Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "In Touch"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2008 & 2010 ***

8 Inverleith Gardens, Edinburgh, EH3 5PU, 0131 551 6892 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "In Touch" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 66 reviews
overall
 4.2
with an average price of £21.53
pre-starters
 4.1
starters
 4.6
mains
 4.1
sides
 4.2
service
 3.9
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date July 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Crispy poppadums with good mango chutney, onions and lime pickle. Only complaint - not enough lime pickle.

Starter of chicken pakora, was excellent. Went well with the nicely spiced sauces.

Main of Bengali green lamb was very tasty. Lamb was extremely well cooked and the sauce had a good balance of spice.

Good sides although felt the okra was a bit tough in the bhindi bhaji. Loved the chickpea dish though!

Service. Never one of In Touch's strengths when dealing with a large group although they did as well as can be expected.

Overall another excellent night out at In Touch, which still maintains a high standard of tasty food. Also due to the BYOB policy it represents brilliant value for money!
overall
 4.3

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date July 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.5
price £20
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date July 2016
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy poppadums with a really nice Lime Pickle.
Too many people in the Curry Club like Lime Pickle now, but we can't blame the restaurant for that :-)
Had Lamb Chops for starters and was disappointed. The meat was tough and the marinade not very good. Can't beat the Spice pavilion with this dish.
However, the main course of Lamb Jalfrezie was superb. The level of spice was just right and the Lamb was well cooked. I don't think I've had that much meat in a Indian Main course for a long time. Really good food.
Aloo Ghobi tasted OK, but the Caulliflower was a little to "Al Dente" for me. The Tarka Dhall was OK but needed a little more garlic for my taste.
Service was a little slow to start with, but they were already busy when we arrived. Once the starter arrived service picked up as the restaurant was a little less busy by then.
Due to the fact that this restaurant allows BYOB, the overall cost represented extremely good value for money. With my £8 bottle of wine I spent a total of £30. This restaurant will remain on my list of favourites.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Jean Houston
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Extra poppadoms and plenty pickle. That should please CTCTs.
Starter (onion bhaji) was big enough for a main meal. Quite tasty, but didn't finish.
Lamb Bhuna not very spicy, but lots of lamb and well cooked. Would have perhaps liked the sauce a bit thinner (less flour?)to mop up with naan.
It seemed ages before orders taken, but otherwise servers were very attentive. A good meal, but not outstanding.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Popadoms arrived with a good amount of pickle and a second round just appeared as we got through the first lot. This suited me, but may have been too much for some light weights.

My Chicken kebab starter was really nice with a nice amount of spiced onion and peppers to go with the chicken.

The Lamb Pathia I had for main was tasted good and had plenty of well cooked tender lamb. it suffered a little from just being meat-in-a-sauce with little in the way of veg mixed in.

The sides were good, but the mushroom bhajee was a bit oily. Naan breads were nicely garlic and only a too little crisped in some places.

Service was accurate, friendly and fairly swift.
And as a nice surprise the bill at the end was astoundingly low.
overall
 4.2

reviewer James McCamphill
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pops were very fresh delicate crispy and great. Lime pickle was by far the best pickle and with no cucumber the onions were piled on too. The mango chunty was far to thin although tasty could have been better.
Lamb sag a huge portion and was delicious in almost every way...but could have been a wee bit warmer, but was probably .down to the size of our party. Said.
Main of karahi lamb was again very good and the portion was well on the generous side. Meat was a tad over done but it did say BBQ so I guess I may have expected that.
Sides. Dahl was good, sag aloo was very good, bindi was not that good. The sweet naan hot the spot too pt
overall
 4.2

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Plenty of really good poppadoms with three chutneys: Lime Pickle (excellent), Onion (well, just chopped onion really) & Mango Chutney (tasty but very runny).

Poppadoms and chutneys replenished quickly on request.

Starter: Potato Chop consisted of battered potato. Tasty!

Main: Bengali Green Lamb. Excellent flavours. The lamb was very tender and tasty. Highly recommended!

Service: Slow. From sitting down at the table it took more than 30 minutes before our orders were taken. However when the waiters got up to speed everything flowed very well.

For me, this beats the Spice Pavillion on food quality.
I would highly recommend In Touch, and readily return there.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment The poppadums were warm, fresh and crispy. Excellent lime pickle and even enjoyed the mango chutney even though it was more like a sauce!

Starter of a Hot Chicken Sag In Touch Special Puri. In a word - outstanding! Just as I remembered it and possibly a little bit better too! I also felt that it had the right amount of heat that didn't overpower the flavour!

