Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Guru Balti"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2006 ***

9 Dundee Terrace, Edinburgh, EH11 1DL, 0131 221 9779 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Guru Balti" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 18 reviews
overall
 2.8
with an average price of £27.67
pre-starters
 2.2
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.8
sides
 2.7
service
 3.4
atmosphere
 3.1
value for money
 2.7

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 1.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.5
price £28
comment Popadoms were a little lacking in a veriety of pickles.

Mushroom pakora were well cooked and had a nice spicy batter. The sauces to go with it were a bit bland, but it didn't need them.

The mixed Tandoori grill was a good size, but was too dry.

The mushroom side was OK, but not great.
The Tarka Dhall had an odd texture and not much flavour.

The nan breads were huge, but also dry and lacking in flavour because of that.
overall
 2.7

reviewer Jean Houston
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadom was quite tasty, which was just as well as there was not enough pickle to go round 5/6 people and mango dip tasted 'vinegary'. I ate most of it without any accompaniment.

My starter was mixed pakora (sorry, Balti Mixed Pakora). It was tasty with a couple of largish pieces of chicken and various other things. All thanks to the guys who had a share of this as there was enough for a main course for me.

My main was Chicken Kathmandu Masala (sorry, Balti Chicken Kathmandu Masala). I couldn't say I tasted the ginger or garlic that were supposed to be in it. Most strange of all was the fact everybody else's dish looked just the same as mine, only I had tomato and another had chick peas in. Overall disappointing and not gvfm.
overall
 2.9

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.0
price £28
comment Poppadoms were not at all crisp and only required the application of any of the 'chutneys' for them to become soggy.
'Chutneys' comprised onion, onion with a red dye, and what appeared to be watered-down mango chutney.

Starter was Chan Tikka Puri. This was excellent. Flavour, texture, and spiciness were bang on!

Main for me was Balti Jaipuri Lamb. This looked exactly the same as all the other main dishes served, (ie orange!) and tasted the same as the Balti Jaipuri Chicken but a tad sweeter. Not good.

The side dishes that I tried were pretty good. Mushroom bhaji, aubergine bhaji, spinach something-or-other. Nice flavours and consistencies. For once I didn't try the tarka dal - it just looked too runny.

The huge naans looked impressive until you tried to manoeuvre them. Far too big and unwieldy to be practical.

Service was slow and erratic. I think a salad appeared at one end of the table a full fifteen minutes before the last main dish arrived at the other.

Also there were too many apronless people wandering in and out of the kitchen for my hygiene comfort. I'm not sure that work-shirts and baseball caps are kitchen apparel.

Overall impression: Poor. I wouldn't rush back there again, nor would I recommend it.
overall
 1.6

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 1.0
sides
 1.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were ok - crispy, but a funny taste. "Green onions" were totally bland; "red onions" had a little bit of flavour; mango sauce was bland. No lime pickle (not that I crave it, but others do).

King prawn puri was quite tasty - sauce had a wee gentle kick and nice flavours. However, I don't like this whole "assemble your own puri" business. I prefer the dish to be served <i>in</i> the puri.

Chicken balti masselledor was - well, orange with meat, onions and mushrooms - oh, and a couple of chillies. However, so was every other dish on the table with minor variations in meat / chick peas / chillies. Definitely a big batch of "orange gravy" used throughout. It tasted very bland too. Very disappointing!

Tarka dahl just tasted of flour. Mushroom bahji was exactly the same dish as my main dish, just minus the onions and chicken. Spinach thing was probably the highlight, but only because it was green - pretty much the only thing on the table that wasn't orange.

Service was a bit slow to start - it took 25 minutes before any popadoms arrived or the order was taken.

These guys have the reputation of serving large portions of food (especially the naans). After winning the "restaurant of the year" in 2006, these days it appears that's all they do. The taste and quality of the food was very poor indeed - a massive downhill drop.

I'll not be back again!
overall
 1.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 0.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.5
value for money
 1.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment The poppodums were soggy and a bit stale. The chutneys consisted of two onion ones and a liquid mango chutney that was pretty awful!

The starter on the other hand of chicken kebab was very good. The chicken was not too dry and quite spicy!

Sadly that was the only highlight of the meal as my main course of Balti Mughlani Chana Goust was disappointing. It also appeared to be very similar to all the other mains on the table being that they were all orange. There was little to distinguish it although the chickpeas were tasty and so were the bits of lamb that weren't too fatty.

Sides. Tarkha dahl - rubbish! Hardly if any garlic, just lentils and flour and consistency of wallpaper paste. Brinjal bhaji, the aubergine was tasty enough although a bit oily. Spinach thing was ok, and at least it wasn't orange!

I thought the service was ok and that some of the waiting staff were actually pretty good in dealing with us. However there were a few mistakes with missing dishes or the wrong dishes being served. Mind you when everything is orange then perhaps it is easy to mix up orders!

