Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Gurkha Brigade"

9a Antigua Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3NH, 0131 557 8855 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Gurkha Brigade" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 21 reviews
overall
 3.4
with an average price of £24.29
pre-starters
 3.8
starters
 2.9
mains
 3.8
sides
 4.1
service
 3.9
atmosphere
 3.2
value for money
 3.6

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Pre: Nice crispy pops and plenty of dips (brought more when asked). Pickle was tasty but could have done with a bit more of a kick. Nice thick mango.

Start: Prawn Puri was well cooked a good sized portion and the bread was not greasy which was a pleasant surprise. However didn't have a lot of taste to it.

Main: Lamb Saag dish? This had a lot more taste to it. Meat was plentiful and tender and overall a good dish but not a great one. Sides were all pretty nice especially dahl and Saag Aloo, (which sadly did not include any "Spanish")

Couldn't have asked for more from the lovely service, especially as we hadn't booked and there were a few other tables throughout the night. Didn't even have to wait long for the bill making it a rare early finish. Was a cosy restaurant with a laid back atmosphere and i would consider coming again.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 3.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £29 (including tip)
comment Mushroom Pakora were good, but could have been crispieer on the batter.

Kathmandu Lamb was full of flavour and cooked well, but I think I will avoid chickpeas in future. Not the restaurants fault.

Sides were good but no bhindi bajhi!

Service was great considering we were unexpected and only one person was working front of house.
overall
 3.5

reviewer James McCamphill
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops: Very fresh,light and crispy, Pickles were all good too esp. the onions. V good start

Starter: Lamb Tikka Kebab: Not exactly cold but not exactly warm either. Meat was tender and good quality but maybe a bit on the dry side and a piece or too short in my opinion. Spices were good. The red sauce pot that came with it was a bit weird.

Main: Lamb Bhutawah: Sauce was nice but lacking in any real heat. Meat was again good quality but a bit overdone and dryish. Overall it was quite tasty though.

Sides: We had alot of side tonight and they were all very nice

Service: Quickest curry club for some time, friendly fast and efficient with zero mistakes, good job.

Overall a nice tasty above average meal although nothing overly notable.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Nice crispy and fresh poppodum with above average lime pickle, spiced onions and mango chutney to begin with.

Starter of Chicken Tikka Kebab was no better than average. I felt that it was a bit dry, and there wasn't an awful lot of spice to it. The side salad was also a bit meagre.

However the main of Lamb Khorsani was very tasty indeed; spicy with nice amount of heat to it. Mind you, the lamb having being prepared in a tandoor oven rather than steamed was unfortunately a little bit chewy.

I thought all the sides were excellent but I must make special mention of the chana aloo (chickpeas and potatoes) which was top notch!

Overall it was much better than last year and I thought the main and side dishes were tremendous once more, but perhaps slightly let down with an average starter.

Also hats off to our cheery waitress who served us very efficiently with a smile on her face and a good sense of humour, whilst also working the rest of the tables by herself. Well done!
overall
 3.9

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Popadoms were fine

Chicken tikka kebab was ok but nothing out of the ordinary


Main course was excellant and the sides were very, very good.

Service absolutely top notch - best we've had in my opinion.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date May 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Nice dry poppadums, extra pickle brought when asked.
Had garlic Mushroom starter and was a little disappointed. The cream sauce overwhelmed the Mushroom and Garlic.
Chicken Lasun Main was very tasty, good food.
Sides were excellent. Garlic in the Dhall made up for the starters lack of garlic. Also Aloo Ghobi, Saag Aloo were very good.
Excellent service by a single waiter managing the whole restaurant. Although aside from us there were only a couple of other tables. Very helpful and willing to please.
Value for money was good considering nearly everyone had two pints of Cobra.
i enjoyed this meal (and the company) very much.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Jean Houston
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £22
comment p-s: Great onion with popps, but NO LP!

enjoyed the soup better on a previous visit. This time seemed a bit salty.

enjoyed main course which was Lamb Nepali Tarkhari. well cooked lamb, pleasantly spicy.

Friendly service, but NO CHOCs (and no hot towels)

overall
 4.1

reviewer James McCamphill
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 0.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops: Nice and fresh but the dips were nothing special, mago chutny was not great but onions were good and had no cucumber this time. I really missed the lime pickle.

