Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Khushi's (Edinburgh)"

10 Antigua Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3NH, 0131 558 1947 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Khushi's (Edinburgh)" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 8 reviews
overall
 3.7
with an average price of £23.50
pre-starters
 4.2
starters
 3.8
mains
 3.7
sides
 3.8
service
 3.6
atmosphere
 3.4
value for money
 3.6

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date March 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
overall
 3.5

reviewer Calum Hunter
review date March 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms: Good and a good selection of dips.

Pakora Chat (Starter): Tasty. Not quite what I was expecting (not had it before) but was enjoyable all the same.

Lamb Karahi (Main): Lovely. Lamb well cooked. Good portion sizes and a good level of spice.

overall
 3.6

reviewer Jean Houston
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment What can I say? This was not like a Curry Club meal at all. More like one in a Crawfords restaurant. I've been eating Lamb Bhunas since the 1960s and this one wasn't the least bit spicy. Beautifully cooked - yes, very tasty - yes, but not a CURRY! And the atmosphere was just that of a busy Edinburgh restaurant, but not Indian.
On the plus side, service very good, quiet and efficient; side dish Raj Aloo was very good; pre-starters good and decent amount of the pickles; and wonderful lamp shades.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops were a bit smaller than the norm, but were still crispy. Spicy onion was very nice. Lime pickle... just why do folk put themselves through that! Still too sour for me. Not that it's a bad thing as everyone else (well the lime pickle freaks) loved them. Liked the thick mango chutney too.

Crispy Chilli Squid was nice but could have beena bit crispier and a bit spicier. Really needed the sauce for an extra bit of spice.

Lamb sag had lovely tender meat. I'd have preferred more spinach and a little more spice though.

Tarka Dahl nice. Aloo thing and augergine were a bit average.

Very busy restaurant, but food arrived promptly and still hot. All done and dusted shortly after 9pm.

BYOB which helped keep the price down.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Good poppodums with a lime pickle that really hit the spot, and plenty of it too! Also enjoyed the spiced onions but sadly the other pickles/dips weren't up to scratch.

Starter of chicken tikka very nice. It was lovely and spicy and it didn't really need the green herb dipping sauce.

Main of Lamb Jalfrezie. The lamb was excellent and was so well cooked that I didn't need to use my knife! It was also spicy enough for me. However I didn't like the garlic naan bread as it was too doughy (I prefer them crispier) and the garlic was non-existant.

Sides were Raj Aloo (fantastic), Tarkha Dahl (great) and brinjal masala (a tad non-descript).

Couldn't fault the service. It was a very busy restaurant but we were served with minimum of fuss and no mistakes and we were all finished by just after 9pm. Very well done!

All in all a very enjoyable evening and I for one would be tempted to return!
overall
 4.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Great pickle tray. Tandoori stuffed mushrooms a good idea well implemented. Lamb rogan josh on the bone worked really well. All round very satisfying
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment The restaurant was heaving. I don't think I've ever seen an indian restaurant this full on a Wednesday Evening. First impression was that either this was going to be a service disaster, or they are going to be the best organised restaurant ever.

Well as far as service is concerened, you couldn't ask for much better. Only had to remind them to take a Drinks and popadum order before taking the meal order.
The rest of the service was excellent, friendly, no mix-ups and no long waits.

Excellent value chutney platters with the pops. I loved the lime pickle and onion, but the Mango and yoghourt dips were less appealing.

My starter was only OK. Chicken Tikka tasted mainly of lemon to me and the green sauce for the salad was pretty tasteless.

I ordered Lamb Jalfrezie for my main course. On the plus side, they really know how to cook lamb, it melted in my mouth. It tasted pleasant, But I expect a Jalfrezie to be pretty spicy and this wasn't. Not a green chilli in sight.

Side dishes were Ok too, I especially liked the Tarka Dhall. Good job we ordered a Main as everyone wanted some.

It's always a pleasure to eat in a well run busy restaurant. It certainly improves the atmosphere. But for me, the spice wasn't present. Maybe I'll have to try again and specifically ask for my food a little hotter.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date April 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Interesting lamp shades.
overall
 3.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80322 times ]