Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Indian Lounge"

129a Rose Street, Edinburgh, EH2 3DT, 0131 226 2862 www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Indian Lounge" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 9 reviews
overall
 2.8
with an average price of £26.00
pre-starters
 2.8
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.1
sides
 2.9
service
 2.6
atmosphere
 2.9
value for money
 3.0

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were good, but let down by an incredibly salty lime pickle.

Starter of Veg Pakora was nice and crisp with a reasonable sauce. Good but not outstanding.

Main of Special Tandoori Balti was a mix of all the different meats in a medium hot and rich sauce.

The Nan breads were good and the Tarka Dahl was too, Although it was unusually hot and thick. I liked it.

The Bhindi Bhaji was a little tough, but not enough to spoil it.

Atmosphere and service was good but really let down by long wait between ordering and the arrival of the food.
overall
 3.0

reviewer Jean Houston
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pre: Only enjoyed one of the pickles - onion.
Starter: Chutt Patt - 3 decent sized chicken wings, but one under-cooked. Pity since quite nice sauce.
Main: Ordered 'Special Karahi Bhuna (Barbecued Lamb)', which sounded much more exotic than it was. Described as 'flambied in cognac', I was expecting it to be alight when it arrived, but the past tense was correct. A fairly decent dish for all that.
Quite disappointed at lack of atmosphere due to 'modern' decor. Much preferred the way it was on previous visit, but perhaps the old 'Raj' style no longer PC.
overall
 3.3

reviewer James McCamphill
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pop was very fresh warm and crispy and I was really but even a small bit of the LP made everything salty as a salty sea dog. Mango was nice enough (could have been sweeter) but it all tasted of SALT. Update thr Mango is ok by itself now I have washed my mouth out.
Mixed Kebah: Labm was tough but well flavoured with spices, Chicken was on the cold and dry side. Shish K was by far the best but only possibly cause it was moist.
Main Disapointing agian the Lamb (which is what yo are really paying for) was tough and was ready to serve during last nights service I'm sure of it. The sauce was however nicely spiced (maybe more required) and I did enjoy it. However my jaw is now sore from chewing.
Sides: Dahl was the best dish of the night and really had a big blast of heat to it which I really liked. Naans were just naans and the Bindy B was over cooked hurting my already tired jaw.
Atom: New, Clean, fresh and all in all not a bad space for dinner.
overall
 2.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pops were nice and crispy; onions had a nice kick to them; lime pickle - well I'll leave that for the lime pickle aficionados to explain since I'm not really a fan anyway; mango was ok.

Mixed kebab starter was just that - a mix between good and bad: the sheek kebab was the highlight - spicy and moist; lamb was quite nice; chicken tikka was dry and tough; chicken wing was still pink in the middle and cold on the outside anyway.

Garlic chilli chicken - well I can't help but feel massively let down when a menu describes it as "hot and spicy" and when I specifically ask not to hold back on the chillies... for it to come out so mild that even my mum could eat it! Hardly a trace of chilli and not much garlic either! Shame, as the sauce looked interesting - not just a "meat and gravy."

Sides: tarka dahl was different: not much in the way of garlic, but a nice spice to it that I liked (however it shouldn't have been hotter than my main "hot and spicy" dish!); mushroom bahji was a bit bland and under done. One of the nicest keema naans I've had though - not just a big slab of greasy "meat" inside.

Service was a bit slow - yes they were busy, but 20 minutes to take the drinks order is just too slow!

Reasonable price, but I've had far better for that money.

I think that this place can only still be here due to it's location - the fact that there are lots of pubs near by and this is the only Indian in Rose Street... few drinks, fancy curry, fall out of the pub and there is a restaurant!

They just need to put a little more effort into delivering what the menu says! Strange though as there were several Indian families in there which is normally an indication of a good Indian restaurant... perhaps we just got the "tourist menu!"
overall
 2.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 2.0
price £26.00 (including tip)
comment The poppodums arrived hot and fresh but were let down big time by the saltiest lime pickle ever! It is was quite awful and neither of the other pickles selection were up to much too!

Starter of chicken tikka kebab was one of the poorest I've tasted in a long time. The chicken was tough and dry and it was not at all good! Dire!!

However after all that I thought the main course of massalider gosht was actually decent enough despite having some of the salty lime pickle in it. The lamb was very well cooked and the sauce was fine.

Sides were bhindi bhaji (tough) mushroom bhaji (tasteless) and tarkha dahl. You could barely taste the garlic in the latter as it was overpowered by the spice but it was still pretty good!

Service was on the slow side but sometimes expected when there is a large group of us and the restaurant is busy. Didn't appreciate their attempt at banter though!

In summary it is a place that benefits from having a prime city centre location but I feel is quite complacent with it.
overall
 1.6

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Really liked the Lime Pickle with the Poppadums.
Mixed Kebab starter Ok, Sheek Kebab really spicy, nice.
Lamb vindaloo quite disappointing. The sauce was quite mild and the main heat seemed to come from the meat.
But, the overpowering taste was very Peppery which was quite unusual.
Side dishes quite average.
Overall, this restaurant benefits from it's City Centre location, but the food doesn't quite do it for me.
By the Way, don't drink the bottled beers. The prices are outrageous!!
overall
 3.1

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Garlic chilli chicken was pleasant but no real flavours of either chilli or garlic. Otherwise nice meal.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date August 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 3.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment A rebadged Tipo Shabiz. The starters were very good. Tarka Dall was excellent, however the main dish (Karai Gosht) lacked flavour and should have (my taste only) had a little bit of spice.
I wouldn't recommend this one as there are a lot out there that do a better job.
overall
 1.9

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80338 times ]