Main of Sylheti Rashin Morlich Lamb also outstanding!
Lamb was superbly cooked, the red chillies blended well with the sauce to create a nice level of heat and spice with a really rich taste! Couldn't fault it!

Sides, the tarka dahl and sag aloo I liked. Both were very good. Disappointed with the bhindi bhaji, it was a bit tough and tasteless sadly!

Service has always been a bit of a struggle at In Touch and having a large party always means a bit of a wait. It didn't help that the order was not taken promptly but only after we had all eaten the poppodums. A particular no no in my book! However saying all that it did improve thereafter and I thought it was possibly the best it has been in all our visits here!

A cracking meal and only £20 a head (as you can BYOB) brilliant vfm! A definite contender for the CTCTROY once more!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £21
comment Pre starter dips were very good but unimaginative. Popadoms fresh and crisp.

Chicken and okra special purity was absolute quality!

Chickenn Jalfrazie was very but I was getting a: : bit full and didn't finish.wi

Sides: Tarka Dhal was a bit too ltumpy and I Like lumpy. The Bhindi bhai was very but a little tasteless.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Poppadums were really fresh, plus extras free!. Chutneys in free supply, Lime pickle especially good.

Bahri Combi starter, (Mushroom stuffed with spiced lamb). Very enjoyable.

Chicken jalfrezie Main, a little disappointing. Very strong taste of pepper!

Side dishes only average. Tarkha Dhall needed more garlic for my taste, Bhindi Bhaji overcooked.

Generally good service, with a little wait due to the large party (14). They are still maintaining a high level here.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
overall
 3.7

reviewer Andy Mackay
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £20
comment Very good lime pickle and a generous supply of it.
Onions good too, but mango chutney was 'watery' and there was no chive dip.

Chop potato - delicious.

Plus point - For the main course warm plates were brought together with heated stands for the food.

Service excellent but kitchen slow.

Chicken Dhansak very tasty and a good helping.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Alan Millar
review date May 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Poppadums were good. Nice and dry and not oily, plenty of pickles.
Garlic Mushroom starter - excellent.
Goan Lamb Jalfrezie - Beutifully spiced and very tasty. Lamb was a touch on the tough side, which accounts for the slightly lower mark.
Bombay Aloo and tarka Dhall sides were superb.
Once again the service at this restaurant was excellent. Atmosphere a little flat because apart from one other couple, we were the only people there. This is quite unusual these days as In Touch is quite popular.
This restaurant is a worthy winner of the CTCTROTY award.
Lastly, the price was a little higher than usual as a number of our party did not Bring their Own Bottle.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment First visit to in touch so was looking forward to meal.

Pre-starter was very tasty with crispy popadom and nice pickle.

Special puri starter was excellent with big portion and plenty of flavour

Wasnt overly impressed with main (lamb jaipuri) but meat was well cooked and there plenty of it. Lacked a bit of flavour.

Service was good but we were only ones in the restaurant for most of the night which ruined the atmosphere a bit. After all the hype a bit dissapointed but still a nice meal.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £26 (including tip)
comment Starter: Hot Lamb Bhindi special Puri
Main : Kanpuri Karahi Lamb

All round good food and with friendly service.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Paul Lafferty
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters were good and what you expect. Also offered more when we had nearly finished out dips which was good.

Starter Sheek Kebab thingy tasted good, good size portions, no complaints

Mains - King Prawn Balti - was tasty and as expected. Good size portion, enough prawns as well. Just wasn't 'special'

Atmosphere was a little quiet but it was Wednesday night and we were only ones there.

Service was OK - one strange man who stares a lot. A little wait between Starters and mains but as a group of 11 this was to be expected. One problem was that when we tried to ask to speak to a manager to give them an award, they must have assumed there was a complaint coming and not one of the waiters would come forward to take responsibility.

Cost of £26 was average. It was BYOB so that saved a little money.

AS always, very happy with In Touch and would be happy to eat here again anytime.

overall
 4.2

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Popadoms lovely - dry (not greasy) and crisp. Chutney selection nice - even the lime pickle was within my pallet range!

Tandouri chicken on the bone was excellent. Nicely marinated and chicken still tender after the damn hot oven. Note to self: the "yellow sauce" is nice on salad.

Jessorie king prawn rezela was very nice. A bit sweeter than expected and the sauce was lacking something (not sure what though). A few green meanies thrown in too for a bit of a kick.

Sides were good - I got a taste of the dall tarka (needed more garlic though), Bombay aloo bhaji, mushroom bhaji and the allo beigan bhaji.

