Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Khushi"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2009 ***

32b Broughton Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3SB, 0131 556 8092 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Khushi" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 25 reviews
overall
 4.1
with an average price of £25.84
pre-starters
 3.9
starters
 4.2
mains
 4.2
sides
 3.9
service
 4.2
atmosphere
 3.9
value for money
 3.4

reviewer Jean Houston
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Very nice meal, starting with complimentary pre-pre-starter - a very tasty little dish of spicy chana.

Nice crispy pappadams, tasty pickle.

Onion Bhaji, thankfully not as big as I've seen, with tasty dip.

Main dish, Lamb Punjabi Massalla, described as 'strong' taste, was certainly better than a few mains I've had lately.

Service was quiet, pleasant, and very efficient.

Prices were more reasonable than £30 would suggest. We were a bit ott with the tip (nobody had change).
overall
 4.2

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Starter: Fish Pakora
Main: Lam Sindhi

Overall a competent restraunt.
Good food, good service,
An especially good main lifting them above the crowd.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment We had a couple of pre-starters, a complimentary chickpea dish that was nice and spicy and the usual round of popadums! The pops were crisp and there was a pretty good selection of pickles to accompany them.

Starter of chicken pakora was pretty good. The batter had a nice hint of spice in it and I enjoyed the spicy dipping sauce too.

Main of Lamb Karahi. Well cooked lamb, with a nicely spiced and hot sauce. I felt it had a good depth of flavour!

Sides of bhindi bhaji and daal were ok but there was nothing particular special about them.

Service was efficient, well organised and friendly.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.2

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date October 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment General - quite a small menu but all the favourites were there.

Prawn puri - good size portion. Very tasty. Bit hot.

Chicken jalfrezi - tasty but a little too hot for me to finish.

Sides were ok but a bit non-descript.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Tina Greig
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Maaaaassive naan bread!

Very tasty mushroom bhaji side dish, but the saag aloo was less impressive.

King prawn massala main was alarmingly red, but very tasty.

Marked down a bit on service for forgetting a drink order.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Lots of rice and BIG Naans.

Starter: Fish and Veg Pakora.
Very nice, especially the Fish.

Main Lamb Punjabi Massalla.
Nice, rich, medium heat sauce.
Lots of flavour. The lamb was nice and tender and not too fatty.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Jean Houston
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Good crispy popps and nice spicy lime pickle. Lost 1/2 point as there was not enough of the toppings.

Was surprised by the Mushroom Pakora as it did not look like pakora at all. I thought I had been served the wrong starter. It was certainly a mushroom dish, a red mushroom dish. Was tasty and probably more healthy than the usual version.

Enjoyed the Lamb Bhuna which had beautifully tender lamb, tasty and nicely spicy .

Love to eat my curry in such traditional Indian decor. Was fascinated by the chairs in particular. Also enjoyed being met immediately by a wonderful spicy aroma.
overall
 3.8

reviewer James McCamphill
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops: Were light, fresh and crispy Lime pickle was just ok maybe do with a bit more sourness though. Again bonus for having no cucumber in the onions (should become standard practise I say)

Starter: Chicken Pokora, Meat was tender and well cooked. Batter was also light and crispy. Portion size was big.

Main: Lamb Dopizia: Meat was very tender and very tasty, the sauce had plenty of onions and had a great flavour and nicely spiced.

Sides: Sag Aloo had plenty of spinach but was lacking in something and not as good as last time. Tarka Dahl was very good.

Nans: Are huge, fresh and very good here.

Service was good and the staff are very accommodating and friendly.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £25
comment Lime pickle I could eat!

Fish pakora - lots of large pieces of fish and veg and herbs in the batter and lots of pakoras. Could probably have had one portion between 2.

Prawn Bhuna - tasty. Amount of sauce was right not so much the plentiful prawns were swimming in it and yet they were well coated.

Tarka Daal- Good consistency lentils soft but still intact with a bit of bite and not too sloppy. I'd have liked more garlic.

