Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "Club India"

105-109 Lothian Road, Edinburgh, EH3 9AN, 0131 229 7747 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "Club India" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 7 reviews
overall
 2.2
with an average price of £28.86
pre-starters
 2.4
starters
 3.1
mains
 2.9
sides
 2.4
service
 1.4
atmosphere
 2.2

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 2.5
price £29
comment SLOW service, and blamed us for getting the order wrong.
Other places would have appologised rather than argued.

Tiny amounts of pickle with the popadoms.

Hara Bara Kebab starter was a nice change from the norm.

The Lamb Rogan Josh was watery and only really had Chili and oinion in its flavours. The heat was just right, but everything else was lacking.

The Nan breads were nice, but the other sides were poor. The Okra was tough byond a joke.

Just don't go here, there are so many nicer places you could go instead.
overall
 2.3

reviewer James McCamphill
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.5
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 2.0
price £27
comment Pops: The pickle trays were minuscule and did not go far at all leaving a quite dry and salty pop = not great, althoguh the Lime Pickle and Mango C were quite tatsy.

Starter: Lamb Kebab: The spices were quite well balanced + pleasant. The meat was a bit tough and quite chewy and one bit was just inedible. The accompanying sauces were good. Again 4-5 small bits of lamb works out at about £1 each (not worth that)

Main: Lamb Rogan Josh: First thing to hit me was the heat, quite a bit hotter than any other Rogan Josh I have had before and it was all the better for it. The sauce had a great flovour and had a good consistency. The meat was very tender and succulent. Very happy with this dish actually.

Sides: Tarka Dahl was lovley and thick but lacking in garlic, Bindi was a bit chewy and not great and the Gobi Aloo was ok, the naans were fresh and quite good but not hot enough and by the 2nd 'rip' they were quite cold.

Service: Seemed a bit disorganised and given that they were not busy at all was very slow. I found the whole place to be very clean and a pleasent place to be in.

Overall: Not too bad really a mixed bag.... a bit scimpy on the portions sizes but not the prices....I would give it another try.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.0
sides
 2.0
service
 0.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £28
comment Pops salty but tasty. Very, very small pickle selection that didn't last long at all. I had most of my popadom as a dry crisp!

Bataire (tandour quail) not available as was half of the starter menu. Had to go with tandoori king prawns which were tasty when they eventually arrived an hour and 45 mins after sitting down. I didn't even see the sauces for the starters as they were so small that everyone had finished them in the 10 extra minutes that my starter took to arrive!

Khumbi Murg was basically quite dry chicken with mushrooms in a cumin seed sauce that was very much overpowered by the cumin. Did I mention the cumin seeds?

Sides below average - very small dishes and bland unless they were just overpowered by the cumin from the main. Couldn't taste any garlic at all in the traka daal. More importantly, the naans were barely luke warm!

Service: order not taken until 8pm, starter arrived at 20:35, but not mine which evidently had been ordered as a main despite the waiter confirming it was a starter, so 20:45 for me. I wonder how many other parties of 8 order 7 starters and 9 mains? It's not like they were busy either - perhaps 7 other tables with 1 or 2 people at them and a group of 3. Were were only 8!

Cold plates too, so food was cold by the end.

Very expensive for the quality of food, unless you have a thing for cumin!
overall
 1.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 0.0
atmosphere
 1.5
price £30
comment Pops were ok but the pickle trays were very small. Hardly enough for 1 never mind for 2 of them to be shared amongst the 8 of us. I thought it was quite stingy!

Order was not taken till 8pm and the starters staretd to arrive at 8:35, I had Hara Bhara kebab, a potato and spinach fritter. All I can say is that I was very hungry so I ate it, but it was nothing special.

Main: Shakuti. Very hot! I really like a spicy curry with a bit of heat but this was just all heat and a bit too hot for me. Chicken was nicely cooked but the chilli overpowered everything else!

Mediocre sides (Tarka Dhal, Bhindi Parkha, Mushroom Bhaji and Gobi Aloo) were all quite small portions and very bland.

Service was very slow considering it wasn't that busy and it felt at times we were being ignored. I don't appreciate being in a restaurant for half an hour and still sitting with the menus!

It was also very expensive for the quality of food received. I didn't think anything about Club India was that great and I definitely won't be looking to make a return visit! Poor!

overall
 0.9

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment The pre-starters were let down by the small pickle portions - very tasty otherwise, although I didn't get to try the spiced onions. The lamb kebab starter was very tasty if a little dry and it was nice to get dressing on the salad. Dissapointed that there was no quail available. I really enjoyed the chicken shakuti - it's refreshing to get a genuinely hot dish although again, the meat was a little dry. Side dishes were fairly average but no complaints. The service was far too slow considering it wasn't busy.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.5
starters
 2.0
mains
 1.5
sides
 2.0
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 1.5
price £30
comment Very small pickle trays..... Bad!
Sloooooooooow... service.
Starter (Hara Bara kebab) little flavour and very oily.
Main (Shakuti) overpowering chilli. Nothing else came through at all. Don't get me wrong, those who know me know that I like hot curries. But this one tasted of nothing but chilli. Nothing like the subtely flavoured (but spicy) dish I had in Goa on holiday (Lazy Days).
Sides were disappointing (again no flavour) and small.
Everything served on cold plates, so the food got cold soon too.
Very minimalist and spartan surroundings did nothing for the atmosphere. The music was pleasant at the start, but moved on to musak later, also not good.
Very expensive for the standard of food.
Overall... Disappointed and £30.00 poorer.
overall
 1.7

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date August 2010
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.0
service
 1.5
atmosphere
 3.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment Service: Polite but slow and jumbled.
Food: Mixed quality and very small portions.
overall
 2.5

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 80308 times ]