Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Ignite"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2004 ***

272 Morrison Street, Edinburgh, EH3 8DT, 0131 228 5666 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Ignite" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 17 reviews
overall
 3.4
with an average price of £29.56
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.9
sides
 3.9
service
 3.4
atmosphere
 3.4
value for money
 3.0

reviewer Tina Greig
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30
comment Starters took a little while to arrive, but there wasn\'t a long wait between the starters and mains, so it could have been worse. Really nice starter and main (king prawn puri and jaipuri chicken). The jaipuri chicken could have been a bit spicier, but on the other hand it very suddenly is when you accidentally bite into a green chilli! The mushroom bhajee was so nice I tried to convince everyone else it was horrible so they wouldn\'t want any.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Should have read over my review from 2013 before this visit since my comments are very much the same. Poppadoms and dips very good. Enjoyed the Combi Chaat starter (Chaat sauce very tasty). Lamb Bhuna disappointing - just not hot at all.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30
comment Pops very crispy. Mango tastier than most places. Onions average. Pickle was actually quite nice for me - so no doubt not sour enough for most.

Mixed kebab was very nice. All meat was moist and nicely cooked. \"Red\" sauce was so-so, but whatever the \"green\" sauce was had a very nice surprising taste.

Shatkora Gust (beef) was rather nice. Meet fell apart with a fork and the sauce was very flavoursome with a few surprise chunks of lemon rind to give it a slightly sour (in a good way) overall taste.

Sides were pretty average.

Service not bad. 12 of us, but I still managed to get the 21:30 train (although I did leave just before the bill was asked for). Waiters very attentive.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £32 (including tip)
comment Nice Lime pickle with the Poppadums, Onion pickle mostly just onion and not so good.
Lamb Chop Starter was OK, but not as good as others I've had elsewhere.
Vegetable Jalfrezie - Mixed emotions.
Good selection of vegetables, tasted nice, but NOT half spicy enough for a Jalfrezie. Fairly disappointing.
Tarka Dhall side prepared off-menu and very good.
Other sides unremarkable.
Nice place to eat and after an initial wait for starters, they coped with our table of 12 quite well.
Bottle of Cobra £5.00 - Too expensive for my liking.
overall
 3.1

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £33 (including tip)
comment Popadoms & accompanying dips were good.
Assorted Kebab & sauces were nicely done & tasty
Beef Dhansak was good.
Rice & nans were excellent.
Portions were sufficient.
Considering tha we were a party of 14 the service was good.
The higher than usual price was probably due to the many extra sides that were ordered but not all eaten, as the portions were adequate.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Jean Houston
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Again the Starter turned out to be more tasty than Main dish. Bhuna lamb was ok but not at all spicy, certainly not 'medium hot'. Voll Puree, the Starter (chick peas and potatoes) was an interesting mix of flavours and texture.
The staff did well to have party of 14 with just the bill to order by 9:20pm.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice, crispy poppadoms with the usual range of chutneys: onion - normal, mango - good consistency (for a change), lime pickle - mmmmmmm! limey and nicely pickley.

Mixed kebab starter was cooked well, very tasty, and just the right amount. Very good!

Simikot Lamb (although this morning it could have been Sennacot Lamb) was exactly as described on the menu. Very tasty and ample quantity. Excellent!

Tried some of the Chicken Dhansak. It seemed exceptionally good. Great flavours.

The sides - mushroom somethingorother, tarka dhal, and aloo ghobi - all very good and added nicely to the meal.

The service was spot on - waiters when you wanted them, and very efficient too.

We were a party of 14, seated as 6 and 8. This seemed to work very well with the ordering and delivery of the food. A lesson for future CTCT meeting?

Value for money (for food): Not bad really, especially when you factor in the overpriced beer.

Definitely worth a re-visit.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Pops nice and crispy; onions crunchy; mango sauce was saucy; lime pickle very sour, but the pickle fans said that it was very good.

Assorted kebab was okay: lamb was... well, very well done indeed! Chicken was moist and tasty and the mince had a nice gentle spice to it.

Simikot lamb was very nice: full of flavour and lots of sliced lamb, just like the menu said.

Dahl was nice - lots of large chunks of garlic. Mushroom bhaji nice enough, but nothing special. Aloo gobi was okay too.

Service efficient - and an extra point for splitting the group of 14 into two tables so that the kitchen could deliver hot food to everyone.

Rather expensive though - £12.50 main courses and £4.95 for London invented and brewed "imported" lager were the culprits.

Since I need to notice these things nowadays, they've even got a baby change facility in the gents, so had to give an extra point for service!
overall
 3.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £33 (including tip)
comment Nice and crispy poppadums to start off with. A very good lime pickle and mango chutney. However although I felt the onions were a bit brown (not freshly chopped), they were nicely garnished with coriander.