Nan bread was a bit thin for me. I like it more spongy. Could have done with a little more garlic. Phil thought it had plenty - did he get it all!

Large seats to the chairs meant one's neighbour wasn't too close (good) but there was very difficult to get into the seats as there was no space between (poor).

Ambient temperature was low and when the door was opened there was a draught and it took a long time to warm up again. As the restaurant was fitted with a heater to make heat curtain I wish they would have use it. I'd describe atmosphere as chilly.

Overal good food, reasonable price, good service.

overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms nice and crispy again. Almost didn't notice the sourness of the lime pickle - please don't tell me I'm getting used to it!?!

Mixed kebab was fantastic: chicken, lamb and minced lamb all tender and nicely spiced in a very nice marinade.

Chicken Jalfrieze (vindaloo hot) was actually a tad disappointing. It was luke warm (they must have been on the brink of handling our party of 14, so I may let them off), but the chicken was dry. The sauce was just a hot sauce with a couple of green meanies - no peppers or onions like I'm used to seeing in this dish (although I've never had Khushi's one before) and it just tasted of ground up chillies. Perhaps the spices are more flavourful in their "normal" strength one?

Sides quite tasty - Tarka Dahl extra garlicy (as requested by Brian), Saag Aloo had lots of spinach and the spicy mushrooms were very tasty.

Their chairs are some of the most uncomfortable on the planet though!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date January 2010
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment The mixed kebab starter was very good. The Nan bread was big and I couldn't eat all the main course which means the portions sizes were great. Everything was very tasty :)
overall
 4.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppodums were as usual fresh and crispy. Thought the mango chutney and lime pickle were ok but not remarkable, although we could have done with more as we ran out of the stuff pretty quickly!

I had the same starter and main course as I had in November mainly because I really enjoyed them then and did so again. The Seikh Kebab was as spicy and tasty as before but this time around I enjoyed my main of Lamb Punjabi Massalah much more and didn't have a problem of finishing it all! I also have to mention the Garlic Nan bread which I thought as well as being huge was also hugely tasty and one of the best we've had! Not too doughy, thin and a tad crispy - just perfect for me at any rate! Really enjoyed it!

Sides. I only had a little spoonful of the Tarka Dahl but it was superb, next time we'll need to order more! The sag aloo was a wee bit of a let down as I felt that they used the sort of new potatoes you get from a tin rather than a fresh spud! So minus marks there!

However once again we had another excellent evening and the staff were as usual very friendly and accomodating.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Once again, a really pleasant evening with good food.
Starter of Prawn Puri was excellent. Just enough flavour, but probably too big (I need to cut down on what I eat).
Main course of Chicken Jalfrezie. Went with Gavin on the hotter spices for this one. Still a really nice dish, although less vegetable matter than most incarnations of this dish which is why I marked it down a little. Still very tasty though.
Tarka Dhal side had extra garlic (as ordered) and was really really good.
Service was high quality and they dealt with our 14 strong party OK.
Nice to meet the kitchen staff who prepared our meal.
Recommend this restaurant to anyone.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment HUGE nan breads.
Food was nicely spicy.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Lesley Howden
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Good service overall. Poppadoms (spelling?!) nice, crisp and non-greasy. Good kick to chutneys but not overpowering. Starter (lamb gosht boti) lovely and moist with nice heat, good salad and sauce. Main (chicken karahi) a lovely curry with nice heat as well. Nan breads massive (!) - garlic nan better than peshwari one which was a bit dry inside. Sides good but okra one definitely better than the lentil and spinach. Lager (Cobra) went down very well with all the generous portions :)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter - onions a bit chewy.
Starter- Sheik Kebab, quite spicy, nice with the supplied yogurt sauce to cool it down a bit.
Main- Lamb Bhindi, good stuff. Lamb tenderness is a good measure of quality in a curry house. It was good but I have had better. Bit of fat on lamb too which could have been better. Good Tast though.
Tarka Daal - sauce not runny enough for my taste.
overall
 4.0

reviewer James McCamphill
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops were very nice and crispy. I can't tell you how happy I was to see no cumcumber in the onions. Lime pickle was just spot on for me.