Service was good and all food came out hot. They still have the "starey man" though that just stands at the bar and stares at the table!

Overall, well worthy of the title Crewe Toll Curry Tasters, Restaurant of the Year 2010!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Lovely fresh and crispy poppadums, amongst the nicest I've tasted at a CTCT outing in a long time!
Very good lime pickle too!

For the starter I went for chicken pakora in a change to the usual special puri! I thought it was excellent, tasty chicken, tasty batter and a lovely yellow sauce that went really well with the salad!

Main of Sylheti Rashun Marich Lamb. Hot and spicy it said on the menu and hot and spicy it was! Very nice and the lamb was well cooked too!

Could not fault any of the sides I thought all were superb and again about the best and most consistently good side dishes of anywhere we have been!

The service was pretty good this time around but that might have been because we were the only ones there!

Once more we spent a very enjoyable evening at one of Edinburgh's top Indian restaurants. It's always good to keep in touch with 'In Touch' (sorry but couldn't resist!)
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £19
comment It's quite a while since I submitted a review for IN TOUCH, so I thought I'd better do one now.

I guess our party of 5 has several members who are regular visitors to this restaurant. So when we arrived we were greeted like long lost friends. However, I did notice that other diners were met equally enthusiastically, so maybe it's standard.

Following the poppadums, I had the Garlic Mushrooms for starters. You need to be a serious garlic fan to like these and they were great. On the plus side, although the portion is quite large, this is quite a light starter which leaves plenty of room for the main :-)

A creature of habit, I had Jaisalmeri Chicken Jalfrezie for my main dish. This dish has everything. Nice and spicey. Not just meat and gravy, plenty of veg. too. Plus, if you don't want it too hot you can push a few green chillis to one side. I ate the lot though. Excellent fare.

This is a very friendly restaurant and it was quite busy for a Thursday evening, but the service was prompt and efficient.

Overall, IN TOUCH is still providing an excellent cheap service with really tasty dishes. If you don't like it too mild just ask for a slightly hotter sauce and they'll adjust any dish to your taste.

Well worthy of the CTCTROTY award for 2010, I'm looking forward to 26th January.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2011
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Vegetable pakora to start, very nice, not greasy also good portion.
Main was "Old Delhi Lamb Rezala" which consisted of lamb, onion, garlic, ginger, chillies and yoghurt. This was tasty, however, for my taste buds it was a little sweet, but this is not a complaint, just I prefer savour to sweet and I wanted to try this since I have never had it before.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Michael Beever
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Best lime pickle ever !

Starter portion too big.

Mains and side dishes perfect.

One of the best Curries I have had (far better than the Britannia Spice the night before !)

Service lets this place down, it was very slow between courses and the place was not full.

The history lesson was most entertaining.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Kevin Browne
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment In Touch:

excellent wildlife!

slow'ish service.

CTCT:
great company. Fab night out!

Atmosphere accelerated by the Scots great banter.
overall
 4.3

reviewer James McCamphill
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £20
comment Pops: Very fresh, light and still warm. Pickles were good esp the Lime pickle. Standard (for me) -1/2 for the cucumber in onions though.

Starter: Specail Lamb-Sag Purie: Very tasty indeed meat was great as were the spices, quite a big portion so I hope that I have left room for the main since this was a great start to the meal.

Main: ordered Lamb Jalfrezi but to to mix up at service got chicken and had to swap/share with Brian T.
The chicken was actually the better meat since the Lamb was a bit tough (although Dereks Lamb was much bbetter). The sauce had a great flavour and was very good and had a good balance and was just hot enough for me.

Sides: Dahl was a bit thin and bland, Sag Aloo was very good and the Naans were okay too but nothing special.

Service: A bit on the slow side so it was getting on 10:30 before we left. I hate it when there is confusion when dishes are brought to the table and people get the wrong dishes/different ones turn up etc etc. Food dripped meaning many people had food well before the others.

Overall the food was very good indeed and much better than the service; which is a good thing I guess. Maybe we just caught the staff on a bad day.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Nice popadoms with a reasonable selection of chutneys. Lime pickle not too sour for my taste, so I managed a second helping.

Prawn saag hot puri was every bit as good as it has been in the past. Excellent mix of spices and nicely cooked prawns.

King prawn Jalfriezi was nice too, although I only got 3 prans in it (partly helped by someone who mistakingly took it as his own dish and ate one :-(

Sides were average: tarka dahl was a bit thin; potato and egg thing was nice; didn't get a shot at any of the others.

First place that actually tells the truth when they say that their hotplates are hot - got red marks on my hand to prove it.