Overall though it's a shame how far downhill this place has fallen. I remember when it delivered on both the quality and quantity, now it just seems to be the latter. Definitely one to avoid now!
overall
 1.6

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 1.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 1.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 2.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment They brought me the wrong dish, it was rubbish, the one I ordered was little better.
Popadoms were rubbish.
Mixed tandoori starter was tasty though.
Oh and the Tarka Dall was particularly rubbish. Wallpaper pastey.
Overall: rubbish.
overall
 1.7

reviewer Andy Mackay
review date August 2013
pre-starters
 0.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 2.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 2.0
price £28
comment The dips (a misnomer) for the pappadoms consisted of chopped onion, dyed red chopped onion and very watery mango chutney,

For the starter, the Mixed Balti Pakora was extremely good. Tasty medium heat and a good size.

Main of Chicken Shahi Rogan Josh was disappointing. Watery sauce with virtually no heat.

Service friendly and helpful but slow.

This is my first duff meal out with CTCT!
overall
 1.2

reviewer Tina Greig
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment King prawn puri starter was delicious, but my balti jaipuri chicken was a little disappointing, based on how much I have loved the meals I've had here in the past. No lime pickle with the poppadoms, but they still haven't mastered the art of portion control (in a good way!) - the naan breads are still the biggest I've ever seen, by miles.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Very uninspired pre's, two types of onion and no lime pickle. Pop's crispy but didnt taste that fresh.

Apart from the starter which was very nice, was more concentration on quantity over quality. Whilst this is usually something I'm all for the mains (of which there was plenty left over for tasting!) really lacked any real taste. Naan's huge as ever (and quiet nice) but other sides were also lacking in taste, especially dahl.

Service and atmosphere were hard to complain about. VfM is hard to beat if you're just looking for a big feed, but wouldve been nice to get a bit more flavour.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were a little stale and the quantity of things to go on them was fine. However 2 types of Onion (mint and Chilli) and a thin mango chuckny is not a great pickle tray.

I skipped starter as I knew of this places portion sizes.

My main was a Lamb Dansak and was good, not outstanding, but good. Others felt there was a lack of spice in some dishes, but I didn;t find that.

The Nan breads are enormous and good. Not outstanding (apart from their size), but good.

The Mushroom Bahji and Bhindi Bhaji were both good, actually the Mushroom Bhaji was better than good.
The Tarka Dhall was kind dull. Needed WAY more garlic.

Service was fast, friendly and lead to a good atmosphere. The price was bumped up as I think more beer than usual was consumed. Or perhaps that was just me.

Portion size is large. Especially some starters that would have beaten the size of Main dishes in some other places. This can mean less choice as you get less dishes, or you end up with too much food. Not a problem as long as you are aware of it.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £29
comment Poppadoms tasty and crispy.
Ample starter of Mixed Kebab was nicely spicy.
Pathia Chicken was flavoursome.
Nans & rice were more than sufficient!
Portions are unecessarily large. I hate to see food wasted...
Kingfisher lager on tap at £3.50 was good.
Sevice was excellent
Nicely busy for a Wednesday.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Jean Houston
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20
comment Was not looking for a large meal on this occasion so omitted a starter. Pre starters a little bit disappointing since not much variety, but tasty enough and fair amount of what we had.

My main course was Jaipuri chicken - very enjoyable after last month's disappointing meal at Khushi's - a proper curry.

Fairly efficient service. A good evening out.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pops were crispy enough, but the dip selection was uninspiring: onions, fluorescent onions and orange (mango?) liquid.

Mixed kebab was very nice. Large portion, plenty of meat and a nice spice to it too.

Balti East Indian Lamb Jalfreze was very underwhelming: bland and pretty much just meat in gravy with a couple of mild green chillies thrown in.

Obviously, the naans were as large as ever. Sides were a mixed bag: bhindi and mushroom bhajis were quite nice, but the tarka dahl was bland with not much garlic.

Service was pretty quick and efficient and we were all done by 21:30.

I think they've definitely lost their edge from when we crowned them restaurant of the year - seam to be concentrating on quantity of food and not the quality of it.
overall
 2.8

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppodums were fresh and warm. However no lime pickle (boo hoo!) and the mango chutney was in liquid form.

Chicken kebab starter was very good I thought! It was nicely spiced and the meat was tasty and juicy.

Main of North Indian Balti Chilli Ghost. Hot and spicy enough for me and the lamb was very well cooked. There was just too much sauce for me to finish it though. Served with huge naan breads that weren't that great. Disappointing as it was definitely a case of quantity over quality!

Also disappointing were the side dishes. The bhindi and mushroom bhajis were ok but the tarka dahl was very poor, as was the bombay potato.

Service was decent enough. Some things could have been better but overall it was efficient and friendly.

Fairly average and unmemorable, the lustre of the early 2000's seems to have been lost.



overall
 3.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date May 2012
starters
 4.0
mains
 1.5
sides
 2.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 2.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment I feel ill now, it WAS something I ate.
overall
 2.1

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date May 2012
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £28
comment Vegetable pakora to start was nice and spicy a change from the usual restaurants.

Main course was Lamb balti saliboti, which is lamb with apricots and potatoes, very nice indeed.

Service was good with the exception that my pint was removed before I had finished. Apart from that mistake, I would go back.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2007
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 3.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Portion size and nan bread size as large as ever, but food not quite as good as it's been in the past.
overall
 3.3

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80402 times ]