Tandoori 1/4 chicken: Dispite being a bit redder that you might like to see the meat was very juicey and tender. Spices were just right although it was a bit salty even for me (and I do like salt).

Lamb Dopizia: Again a very happy boy, portion was plentyful and the meat was just falling apart with no knife required. Sauce was very well spiced: just perfect I thought.

Sag Aloo: Lovely: Perfect
Dahl: Very nice too.
Naans: Were huge and obviously very fresh and very as a result tasty indeed. Perswhari was wonderful.

We have a contender for ROTY 2009. As Arnie once said 'Hasta la...... no wait 'I'll be back'; yeah that's it.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Graeme Kelly
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Great food and lots of it!
Always look forward to a visit here. One of my old favourites. Service was great, and they were only given 2 or 3 hours notice for a table of 12.

Pre starter - Plenty of pickles and sauces with the poppadums. Lime pickle in particular was spot on. Usually I don't like the stuff, but I went back for more.

Starter - Fish pakora was excellent. Passed some of mine on to Phil as it was a huge portion. Plenty of sauces again. I don't think they were even finished.

Mains - Chicken dupiaza nicely spiced and very tasty. Gets my thumbs up.

Sides - Daal to die for. This is what I look forward to most about Khushi Broughton St. Nowhere else does it the same. Rich and spicy with big fat lentils! It isn't your normal thin garlick tarka daal, as others comment on here; maybe that could be added to the menu too but please don't take this off..
Nice fresh naans the size of battleships. Just too much for us.

Well done Khushi :-)

overall
 4.9

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date November 2009
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Nice comfortable and colourful seats :)
Good freindly reaction from the waiter when Brian included the CTCT visitor card :)
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Good lime pickle and mango chutney served with the poppadums (defined as a giant crisp in the menu!).
Starter of Seikh Kebab, very tasty and spicy. It was also promptly served at 10 past 8, which I thought was excellent given there was 13 of us to feed!

I had a main of Lamb Punjabi Massalah. The Lamb was very well cooked and there was a good amount of spices in the sauce, although the portion size was very large so I couldn't finish it all. I enjoyed the bhindi side dish but didn't find the others to my taste.

However, overall impression is of a very friendly and well run restaurant. Other restaurants could certainly learn a thing or two about serving a large group of "Curry Tasters" from Kushi, well done!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I was a little worried again this month as we had a large group going to a small restaurant and we have had problems with service in these circumstances in recent months.
I need not have worried however, the welcome and service we received here at Khushi were top class.
The friendly staff were quick to deal with our orders and the food appeared in a sensible timescale.
I had a Prawn Puri for my starter. This dish was very tasty and (for a starter) was quite large. This was a good start to the meal.
My main course was Lamb Sabzi. This was an excellent mixture of good quality lamb and vegetables cooked in a beautifully spiced sauce. The side dishes we ordered complimented the meals well, but on a personal note I prefer Tarka Dhall to the mixed Dall served here.
Overall a very pleasant experience, well done Khushi.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Food: Big & tasty
Rest.: Small but well adorned
overall
 3.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date November 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I had Pakora to start, which were freshly made and not greasy, the chilli sauce was nice. For my main course I had lamb Punjabi massala, very tasty and generous portions, naan breads were huge and tasty. Nice chairs, pity I didn't have a car or they would be missing one this morning.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date November 2006
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms a bit stale - think they'd been sitting out for a few hours. Dips were ok though and even the lime pickle wasn't too sour for me.

Prawn puri was outstanding. Spicy, tasty and a nice portion size. Just couldn't fault it!

Jay puri jeera was very nice: interesting, but a bit rich and creamy by the end of it.

Sides were very nice too, although a shame they don't do a tarka daal.
overall
 4.0

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81709 times ]