Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Kebabish Original"

128 Dalry Road, Edinburgh, EH11 2EZ, 0131 337 3371 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Kebabish Original" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 13 reviews
overall
 4.0
with an average price of £23.15
pre-starters
 3.9
starters
 4.3
mains
 4.3
sides
 3.9
service
 3.4
atmosphere
 3.6
value for money
 4.1

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Excellent mixed grill!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Jean Houston
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Good poppadoms, with spicy onion dip easily the winner in the pickle tray.
I ordered a Kebab starter. Could not remember if it was minced lamb or minced chicken I asked for, but whichever it was it was really tasty and nice and spicy. Only 2 kebabs was too much for a starter for me. If I ever go back to this restaurant I will order this for a main.
The main dish I had this time was Desi Saag Lamb (definitely lamb). It was quite green. That's because Saag is spinach? There was no mention of spinach in the menu, it must have been the mustard leaves. It was quite a tasty dish, but I found some pieces of lamb unpleasantly smooth rather than grainy.
Overall a decent restaurant, but £25 not such a lot of saving when no drinks were purchased.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms
Crisp - good minty sauce with no yohurt.

Fish Tikka
Large chunks of cod, well flavoured and cooked to flake and very moist.

Nihrana
Lamb shank cooked until it fell off the bone and excellent flavor. Accompanying crispy onions were just well fried onions. After one piece of chilli that set my tongue on fire I avoided that part of the side dish.

My order was forgotten so poor service mark.

Decor a little clinical.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms not very crispy, but a couple of the dips were nice - mint chutney and the spicy onions. Lime pickle was very good too apparently as I found it incredibly sour.

Fish Tikka (cod) really was excellent. Big chunks of cod nicely marinated and fired on the grill. Fish was moist and tasty and nice with the dips that came with the starters.

Mixed grill - oh my! It is indeed a big pile of meat - a carnivore\'s delight! Lovely BBQ flavour throughout.

The sides were very nice too - tarka dahl and bindi bhaji.

Service was reasonable, however they did totally forget one main dish and also started clearing the table with people still eating, so I\'ve marked them down for that. It\'s not as if they were needing the table cleared in a hurry as there were plenty of empty tables, with 3 other tables occupied.

The BYOB helped to keep the price reasonable.

I\'d gladly go back for that mixed grill again :-)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment I thought the poppadums were nice and crispy with really good dips, particularly the lime pickle that it had a nice sourness to it that was right up my street!

Starter of Reshmi Kebabs (minced chicken with chilli and coriander) was excellent. It was really tasty and spicy. Enjoyed it a lot!

Main of Nihari which is a lamb shank with ginger, lemon and green chillies. The meat was so well cooked and tender that it just fell off the bone - it had great flavour too. However I didn't really see the point of the soup it came in. It was a bit insignificant to me once you transferred the lamb shank to your dinner plate. It was also a bit oily too!

Sides of bhindi bhjai and tarka dahl were very good.

Marked service down a bit. It wasn't too busy but they still managed to clear a plate a nanosecond after Gav had finished with it and forgot a main course entirely.

However I think it would be worth a return visit as the food is of a very good standard and vfm is great as it's BYOB.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment pre: nice crispy popadoms at our end, plenty dip and nice pickle that was just the right amount of fire and sour for me.

start: lamb tikka from the grill was very tender on the inside and on the whole nicely charred on the outside, couple of bits too much but i would say worth it for the grilled taste.

main: went for the saag option which was unexpectedly spicey, but still tastey, with plenty of meat and sauce

sides: all very nice especially the dahl which was a good consistency and i think had a wee kick to it which was great

service: staff very friendly and the long wait between courses was worth it for the freshness and taste of the meal. Only down points was the plates getting cold waiting for the main and the long time for the bill which we had to ask twice for.

atmos: I actually really enjoyed the more modern feel of this place and the open kitchen was a nice touch, even managed to glance an eye at football which was unobtrusive for everyone else.

vfm: cant fault value with the amount of food we got for our money, portions size not an issue here (especially for Phil "plate o' meat" Hunt), although must take the BYOB into account which would have brought price up to about normal level
overall
 4.2

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment My popadom was a little overdone but others looked fine. The pickles were good and of a reasonable size too.