Starter: Chicken Pokora: Very Very dry meat and hard job getting it down. Batter not very nice either and very bland. The token sprinkle of salad was not worth having.

Main: Lamb Bhuttuwa: At first I thought that there was not enough Lamb but as it turned out it was just the right amount (just used to more I guess) Lamb was very tasty and tender but a some chewier bits too. The sauce was bit thin but the flavour was spot on. It had a great taste and a great balance of spices, could maybe have had more heat to it though.

Sides: Both the Dahl and Sag Aloo were very good indeed
Naans: were also very nice and fresh.

Service: Staff were attentive, chatty and pleasant but did bring out a couple of wrong dishes and seemed to want to blame us for that. They did however correct any mistakes quickly.
I did enjoy the off-kilter music and had a great nite.
Also drinks were reasonably priced; a bonus
overall
 1.8

reviewer Elaine Carty
review date May 2010
starters
 0.0
mains
 1.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 1.0
price £22 (including tip)
comment The soup was extrememly salty. I was going to send it back, but then you have to wait for a replacement starter... I didn't enjoy the main course either. Maybe I just don't like Nepalese cuisine very much.
overall
 0.7

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 0.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter: Poppodums were ok, but disappointed by lack of lime pickle and wasn't too impressed with what we did get.
Starter: WORST CHICKEN PAKORA EVER!!! Can't think of anything good to say about this, it was awful. Dry tasteless chicken with a thick stodgy unpleasant batter - nasty!
After that I wasn't expecting too much but then I was pleasantly surprised with the main course and side dishes which I thought were very good indeed!

I had a main of Lamb Lasoon, that was nicely spiced, and the lamb was pretty well cooked. I thought the side dishes of tarka daal and sag aloo were also very tasty! So I really enjoyed the second part of the meal but the less said about the first part the better, probably.

The service was friendly and reasonably good although they did get one or two dishes mixed-up. Quite an enjoyable evening then but I did think that the tables are a bit small and it can feel a bit cramped at times!
overall
 1.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 4.0

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 1.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment I was a little disappointed with the food. The starter (forgotten its name!) was described as being mushroom coated with lamb mince. Sounded interesting but when it came it looked like a large scotch egg but with a mushroom in the middle instead of an egg. It a bit stodgy and undigestable.

The main course was Chicken Bhuttuwa which I found distinctly average and a bit bland.

Not one of the best I'm afraid

overall
 2.8

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date May 2010
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment If you're looking for your usual curry, then this is not the place to go. If you're looking for a taste of authentic nepalese cuisine, then you'll not be disappointed.

Usual popadoms to start with, no Lime Pickle (usually my favourite) but that may also be a Nepalese thing. Perhaps I should have asked.

I had TAREKEO MUSHROOM for starter. this is mushrooms encased in a spicey lamb mince and fried. Rather like a scotch egg in appearance but much tastier.

NEPALI TARKARI (Chicken) for the main. Tasty but disappointingly mild considering it was advertised as medium.

The side dishes of Dhaal and Saag Aloo were very good. Especially the Saag Aloo. Definitely improved the enjoyment of the main course.

Service was good although they got a little confused over what was ordered. The restaurant is looking a little tired and could do with a revamp.

Overall, the meal was adequate in portion, but is not exciting enough in flavour to bring me back regularly.
overall
 3.5

reviewer Paul Lafferty
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 2.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Liked it. Second time here - will come again!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Nicola Learmonth
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 2.0
service
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
overall
 3.5

reviewer James McCamphill
review date June 2008
service
 2.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Starter lovely, main was great. Portion sizes just right. I love curry ... come here!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Helen Cameron
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 2.0
service
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Too much rice. Very well cooked prawns. Good to order naan at table - was very, very fresh and hot!
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 2.0
service
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
comment Asked for something very hot but didn't get much heat at all. Very tasty though, but they need to re-rate their heat on the menu!
overall
 3.5

reviewer Colin Roberts
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment Very tasty; not too hot. Meat neither tender nor chewy, but excellent. Portion could be a bit bigger. Not stuffed out.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Andy Barker
review date June 2008
atmosphere
 4.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
price £22.00 (including tip)
overall
 3.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date December 2007
atmosphere
 3.0
service
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment An interesting selection of food, although not as hot as the menu might suggest at times.
overall
 3.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 81782 times ]