Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Mezbaan"

14 Brougham Street, Edinburgh, EH3 9JH, 0131 229 5578 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Mezbaan" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 10 reviews
overall
 3.2
with an average price of £25.00
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.2
mains
 3.9
sides
 3.4
service
 2.6
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.4

reviewer Jean Houston
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Super poppadoms, light and crispy, with decent amount of 3 dips that were esp tasty when blended altogether.
'Mini' did not describe the dosa starter. There was enough to share round the whole table. Reasonably tasty, with veg in a spicy gravy, and a creamy sauce to accompany.
Had my traditional dish Lamb Bhuna, which was nice and spicy too, but let down by the rice which was not very warm and was a bit lumpy. Tried a new side dish - Beetroot Pachdi, which was an unusual yogurt based accompaniment.
Found the lighting too bright, and the one nearest our table continually dimmed and brightened which was quite annoying.
Overall a good meal with new things to try, and good amount of spiciness in just about everything. Good vfm.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms: Very good popadoms, with unusual pickles, could have used slightly more pickles.

Starter: Mixed Pakora and Bonda.

Main: Lamb Achari. Very rich and tasty, not too hot.

Sides: Bombay Aloo Nice and spicy.
Bhindi Baji well cooked, but a little bland.
Beetroot Pachdi, comical colour, not much flavour.

Service: a bit slow, but not bad otherwise.

Atmosphere: a bit cold white and bright. Lighting needs sorted.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 0.5
value for money
 1.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pickles not great.Strange veggie one.
Starters: (servered 8:36)I ordered Chicken Kebab. It was taking so long they gave me a cold Lamb Kebab to keep me going til the real one arrived.
Main: (Served 9:17)Chicken Balti: Good enough but a small portion.
Service - slow, cold food.
Atmosphere: Poor, we had a comedy light which randomly switched on and off.
overall
 1.6

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pappadoms were crispy albeit a bit greasy still from being deep fried.
Chutneys were unusual and included a couple with sweetcorn and broad beans and diced veg tipped out of the can into some spicy gloop. Surprisingly good though

The Fish Vada starter was quite good and tasty. Once again still greasy from the fryer which also seemed to case-harden its outer shell. Good though!

Main course was Lamb Nilgiri which once getting over the shock of its very green appearance, proved to be tasty chunks of lamb (which tasted of lamb!) in a really good blend of spices. Highly recommended.

The side dishes were pretty good but nothing out of the ordinary. The first dish of Tarka Dhal to go round the table was very runny but the second one was spot on. Good taste once again.

The service was a bit slow even after taking the orders but with a table of 15 or so I think the waiter did quite well. He even made a note of where to deliver each dish, avoiding that 'What the hell did I order?' moment.

I'd recommend Mezbaan and would certainly go back again.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops nice and crispy. Mango chutney had a little bit a spice to it. Not sure about the mixed pickle or the onions though.

Salmon Tikka didn't have the freshest of salmon in. Looked very sorry for itself on the plate with 5 small bits and a small pile of onions and peppers in the corner of a cold plate - making the fish itself a bit on the cold side. Slight spice to it with quite a nice marinade, but overall disappointing.

Wajid Ali was very nice when it eventually arrived. Lots of flavours in there from the "aromatic spices" as described on the menu. A gentle heat, but at least this dish was hot when it arrived.

Sides were a bit average - Tarka Dhal rather thin and lacking in garlic; Bombay Aloo had a nice spice to it; Bhindi Baji was okay; Beetroot thing was different, but nothing special.

Service was hap-hazard to say the least. Now I know that we were a group of 15, but I asked the specific question to the guy taking our order, "Can your kitcken handle an order of this size?" To which the answer was yes. Well they obviously can't and the talk of cold starters and the fact that it took at least 20 minutes from the first plate of rice arriving at the table and the last side dish is testiment to that. I had a few mouthfulls of my main course, but had to sit around waiting for everything else or I'd have ended up eating my main with rice and then the sides with the naan breads later. I wish restaurants would have the balls to admit that the table is too large for the kitchen and split the order into two tables so that everyone can enjoy hot food!
overall
 2.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The poppodums and dips I did not like. The pops tasted a bit off to me and the dips were a bit strange, particularly the one with the peas, beans and sweetcorn in some curry gloop! It wasn't that appealing to me!

The starter of Fish Vada was also a touch disappointing. I felt they had very little taste and they were a bit greasy and flat. Served with a very stingy side salad too!

However I have to say that I really did enjoy my main course of Gosht Pepper Masala. The lamb was very well cooked and the sauce nicely spiced! Very good!

For me the sides were ok but nothing out of the ordinary. The Bombay Aloo Jeera was good even if the curry sauce tasted like the same stuff used for the bean, pea and sweetcorn pickle! Tarkha dahl seemed to be missing garlic and the bhindi bhaji was fine.

As expected with a party of 15 the service was on the slow side. This was a problem especially with the main course when things were arriving out of order. Perhaps it would have been better to have had our party on two separate tables!

On the whole nothing too memorable to make me want to return.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment The starter would have scored higher if it wasn't cold. They seemed to struggle with a table of 15. Would probably have been better otherwise. Good quality food on the whole
overall
 3.4

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp and fresh. Dips unusual. Chutney as usual, one other was like a doritos salsa and the third was a mix if sweetcorn, broad beans, veg in a thin sauce that tasted like lime pickle. Fine but on reflection I'd have preferred traditional.

Starred was mysore e-galafi. Basically lamb shish kebab.good with a spicy side sauce.

Chicken jalfreize - good.

Disappointment was that the mains arrived significantly before the nans which were well before the sides. Too big a party at 15 heads.

Enjoyed the sides though.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The dosa starter was nice, but apart from that not great. New larger menu now, compared to a few years ago.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date March 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25
comment I did enjoy the pre starter, the usual chutney, spiced onions and a new one, similar flavour to lime pickle but it was mixed veg.

Starter was chicken pakora. A little cold.

Main was lamb cafriel, which is lamb in a masala sauce with spinach, mint and chillies. This was very tasty, however a tad cold.

I was here in December with a similar number of people (15) and the service was slow and it was the same this time. The food is tasty but cold. I would consider going back but with no more the 4 people.
overall
 3.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81775 times ]