Service was a bit on the slow side though.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter: Light, fresh and crispy poppodums - delicious! I enjoyed the lime pickle but felt that there was a limited choice with only onions and mango chutney also provided.
Starter: Lamb saag hot puri. Very tasty and as good as the other combinations I've had in the past.
Main: Lamb Amatrisi massalah. Well cooked lamb and a very nice sauce, lovely.
Sides: I tried the bhindi bhaji, tarka dahl and gobi aloo. I thought all were very good.

So to summarise, cracking food as always and I really enjoyed the lively atmosphere but I was disappointed by the incredibly slow service! I know we were quite a large group but it was still quite poor for our dinner of only two courses and poppodums to take nearly 3 hours!

Would have probably got a lower mark for service than I gave them, however I did enjoy the evening and it was in no way spoilt by it. And at £20 with BYOB, fantastic value for money!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £20
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date June 2010
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Ran out of lime pickle down our end of the table, good job the other end weren't eating theirs!

Tandoori chicken on the bone starter was excellent as usual.

Bit of a mix up serving the mains this time. I got Lamb instead of chicken and had to swap with James who got chicken instead of lamb. The Jalfrezie was as good as it always is here. Spicy without burning out the palate.

Side dishes were excellent. Was able to have coriander on everything because Mary didn't turn up.

Overall, very good food, service a little below par coping with the large group.

Still my favourite resataurant :o)
overall
 4.2

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date May 2009
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £17 (including tip)
comment Decided to have a complete change this time around.
So I ditched the In-Touch special Puri for a Fish Starter. This proved to be very tasty, but lost half a mark because they said it was served with salad but it came with coleslaw :-(

For the main dish I had the Goan Vindaloo. This dish is not for the faint hearted. It is very hot! So it definitely hit the spot for me. Be aware that the dish does not contain huge amounts of vgetable matter, so you need to order one or two sides to go with it.

I had Bombay potato and Tarka Dhall side dishes with this meal and both were excellent.

We seem to be getting quite well known in this restaurant now so the service was (as usual) very good.

Note the low price! They continue to offer their menu at 30% off the original prices. Since they are also BYOB (no corkage) the whole deal is very good value.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Asking for the chicken tikka masalla to be a bit hotter was perfect. They did a very good job on the sides, excellent.
Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum-diddly-um!
Super-tasty-tastic.
overall
 4.8

reviewer Jean Houston
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment Starter could have been hotter (temp wise).
overall
 4.1

reviewer James McCamphill
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters, No cucumber in onions otherwise great.
Now this menu is big, in fact I'm still reading it now.
Starter, simply great. Needs abit more heat for the 5.
Main was V.V good. Meat (chicken) tender and not big chunks of it.
I won't profess to know a lot about the sides but they were just fine.
Overall. I will be back. It may not be too close to town, but it's worth a detour.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Starters - cold plate BBQ prawn was very tasty.
Pune Palak chicken - tasty, less ginger & more chillis than expected.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment Popadoms lovely and crispy. Chutney nice too but I still can't do lime pickle.
Prawn and mushroom puri superb! Extra hot, just as I requested.
Bengali green lamb very tender. Nice chunks of lamb but sauce more mint than any other green flavour.
Sides good.
Service excellent, but losing a mark as one of the waiters just stood staring at the table.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment 5 star starter of chicken and bhindi "In Touch" special puri, but must deduct 1/2 point for serving with coleslaw. Sorry but coleslaw has no place in Indian cuisine.
Anyway that aside, if you'll pardon the pun, the sides were tremendous, especially the coriander free tarka dhall.
Great mains too, and even though the service was on the slow side (Warning they don't handle big groups of people), I would say that on the whole I really enjoyed my dinner at this excellent restaurant.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment In Touch special Puri (Okra and Chicken) was brilliant!
Main course not bad but not outstanding however sides were top notch. (bhindi bahji, saag dhall, tarka dhall)
Company good, service cheery,
Would recommend.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment I'm impressed that they topped up the chutneys for our late arrival.
Main Course was nice an spicy.
Generally a very pleasant evening.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £18 (including tip)
comment TASTEY.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £18 (including tip)
overall
 4.7

reviewer Alan Millar
review date January 2009
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £18 (including tip)
comment More because I could not eat any more.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Crunchy poppadums.
Unparalled Puri.
Rhapsodic Tarka Dhal.
Yummy!
overall
 4.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £21 (including tip)
comment A very well filled Puri for starter. Vegetable Jalfrezie main course Hot:-)
Tarkha Dhall as good as ever.
Another excellent meal.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Note. I wanted to put an asterisk on the 5star rating for the starter, but the form won't let me.
Chicken Tandoori was excellent!!
Too much food.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Alan Millar
review date December 2008
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £21 (including tip)
comment Starter would have been perfect if Mary hadn't persuaded me to have HOT!
Main - Too much food.
Mary eats here all the time and didn't remind me.
Couldn't even think about a sweet.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Tina Greig
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Starter milder than expected, but still tasty. Main a little bland and disappointing.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment A touch disappointed in my main but what I tried of other mains was nice (my main was musoorie dall chicken)
overall
 3.3