Starter: Veg Pakora
nice and light and crispy.

Main : Mixed Grill
Oh My God, so much meat!
This place definately specialises in grilled meats.
The other stuff was good, but the mixed grill was astonishing. Well flavoured and huge portion.

Sides: portions a little small perhaps.
Mushroom Bhaji. Real well spiced and nice
Bhindhee Bhaji. nice, but not special
Tarka Dhall. really good, rich and not watery

Service was good but a little on the slow side, especially bringing out the bill.

Atmosphere was modern and open without feeling like a fast food joint.

Value for money, astonishing given the quality of the food.
overall
 4.3

reviewer James McCamphill
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops were fresh and crispy; good pickle portions and they were all very tasty esp the onions.

Starter: Lamb Tikka: The meat was char grilled so had that great slightly crispy outside yet on the main remained tender on the inside. I did not mind the tougher bits so much since the flavor was so tasty with a great spiciness to it.

Main: Lamb Bhuna: Dish was very good indeed. Meat was tender as was the sauce with a fair amount of heat although a bit sweet compared to some of the others that I tried too (which by the way were also very good)

Sides: The Tarka Dahl was by far the best I have had for some time and it also had some kick to it; glad we ordered the big portion :-). Bindi was good too, Naans had plently of garlic but were nothing out of the ordinary but I have had a lot worse too.

The place is clean and modern and a pleasant place to be in and I like being able to see into the kitchen and enjoy the wafts of the food coming out too. Staff are friendly, accommodating and efficient. However the bill should NEVER take 25mins to arrive after asking several times. BOYB helped keep the price down too (good news for the drivers amongst us)

In all a very good meal was had and it def goes on my 'return to list'
overall
 4.1

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy and the flattest I've ever seen (not a bad thing, just a comment). Good sized dips and quite tasty too. The Lime pickle even had a bit of heat about it, although still a bit sour for my taste!

Lamb tikka starter was excellent. Definitely char-grilled, but very tender and a nice bit of spice to it. A few bits with perhaps slightly more charcoal that they should though.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken very nice. Big chunks of all three. Gentle heat that built up through the meal.

Tarka daal and mushroom bhaji were very tasty too.

Only negative point with the food was the excess of cumin in most dishes.

Service reasonably swift, but the plates were cold by the time the mains arrived and the bill took ages to arrive after it was requested.

If I return I'll skip the starter and go straight for the mixed grill I think - Phil's looked very tasty and meaty!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 5.0
price £22 (including tip)
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date April 2011
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Veg pakora to start - very good (but it is diffciult to go wrong with pakora)

Chicken rogan josh for the main was excellent as were the sides of bhindi bhaji and tarka dall.

Bill was good value but it should be noted that it was a BYOB so NO ALCOHOL was included.

Service was very pleasant however a little slow particularly with the bill which had to be asked for a couple of times.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Poppadums OK, plenty of pickle, Lime pickle quite fiery and sour - Good.
Fish Tikka starter OK but lacking in any real taste from the spices. Not a patch on the Salmon Tikka at Tiger Coast.
Desi Saag Chicken, spicier than I imagined, a tasty dish.
If you're hungry, have the mixed Grill as a main. I've never quite seen such a large pile of meat!
Tarka Dhaal served just as I would expect, lots of garlic and a hint of spice. Other sides didn't excite me.
Service OK, but had to be chased up a couple of times to get things and the wait for the bill after asking three times was bad.
A pleasant place with modern surrounds and furnishing.
Good value for money, price kept down because some of us brought their own bottles.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date April 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Meaty.
overall
 3.6

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81753 times ]