Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Kama Sutra"

105-109 Lothian Road, Edinburgh, EH3 9AN, 0131 229 7747 www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Kama Sutra" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 3.6
with an average price of £27.78
pre-starters
 3.8
starters
 3.9
mains
 3.8
sides
 3.8
service
 3.4
atmosphere
 3.8
value for money
 3.6

reviewer Matthew Hutchinson
review date October 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 3.7

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date October 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Standard pre-starters; nice lime pickle, not too sour but could be hotter.
Starters: Pooris chicken; Excellent pancake, nice.
Main: Chicken Byhandi biryani; surprisingly tasty; too much sauce
Sides: an order of sag aloo got lost, otherwise good
Service: a bit thin, had to be prompted a couple time
overall
 3.4

reviewer Jean Houston
review date October 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppadom, but I only had the onion pickle which was very good.
A bit disappointed there was no duck (starter) as I had decided to try something different. But Chandri Chicken was tasty and also pleasantly hot.
Must say the chilli ratings on the menu puzzled me as my main of Murgh Jaipuri (2 chillies) was not as hot as the starter which was 1 chilli. Quite enjoyed it just the same. It had lots of large onion pieces which could have been a spoiler had they not been just the right texture, not raw and not overcooked.
You certainly know you\'re in an Indian restaurant here, surrounded by pictures, ornaments and fittings that set the scene. Service was a little bit erratic as the starters came before we were quite finished the \'pre\', then there was a bit of a wait before mains came. Certainly it was pretty busy for a week-night.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Ian Jones
review date October 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment Poppadums were quick to arrive and were warm and crispy. Pickles ok but I'm not really that keen on the pickles

Starters also arrived quickly. I had wanted the duck starter (can't remember its name) but we were informed there was no duck so I opted for the Chicken Pooris. Nice portion size and had plentiful filling of a nice spicy taste.

Went for the Chicken Himalayan Hot Pot. The menu states it is a 3 chilli hot dish so I was expecting something more of a challenge than it was. Having said that it was spicy enough for me, very tasty and certainly a decent size portion. The plain naan was lovely, not doughy as you get in a lot of restaurants.

The restaurant was busy enough for a Wednesday, and the service on the whole was attentive. Didn't feel as though we had to wait too long for the main.

Would I go back? Certainly. Bet it gets busy at the weekend.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date October 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Crispy, freshly prepared poppadums with a nice selection of chutneys and dips although the lime pickle was a bit too tame for me.

Had the same starter that I had on our last visit there, lahori fish, which was again very tasty. Well cooked fish with a nicely spiced batter. Excellent again!

Main of Lamb Himalayan Hot Pot which was a slight change from what I had last time. Same comments apply I would say as it was tasty, spicy and with about the right (maximum) level of heat for me. Lamb was also well cooked.

After raving about it before I had to have a side of Paneer Mailader. Was very good but wasn't blown over in the same as I was before. Still really enjoyed it though it didn't have the same impact. Also enjoyed the Aloo Gobi and I'm sure I would've liked the Sag Aloo too had they not forgotten that we had ordered it.

Which brings me to service, which wasn't the best in my opinion. Took far too long to ask for drinks order on arrival, had to be prompted to take a second drinks order, obviously forgot a side dish, delivered the starters before some of us had finished the poppadums and then we had a very long wait for the mains.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Very good poppadoms with nice spicy onion pickle.

Chose Kekla Tikka (Crab) starter. Very tasty and nicely presented.

Not turned on by the main (Traditional Lamb Bhuna), partly because I felt full too quickly, and it didn't have enough taste. Nicely cooked lamb, but it hadn't picked up any flavours.

Did not try any sides (not even the panir that everyone else was raving about).
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment To begin with this was yet another restaurant where we had to juggle the poppodums with the menus. At least this time I got them to take our order before getting stuck into pops, which were nice and crispy. The chutneys were pretty good including an interesting onion one that was more saucy than spicy but nice all the same. Sadly no lime pickle though!

Starter of Fish Lahori. The fish was very nice, well cooked with a spicy batter. Delicious!

Main of Chicken Himalayan Hot Pot. A definite emphasis on the hot in this dish, about as hot as I like to go I would say! However I really enjoyed it as it had a lot of flavour and a lot of content in it!

There was a stand out side dish of Paneer Malaider. It was outstanding and possibly one of my favourite ever side dishes - simply gorgeous! I thought the other 2 sides that I had, the Bombay Aloo and Ajwaindi Bhindi, were both excellent too!

Service was good despite the initial issue with having pops before the order was taken. It may be petty but I prefer to have the orders taken so that we can sit back enjoy our pops whilst waiting on the starters!

Thanks to Gavin's Club Card we shaved almost £40 from the food bill, so on this occasion very good vfm, but even without that I really enjoyed this restuarant and felt the food was of a high standard. I can see me coming back to this one, even just for the Paneer Malaider alone!!
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 1.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were crisp. Spicy onions were in a light sauce - not sure about them! Chutney and yoghurt was ok.

Grilled scallops - not keen on the flavouring and they were overcooked.

Chicken tak-A-tak - pretty good.

Sides - Bhindi something - ok.

Meal was cheaper than usual due to the use of a 20% off food club card. This saved £38 across 9 heads. It was £23 before tip.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date July 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pakora to start, very tasty, well cooked not greasy, I would have preferred a little more of the red sauce and if that was a little bit more spice then it would have been perfect for me.

Lucknowi Murgh (Chicken, tomato and onion), this was very pleasant and I would certainly have it again.

There was a side dish (we ordered another portion, it was that good) which I can't remember the name, but it was paneer, spinach and either sour cream or yoghurt.

This was me first visit and it will not be my last.
overall
 4.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81751 times ]