Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Dhaba Diner"

32B West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9DD, 0131 667 4871 www


View Larger Map

You can now submit a review for "Dhaba Diner" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 7 reviews
overall
 3.5
with an average price of £20.00
pre-starters
 3.2
starters
 3.9
mains
 3.4
sides
 3.8
service
 2.9
atmosphere
 3.2
value for money
 3.9

reviewer Jean Houston
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 3.5
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment Very tasty poppadoms and pickles (but more on this below). Good selection of starters (since we chose the set menu for groups). Chicken tikka was the tastiest.

The 2 chicken main dishes (Butter ch. and garlic chilli) were very good but I was really disappointed in the lamb dishes as the lamb was to choughy/chuchy(?) to eat much of it. I'm not keen on prawns but tried the prawn dish as there was one in the selection. Still not keen on prawns. The veg dish, Chana Aloo, which I rated as a 'side', was fine.

I think the young waiter is still learning the job as there was a few mistakes made in serving. But someone keeping an eye on things, and mistakes were put right when they were pointed out, like needing more than one tray of pickles.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Ian Bedford
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment BYOB option

We opted for the 'Large Party' fixed menu.

The poppadoms appeared, rather optimistically, with just one dish of chutneys between 9 of us. It seemed to take some time for another couple of dishes to appear. The chutneys compreised what seemed to be Lime Pickle (excellent), Mango Chutney (average), Onion something (v. good) and a Raita (cooling!).

The Starters were dishes of a mixture of Fish Lahori (outstanding!),Chicken Tikka (good),Seekh Kebab (OK), and Vegetable Aubergine Pakora (Good). All were coated in batter which was still crispy.

Mains comprised Butter Chicken (outstanding - great flavours), Garlic Chilli Chicken (good), Lamb Malinder, Lamb Madras, and King Prawn Chattinad (great flavours in the sauce).
The lamb had obviously had a hard life and was consequently was pretty tough, and the sauces that they came in were average.

Side dishes were Allo Chana (good) and Garlic Nan (dripping ghee!) and Peshwari Nan (average).

All in all I thought the quality was good - the lower mark for the rubber lamb was offset by that for the Butter Chicken (probably the best I have ever had).

Sitting with my back to the rest of the restaurant, the atmosphere was whatever we created at the table.

The waiters were attentive but despite their apparent enthusiasm to please, they were hampered by the speed at which the food didn't arrive.

I would definitely go back there again if only for the Butter Chicken.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 3.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment We opted for the large party set menu as it sounded much nicer than most set menus.

Pops were very crispy. Chutneys very nice too - even the lime pickle! Only problem was that initially, there was one small tray for 9 of us - they had to be prompted to bring more!

Starters were quite nice: fish lahori actually had moist fish; chicken tikka was average; seekh kebab was a bit dry; veg and aubergine pakoras were very nice. All of the battered items looked like they'd been sitting out for a while though.

The mains consisted of: butter chicken - the best I've had (although I very rarely have it, except in a buffet) with some actual spice to it; garlic chilli chicken wasn't very garlicy, but tasted nice; lamb malidar had very chewy lamb and the sauce was greasy - perhaps too much ghee; lamb madras had the worst lamb of the lot - so much gristle on the bit I got that it was inedible; king prawn chettinad was tasty enough, but overpowered the prawn; aloo chana was good enough for a veg option; garlic naan actually tasted of garlic!

Service was a bit haphazard with the prompting for chutneys and even for getting a drinks order.

However, having said that... it's right under a very nice pub (The Pear Tree), so if I'm ever in there around tea time and fancy some food, this would be a good choice.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £20 (including tip)
comment We decided to go for the banquet option for parties of 8 or more.

So we had poppodums and pickle tray to start off with. Nice and crispy poppodums and the pickles were really good, especially the lime pickle. However we initially only received one tray between all 9 of us. A ridiculous situation that Gav quite rightly complained about and we got two more trays after that! Didn't appreciate finding a long hair in the lime pickle either! Marked down for both misdemeanours I'm afraid!

We had a mixed starter containing fish lahori (very nice), chicken pakora or was it kebab (bit dry), sheekh kebab (tasty), veg and aubergine pakora (enjoyed both)! On the whole pretty good!

For mains we had two chicken dishes (butter and garlic chilli) that were both pretty good, two lamb dishes (malidar and madras) that were spoiled by lamb that was grisly and tough as old boots (not good!), King Prawn Chettnal (thought the prawn was a bit rubbery!) but I did really like the allo chana! Average at best I would say.

Food was decent enough in places and pretty good value for money as it's BYOB but I don't think it made enough of an impression to make me return anytime soon!
overall
 3.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Had to ask for more pickles for the poppadums as they gave us one tiny serving between 9 people.
We chose to try their set menu for a larger party (8 or more) which was priced at £15.95p a head.
The starters and main dishes were mostly very good with varied levels of spice and flavour. Marked the Mains down because the Lamb in the Lamb dishes was pretty tough. But overall a pretty flavourful experience.
This restaurant hasn't been open that long and it shows in the service. I'm sure they can improve though and I guess I'll put this one on the list for a revisit when I get time.
overall
 3.7

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment At the beginning there was only 1 pickle tray between 9, however after a prompt, another was produce. The lime pickle was one of the best I have tasted.

We opted for the set menu and I must admit I rather enjoyed it, with the exception of the lamb, which was tough.

The sauce for the pakora was to die for.

Good pub next door (The Pear Tree).

I enjoyed this restaurant and I will certainly go back.
overall
 3.9

reviewer Andy Mackay
review date April 2013
pre-starters
 1.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 2.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters, almost no pickle until we asked for more.

They do have drinks, although advised (by the List) it was BYOB.

Starters, I had to ask for plates.

Food was delicious.
overall
 3.2

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80346 times ]