Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Kasturi"

35-37 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, EH2 4RG, 0131 228 2441 www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Kasturi" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 2.8
with an average price of £29.22
pre-starters
 1.6
starters
 2.6
mains
 3.6
sides
 2.9
service
 3.2
atmosphere
 3.1
value for money
 2.4

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms
A little stale with an uninspiring selection of pickles. A good quantity of onion mix helped. NO LIME PICKLE!

Mixed Kebab Starter
Nice well flavoured and a good size for a starter. It was missing the lamb kebab, which was remidied later, but was nice despite that.

Green Herb Lamb
Medium to mild heat, but nicely flavoured with loads of spring onion and a rich sauce.

Sides
richly flavoured and well cooked.

Service was a little haphazard at order taking and they were pushing the expensive bottled beer too strongly for my liking. However food and bill delivery were prompt and acurate.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Bright but plain interior. Plenty of staff but we were the only customers in (it was Wednesday though) which didn't do much for the atmosphere. Some interesting spellings on the menu...

Most of the advertised beers were off so we settled for the expensive Cobra lager.

Service was friendly and improved as the meal progressed.

Starter of Aubergene Pakora was a bit bland but the main of Chicken Dansak was good. Sides were ok.
overall
 2.7

reviewer James McCamphill
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops: A bit stale but not too bad, small selection of pickles with no Lime Pickle shocker

Mixed Kebab: Again nothing amazing, sauce that came with it was tasty and had a wee bit of a kick to it. A destinct lack of Lamb with this dish i.e. NONE. When informed a plate of said Lamb did arrive and was actully very tasty.

Main: Lamb Chili Garlic: Now this is more like it although again I have had much better. Sauce was nice and thick and had a good balance of flavour and had some good sized chucks of garlic although laking in heat. apart from 1 peice the meat was very tender and just falling apart.

Sides: as expected just average with exception of the Dahl which was very thin lacking in flavour and garlic, sag aloo was the best of the lot. Naans were also just above average.

Service: Was quite prompt and fast but then we were about the only people in and there were plenty of staff.
Atmo: Pleasent and clean throughout
Value 4 my cash: a bit pricey for the quality of food recieved
overall
 3.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Luckily I was on a soft drink as it appeared that just about everything on the drinks menu was off... apart from the over-priced Cobra!

Popadoms were stale. Small pickle selection of onions, mango sauce (too thin to call it a chutney) and some strawberry yoghurt looking thing didn't do anything for me.

Fish amritsury wasn't available, so I opted for the mixed kebab. I had to check the menu afterwards and noted that I was right - a distinct lack of lamb kebab! Also, I found two rather large chunks of bone in the seek kebab. The chicken (both types) tasted ok though.

They attempted to bribe us with an extra lamb kebab after I'd pointed out the lack of it around the table. I can only assume it was laziness in the kitchen to do two chicken kebabs instead of a chicken and lamb.

Chicken karahi was ok given the fact that there was only one chef in the kitchen: big chunks of chicken, onion and peppers, but the sauce was a bit bland.

Tarka daal didn't have much garlic and neither did the garlic naans. The bhindi bhajee was ok.

Service (apart from the start of the evening) was ok - I didn't realise that Status Quo were serving in an Indian restaurant!

Not the best value for money though - £30 and the only decent(ish) part was the main dish.
overall
 1.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Got off to a bad start with some drinks not available and then confusion over the order. We then had a stale popodum with a very poor selection of pickles.

It picked up a bit thereafter as the starter of chicken pakora wasn't bad at all, and it had a nice dipping sauce.

The main of palak lamb was also pretty good. The lamb was well cooked and had a decent spice and taste to it. Also liked the lemon rice.

Thought the sides were a wee bit dull. More garlic in the tarka dahl would have been better and the bhindi bhaji and the sag aloo were non-descript.

Felt that the starter and main were slightly better than when I was there last December. The food was good but not outstanding and the service picked up after it's bad start. £30 seems to be the average cost these days, but I wouldn't rate this place as good value for money. There are far better resturants in Edinburgh to spend your £30 on!
overall
 2.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 3.0

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Drinks order was a disaster. Everything seemed to be off and the waiter kept getting the order wrong. Not a good start.
Popadoms soft, dips insipid. Not good so far .....
Sheek kebab well presented and tasted fine.

Finally! Chicken palak very good. Not champions league, but very good nonetheless.

Service recovered to ok following opening disaster.
overall
 3.2

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date June 2011
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 1.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were stale. Small pickle selection of onions, mango sauce and a yoghurt looking thing.

Lamb karahi was OK with sufficient amount of meat, onion and peppers, but the sauce was a bit bland.

Would not go back, there are better restaurants out there.
overall
 1.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date December 2010
starters
 2.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment I had a starter of chicken sheek kebab. I don't think I've seen that on a menu before so gave it a go but it was quite bland and lacking in any taste or spice. Well presented and cooked though with our own separate dipping sauces, that were rather nice!

Main of green herb lamb. Lamb well cooked but sauce not too exciting, being neither all that spicy or having a great deal of flavour to it. Average at best.

Side of Sag Aloo, was quite nice though!

A brand new restaurant in Edinburgh's West End that has a very smart and impressive interior that makes you want the food to be good too. The service was also pretty good and friendly but unfortunately the food and it has to be said the rather poor quality toilets with 1 non-functioning hand drier (also the same situation in ladies too, I was told) removed the veneer from this restaurant.
overall
 3.2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81779 times ]