Starter of chicken pakora. Crispy batter, tasty chicken that wasn't dry - enjoyed it very much!

Main of green herb lamb had a lot of flavours and a nice amount of spice for me. Lamb was very well cooked as it literally fell off the knife!

The sides that I had - sag aloo, aloo gobi and tarkha dahl - were all pretty decent!

Felt the service was very well organised. We were sensibly split into two tables so that the kitchen could better handle our large group and it was all pretty efficient. Extra kudos for them taking the order then serving the poppodums without them being prompted to do that! Very well done!

Overall I would say it was a far better experience than our last visit, although it was a bit on the pricey side!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Andy Mackay
review date September 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The food was authentic - dips include a good supply of lime pickle and my chicken dhansak contained the expected pineapple.

I can recommend the assorted kebabs for starters, delicious.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Graeme Kelly
review date December 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £32 (including tip)
comment Papadams & "Pickled" tray -
Fresh & crispy popadoms. Pickle tray not outstanding (mango puree / chopped onions / lime pickle). Lime pickle very mild.

King Prawn "Puree" (shouldn't that be puri?) -
3 individual little puris, not too heavy. Quite small king prawns, but they tasted nice and fresh. Not at all spicy.

East Bengal Lamb Jhalfrezie -
Rich, spicy, very tender & delicious.

Service & Atmosphere -
We were a pre-booked table of 9, and the only customers at 6:30pm, except one couple. Table was very tight for space against the wall. Service started slow, we weren't offered drinks or appetisers before taking food order, but improved later. A bit disappointing in a small restaurant while 4 or 5 staff hung around chatting.

There was some mix up at the end of the table where someone's starter was announced and presented as a "prawn puree" and who was then loudly blamed for having "taken" the murgh chaat.
I believe a quiet word was said, away from the table, to the manager between courses.
There was later a lecture made, at the table, by the manager regarding attitude and disputing fault. This was unacceptable and unprofessional.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date December 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 1.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 1.0
value for money
 3.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy enough, but the onion had obviously been sitting out for a while and as for the lime pickle - well I had seconds, so it must have been very tame!

King prawn puree was decidedly average. However what wasn't appreciated was the lip from the waiter for their mistake. First time I've ever had to have a word with the waiting staff! Now fair enough, mistakes easily happen when waiters are bringing out lots of dishes, but if a waiter calls out "King prawn puree" and I claim it only to discover that there are no prawns in it, so it must be the wrong order, I don't expect an argument with some pleb loudly accusing me of claiming the wrong dish.

North Indian chilli garlic chicken "extra hot" was medium at best, but reasonably tasty.

Sides were nice - tarkha dahl and the saag aloo the highlight. Bhindi bhaji was average.

Service - well after initially being made to feel like something that the waiter had scraped off the bottom of his shoe and having a word with them, the extra lip from the waiter basically saying "it wisnae me" just doesn't make it any better! The staff made a mistake, they should have dealt with it far more professionally! Their only redeeming part in this was to offer a replacement for the dish I'd been forking through trying to find prawns.

Can you believe that they even tried to assure us that Cobra was imported Indian lager!
overall
 1.0

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date December 2012
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £32 (including tip)
comment The popadums were ok but I thought the lime pickle was very tame. Didn't think the mango chutney and spiced onions were up to much either.

Starter of chicken kebab was decent enough if a bit mediocre.

However the main of green herb lamb was very tasty I thought! Nice amount of spice and heat for me and the lamb was so well cooked that it just fell apart!

I also thought the sides were really good too, especially the tarka dahl which had a bit of a kick to it! Also enjoyed the sag aloo and bhindi bhaji both of which were tremendous!

I didn't have too much beef over the service that some had. From my point of view I thought it was ok and quite efficient. It wasn't that friendly I felt, but we may have got off on the wrong foot with Gav reminding them that Cobra is not an authentic Indian lager!

A few mistakes thereafter in the service didn't help matters though!

In summary great main and sides, disappointed with mostly everything else!
overall
 3.3

reviewer Bob Keay
review date December 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.0
price £32 (including tip)
comment Main was really good.

Not a big fan of starters in general.

Service ok.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Euan Lynch
review date March 2009
starters
 2.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £15
comment The table was for 18, so it was a handful amidst a full restaurant. The starters took a while longer to come than expected, and when they arrived weren't piping hot. However the mains were perfect, not a grumble from anyone, pilau rice was lovely, as were the garlic, plain and peshwaris. Lunch was about the same volume as a dinner, so at £8.50 for starter, main and coffee/tea, you can't really grumble!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2005
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 2.0
price £(can't remember)
comment Food disappointing compared to last year (which was why it won), and service still very slow.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2004
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Very nice food, but slow service. Price probably due to lack of drinks had.
overall
 3.4

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80317 times ]