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment YUM! YUM!
YUM! YUM!
overall
 4.5

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment I have come to the conclusion that this restaurant has the best poppadums - light, fresh and crispy. The chutneys/sauce are good, but don't visit with the greedy b***ers I was with as they eat all the onions!!
I'm going to stop evangelising about the Curry Club puri - it's getting embarrassing. The score speaks for itself.
Main course extremely tasty. Just wish I could have eaten it all!
Tarka Dhal superb.
Service much improved on last time - they seem to have got rid of the idiot!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment V. impressive menu!!
Starter very nice but disappointed that the choice of heat didn't mean much. Didn't really justify the long wait either. Main very tasty. Unfortunately my overall enjoyment was spoiled by the very long wait. Definitely a restaurant for small parties.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment A few too many words on the menu to read them all. Poppadoms warm and crispy, not enough pickles though.
Lamb Saag curry club special puri really very tasty indeed!
Lots of spinach in the Palak Gosht, not much in the way of spice though. Tarka dhal not bad. Good portion size and both lamb dishes very tender.
Service quite slow.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Excellent meal really enjoyed it. The poppadoms were lovely and crispy, superb curry club puri - recommended as you can choose your own! Very good main course and fantastic side dishes, especially the tarka dhal (with or without coriander). The meal and atmosphere was so good that the delay in service wasn't so noticed.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment O
u
t
s
t
a
n
d
i
n
g
overall
 4.2

reviewer Craig McBryne
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment SPICEY NICEY!!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £22.00
comment MINTY!
GREENY!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Vindaloo - Hot!!!!
Tarka Dhal - Wonderful!!
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Curry Club Special Puri - Saag, Prawn Hot - Mmmmmmm!!
Chicken vindaloo Hot and Spicy.
Bombay Potato really nice.
Tarka Dhal Great!!
Much improved service this time.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Starter not as hot as it should have been.
Company: Briany
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £22 (including tip)
comment Even Sparky.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Alan Millar
review date October 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment Pretty Good popadums.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £24 (including tip)
comment Poppadom, starter and main all excellent. Would give the starter 10 points if I could! Was much busier than last time so not sure if that accounted for the drop in service however this did not detract from the very excellent meal.
I enjoyed the Tarka Dhal but it was a bit runnier than the one I had there last week!
My new favourite restaurant - and a bit too close to home than is healthy!
overall
 4.6

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £24 (including tip)
comment Absolutely heavenly starters. Aptly named "Curry Club Special Puri" A must for anyone who visits here, they are served with a choice of fillings and a choice of spiciness. Well worth the 5 mark I gave it.
Main course I chose was a Chicken Jalfrezie dish. This too tested the palette with a superb mixture of flavours. Could have been a little hotter hence the loss of half a mark.
Tarka Dhall side dish disappointing.
Service was unusually poor this time. Usually much better.
Overall, well worth a visit and we'll be going back again.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Alan Millar
review date September 2008
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £24
comment Recommend the curry club special as a starter
overall
 3.7

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Tasty poppadoms. Mango chutney a bit runny, but good all the same. Fabulous cutlery!! "Curry Club Puri" starter excellent - well deserving of the name. Main couse tasty also. Attention to detail regarding the coriander situation second to none (except maybe the Kukhuri). Service excellent and attentive without being intrusive. Very enjoyable overall. Extra choclates!! Fan-bl**dy-tastic!!
overall
 4.7

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Curry Club Puri - superb!! I had Saag Prawn Hot and recommend it to anyone. Main Course a game of two halves. The sauces and vegetable content were excellent with a fine mix of spices and flavours. Sadly the Lamb I had was tough and not very enjoyable. I believe the Chicken dishes the others had were much better. Side dishes were disappointing. Overall well worth the visit. This is also a BYOB restaurant, although they do sell beers.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Four by Four!
overall
 4.0

reviewer Alan Millar
review date july 2008
atmosphere
 5.0
service
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £25.00 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms good. Curry Club Special Fantastic.
overall
 4.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80313 times ]