by then! We weren't charged for it though.

A great bustling restaurant that seems to run along like clockwork. As well run as you are likely to find anywhere. I'll certainly be back to sample more of their dishes!
overall
 4.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Lack of quantity and variety on pickles but tasty. Food was generally very tasty even though a couple of dishes were slightly overcooked (haddock and lamb Karachi)
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date September 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were crisp but dips were uninspiring.

It's a tapas restaurant so we all ordered 3 dishes and I treated the aloo saag dosa as my starter. It came wrapped in a crepe with a really nice side dahl dip but a little too much saag and not enough aloo.

1st main: ginger chicken & spinach leaf. Absolutey. Bloody. Superb. Gets the main rating a 5. Hot but sweet. Lemon flavour but not sour. chicken cooked to perfection. Not tasted better even in the spice pavilion.

2nd main. Chilli king Prawn. Quite hot but no real flavour. Would have got a 3 but the 1st main was so good I discounted this in the scoring.

Great service. Minor mistakes were sorted without any quibble and the bill was corrected without prompting for a missing nan.

Overall, very very good
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date October 2009
tapas
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment Food typically excellent - we don't bother with popadoms here any more.

Lamb on the bone curry with okra fulfilled a lack in my stomach since it was offended by the 9 Cellars bland tomato soup masquerading as a North India Chilli Garlic Chicken on Wednesday.

Chicken & Lamb dosas were excellent as ever.

And at 15 per head this place is by far the best value for money in town.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Tina Greig
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 2.75
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Seating very cramped. Restaurant smells great when you first walk in.

Served very quickly - marked down for missing Mary's food. Bit chaotic - would be better with a smaller group.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 3.8
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £15 (including tip)
overall
 3.5

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 5.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms average, as were the spicy onions.
My main dishes took ages (I think they forgot me) but were well worth waiting for. The spicy Keema Dosa was very spicy and flavorful. The Chicken Tikka Mahkini was creamy and delicious.
Was very busy and noisy but that didn't detract too much from the experience. Will definitely return.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Servile & ungraded due to squish @ <smudge> tab6
<curry stain> Prestartz -2only

Buzy Rest...<curry stain>...ant
Popular Place <indeterminate stain>
- good sish <curry stain>
overall
 3.8

reviewer James McCamphill
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment I can's be bothered to write too much tonight - let's just say that I enjoyed it.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 1.0
tapas
 4.0
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 0.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment V Cramped. Noisy.

V Poor Service. It was quick but much reaching across - taking away plates before we'd finished.

Food was very good. I'd come again in a smaller group.
overall
 1.1

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
tapas
 3.8
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment Not very much wine in my spritzer!

Food was good - liked the tapas style.

A nice place to come if you're a couple - not so good as a big group.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Not enough chutneys with the popadums - only mango and onions (in flourescent red flavour).

Nice big prawns in the chilli king prawn. Tasty, but a bit overdone and not very hot. Chilli garlic chicken had a bit more kick, but not much flavour.

Busiest place we've been to. Best in small numbers I think.

Shame the organiser didn't book it until we were in the pub or we may have been on a bigger table with more room.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 1.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment No lime pickle!!!

Loud and cramped. Probably suited to a small group.

Excellent food though, novel dishes, well liked.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
tapas
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment A bright star in a universe mostly composed of Dark Energy.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Bob Marshall
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £15 (including tip)
comment Very busy & noisy.
Service could have done with a bit more time between dishes. Both dishes were very good & full of flavour.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date March 2009
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 5.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £15 (including tip)
comment The service has only been given 1 since we were boxed into a very cramp corner and the waiters were stretching over to reach the people sitting against the wall, also they had a habit of taking plates away while you were still eating and someone had to wait an age for their food. The restaurant cannot cater for large parties.

However, not withstanding the service problem the food was excellent. The pre-starters only had two choices of dip, spicy onions and mango chutney, I must say that the onions were delicious, for my main dish I had chilli fish cakes with okra and potato bhaji, again very nice indeed.

For a Wednesday night the restaurant was very busy.
overall
 1.8

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 2.0
tapas
 4.2
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were a bit stale.
This restaurant styles itself as an Indian Tapas restaurant so typically you choose 2-3 dishes each and share. The garlic mushroom pakora was not very garlicky in my opinion and was the weakest of the 4 dishes I tried. The Chilli Garlic Chicken and Chilli King Prawn however were superb. The Chilli Garlic Chicken definitely had something like lime pickle through it and the (whole) cloves of garlic I found were also pickled - very tasty. The Chilli King Prawn was done kebab style wrapped in foil which kept the flavours in. Finally, the Dhal was very tasty indeed. Rather than Naan, they have more chapati-style bread which is very tasty and because it is thin, doesn't stuff you out. Very enjoyable on the whole.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
tapas
 4.2
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment What Mary said.
overall
 3.6

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80331 times ]