Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Kismot"

29 St. Leonards Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9QN, 0131 667 0123 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Kismot" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 14 reviews
overall
 3.7
with an average price of £22.50
pre-starters
 4.2
starters
 3.6
mains
 3.4
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.7

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date June 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadums came with plenty of good quality pickle.
2 lime pickles, Mango and Onions. Could have done with a riata type dip too.

Sheek kebab starter was well spiced and had a good lamb flavour.

Side dishes were good as was the haggis Nan, but the main dish was a bit of a let down.
I had Lamb Ada, which is labelled as a medium.
It had a nice flavour, but wasn't even in the top end of mild for spicyness. A few other folk who had mediums noted the same. The hots do seem to really be hot though.

overall
 3.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were crispy although I felt they weren't the freshest. However the pickles and dips were excellent, especially the really sour lime pickle - I loved it! The other lime pickle did not quite hit the spot in the same way the sour one did for me. Also good onions and mango chutney.

Starter of Chicken Tikka kebab was way too dry and quite chewy. It didn't help the sauce wasn't that nice (it needed the extra chilli sauce to liven it up) and was really thickly coated on the chicken making it, for me, a rather disappointing dish.

Main of lamb garam massallam was a hot dish and it was very hot, but it was more a peppery rather than spicy heat and I didn't like the taste of it much. I did appreciate that the lamb itself was really very well cooked but not a dish I'll come back to I'm afraid.

Sides. The tarkha dahl had a really nice garlicky flavour but the others weren't great. Bhindi Bhaji (okra a bit slimy) and Bombay Aloo (the potato was a bit undercooked) weren't in the same league as the excellent tarkha dahl.

A very busy restaurant so as expected service was a bit slow and a few mistakes were made. However it was cheery and friendly.

My overall feeling is one of disappointment as I had semi-high hopes for Kismot but it didn't really live up to that expectation.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date June 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp. Dips very good. 2 lime pickles which I liked although others thought 1 was bland, spiced onions and mango chutney tasty.

Chana puri for starter. Very tomatoey sauce with no real personality. A bit nondescript.

Chicken jalfrezie for main. Hot but not much flavour

Sides ok but not startling

Service was pleasant but there was a cheery running commentary
To keep reminding them of the dishes they forgot to bring

Overall I was a bit disappointed
overall
 3.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Two different Lime pickles with the poppadums. Super!
Mixed Samosas starter OK, but not easy to tell the difference between the two meat samosas. I'm sure I should be able to determine the difference between Beef and chicken?
Chicken Jalfrezie Main. Plenty of chilli, but lacking the depth of flavour I would normally expect from this dish.
Tarka Dhall side-dish - SUPERB, best I've had for some time. High mark for sides due entirely to this dish.
Bombay potatoes - a little tasteless.
Other sides merely average.
Avoid the Haggis Naan bread - Not good, and the Garlic Naan wasn't!
They seemed to lose track of our orders and had to ask what they hadn't served, otherwise service was OK.
A very pleasant place to eat, but a little crammed on the table. But I guess 12 IS quite a large party.
Their web-site would benefit from a Table Booking facility, especially as you can't contact them outside evening opening hours.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25
comment Not quite sure how I rated this restaurant. I had mixed feelings about it. Poppadoms did not have any taste, but there was certainly a good amount of pickle and some of it was h-hot. The Chicken Ada main dish was described as being with lemon and ginger and strong Indian spices. Did not notice much of the latter, but the chicken itself was very good, only a couple of the pieces were actually the lemon. Well I quite like lemon, but after eating two pieces I was very apprehensive about finding any more. Still I managed to finish it all. Next time I am definitely going to try the Irn Bruna.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment
BYOB, which is always nice.
2 Lime pickles (Hot or Sour)

Interesting range of Rice and Nans
overall
 4.2

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment
Pre-starters had 2 lime pickles. one was of the old school - flaming strong, just like my Mum used to make.

Starters - very filling, cos of the Chapatti(Pitta Bread). Also very tasty

Mains- Lamb Sag - Very tender Lamb, bit fatty thou.

Sides - jolly good.

I was disturbed during my meal by the spector of human suffering. Gavin & Dave were in varying degrees of panic sweating, sensation loss in various body parts. Central nervous system damage was observed, esp in Dave's case. This was due to the Naga chilli, which seemed to be the sole ingredient in the Killer curry they were trying to finish. Brave but ill advised......

overall
 3.9

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Our trip to sample the Kismot Killer

Popadoms crispy and always nice to have a choice of lime pickles. I prefered the hotter of the two as the other one was just way too sour for me - a face screwer upperer!

The prawn puri was very tasty: nice flavours coming through, but I felt that the sauce was a bit too gelatinous compared to others.

Onto the Killer. Oh my!!! First couple of mouthfuls were easy, but then the heat started to build! I think I'll claim a 2nd class award for managing more than most folk do - I finished off all the meat and about half of the sauce. Took a doggy bag to let others feel the burn. Will still end up on their hall of shame though. I wasn't all that keen on the flavour though - but then again it's just pure chillies, so what can one expect? I can't help feeling that I may have finished it if it had a nicer flavour.

Before the Killer I sampled their chocolate naan. Very tasty indeed! Next time I'm back I may have one with a "normal" curry!

Very friendly and fun atmosphere with good banter from the staff.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £21
comment Good feed all round. Chocolate nan worked really well, as did the chilli rice - nice to see some novel stuff. The mango lassi was outstanding.
On to the kismot killer: it was insane. My whole body was tingling from the endorphines. I couldn't speak because my toungue was numb. It is quite possibly the hottest curry ever. Can't say I'd recomend it, unless I was feeling sinister, but it was a unique experience.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date September 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23 (including tip)
overall
 3.8

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date March 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
price £20.00
comment BYOB and right next door to my favorite pub.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date March 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent food and a friendly, helpfull service. They even do a Phal! Bring Your Own Booze too.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date March 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Superb service (very helpful and friendly) and top quality food, a disappointing Tarka Dhal aside. Great selection of lime pickle too!
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date March 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Service very good, disappointed with Main Course (Phal Not Hot Enough!) and Tarka Dhal VERY POOR.
overall
 3.0

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81689 times ]