Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Kalpna"

2-3 St. Patrick Sq, Edinburgh, EH8 9EZ, 0131 667 9890 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Kalpna" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 7 reviews
overall
 4.1
with an average price of £24.00
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.1
mains
 4.2
sides
 4.0
service
 4.4
atmosphere
 3.7

reviewer Tina Greig
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Really Nice selection of starters, sauces especially good. Also great main courses - the selection meal is definitely the best way to sample the menu here.
Overall, a really great meal.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Vegetarian. Not many common curry dishes, but it is all good.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crispy, but tasted a bit old. Chutneys ok - but nothing spectacular. No onions either.

Mixed starter selection very tasty. Good mix of flavours, textures and colours. Just felt that it lacked something.

Very nice selection of "side dishes" all with nice flavours - even the "potato in tomato soup" :-)

Service prompt food wise, however dropped a point as they took quite a while to take our drinks order.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment The lime pickle with the poppadums was very hot and sour, and very nice!

We all had a little taster of each of the 5 starters. All were rather tasty especially the cheese stuffed spinach fritter. They were accompanied by a combination of lovely dipping sauces and it was all very well presented.

For the main course we had a banquet of the 5 speciality dishes and tarka dahl. I thought all were superb. In particular the baingan achari (marinated aubergines) and the Dam Aloo Kashmeri (Kalpna's signature dish) were worthy of note! Also excellent coconut rice and garlic naan bread.

The only let down was the very disappointing tarka dahl which seemed to be missing garlic!

All in all a very enjoyable meat-free meal!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Daryl Hall
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £18
comment A change from the usual curry house, no extremely spicy dishes but they all tasted nice.
The £18 banquet style menu is advised if you are unsure of the dishes as you can try a few. The coconut rice was excellent. Tried their Daal Tarka, but not being the biggest lentil fan it wasn't for me. Service was swift and the waiter pleasant. I would visit again.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment So here we are in a Vegetarian restaurant and nobody knows what to have. Waiter comes up and offers poppadoms, mixed starters, banquet mains with all we can eat for £18 a head. Problem solved.

The poppadoms were a little stale, but the Lime pickle was excellent.
Really liked the starter. A nice mixture of vegetarian starters with a selection of different sauces to dip them in. Very, very good.

The main course was also very good. we were served a total of five different dishes (including the Tarka Dhall), two different rices and two types of naan. Refills of all the dishes were provided until even Dave Fraser could eat no more. I liked them all except for the cheese in the cheese and spinach dish. Otherwise there was a good variety of flavours and everyone seemed to enjoy it.

Overall impression was good, but if you went there regularly the limited menu would be really repetitive.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date June 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment We all took the set meal. A very good choice. I liked the lime pickle, not too hot and was nice and sour. My favourite starter was the spinach and cheese. All the mains were very tasty. There was a memorable one, potato with tomato soup, but I don't think that was its description.
overall
 4.1

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81754 times ]